International Personnel Assessment Selection System

Overview of the International Personnel Assessment Selection System (IPASS)

Selecting the best candidates for international assignments is a constant challenge for any organization. Research demonstrates that international assignments cost on average three times the employee's salary and that failure rates are higher than previously thought.

Most organizations emphasize technical abilities when selecting candidates for international assignments and neglect intercultural competencies. Although the assessment of technical expertise is a key dimension, the evaluation of intercultural competencies is equally important in identifying the right candidate for the job. A person's ability to adapt, collaborate and effectively communicate in an intercultural environment can make or break a project, international joint venture or on-going operations in a foreign country.

Backed by more than four decades of training, research and evaluation in the intercultural field, the Centre for Intercultural Learning has developed a comprehensive international personnel selection system (IPASS) to assist your organization in increasing the chance of success with any type of international venture. This system comprises two distinct tools: the Behavioural-Based Interview (BBI) and the Intercultural Adaptation Assessment (IAA).

Système évaluation du personnel international

Aperçu du Système d’évaluation du personnel international (SÉPI)

La sélection des meilleurs candidats pour des affectations internationales représente un défi constant pour toute organisation. Les recherches démontrent que les affectations internationales coûtent en moyenne trois fois le salaire de l’employé et que les taux d’échec sont plus élevés qu’on ne le croyait auparavant.

La plupart des organisations mettent l’accent sur les compétences techniques lors de la sélection des candidats pour les affectations internationales et négligent les compétences interculturelles. Même si l’évaluation de l’expertise technique est une dimension essentielle, l’évaluation des compétences interculturelles est aussi importante dans le choix du bon candidat pour le poste. La capacité d’une personne à s’adapter, à collaborer et à communiquer efficacement dans un environnement interculturel peut faire réussir ou échouer un projet, une entreprise internationale ou des opérations en cours dans un pays étranger.

Fort de plus de quarante années de formation, de recherche et d’évaluation dans le domaine interculturel, le Centre d’apprentissage interculturel a élaboré un système d’évaluation du personnel international (SÉPI) détaillé pour aider votre organisation à accroître ses chances de succès dans tout type d’initiative internationale. Ce système comprend deux outils distincts : l’Entrevue axée sur le comportement (EAC) et l’Évaluation de l’adaptabilité interculturelle (EAI).