Program, Project or Mission Start-up Workshop

Background

This workshop is held when the performance framework and expected outcomes of your program, project or mission are agreed upon, and the main features its implementation plan are known. At that point, for the program, project or mission to start up and progress effectively, it is vital that the key partners become involved and engaged. They must gain a shared understanding of the work, the implementation strategy and their respective roles and responsibilities.

Goals

  • Establish shared and clear expectations among the main actors and partners at the outset of a program, project or mission
  • Enable the various players to get to know each other better and become familiar with the management context and their respective roles and responsibilities
  • Establish trust, relationships, shared commitment and common ground
  • Build understanding of the main methods and tools to be used in program, project or mission delivery.

Who is this for?

Programs, projects, missions, or events involving intercultural and multi-stakeholder collaboration.

When and where?

Workshops may be held at any time during an international collaboration. Workshops must bring together the partners involved and will be held where the greatest number of key players can meet, either in Canada or, more often, abroad.

How can I register?

Register Now

Additional information

For more information, please communicate with the Centre at:

Telephone: 343-203-8400

Toll free (in Canada): 1-800-852-9211

Facsimile: 819-997-5409

Facsimile toll-free (in Canada): 1-877-723-1604

Email: cultures@international.gc.ca

Participant comments

"The experience of the workshop's facilitator … was an essential component that enabled high-ranking government members to easily express their opinions and become engaged in a participatory workshop … It can be said, in hindsight, that investing this brief period (two days) in our long, complex project was a judicious and vital initiative."

Perry Trimper, Russia Program Director for Jacques Whitford Environment, after a workshop on the project with the Canadian and Russian project advisory committee, Sustainable Resource Development in the Komi Republic, Russia.

"The workshop's participatory techniques led to very lively discussions in a highly relaxed atmosphere. The workshop enabled collaborators to identify for themselves their expectations and discuss better strategies towards the project's objectives."

Representative of an African university participating in the Project Start-up Seminar, VISAF project (African Virtual University), Cotonou, Benin, September 2003.

Démarrage de programme, projet ou mission

Contexte

Cet atelier a lieu lorsque le cadre de rendement et des résultats attendus de votre programme, projet ou mission font l’objet d’un accord et que les grandes lignes de son plan de mise en œuvre sont connues. Il est alors essentiel, pour que le programme, le projet ou la mission démarre et progresse efficacement, que les partenaires clé s’impliquent et s’engagent. Ceux-ci doivent acquérir une compréhension partagée du travail, de la stratégie de mise en œuvre et de leurs rôles et responsabilités respectifs.

Buts

  • établir des attentes claires et communes entre les principaux acteurs et partenaires dès le début d’un programme, d’un projet ou d’une mission;
  • permettre aux différents acteurs de mieux se connaître et de connaître le contexte de gestion et de leurs rôles et responsabilités respectifs;
  • établir la confiance, les relations, un engagement partagé et un terrain d’entente;
  • comprendre les principales méthodes et les principaux outils à utiliser dans l’exécution du programme, du projet ou de la mission.

Clientèle cible

Les programmes, projets, missions ou événements internationaux qui impliquent des collaborations interculturelles et à intervenants multiples.

Quand et où?

Les ateliers peuvent avoir lieu à tout moment au cours d’une collaboration internationale. Les objectifs de l’atelier varient selon le stade du cycle d’un programme ou d’un projet et selon les besoins des partenaires de la collaboration ou de l’équipe multiculturelle. Les ateliers doivent nécessairement réunir les partenaires impliqués et ils auront lieu là où le plus grand nombre de joueurs-clés peuvent être réunis, soit au Canada ou, le plus souvent, à l’international.

Comment puis-je m’y inscrire?

Inscrivez-vous maintenant

Information additionnelle

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre au :

Téléphone : 343-203-8400

Sans frais (au Canada) : 1-800-852-9211

Télécopieur : 819-997-5409

Télécopieur sans frais (au Canada) : 1-877-723-1604

Courriel : cultures@international.gc.ca

Commentaires de participants

« L’expérience de l’animateur de l’atelier […] été une composante essentielle qui a permis à des membres de très haut rang du gouvernement d’exprimer facilement leurs opinions et à s’engager dans un atelier participatif […] On peut dire, avec le recul, que l’investissement de cette brève période (deux jours) dans notre projet long et complexe a été une initiative judicieuse et essentielle. »

Perry Trimper, directeur du programme de la Russie chez Jacques Whitford Environment, après un atelier sur le projet avec le comité directeur de projet canadien et russe, Développement durable des ressources dans la République de Komi, en Russie.

« Les techniques participatives de cet atelier nous ont conduits à des débats très animés dans une atmosphère très détendue. L’atelier a amené les collaborateurs à définir eux-mêmes leurs attentes et discuter des meilleures stratégies à l’égard des objectifs du projet. »

Représentant d’une université africaine participant à l’Atelier de démarrage de projet, projet VISAF (Université virtuelle Africaine, à Cotonou, au Bénin, en septembre 2003.