Conventional Weapons

Overview
Ballistic Missiles
Man-Portable Air Defence Systems
Small Arms and Light Weapons
Explosive Remnants of War
Cluster Munitions
Anti-Personnel Landmines


Overview

The term “conventional weapons” refers to all types of weapons that are not weapons of mass destruction (i.e. chemical, biological and nuclear weapons). Conventional weapons include large weapons systems such as large caliber artillery, tanks, and ships, as well as small arms and light weapons such as rifles, hand guns and grenades. They also include weapons delivery systems like ballistic missiles which can be used to deliver both conventional ordnance as well as ordnance carrying weapons of mass destruction. Conventional weapons that were used in previous conflicts but did not detonate are called explosive remnants of war.

Ballistic Missiles:

Canada is concerned about missile proliferation – a threat that continues to increase as the numbers of both local missile development programs and new exporters rise. In a shifting international security environment, the spread of Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) and their delivery systems form a great challenge for the international community. As a partner country to the Missile Technology Control Regime, Canada ensures strict controls of missile-related technology and contributes to the fight against the proliferation of missiles to countries of concern. Canada has also been instrumental in creating the Hague Code of Conduct against Ballistic Missile Proliferation (HCOC), which serves as an important transparency- and confidence-building measure.

Man-Portable Air Defence Systems:

Canada is mindful of the serious threat to civil aviation posed by the unauthorized acquisition of Man-portable air defence systems (MANPADS) by criminals, terrorists, and other non-state actors. We are taking steps to counter the emerging MANPADS threat to the international community.

Small Arms and Light Weapons:

Canada supported efforts to negotiate an Arms Trade Treaty as one of a number of efforts to curtail the flow of illicit weapons to global criminals, terrorists and human rights violators. Canada similarly supports the UN Programme of Action for Small Arms and Light Weapons in its efforts to coordinate global actions to impede the flow of illicit weapons to those who would misuse them.

Explosive Remnants of War:

Explosive Remnants of War (ERWs) are conventional weapons used during past conflicts but which did not detonate and now lie dangerously unstable. Weapons from former wars such mines, cluster munitions, and artillery shells remain buried in fields, or near homes, hospitals and factories rendering them unusable. Innocent civilians, including children, are often the latest victims of these weapons long after the conflict in which they were used have ended. One of the key international conventions that deals with the issue of ERWs is the Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons and its 5 Protocols.

The Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development provides funding for programs that address the challenges of ERWs through its Stabilization and Reconstruction Task Force (START).

Cluster Munitions:

Canada is committed to ridding the world of cluster munitions. Unexploded bomblets from these munitions pose a threat to civilians long after the fighting has ended. Canada has signed the Convention on Cluster Munitions, which prohibits the use, production, stockpiling and transfer of these weapons and is in the process of ratifying it. Cluster munitions have never been used in CAF-led missions, and CAF is destroying the cluster munitions that remain in its stockpiles.

Before Canada can ratify the Convention on Cluster Munitions, it must pass legislation to bring Canada’s Criminal Code in line with the Convention. Bill C-6, An Act to Implement the Convention on Cluster Munitions, will do that.

Anti-Personnel Landmines:

Anti-personnel landmines, scattered in close to 80 countries, are a global humanitarian problem. These horrific leftovers of war kill and maim innocent victims trying to use their land, travel or just play outside. Anti-personnel mines are a costly burden on affected countries, and to citizens who live with the fear of death or injury with every step. Landmines impede development and drain the medical resources of the countries they infest.

Political momentum to ban landmines was building, yet in 1995-96, international negotiations to limit them using the 1980 UN Convention on Certain Conventional Weapons, had stalled. With popular concern rising, and the UN process stuck, a small group of countries, including Canada, went to Geneva to talk informally about a ban with the International Committee of the Red Cross and International Campaign to Ban Landmines.

In January 1996, Canada announced an immediate moratorium on the use, production, trade or export of anti-personnel mines. By May, Canada announced we would host an international meeting to plan how to completely ban anti-personnel mines.

The Ottawa Convention was signed in December 1997. The Treaty gives a broad framework for dealing with the global landmine problem. Signatories to the Treaty agree to:

  • immediately stop producing, transferring and using anti-personnel mines;
  • destroy stockpiled anti-personnel mines within four years of signing the Convention;
  • clear mined areas;
  • aid mine victims;
  • educate people in mine awareness to reduce their risks, and;
  • co-operate to comply fully with the Convention.

Armes classiques

Aperçu
Missiles balistiques
Systèmes portatifs de défense aérienne
Armes légères et de petit calibre
Explosive Remnants of War
Armes à sous-munitions
Mines terrestres antipersonnel


Aperçu

Le terme « armes classiques » désigne tous les types d’armes qui ne sont pas des armes de destruction massive (ADM, c’est-à-dire les armes chimiques, biologiques et nucléaires). Les armes classiques comprennent les grands systèmes d’armes comme l’artillerie de gros calibre, les chars d’assaut et les navires, ainsi que les armes de petit calibre et les armes légères comme les fusils, les pistolets et de grenades. Elles incluent aussi les systèmes de vecteurs tels que les missiles balistiques, qui peuvent être utilisés pour lancer tant les munitions classiques que celles contenant des ADM. Les armes classiques utilisées au cours de conflits antérieurs sans qu’elles aient explosé sont considérés des restes explosifs de guerre (REG).

Missiles balistiques

Le Canada s'inquiète de la prolifération des missiles – une menace qui pèse de plus en plus lourd avec l'accroissement du nombre de programmes locaux de développement de missiles et de nouveaux exportateurs. Le climat de la sécurité mondiale est fragile, et la prolifération des armes de destruction massive (ADM) et de leurs vecteurs pose à la communauté internationale un défi de taille. En tant que pays partenaire du Régime de contrôle de la technologie des missiles, le Canada assure un contrôle rigoureux des technologies des missiles et contribue à la lutte contre la prolifération des missiles dans les pays qui suscitent des préoccupations. Le Canada a aussi joué un rôle déterminant dans l’élaboration du Code de conduite de La Haye contre la prolifération des missiles balistiques (HCOC) (lien en anglais seulement), adopté à la fois pour favoriser la transparence et comme mesure de confiance.

Systèmes portatifs de défense aérienne

Le Canada est conscient de la grave menace que représente pour l’aviation civile l’acquisition non autorisée de systèmes portatifs de défense antiaérienne (SPDAA) (lien en anglais seulement) par des criminels, des terroristes et d’autres acteurs non étatiques. Nous prenons des mesures afin de contrer la menace croissante que posent les SPDAA pour la communauté internationale.

Armes légères et de petit calibre

Le Canada a appuyé les efforts en vue de négocier un traité sur le commerce des armes à titre de volet d’une série d’efforts visant à enrayer les mouvements d’armes illicites à l’échelle mondiale dont profitent les criminels, les terroristes et les auteurs de violations des droits de la personne. Le Canada appuie également le Programme d’action relatif aux armes légères et de petit calibre de l’ONU, dans le cadre de ses efforts pour coordonner les actions internationales visant à entraver les mouvements d’armes illicites à l’intention de ceux qui veulent en faire une utilisation abusive.

Restes explosifs de guerre

Les restes explosifs de guerre (REG) sont des armes classiques utilisées au cours de conflits antérieurs sans qu’elles aient explosé et qui sont aujourd’hui dangereusement instables. Les armes des guerres passées telles que les mines, les armes à sous munitions et les obus d’artillerie restent enfouies dans les champs ou près des maisons, des hôpitaux et des usines, les rendant inutilisables. Des civils innocents, y compris des enfants, sont souvent, encore de nos jours, les victimes de ces armes longtemps après la fin des conflits où elles ont été utilisées. L’une des principales conventions internationales qui traite de la question des REG est la Convention sur certaines armes classiques et ses cinq protocoles.

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement assure le financement de programmes qui permettent de relever les défis posés par les REG à l’aide du Groupe de travail sur la stabilisation et la reconstruction (GTSR).

Armes à sous-munitions

Le Canada est déterminé à débarrasser le monde des armes à sous-munitions. Les sous munitions non explosées de ces munitions constituent une menace pour les civils longtemps après la fin des combats. Le Canada a signé la Convention sur les armes à sous munitions (lien en anglais seulement), qui interdit l’utilisation, la production, le stockage et le transfert de ces armes et se prépare à la ratifier. Les armes à sous-munitions n’ont jamais été utilisées dans les missions dirigées par les FAC, et les Forces sont en train de détruire celles qui restent dans ses stocks.

Avant que le Canada puisse ratifier la Convention sur les armes à sous-munitions, il doit adopter une loi pour rendre le Code criminel du Canada conforme à la Convention. Le projet de loi C-6, la Loi de mise en œuvre de la Convention sur les armes à sous-munitions, contient les mesures nécessaires à cet égard.

Mines terrestres antipersonnel

Les mines terrestres antipersonnel, dispersées dans près de 80 pays, représentent un problème humanitaire d’envergure mondiale. Ces horribles vestiges de guerre tuent et mutilent d’innocentes victimes qui cherchent à utiliser leurs terres, à se déplacer ou simplement à jouer. Les mines antipersonnel sont un lourd fardeau pour les pays touchés et les citoyens qui éprouvent à chaque pas la crainte d’être tués ou blessés. Les mines entravent le développement et drainent les ressources médicales des pays qu’elles infestent.

Au fil du temps, il s’était formé un mouvement sur le plan politique en faveur de l’interdiction des mines terrestres, mais de 1995 à 1996, les négociations internationales visant à limiter leur utilisation en vertu de la Convention des Nations Unies de 1980 sur certaines armes classiques piétinaient. Devant les craintes croissantes des populations et l’enlisement du processus à l’ONU, un petit groupe de pays, dont le Canada, s’est rendu à Genève pour tenir des pourparlers informels afin de relancer le mouvement avec des représentants du Comité international de la Croix-Rouge et de la Campagne internationale pour l’interdiction des mines terrestres.

En janvier 1996, le Canada a annoncé un moratoire immédiat sur l’utilisation, la production, le commerce et l’exportation de mines antipersonnel. En mai, le Canada a annoncé qu’il serait l’hôte d’une rencontre internationale pour planifier l’interdiction complète des mines antipersonnel.

La Convention d’Ottawa a été signée en décembre 1997. Elle crée un vaste cadre pour régler le problème mondial des mines terrestres. Les signataires de la Convention s’engagent à :

  • mettre fin immédiatement à la production, au transfert et à l'emploi des mines antipersonnel;
  • détruire leurs stocks de mines dans un délai de quatre ans après l'entrée en vigueur de la Convention dans leur pays;
  • déminer les terrains contaminés;
  • venir en aide aux victimes des mines;
  • entreprendre des campagnes d'information afin d'atténuer les risques;
  • coopérer pour assurer le plein respect de la Convention.