Regional Trade and Investment Linkages

Canada recognizes the enormous potential economic opportunities in growing and emerging markets, including Southeast Asia. Bilateral merchandise trade has increased more than 17% over the last five years (2013 figures). As a group, the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) ranks as Canada’s seventh largest merchandise trade partner.

ASEAN countries figure prominently in the Government of Canada’s Global Markets Action Plan. ASEAN sees Canada as a major source of investment, agri-foods and important energy resources vital to sustain ASEAN’s economic growth. Both ASEAN and Canada have agreed to the Joint Declaration on Trade and Investment, which provides opportunities to strengthen bilateral and multilateral cooperation in promoting the flow of trade and investment, and periodically hold senior economic official’s meetings.

The ASEAN-Canada Enhanced Partnership established in July 2009, seeks to enhance economic relations, promote investment, coordinate with existing multilaterals and develop a mechanism for the regular exchange of information on trade and investment.

In August 2012, the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade, announced the creation of the Canada-ASEAN Business Council (CABC), which focuses on increasing private-sector cooperation between Canadian and ASEAN businesses and create a platform for businesses to discuss challenges and opportunities.

Left: Minister Fast and visiting ASEAN ministers shake hands      
Right: Donald Bobiash, Canada’s ambassador to ASEAN and Indonesia, and Susan Gregson, Assistant Deputy Minister, Asia-Pacific, host ASEAN ministers at the CN Tower

The Trade Commissioner Service and ASEAN Member Countries

Click on a country for more information.

Map of the ASEAN Member Countries

VietnamLaosThailandCambodiaPhilippinesMalaysiaSingaporeIndonesiaBrunei Darussalam

Burma*, Vietnam, Laos, Thailand, Cambodia, Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Brunei Darussalam

* Also known as Myanmar

Related Links

Liens régionaux en matière de commerce et d’investissement

Le Canada est conscient de l’énorme potentiel que représentent les débouchés économiques dans les marchés émergents et en croissance, notamment ceux de l’Asie du Sud-Est. Au cours des cinq dernières années, le commerce bilatéral de marchandises a augmenté de plus de 17 p. 100 (données de 2013). Collectivement, l’Association des nations de l’Asie du Sud-Est (ANASE) constitue le septième partenaire en importance du Canada au chapitre du commerce de marchandises.

Les pays de l’ANASE occupent une place prépondérante dans le Plan d’action sur les marchés mondiaux du gouvernement du Canada. L’ANASE considère le Canada comme une importante source d’investissements, de produits agroalimentaires et de ressources énergétiques essentielles pour assurer la croissance économique de ses membres. Le Canada et l’ANASE ont adopté une déclaration conjointe sur le commerce et l’investissement, qui leur offre des possibilités de renforcer la coopération bilatérale et multilatérale en vue de favoriser le flux d’échanges et d’investissements et prévoit la tenue de réunions périodiques des hauts fonctionnaires chargés des questions économiques.

Établi en juillet 2009, le Partenariat renforcé ANASE-Canada vise à améliorer les relations économiques, à favoriser l’investissement, à faciliter la coordination avec les organisations multilatérales existantes et à instaurer un mécanisme d’échange régulier d’informations sur le commerce et l’investissement.

En août 2012, le ministre du Commerce international, l’honorable Ed Fast, a annoncé la création du Conseil commercial Canada-ANASE, qui vise à accroître la collaboration entre les entreprises privées du Canada et des pays de l’ANASE et à créer une plateforme pour permettre aux entreprises de discuter des défis et des débouchés qui se présentent à elles.

À gauche : Le ministre Fast et les ministres de l’ANASE en visite au Canada se serrent la main.
À droite : M. Donald Bobiash, ambassadeur du Canada en Indonésie et auprès de l’ANASE, et Mme Susan Gregson, sous-ministre adjointe, Asie-Pacifique, accueillent les ministres de l’ANASE à la Tour CN.

Le Service des délégués commerciaux et les pays membres de l'ASEAN

Cliquez sur un pays pour plus de renseignements.

 
 

Birmanie*, Viêt-nam, Laos, Thaïlande, Cambodge, Philippines, Malaisie, Singapour, Indonésie, Brunei Darussalam

* Aussi appelée Myanmar.

Liens connexes