Biological Weapons

Overview
National Implementation
Confidence Building Measures


Overview

Biological weapons are devices designed to spread microorganisms or toxins in order to incapacitate or kill humans, animals, or plants. They can be used as strategic military weapons, as well as for assassinations or terrorism. Social disruption through the mass infection of a large population or economic disruption through the infection of livestock and crops are alternative uses for biological weapons. Almost any infectious disease agent can be used as a biological weapon, including bacteria, viruses, fungi, parasites, prions, and toxins. The deliberate misuse of modern technology can produce a biological weapon with increasing efficiency, and so the risk of bio-terrorism is higher than ever.

The 1925 Geneva Protocol banned the use of poisonous gases and bacteriological agents in warfare. It was an initial building block that culminated in the Biological and Toxin Weapons Convention (BTWC) (.pdf), which entered into force in 1975 and has now been ratified by 170 States (including Canada). The BTWC was the first multilateral disarmament treaty banning the development and production of an entire category of weapons. The BTWC has no verification regime, but rather relies on good-faith adherence by States Parties. The BTWC has an Implementation Support Unit, which operates as the Convention’s secretariat.

National Implementation:

Per Article IV of the BTWC, each State Party is required to implement the provisions of the Convention into its domestic laws, in accordance with its own constitutional process. Canada implements the BTWC through a series of legislations related to biosafety, biosecurity, and non-proliferation and biological materials. A review of these laws and regulations can be found in Canada’s Compliance Assessment submission (2012) (.pdf). For further information on Canada’s implementation of the BTWC, consult the website of the Public Health Agency of Canada.

Canada also provides assistance, particularly via the Global Partnership Program, to other countries in improving their ability to implement the BTWC, as well as their capacity to address biological threats.

Confidence-Building Measures:

Per decisions taken at the Second, Third, and Seventh Review Conferences of the BTWC, member-states are required to submit Confidence Building Measures (CBM) on a yearly basis as a means to promote transparency and confidence in compliance. These CBMs require States Parties to share data on their maximum containment laboratories, their biological defense programmes, disease outbreaks on their territory, publications by their scientific communities, the laws that implement the BTWC, their vaccine production facilities, and their past offense biological weapons programmes. Canada's CBM submissions have been made available for public viewing since 2011, and can be found here.

Armes biologiques

Aperçu
Mise en œuvre nationale
Mesures de confiance


Aperçu

Les armes biologiques sont des dispositifs conçus pour répandre des microorganismes ou des toxines dans le but de détruire des plantes ou de frapper d’incapacité ou de tuer des animaux ou des humains. Elles peuvent être utilisées comme armes militaires stratégiques ou aux fins d’un assassinat ou d’une attaque terroriste. Les armes biologiques peuvent également causer une perturbation sociale en infectant un grand nombre de personnes, ou une perturbation économique en infectant du bétail ou des cultures. Presque tous les agents infectieux peuvent servir d’arme biologique, notamment les bactéries, les virus, les champignons, les parasites, les prions et les toxines. L’utilisation abusive délibérée de la technologie moderne peut entraîner la création d’armes biologiques de plus en plus efficaces; le risque de bioterrorisme est donc plus élevé que jamais.

Le Protocole de Genève de 1925 interdit l’usage de gaz toxiques ou d’agents bactériologiques en temps de guerre. Il est à l’origine de la Convention sur les armes biologiques ou à toxines (CABT) (.pdf), qui est entrée en vigueur en 1975 et compte maintenant 170 États parties, dont le Canada. La CABT est le premier traité multilatéral sur le désarmement à condamner la production et l’usage d’une catégorie entière d’armes. La CABT ne prévoit pas de régime de vérification : elle mise plutôt sur une adhésion de bonne foi des États parties. La CABT possède une unité d’appui à la mise en œuvre, qui joue le rôle de secrétariat de la Convention.

Mise en œuvre nationale

En vertu de l’article IV de la CABT, chaque État partie est tenu d’inclure les dispositions de la Convention dans sa législation nationale, conformément à son propre processus constitutionnel. Le Canada le fait par la voie d’une série de mesures législatives concernant la biosécurité, la biosûreté et la non-prolifération biologique. Un examen de ces mesures figure dans le rapport d’évaluation du respect de la Convention du Canada (2012) (.pdf - lien en anglais seulement). Pour de plus amples informations sur la mise en œuvre au Canada de la CABT, veuillez consulter le site web de l’Agence de santé publique du Canada.

Le Canada fournit également de l’aide à d’autres pays, notamment par l’entremise du Partenariat mondial du G8 contre la prolifération des armes de destruction massive et des matières connexes, pour renforcer leur capacité d’appliquer la CABT et d’affronter les menaces de nature biologique.

Mesures de confiance

Conformément aux décisions prises lors des deuxième, troisième et septième Conférences d’examen de la CABT, les États membres sont tenus de soumettre des mesures de confiance (MDC) tous les ans en tant que moyen de promouvoir la transparence et la confiance en matière de conformité. Ces mesures prévoient que les États parties mettent en commun des données sur leurs laboratoires de confinement à haute sécurité, leurs programmes de défense biologique, les foyers d’infection sur leur territoire, les publications produites par leurs communautés scientifiques, les lois qui mettent en œuvre la CABT, leurs installations de production de vaccins et leurs programmes antérieurs d’armes biologiques offensives. Les soumissions du Canada au titre des MDC sont publiques depuis 2011 et peuvent être consultées ici.