Chemical Weapons

According to the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC), the term “Chemical weapons” refers to, together or separately, the following: a) toxic chemicals and their precursors, except where intended for purposes not prohibited under the Convention, as long as the types and quantities are consistent with such purposes; b) munitions and devices, specifically designed to cause death or other harm through the toxic properties of those toxic chemicals; and c) any equipment specifically designed for use directly in connection with the employment of those munitions and devices. A toxic chemical agent is any chemical which, through its chemical action on life processes, can cause death, temporary incapacitation, or permanent harm to humans or animals. Their use in war was first banned by the 1925 Geneva Protocol.

The use of chemical weapons in the Syrian Arab Republic triggered an unprecedented international response. This led to the creation of an ambitious plan to eliminate Syria’s chemical weapons program and prevent future use or proliferation of these abhorrent weapons. Canada has been a key contributor to international efforts in the destruction of Syria’s chemical weapons arsenal. You can read about these efforts and Canada’s contribution, here.

Canada is a party to the CWC since its entry into force in 1997. The CWC is a disarmament treaty which is implemented by the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) based in The Hague, the Netherlands.

The disarmament provisions of the CWC involve the destruction of all chemical weapons in a State Party's possession, all production facilities used since 1946 to produce chemical weapons and any chemical weapons previously abandoned on the territory of another State Party. Since the basic raw materials for the production of chemical weapons are available in the chemical industry, verification measures are required for the non-proliferation aspects of the Convention.

Under the CWC, each State Party is obliged declare to the OPCW annual data on its chemical industry and to accept international verification of its compliance with the provisions of the Convention. The verification system of the CWC is based upon each State Party providing declarations that are verified by the OPCW through data monitoring and on-site routine inspections.

Every State Party to the CWC must establish a National Authority to serve as the national focal point for liaison with the OPCW and with other States Parties. The Canadian National Authority is located at the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development. 

Regulations under the CWCIA can be found here and here.

Through its Global Partnership Program, Canada has provided significant contributions to assist with the destruction of chemical weapons and related activities in countries such as Russia, Libya and Syria.

Canadian National Authority - Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC)

The Canadian National Authority is located at the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development. It is mandated to implement the Chemical Weapons Convention Implementation Act, while minimizing its impact on Canadian industry, research, and other institutions.

If you believe you are affected by the obligations of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC), please see the "How the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) Affects You" page.

Armes chimiques

Selon la Convention sur l’interdiction des armes chimiques (CIAC), on entend par « armes chimiques » les éléments ci-après, pris ensemble ou séparément : a) les produits chimiques toxiques et leurs précurseurs, à l’exception de ceux destinés à des fins non interdites par ses dispositions, aussi longtemps que les types et les quantités en jeu sont compatibles avec de telles fins; b) les munitions et dispositifs spécifiquement conçus pour provoquer la mort ou d’autres dommages par l’action toxique de ces produits chimiques; c) tout matériel spécifiquement conçu pour être utilisé en liaison directe avec l’emploi de ces munitions et dispositifs. On entend par « produits chimiques toxiques » tout produit chimique qui, par son action chimique sur des processus biologiques, peut provoquer chez les êtres humains ou les animaux la mort, une incapacité temporaire ou des dommages permanents. Leurs usage en guerre est interdit par le Protocole de Genève de 1925.

L’emploi d’armes chimiques en République arabe syrienne a donné lieu à une réponse internationale sans précédent. C’est ce qui a mené à la création d’un plan ambitieux pour éliminer le programme d’armes chimiques de la Syrie et pour prévenir l’emploi ou la prolifération de ces armes abominables à l’avenir. Le Canada a apporté une contribution importante aux efforts internationaux visant à détruire l’arsenal chimique syrien. Pour en savoir plus sur ces efforts et la contribution canadienne, cliquer ici.

Le Canada adhère à la CIAC depuis son entrée en vigueur, en 1997. Il s’agit d’un traité de désarmement mis en œuvre sous l’égide de l’Organisation pour l’interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC), dont le siège se trouve à La Haye, aux Pays-Bas.

Les dispositions de la CIAC sur le désarmement impliquent la destruction de toutes les armes chimiques dans un État partie qui en est doté. Ces dispositions supposent également la destruction de toutes les installations utilisées depuis 1946 pour produire des armes chimiques, y compris de toutes les armes chimiques abandonnées antérieurement sur le territoire d’un autre État partie. Par ailleurs, comme les matières premières brutes nécessaires à la fabrication d’armes chimiques sont disponibles dans l’industrie chimique, il faut adopter des mesures de vérification pour assurer le respect des aspects de la CIAC liés à la non-prolifération.

En vertu de la CIAC, chaque État partie est tenu de déclarer à l’OIAC les données annuelles sur son industrie chimique. Il doit aussi accepter la vérification internationale, sur son territoire, du respect des dispositions de la CIAC. Le régime de vérification de la CIAC se fonde sur la communication, par chaque État partie, de déclarations faisant l’objet d’une vérification par l’OIAC au moyen du contrôle des données et d’inspections sur place de routine.

Chaque État partie doit mettre en place une « autorité nationale » qui sert de point de contact national pour la liaison avec l’OIAC et les autres États parties. L’Autorité nationale du Canada est située au ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD).

Pour les autres règlements pris en vertu de la Loi, on peut consulter : Produits chimiques figurant au tableau 1 (Convention sur les armes chimiques), Règlement sur les (DORS/2004-155) et Déclarations (Convention sur les armes chimiques), Règlement sur les (DORS/2010-56).

Dans le cadre de son Programme de partenariat mondial (PPM), le Canada a apporté une contribution importante à la destruction des armes chimiques et aux activités connexes dans des pays tels que la Russie, la Libye et la Syrie.

L'Autorité nationale du Canada - La Convention sur l'interdidction des armes chimiques (CIAC)

L’Autorité nationale du Canada est située au ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD). En vertu de la Loi de mise en œuvre de la Convention sur les armes chimiques, l’Autorité nationale du Canada a pour mandat de faire appliquer la Loi, tout en réduisant le plus possible les répercussions sur l’industrie canadienne, y compris sur la recherche et d’autres institutions.

Si vous croyez être visé par les obligations énoncées dans la CIAC, prière de vous rendre à la page «L'autorité nationale du Canada (Convention sur les armes chimiques) ».