The Canadian National Authority (Chemical Weapons Convention)

Contact Us

The implementation of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) is carried out by the Canadian National Authority which also serves as the focal point for effective liaison with the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) and other States Parties.

The Convention prohibits the development, production, acquisition, stockpiling, transfer and use of chemical weapons (Article I).  It requires each State Party which has declared possession to destroy chemical weapons and chemical weapon production facilities under its jurisdiction and control.  Canada has no chemical weapons or chemical weapon production facilities.  In line with provisions of the Convention, Canada can continue to produce and retain chemicals for domestic riot control purposes. Canada can also maintain facilities and material for use in protective research, such as the development and testing of protective clothing, equipment and medical counter-measures.

Following Entry into Force (EIF) of the Convention, Canada made an Initial Declaration to the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW).  Canada annually submits to the OPCW Declarations of Anticipated and Past Activities pursuant to Article VI (industrial facilities), Declarations of national protective programs pursuant to Article X, paragraph 4 and Destruction Reports of discovered Chemical Weapons/Old Chemical Weapons pursuant to Article IV, paragraph 9.

Canada and other States Party are also obligated to receive international inspectors from the OPCW to verify declarations submitted under Article VI if the verification thresholds are exceeded.  OPCW inspectors may also come to Canada to verify the destruction of CW/OCW found and reported under Article IV. The CWC also provides for Challenge Inspections to investigate suspected violations of its obligations.

Scheduled chemicals and Discrete Organic Chemicals (DOCs) and related facilities are subject to data monitoring and on-site inspections.  Companies or organisations whose business involves these chemicals, must make appropriate declarations to the Canadian National Authority.  In turn, the National Authority is responsible for making national Declarations to the OPCW.  Declarations also include information on the export and import of Scheduled Chemicals.  These Declarations form the basis for on-site inspections.

The Canadian National Authority:

  • Advises domestic stakeholders on declaration and licensing regulations, and on inspection terms;
  • Collects declaration data from Canadian entities subject to the CWC, prepares and forwards declarations to the OPCW;
  • Provides advance notification of transfers of Schedule 1 chemicals;
  • Facilitates the conduct of inspections;
  • Licences the use, storage and production of Schedule 1 chemicals;
  • Undertakes domestic and international outreach to ensure awareness of the Convention’s objectives and obligations; and
  • Supports Canada’s Permanent Representation to the OPCW

Canada’s CWC obligations are implemented through the:

For further information on the Chemical Weapons Convention and its implementation in Canada, please consult the following links:

Contact Us

Canadian National Authority to the Chemical Weapons Convention (IDA)
Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development
A-3, Lester B. Pearson Building
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ont.
K1A 0G2

E-mail: cna-anc@international.gc.ca

Fax: (613) 944-3105

Phone number of the National Coordinator:  (343) 203-3183

Other relevant phone numbers:

  • (343) 203-3180
  • (343) 203-3184
  • (343) 203-3163

L'autorité nationale du Canada (Convention sur les armes chimiques)

Contactez-nous

L’Autorité nationale du Canada est chargée de la mise en œuvre de la Convention sur les armes chimiques (CAC). Elle sert aussi de point de contact en vue d’assurer une liaison efficace avec l’Organisation pour l’interdiction des armes chimiques (OIAC) et les autres États parties.

La Convention interdit la mise au point, la fabrication, l’acquisition, le stockage, le transfert et l’emploi des armes chimiques (article premier). En vertu de ses dispositions, chaque État partie qui a déclaré être le propriétaire ou le détenteur d’armes chimiques ou d’installations de fabrication d’armes chimiques, placées sous sa juridiction ou son contrôle, s’engage à les détruire. Le Canada ne possède aucune arme ni installation de ce type. De plus, conformément aux dispositions de la Convention, il peut continuer à fabriquer et à détenir des produits chimiques aux fins de lutte antiémeute sur son territoire national. Il peut aussi détenir des installations et du matériel pour effectuer des recherches sur les moyens de protection contre les armes chimiques, par exemple par la mise au point et l’essai de vêtements et d’équipement de protection ou de contre‑mesures médicales.

À l’entrée en vigueur de la Convention, le Canada a présenté une déclaration initiale à l’OIAC. Tous les ans, il lui présente également des déclarations des activités prévues et passées, conformément à l’article VI (installations industrielles). À cela s’ajoutent des renseignements sur ses programmes nationaux menés aux fins de protection, conformément au paragraphe 4 de l’article X, ainsi que des rapports sur la destruction de toute arme chimique, y compris ancienne, découverte après la déclaration initiale, conformément au paragraphe 9 de l’article IV.

Si les quantités déclarées sont supérieures au seuil de déclaration, le Canada et les autres États parties ont l’obligation d’autoriser les inspecteurs internationaux de l’OIAC à vérifier sur place les déclarations présentées, conformément à l’article VI. Les inspecteurs de l’OIAC peuvent aussi venir au Canada pour vérifier la destruction d’armes chimiques, y compris anciennes, qui ont été découvertes et signalées, conformément l’article IV. D’ailleurs, la Convention prévoit des inspections par mise en demeure visant à faire enquête sur le non‑respect présumé par un État partie de ses obligations.

Les produits chimiques inscrits ainsi que les produits chimiques organiques définis et les installations connexes peuvent faire l’objet d’un contrôle des données et d’une inspection sur place. Par ailleurs, les entreprises ou les organisations dont les activités portent sur ces produits chimiques doivent présenter des déclarations appropriées à l’Autorité nationale canadienne. Pour sa part, celle‑ci est chargée de présenter des déclarations nationales à l’OIAC. Ces déclarations renferment aussi des renseignements sur l’exportation et l’importation de produits chimiques inscrits. C’est sur ces déclarations que se fondent les inspections sur place. 

L’autorité nationale du Canada:

  • conseille les parties prenantes au Canada en ce qui a trait au règlement sur les déclarations et les licences ainsi qu'au sujet des modalités d'inspection;
  • reçoit l’information des déclarations des entités canadiennes affectées par le CIAC, et rédige les déclarations et les achemine à l'OIAC;
  • fournit une notification préalable des transferts de produits chimiques du tableau 1;
  • facilite la tenue des inspections;
  • établit les licences pour l'utilisation, le stockage et la fabrication de produits chimiques du tableau 1;
  • mène des activités de sensibilisation domestiques et internationales afin de mieux faire connaître les objectifs et obligations de la Convention; et
  • donne l’appui au Représentation permanente du Canada à l’OIAC.

Les obligations canadiennes sous le CIAC sont mise en applications par les lois suivantes:

Pour plus de renseignements sur la Convention sur l’interdiction des armes chimiques, ainsi que sa mise en oeuvre au Canada, veuillez consulter les liens suivants :

Contactez-nous

L'Autorité nationale du Canada pour la Convention sur l’interdiction des armes chimiques (IDA)
Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD)
A-3, Édifice Lester B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2

Courriel: cna-anc@international.gc.ca

Fax: (613) 944-3105

Numéro de telephone du coordinateur national: (343) 203-3183

D’autres numéros de téléphones importants:

  • (343) 203-3180
  • (343) 203-3184
  • (343) 203-3163