Pre-Departure Course for International Youth Internships

Background

After over 40 years of training and research experience in intercultural effectiveness, the Centre for Intercultural Learning (CIL) has further deepened its understanding of the principles of building effective intercultural collaborations. CIL's Profile of the Interculturally Effective Person (IEP) describes actual behaviours linked to nine competencies and is the foundation for the pre-departure course.

The environment of international work has changed as a result of the forces of globalization. It is much more complex and multifaceted than it was just a few years ago. A recent study by the Centre inspired a new edition of the pre-departure course that gives more weight to two essential competencies: the ability to diagnose problems and to find innovative solutions working with and between partners; and personal and professional commitment to the sustainability of projects and programs through resilience.

Approach

This course is grounded in principles of adult learning. Experiential learning activities will encourage interns to draw on their own experience, frame it in a new way, add layers of knowledge, and apply that learning in their upcoming internships overseas.

This course focuses on the deepening of self-knowledge through an exploration of one's own cultural lens. The course equips learners with a variety of practical intercultural effectiveness tools that will help interns face ambiguous intercultural and interpersonal situations during their internship. Interns reflect on how their internship will contribute to development. The latest edition takes into account the increasingly complex environment of international development by broadening the application of intercultural learning with the inclusion of three new learning modules: the Context of Development; Collaboration; and the Internship.

Objectives

This course is designed to increase the intercultural effectiveness of interns preparing to live and work in a different cultural context. In order to achieve this, participants will:

  • describe the influence of culture on human behaviour (including our own);
  • decode and bridge complex intercultural situations;
  • recognize the filters and communication styles that interfere in communication across cultures;
  • plan strategies for adjusting rapidly;
  • discuss the meaning of international development from a personal, national and international perspective;
  • develop an understanding of some of the key issues influencing collaboration; and
  • explore tools that will contribute to an effective internship.

Who should attend

Young Canadians participating in international internships. Whether it's a first assignment or one of many, most interns have some international experience and have completed post-secondary studies. However, the course is designed to be relevant and applicable to individuals possessing a broad range of international experience and educational backgrounds.

Availability and duration

This three-day course is offered in many cities across Canada. Primary locations are Vancouver, Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, and Halifax, however, geographic distribution of registered participants determines the location where the course will be delivered.

Course cost

Are you working on a project sponsored by the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)?

Service agreement for CIDA partners.

The Centre's services (and course-related travel and accommodation costs for certain courses) are covered by CIDA without additional costs being charged to your project. These services are available to anyone (Canadians, local partners, interns and international students) involved in a CIDA-funded project. For more information, please contact your sending organization or the Centre at:

Telephone:
819-997-1197
Toll free (in Canada):
1-800-852-9211
Facsimile:
819-997-5409
Facsimile toll-free (in Canada):
1-877-723-1604
Email:
cultures@international.gc.ca
Web site:
www.intercultures.gc.ca

Course Registration

Costs will vary according to the number of participants, the location and duration of the course. For more information, please communicate with the Centre at:

Telephone:
819-997-1197
Toll free (in Canada):
1-800-852-9211
Facsimile:
819-997-5409
Facsimile toll-free (in Canada):
1-877-723-1604
Email:
cultures@international.gc.ca
Web site:
www.intercultures.gc.ca

Course Registration

Additional information

Telephone:
819-997-1197
Toll free (in Canada):
1-800-852-9211
Facsimile:
819-997-5409
Facsimile toll-free (in Canada):
1-877-723-1604
Email:
cultures@international.gc.ca
Web site:
www.intercultures.gc.ca

Participant comments

“I learned a lot and retained many good tools, anecdotes and tips. Thank you for everything. I would come back for more; it was good. This training enriched me a lot.”
“Very dynamic and interesting facilitation. Very concrete and useful content for an internship.”
“I found doing the activities to assimilate material was very relevant. We remember that much more.”

Pré-départ pour programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes

Aperçu

Après plus de 40 ans d’expérience en formation et en recherche dans le domaine de l’efficacité interculturelle, le Centre d’apprentissage interculturel a approfondi sa compréhension des principes contribuant à instaurer des collaborations interculturelles efficaces. Le Profil de la personne efficace sur le plan interculturel (PEI) du CAI décrit les comportements réels liés à neuf compétences (2001). C’est la pièce maîtresse à la base de la conception du cours pré-départ.

Le contexte du travail à l’échelon international s’est transformé sous la poussée de la mondialisation. La complexité est beaucoup plus grande et les facettes se sont multipliées en quelques années à peine. Une étude récente menée par le Centre a inspiré une nouvelle édition du cours pré-départ. Celui-ci accorde plus de place à deux compétences essentielles : la capacité de diagnostiquer des problèmes et de faciliter des solutions novatrices en collaboration avec et entre les partenaires; et la capacité d’engagement personnel et professionnel envers la durabilité des projets et des programmes en faisant preuve de résilience.

Approche

Ce cours repose sur les principes de l’apprentissage des adultes. Les activités d’apprentissage expérientiel encouragent le stagiaire à faire appel à sa propre expérience, à l’adapter, à l’enrichir de nouvelles connaissances et à appliquer ces connaissances au cours de sa prochaine affectation à l’étranger.

Ce cours met l’accent sur une meilleure connaissance de soi au moyen de l’exploration de ses propres filtres culturels. Il propose des outils qui permettront aux stagiaires de faire face à des situations ambiguës sur le plan culturel dans leurs relations personnelles et professionnelles durant leur stage. Il amène aussi les stagiaires à réfléchir à la contribution de leur intervention sur le développement. La plus récente version du cours tient compte de l’environnement toujours plus complexe qui est celui du développement international en élargissant la réflexion et l’application de l’efficacité interculturelle dans trois nouveaux modules d’apprentissage : le contexte du développement, la collaboration; le stage.

Objectifs

Ce cours a pour but d’accroître l’efficacité interculturelle des stagiaires qui partent vivre et travailler dans un contexte culturel différent du leur. Pour atteindre ce but, les participants vont :

  • décrire l’influence d’une culture (dont la leur) sur les comportements humains;
  • décoder et concilier des situations interculturelles complexes;
  • reconnaître les filtres et les styles qui interfèrent dans la communication entre cultures;
  • prévoir des stratégies pour s’adapter rapidement;
  • discuter de ce que signifie « développement international » d’un point de vue personnel, national et international;
  • développer leur compréhension des facteurs ayant une influence sur la collaboration;
  • se familiariser avec des outils qui contribueront à l’efficacité du stage.

Clientèle cible

Jeunes Canadiens qui participent à des stages internationaux. Le cours est conçu de manière à être utile à des individus qui, ayant terminé leurs études postsecondaires et ayant vécu toutes sortes d’expériences internationales tels des voyages, des programmes d’échange, des stages d’études ou de sensibilisation au développement, se préparent à relever un défi professionnel dans le contexte de la coopération internationale.

Disponibilité et durée du cours

Ce cours de trois jours est offert partout au Canada; la demande et la répartition géographique des personnes inscrites déterminent l’endroit. Les villes principales sont Vancouver, Toronto, Ottawa/Gatineau, Montréal et Halifax.

Coût

Est-ce que votre projet est financé par l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)?

Entente administrative pour les partenaires de l’ACDI.

Les services offerts par le Centre (incluant les frais de déplacement et d’hébergement pour certains types de cours) sont fournis par l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) sans imputer des coûts supplémentaires à votre projet. Ces services sont disponibles aux personnes ou aux organismes (Canadiens, partenaires locaux, stagiaires et étudiants étrangers) qui sont impliqués dans une activité financée par l’ACDI. Si vous désirez des informations supplémentaires, veuillez communiquer avec votre organisation ou le Centre au :

Téléphone :
819-997-1197
Sans frais (au Canada) :
1-800-852-9211
Télécopieur :
819-997-5409
Télécopieur sans frais (au Canada) :
1-877-723-1604
Courriel :
cultures@international.gc.ca
Site Web :
www.intercultures.gc.ca

Inscription pour le cours

Les frais vont varier en fonction du nombre de participants, le lieu et la durée du cours. Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre au :

Téléphone :
819-997-1197
Sans frais (au Canada) :
1-800-852-9211
Télécopieur :
819-997-5409
Télécopieur sans frais (au Canada) :
1-877-723-1604
Courriel :
cultures@international.gc.ca
Site Web :
www.intercultures.gc.ca

Inscription pour le cours

Information additionnelle

Téléphone :
819-997-1197
Sans frais (au Canada) :
1-800-852-9211
Télécopieur :
819-997-5409
Télécopieur sans frais (au Canada) :
1-877-723-1604
Courriel :
cultures@international.gc.ca
Site Web :
www.intercultures.gc.ca

Commentaires de participants

J’ai beaucoup appris et je me rappellerai de beaucoup d’outils, d’histoires et de conseils utiles. Merci pour tout.
J’aurais continué volontiers; c’était bien. Ce cours m’a beaucoup apporté.
Animation très vivante et intéressante. Contenu très concret et utile pour un stage.
J’ai trouvé très utile de faire les activités pour assimiler la matière. On s’en souvient d’autant plus.