Economic and Commercial Engagement

Canada’s commercial presence in the Asia-Pacific region dates back to 1895, when our first trade commissioner was posted to Australia. Canada, as a Pacific country, has intensified its engagement with Asia Pacific, one of the world’s most dynamic regions. Asia-Pacific accounts for half of the world’s population. The Government of Canada has prioritized key trade initiatives in its effort to increase market access and strengthen partnerships in Asia, including the Trans-Pacific Partnership, the Canada-Japan Economic Partnership, the Comprehensive Economic Partnership Agreement with India, the Canada-Korea Free Trade Agreement, and exploratory discussions toward a Canada-Thailand free trade agreement.

Fast facts

  • Over 750 Canadian companies already do business in India.
  • Japan is Canada’s largest foreign direct investment partner in Asia in 2012. More than 330 Japanese subsidiaries in Canada employ tens of thousands of Canadians, particularly in the automotive sector.
  • Asia-Pacific countries hold four of the top ten positions as the largest sources of international students in Canada: China (first), India (second), Korea (third) and Japan (seventh).
  • China is Canada’s second-largest trading partner, after the United States.
  • More Canadian direct investment goes to ASEAN members than to either China or India.
  • Australia is the fifth-largest global destination for Canadian direct investment abroad.

Accomplishments

  • Since 2006, the Government of Canada has partnered with the four western provinces, municipalities and the private sector to announce Asia-Pacific Gateway infrastructure projects worth $3.3 billion, including federal contributions exceeding $1.4 billion.
  • In August 2012, Canada announced the creation of the Canada-ASEAN Business Council, which focuses on advancing private-sector cooperation between Canadian and southeast Asian businesses.
  • Canada and China signed a foreign investment promotion and protection agreement (FIPA) in September 2012. Both countries are moving forward with their respective domestic ratification processes to bring this agreement into force. Once implemented, the FIPA will provide stronger protection to Canadians investing in China, and facilitate the creation of jobs and economic growth in Canada.
  • In September 2013, Canada and India completed the exchange of diplomatic notes, which is the final step in bringing into force the 2010 Canada-India Nuclear Cooperation Agreement.

Engagement économique et commercial 

La présence commerciale du Canada dans la région de l’Asie-Pacifique remonte à 1895, l’année où son premier délégué commercial a été affecté en Australie. En tant que pays du Pacifique, le Canada a intensifié son engagement auprès de l’Asie-Pacifique, une des régions les plus dynamiques de la planète. L’Asie-Pacifique compte la moitié de la population mondiale. Dans le cadre de ses efforts visant à accroître l’accès aux marchés et à consolider ses partenariats en Asie, le gouvernement du Canada a accordé la priorité à des initiatives commerciales essentielles, y compris le Partenariat transpacifique, le partenariat économique entre le Canada et le Japon, l’accord de partenariat économique global avec l’Inde, l’accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Corée ainsi quel’accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et la Thaïlande, qui fait l’objet de discussions exploratoires.

Faits saillants

  • Plus de 750 entreprises canadiennes mènent déjà des activités en Inde.
  • En 2012, le Japon est le plus important partenaire au chapitre des investissements étrangers directs en Asie. Plus de 330 filiales japonaises établies au Canada emploient des dizaines de milliers de Canadiens, notamment dans le secteur de l’automobile.
  • Quatre pays d’Asie-Pacifique figurent parmi les dix principales sources d’étudiants internationaux du Canada : la Chine (première), l’Inde (deuxième), la Corée (troisième) et le Japon (septième).
  • La Chine est le deuxième partenaire commercial du Canada, après les États-Unis.
  • Les membres de l’ANASE attirent une plus grande part des investissements directs du Canada que la Chine ou l’Inde.
  • L’Australie représente la cinquième destination en importance des investissements directs canadiens à l’étranger. 

Réalisations

  • Depuis 2006, le gouvernement du Canada a établi un partenariat avec les quatre provinces de l’Ouest, des municipalités et le secteur privé afin d’annoncer des projets d’infrastructure liés à la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique d’une valeur de plus de 3,3 milliards de dollars, dont plus de 1,4 milliard de dollars versé par le gouvernement fédéral.
  • En août 2012, le Canada a annoncé la création du Conseil commercial Canada-ANASE, qui aura pour mandat de renforcer la coopération entre le secteur privé du Canada et des pays de l’Asie du Sud-Est.
  • Le Canada et la Chine ont signé un accord sur la promotion et la protection des investissements étrangers (APIE) en septembre 2012. Ils procèdent maintenant tous deux à leurs processus internes respectifs de ratification afin de mettre l’accord en vigueur. Une fois en vigueur, l’APIE offrira une plus grande protection aux Canadiens qui investissent en Chine et favorisera la création d’emplois et la croissance économique au Canada.
  • En septembre 2013, le Canada et l’Inde ont terminé l’échange de notes diplomatiques, qui constituait la dernière étape avant l’entrée en vigueur de l’Accord de coopération nucléaire Canada-Inde.