Intercultural Facilitation & Organizational Development

Overview

The success and sustainability of international programs, projects and missions — whether in international development, diplomacy, international business or peace operations — depends on the effectiveness of the collaborations that support them.

This is why the Centre for Intercultural Learning has developed a number of services designed to build shared understanding and commitment amongst diverse groups and individuals. The focus of all of these services is supporting the achievement of sustainable results.

Approach

The Centre has identified seven principles that contribute to the success of international collaborations. The Intercultural Facilitation and Organizational Development Unit offers a series of multi-stakeholder/multi-actor workshops based on these principles.

Essential to these workshops is the presence of an intercultural facilitator, as a neutral third party, who engages participants in dialogue on key issues vital to the success of their collaboration. This approach leads participants to develop a shared understanding of the mission, program or project, to become more committed to it and create new knowledge and solutions together.

The workshops are developed in conjunction with the Centre's clients and involve the key players of the mission, program or project at hand. They can address both what is needed in terms of effectiveness as well as the dynamics of collaboration.

In addition, the Centre's Intercultural Facilitation and Organizational Development Unit offers three courses for building program or project capacity in the field.

Facilitation et développement organisationnel interculturels

Aperçu

La réussite et la durabilité des missions, programmes et projets internationaux, que ce soit dans les secteurs du développement international, de la diplomatie, des affaires ou des opérations de paix, repose sur l'efficacité des collaborations qui les constituent.

C'est pour cette raison que le Centre d'apprentissage interculturel a développé une gamme de services axée sur le renforcement d’une compréhension et d’un engagement partagés parmi les divers individus et groupes qu’elles rassemblent. Tous ces services visent à appuyer l’atteinte collective des résultats durables.

Approche

Le Centre a déterminé sept principes qui influent sur le succès des collaborations internationales. Les ateliers à intervenants multiples ou à acteurs multiples organisés par l’Unité de facilitation et développement organisationnel interculturels reposent sur ces principes.

L'animateur interculturel, qui agit en tant que tierce partie neutre, est un élément clé dans ces ateliers. Celui-ci engage les participants dans un dialogue sur des questions clés nécessaires à la réussite de l'objet de leur collaboration. Cette approche amène les participants à développer une compréhension partagée de la mission, du projet ou du programme, à s'engager davantage envers celui-ci et à créer ensemble de nouvelles connaissances et solutions.

Ces ateliers sont élaborés de pair avec les clients du Centre et impliquent les acteurs principaux de la mission, du programme ou du projet concerné. Ils peuvent répondre tant à des besoins en ce qui a trait à l'efficacité qu'à la dynamique de la collaboration.

De plus, l’Unité de facilitation et développement organisationnel interculturels du Centre offre trois cours pour renforcer la capacité des intervenants sur le terrain du projet ou programme.