The Proliferation Security Initiative

PANAMAX 08 ship boarding exerciseThe Proliferation Security Initiative (PSI) was launched in May 2003 in response to the growing challenge posed by the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction (WMD), their delivery systems and related materials. Participating nations agree to a Statement of Interdiction Principles that includes voluntary political commitments to, inter alia: undertake effective measures to interdict the transport of WMD, their delivery systems and related materials to and from states and non-state actors of proliferation concern; exchange information on suspected proliferation activity to facilitate interdictions; and work to strengthen relevant national counter-proliferation legal authorities where necessary. The PSI is best characterized as an activity rather than an organization and remains a flexible and open mechanism.

Canadian Position

Canada joined the PSI in December 2003. Over 90 other states also participate in the initiative. Canadian participation in the PSI is consistent with, and supportive of, Canada’s emphasis on strengthening counter-proliferation mechanisms to promote regional stability and international security. Canadian participation in the PSI helps us to:

  • Address the threat of WMD proliferation by severing trafficking networks;

  • Develop our domestic response capability to ensure that we can act in a timely and effective manner if/when called upon to do so; and

  • Enhance information sharing with PSI partners on interdiction-related issues

Participation in the PSI demands a multi-disciplinary, whole-of-government approach. DFAIT leads on policy issues, while the Department of National Defence leads on operational issues. Canada has attended every PSI Operational Experts Group (OEG) meeting, in which specialists from 20 core PSI participant-states meet to share information on proliferation trends and potential responses. Canada hosted OEG meetings in Ottawa in April 2004 and in Montreal in December 2006. Canada also actively participates in the PSI exercise programme, which allows states to test their operational capabilities for interdiction on land, sea and air. Through multinational exercises, PSI participants also clearly convey to would-be proliferators their collective determination to combat illicit trafficking in WMD, their means of delivery and related materials.

L’Initiative de sécurité contre la prolifération

L'exercise PANAMAX 08L’Initiative de sécurité contre la prolifération (ISP) a été créée en mai 2003 en raison de la menace grandissante que constituent les armes de destruction massive (ADM), leurs vecteurs et les matières connexes. Les pays participants se sont mis d’accord sur une Déclaration de principes d’interception qui inclut des engagements politiques volontaires, notamment à prendre des mesures efficaces pour intercepter le transport d’ADM, de leurs vecteurs et de matières connexes à destination et en provenance d’États et d’acteurs non étatiques qui suscitent des préoccupations en matière de prolifération, à échanger des informations concernant leurs soupçons sur des activités de prolifération afin de faciliter les interceptions et, au besoin, à travailler au renforcement des bases juridiques nationales pertinentes en matière de lutte contre la prolifération. L’ISP se caractérise le mieux comme une activité plutôt qu’un organisme et demeure un mécanisme souple et ouvert.

Position du Canada

Le Canada s’est associé à l’ISP en décembre 2003. Plus de 90 autres États participent à cette initiative. La participation du Canada est compatible avec l’importance qu’il accorde au renforcement des mécanismes de lutte contre la prolifération pour promouvoir la stabilité régionale et la sécurité internationale. La participation du Canada à l’ISP nous aide à

  • aborder la menace de prolifération d’ADM en mettant fin aux activités des réseaux de trafic;

  • renforcer notre capacité d’intervention pour que nous puissions prendre des mesures immédiates et opportunes quand et si nous sommes appelés à le faire;

  • améliorer l’échange d’informations avec les partenaires de l’ISP concernant des activités liées à l’interception.

La participation à l’ISP nécessite une approche multidisciplinaire pangouvernementale. Le MAECI est responsable des questions politiques alors que le ministère de la Défense nationale s’occupe des questions de nature opérationnelle. Le Canada a assisté à chacune des réunions du Groupe d’experts opérationnels, durant lesquelles se réunissent des spécialistes de 20 principaux pays participant à l’ISP pour partager de l’information sur les tendances de prolifération et les réponses possibles. Il a accueilli les réunions du Groupe à Ottawa en avril 2004 et à Montréal en décembre 2006. Le Canada participe aussi activement au programme d’exercices de l’ISP qui permet aux pays de tester leurs capacités opérationnelles d’interception terrestre, maritime ou aérienne. Grâce aux exercices multinationaux, les participants à l’ISP démontrent à ceux qui contribueraient à la prolifération leur détermination collective de lutter contre le trafic illicite d’ADM, de leurs vecteurs et des matières connexes.