Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Minister Fast Leads Trade Mission to ASEAN Region

Learn more

Minister Paradis promotes Canada’s leadership and the importance of partnerships in the fight against global poverty

Learn more

Canada Strengthens Ties with ASEAN: A Foreign Policy Priority

“We look forward to this relationship reaching its full potential, including at the Leaders’ level in the ASEAN-centred East Asia Summit.”

Learn more

Harper Government Tables Text of Final Agreement of Canada-Korea Free Trade Agreement

Learn more

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) is a regional inter-governmental organization comprising 10 member states. It was established by Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand on August 8, 1967, and was later joined by Brunei (1984), Vietnam (1995), Burma* and Laos (1997) and Cambodia (1999).

The objectives of ASEAN are to accelerate economic growth, social progress and cultural development; promote regional peace and stability, and respect for justice and the rule of law; and increase collaboration across a vast range of economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and administrative spheres. ASEAN is working toward establishing the ASEAN Community, which would comprise the ASEAN Political Security Community, ASEAN Economic Community and ASEAN Social Cultural Community, by December 31, 2015.

In 2008, ASEAN members adopted the ASEAN Charter, which overhauled its management structure, and officially created ASEAN as a legal entity and established several institutional bodies, such as the bi-annual ASEAN Summit, the ASEAN Coordinating Council and the ASEAN Community Council. The ASEAN Secretariat, located in Jakarta, Indonesia, and led by the secretary-general, coordinates the work plans, projects and meetings of ASEAN-associated bodies. The ASEAN Secretariat is also responsible for coordinating ASEAN’s relationship with external partners, such as Canada.


Provincial and Territorial Benefits

Did You Know?

In 2014, bilateral (Canada-ASEAN) merchandise trade grew by 10.7 percent, amounting to $18.8 billion, an increase of 44.2 percent during the last five years.

In 2014, Canadian merchandise imports from ASEAN increased more than 12 percent to almost $12.9 billion.

Canadian merchandise exports to ASEAN rose almost 8 percent to $5.9 billion in 2014.

The stock value of known Canadian direct investment in ASEAN increased 11.2 percent year-on-year, reaching $6.1 billion at the end of 2013.

Eight out of 10 countries are identified as priority markets as part of Canada’s Global Market Action Plan.