The Centre Team

The Centre's strength lies with its staff and team of associates. A group of dynamic individuals with a passion for learning about, and teaching others about, the cultures of the world, our is team committed to helping individuals and organizations maximize their cultural endeavors.

Below is a list of our team members:

343-203-8200

Director

343-203-8196

Deputy Director

View Brigitte Lapierre biography

Brigitte Lapierre is Director (Acting) of the Centre for Intercultural Learning (CIL). She has been with CIL since 2005, first as Learning Specialist and later as Senior Learning Advisor, with a focus on research and training for high risk missions. Her work has had intercultural dynamics as a main focus since 1991 when she began working overseas as Project Supervisor for an NGO in Africa, Asia, Central America and the Caribbean.

Brigitte has worked extensively in the area of adult education; she designed and delivered workshops in the areas of Intercultural Effectiveness, Pre-Departure Orientation, Harassment Awareness, Diversity in the Workplace, Training the Trainers, and Re-entry for Canadians working overseas as well as Adaptation to Canada for newcomers. Brigitte is adept at working with groups composed of individuals with varying profiles.

Brigitte holds a Bachelor of Arts, History, from Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia, as well as a certificate in Adult Education from St. Francis Xavier University, Antigonish, Nova Scotia. In addition she has participated in training courses focused on Conflict Mediation, Results-based Planning and Strengthening Civil Society.

343-203-8188

Operations

343-203-8191

Operations

343-203-8192

Learning Advisor Team

View Fodé Beaudet biography

Fodé Beaudet has been a learning advisor at the Centre for Intercultural Learning (CIL) since 2008. As part of his responsibilities at the Centre, Fodé designs learning programs and projects in the field of Intercultural Effectiveness. Clients include the Canadian Forces and organizations deployed in Fragile States. He is a facilitator for multi-stakeholder processes and he also contributes to the Centre's research agenda. For example, he led a project that investigated the intercultural competencies required for effective short-term overseas assignments as part of Expo 2010, Shanghai, China.

Prior to joining CIL, Fodé led the national chapter of the largest student-run association in the world (Aiesec) and managed global partnerships with Fortune companies, NGO's and international organizations (Aiesec Inernational). He co-created systemic change initiatives involving unlearning notions of African leadership with self-organized networks such as the Berkana Institute. He has also been involved with recruitment and selection of volunteers for international cooperation as well as leading a project to redesign the volunteer experience (CUSO, now CUSO-VSO).

Fodé has work experience in Australia, Ecuador, Senegal, South Africa and The Netherlands. He has chaired global conferences in more than a dozen countries and co-moderated a workshop during the Youth Speak Out for Development: An Interactive Forum with Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean (2006).

Fodé Beaudet holds a Bachelor degree in Finance from l'Université de Sherbrooke. He has a certificate in Adult Education from St. Francis Xavier University and is a Graduate Assistant from the Dale Carnegie Course (Australia).

He has authored two books, including an essay A Caminho de Mim (2004) published in Portugal and a collection of short stories, Dormons, l'éveil sera brutal (2011).

343-203-8182

Learning Support

343-203-8187

Multimedia Team

343-203-8184

Coordination Unit

L'équipe du Centre

La force du Centre est fondée sur les membres de son équipe et de ses collaborateurs. Un ensemble de personnes engagées qui partagent une passion pour l'interculturel; soit l'enseigner, l'apprendre out tout simplement le vivre. Cette équipe se consacre à vous aider à tirer le plein potentiel de vos interaction interculturelles.

Vous pouvez consulter le répertoire des membres de notre équipe ci-dessous :

343-203-8196

Directrice adjointe

Voir la biographie de Brigitte Lapierre

Brigitte Lapierre est directrice (par intérim) au Centre d'apprentissage interculturel (CAI). Arrivée en 2005 au CAI comme spécialiste en apprentissage, elle a ensuite été conseillère principale en apprentissage, surtout en matière de recherche et de formation pour les missions à risque élevé. La dynamique interculturelle est au cœur de son travail depuis 1991, année où elle a commencé à travailler comme superviseure de projet pour une ONG en Afrique, en Asie, en Amérique centrale et dans les Antilles.

Brigitte possède une vaste expérience dans le domaine de l'éducation des adultes; elle a conçu et animé des ateliers dans plusieurs domaines : efficacité interculturelle, orientation pré-départ, sensibilisation au harcèlement, diversité en milieu de travail, formation des formateurs, réintégration des Canadiens travaillant à l'étranger et adaptation des nouveaux arrivants au Canada. Brigitte est particulièrement douée pour le travail auprès de groupes comprenant des personnes aux profils variés.

Brigitte est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en histoire de l'Université Dalhousie de Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse, ainsi que d'un certificat en éducation des adultesde l'Université St. Francis Xavier d'Antigonish, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Par ailleurs, elle a participé à des cours de formation portant sur la médiation des conflits, la planification axée sur les résultats et le renforcement de la société civile.

343-203-8188

Unité des opérations

343-203-8191

Unité des opérations

343-203-8192

Équipe des conseillers en apprentissage

Voir la biographie de Fodé Beaudet

Fodé Beaudet est conseiller en apprentissage au Centre d'apprentissage interculturel (CAI) depuis 2008. Dans le cadre de ses responsabilités au Centre, Fodé conçoit des programmes et des projets d'apprentissage dans le domaine de l'efficacité interculturelle, notamment pour les Forces canadiennes et des organismes déployés dans des États fragiles. En plus de faciliter des processus multilatéraux, il contribue au programme de recherche du Centre. Par exemple, il a dirigé un projet d'examen des compétences interculturelles requises pour assurer l'efficacité des affectations de courte durée à l'étranger dans le cadre d'Expo 2010, à Shanghai, en Chine.

Avant son arrivée au CAI, Fodé a dirigé la section nationale de la plus grande association du monde dirigée par des étudiants (AIESEC) et a géré des partenariats mondiaux avec des entreprises du classement Fortune, des ONG et des organisations internationales (AIESEC International). Il a aussi participé à la création d'initiatives de changement systémique faisant appel à des notions de désapprentissage du leadership africain en collaboration avec des réseaux auto-organisés comme le Berkana Institute. Il a également participé au recrutement et à la sélection de bénévoles pour la coopération internationale et dirigé un projet visant à revoir complètement l'expérience des bénévoles (CUSO, maintenant CUSO-VSO).

Fodé a travaillé en Australie, en Équateur, au Sénégal, en Afrique du Sud et aux Pays-Bas. Il a présidé des conférences mondiales dans plus d'une douzaine de pays et a coanimé en 2006 un atelier dans le cadre de la tribune Les jeunes se prononcent en faveur du développement : un forum interactif avec son Excellence la très honorable Michaëlle Jean.

Titulaire d'un baccalauréat en finances de l'Université de Sherbrooke et d'un certificat en éducation des adultes de l'Université St. Francis Xavier, Fodé Beaudet est aussi un assistant diplômé du Dale Carnegie Course (Australie).

Il est l'auteur de deux ouvrages, soit un essai intitulé A Caminho de Mim (2004) publié au Portugal et le recueil de nouvelles Dormons, l'éveil sera brutal (2011).

343-203-8182

Soutien à l'apprentissage

343-203-8187

Équipe multimédia
343-203-8184

Unité de coordination