Return to the Cadieux-Léger main page

Current Cadieux-Léger Fellow

2013-2014: Aaida Mamuji

Aaida MamujiAaida Mamuji is the 2013-2014 Cadieux-Léger Fellow and will be working in the Policy Research Division until the end of August 2014.

Aaida is a doctoral candidate in Public Administration at the School of Political Studies, Faculty of Social Sciences, at the University of Ottawa. Her area of interest is Canada’s foreign aid policies and the interdepartmental collaboration required in Canada’s whole-of-government approach for involvement in failed and fragile states. During her fellowship, Aaida will be furthering her knowledge in the field by exploring ways in which to promote democratic governance in crisis settings. She will also be conducting research on Open Data and its implications for foreign policy and development, as well as on the intersection of religious freedom and human rights.

More information on Aaida’s experience, publications, and presentations can be found here.

Former Cadieux-Léger Fellows

2012-2013: Michael Urban

Michael UrbanA doctoral student in International Relations at Balliol College, University of Oxford, Michael’s thesis examines how liberalism and trust generate peace between states. During his fellowship, he applied his research to work underway on global re-balancing, burden-sharing, as well as networked societies and foreign policy.

Originally from Winnipeg, Michael holds undergraduate degrees in Politics and History from Queen’s University; an MA in International Affairs from the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs at Carleton University; and an M.Phil in International Relations from Oxford. His research interests include International Relations theory, international peace and security, global governance and Canadian foreign policy. 

For more information on Michael's research, please click here.

2012: Jonathan Kent

Jonathan Kent Jonathan is completing his doctorate in international relations at the University of Toronto. His dissertation examines the recent proliferation of global governance instruments related to international migration. As the Cadieux-Léger Fellow, Jonathan focused on issues related to migrant smuggling, migration trends, and the broader global governance of migration. Prior to the fellowship he held junior scholar positions at The American University and the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars where he focused on Canada-U.S. relations.

2010-2011: Matias Margulis

matias.margulis Matias Margulis completed his doctoral studies at McMaster University and is now an Assistant Professor of International Studies at the University of Northern British Columbia. His dissertation research examined the global regulation of agricultural trade and food security with a particular focus on the World Trade Organization and the United Nations system. As the Cadieux-Léger Fellow, he provided the department with advice and research expertise on the global governance of food security. He is currently working on a new research project on governing land-grabbing.
For more information on Matias, click here.

2009-2010: Clint Abbott

Clint Abbott Clint Abbott is completing his PhD in global governance at the University of Waterloo. His dissertation is on networked governance and summit diplomacy and examines how the emergence of networks has affected the policy process and outcomes. Clint used the last few months of his fellowship to conduct interviews with various actors involved with the 2010 G8/G20 summit policy preparatory process, including individuals from Government of Canada departments and agencies, INGOs and foundations. Prior to the Cadieux-Léger Fellowship, he worked at the Centre for Global Studies at the University of Victoria and the Centre for International Governance Innovation.

2008-2009: Christine Cheng

ChengChristine Cheng is Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in War Studies at King's College London. She researches post-conflict transitions, state failure and statebuilding, and West African politics. She holds a DPhil from Oxford (Nuffield) and was a former Boskey Fellow in International Relations at Oxford (Exeter). At King's, she teaches in the MA program in Conflict, Security, and Development. She is the co-editor of Corruption and Post-Conflict Peacebuilding (Routledge 2011). As the Cadieux-Léger Fellow, Christine conducted research on Liberia's war-to-peace transition. She also worked with the War Economies Division on a project aimed at freezing and seizing the assets of “warlords”.
For more information on Christine, click here or visit her blog

2007-2008: Megan Bradley

Megan BradleyMegan Bradley is a fellow in Foreign Policy at the Brookings Institution, where she works with the Brookings-LSE Project on Internal Displacement. Her research addresses the rights and wellbeing of refugees and internally displaced persons (IDPs), with a particular focus on the resolution of displacement crises and transitional justice issues. After serving as the Cadieux-Léger Fellow, Megan received her doctorate in International Relations from St Antony’s College, University of Oxford (2009). She holds an MSc in Forced Migration (2004) from Oxford and an MA in Philosophy and International Relations from the University of St Andrews (2003). Megan joined Saint Paul University as an Assistant Professor of Conflict Studies in 2009, and has also taught at McGill University. In addition, she has worked with organizations concerned with humanitarian, human rights and development issues including the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) and the International Development Research Centre. She is the author of Refugee Repatriation: Justice, Responsibility and Redress (Cambridge University Press). 
For more information on Megan, click here.

2006-2007: Sean Burges

Sean BurgesSean Burges' Cadieux-Léger Fellowship research project addressed spaces for convergence and divergence in Brazilian and Canadian foreign policy. Sean completed his PhD in Politics and International Studies at the University of Warwick in the United Kingdom, and held a SSHRC post-doctoral fellowship at the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs at Carleton University. He is presently a lecturer at the Australian National University. Prior to this he worked as a Senior Planning Analyst the Canadian International Development Agency and with the Canadian Border Services Agency.
For more information on Sean, click here.

2005-2006: Robert Dufresne

DufresneRobert Dufresne completed his doctorate in law at New York University in 2007. His doctoral dissertation was entitled "Resources, Law and Violence: A Study of International Law's Role in the Relation between Organized Violence and Global Resource Exploitation". As the Cadieux-Léger Fellow he conducted research on how Canadian litigation mechanisms may be applied to advance corporate social responsibility. Robert also contributed to the National Roundtables on Corporate Social Responsibility and the Canadian Extractive Sector in Developing Countries. He is presently an analyst with the Law and Government Division of the Library of Parliament.

2004-2005: Mark Sedra

Mark SedraMark Sedra pursued his doctoral studies in the Political Studies Department at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) in London, and used his time as the Cadieux-Léger Fellow to carry out research on the reconstruction of security structures in conflict-affected settings, with Afghanistan serving as his principal case study. He is now an Adjunct Lecturer in the Department of Political Science at the University of Waterloo and Balsillie School of International Affairs. He is also the co-founder and President of the Security Governance Group, an international affairs consulting firm based in Waterloo, Ontario.
For more information on Mark, click here.

2003-2004: Caroline Boivin

After completing the Cadieux-Léger Fellowship, Caroline Boivin remained within DFAIT and currently serves as the Senior Desk Officer in the Institutions, Policy and Operations Division.

2002-2003: Sylvain Razavi

RazaviWhile serving as the Cadieux-Léger Fellow, Sylvain Razavi carried out a study contrasting Canadian foreign policy towards Iraq before the first Gulf War and before the 2003 invasion of Iraq. He is currently an analyst in the Learning and Professional Development Directorate of the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada.



2001-2002: Philippe Tremblay

Philippe Tremblay's Cadieux-Léger Fellowship coincided with Canada's presidency of the G8, and provided him the opportunity to contribute directly to the G8 Foreign Ministers' Meeting. After completing the Cadieux-Léger Fellowship, Philippe joined the Foreign Service and was first posted to the Canadian Embassy in Tokyo (2006-2009). Upon his return from Japan, Philippe joined the Non-Proliferation and Disarmament Division, where he developed Canada's position papers on NACD issues in the lead-up to the 2010 Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty Review Conference and Canada's G8 Presidency. In 2010 and 2011, he was respectively Departmental Advisor and Senior Departmental Advisor to Minister Lawrence Cannon and Minister John Baird. Philippe is now Political Counsellor at the Embassy of Canada in Ankara, with responsibilities for Turkey, Georgia, Azerbaijan and Turkmenistan.

2000-2001: Hélène Viau

As the Cadieux-Léger Fellow, Hélène Viau's research examined the Canada-Europe defence and security relationship, and resulted in various published articles on this issue. The Fellowship afforded Hélène the opportunity to participate in a variety of academic and government conferences, and in the development of internal documents and speeches on transatlantic relations, as well as policy planning projects including the Canadian Foreign Policy Dialogue. Since then, she occupied different positions at DFAIT and joined the Canadian Foreign Service. She is currently a deputy director in the South Asia Relations Division.

1999-2000: Michael Bonser

Michael Bonser is the Director of the Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Response Group at DFAIT. He has held this position since 2009. Prior to this assignment, Michael has served in a variety of policy advisor positions within the Department’s International Security Branch, including Executive Assistant to the Assistant Deputy Minister, senior advisor Canada-US Defence Relations and senior advisor Humanitarian Affairs. Prior to joining the Department in 1999, Michael served as a Chief of Staff to two different Members of Parliament from 1992-97 and subsequently worked in the non-profit sector in the field of human rights advocacy and protection, including with the Bangladesh Institute of Human Rights in 1998-99. Michael holds a Masters Degree in International Relations (Acadia University) and an Honours B.A. in History and Political Studies (Queen’s University).  He has published several articles on humanitarian intervention and peacebuilding. As the Cadieux-Léger Fellow, Michael's research focused primarily on humanitarian intervention as an element of the broader human security agenda.

1998-1999: David Carment

David_CarmentDavid Carment is Professor of International Affairs at the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs at Carleton University and Fellow of the Canadian Defence and Foreign Affairs Institute (CDFAI). Additionally, he is the Principal Investigator for the Country Indicators for Foreign Policy project, which he launched while serving as the Cadieux-Léger Fellow. Over the course of the fellowship, he also completed a book (co-authored with Frank Harvey) entitled Using Force to Prevent Ethnic Violence: An Evaluation of Theory and Evidence.
For more information on David, click here.

1997-1998: Don Hubert

Don_HubertDon Hubert holds a PhD in Social and Political Science from the University of Cambridge, and is Associate Professor of Public and International Affairs at the University of Ottawa. For nearly a decade, Don led policy development on Canada's human security agenda at the DFAIT, serving as Director of the Human Security Division. Don began his career at DFAIT as the Cadieux-Léger Fellow, after completing post-doctoral positions at the Centre for Foreign Policy Studies at Dalhousie University and the Humanitarianism and War Project at Brown University. As the Cadieux-Léger Fellow, he carried out a study on the campaign to ban landmines.
For more information on Don, click here.

1994-1995: Charles Van der Donckt

As the Cadieux-Léger Fellow, Charles Van der Donckt produced a monograph on regionalism and conflict management that was published by DFAIT and in an academic journal. After completing his PhD at the Australian National University, Charles returned to DFAIT in 1998. He served as the First Secretary at the Canadian High Commission in Canberra before accepting a political-advisory role in Afghanistan in 2007. Most recently he served as the High Commissioner of Canada to Pakistan.

1993-1994: Jennifer Welsh

Jennifer_WelshJennifer Welsh completed her doctorate in international relations at the University of Oxford. During her Cadieux-Léger Fellowship, Jennifer worked on issues related to the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) and cooperative security in the new post-Cold War era. She is presently Professor of International Relations at the University of Oxford, and a Fellow of Somerville College. She is also the co-director of the Oxford Institute for Ethics, Law and Armed Conflict (ELAC).
For more information on Jennifer, visit her profile pages on Oxford's Department of Politics and International Relations page and on ELAC. You may also be interested in her blog on opencanada.org.

1992-1993: Stéphane Lefebvre

Stephane LefebvreStéphane Lefebvre began his career as a Marcel Cadieux Fellow, and subsequently worked as a Defence Scientist with the Directorate of Strategic Analysis at the Canadian Department of National Defence, as an intelligence analyst at the Canadian Security Intelligence Service (CSIS), and as Acting Director of Intelligence and Chief Intelligence and Assessment Programs at the Department of Transport. From 2006 to 2011, he was the Section Head-Strategic Analysis at the Centre for Operational Research and Analysis of Defence Research & Development Canada (DRDC CORA). In 2011-2012, he spent a year at Carleton University’s Canadian Centre for Intelligence and Security Studies (CCISS) as Defence Scientist-in-Residence. In April 2012, he moved to a Program Manager position within the Privy Council Office. Mr. Lefebvre is also a recipient of the Commemorative Medal for the Golden Jubilee of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II. In addition to book chapters and monographs, Mr. Lefebvre has published in several academic and professional journals, including the Revue française de science politiqueInternational JournalContemporary Politics, Low Intensity Conflict and Law Enforcement, among others. He is a member of the editorial board of the Journal of Slavic Military Studies and of the International Journal of Intelligence and CounterIntelligence.

1992: Alexander Moens

Moens_AlexAs DFAIT's first Marcel Cadieux Fellow, Alexander Moens carried out research on the relationship between NATO and the newly emerging foreign and security policy of the European Union. He has continued to publish extensively on this topic, as well as on US foreign policy and Canadian-American relations. Dr. Moens holds a PhD in Political Science at the University of British Columbia, and is a professor of Political Science at Simon Fraser University and a Senior Fellow in American Policy at the Fraser Institute.
For more information on Alexander, click here or visit his website.

If you are a former Cadieux-Léger Fellow and your name does not appear on this list, please contact the Department's Policy Research Division at por@international.gc.ca.

Retourner à la page principale de la bourse Cadieux-Léger

Bourse Cadieux-Léger 2013-2014

Aaida Mamuji

Aaida MamujiAaida Mamuji, titulaire de la bourse d’études Cadieux Léger pour 2013-2014, travaillera à la Direction de la recherche sur les politiques jusqu’à la fin d’août 2014.

Aaida est candidate au doctorat en administration publique à l’École d’études politiques de la Faculté des sciences sociales de l’Université d’Ottawa. Elle s’intéresse aux politiques d’aide étrangère du Canada ainsi qu’à la collaboration interministérielle requise dans le cadre de l’approche pangouvernementale d’intervention du Canada dans les États fragiles et en déroute. Durant son stage, Aaida aura la chance d’approfondir ses connaissances du domaine en explorant des façons de promouvoir la gouvernance démocratique en situation de crise. Elle mènera également des recherches sur les données ouvertes et leurs conséquences sur la politique étrangère et le développement, ainsi que sur l’intersection entre la liberté religieuse et les droits de la personne.

Anciens récipiendaires de la bourse Cadieux-Léger

2013-2014 : Michael Urban

Michael UrbanÉtudiant au doctorat en relations internationales au Collège Balliol de l’Université Oxford, sa thèse examine la manière dont le libéralisme et la confiance favorise la paix entre États. Pendant la durée de sa bourse, il a appliqué ses recherches aux travaux en cours sur le rééquilibrage mondial, le partage des responsabilités ainsi que sur les sociétés en réseau.

Originaire de Winnipeg, Michael est titulaire de diplômes en science politique et en histoire de l’Université Queens; d’une maîtrise de la Norman Paterson School of International Affairs de l’Université Carleton; et d’une maîtrise en relations internationales de l’Université Oxford. Ses intérêts de recherche comptent la théorie des relations internationales, la paix et la sécurité internationales, la gouvernance mondiale et la politique étrangère canadienne.

Pour plus d'informations sur la recherche de Michael, veuillez cliquez ici.

2012 : Jonathan Kent

Jonathan Kent Jonathan termine actuellement son doctorat en relations internationales à l’Université de Toronto. Sa thèse porte sur la récente prolifération d’instruments de gouvernance mondiale liée à la migration internationale. Comme récipiendaire de la Bourse Cadieux Léger, Jonathan concentre ses efforts sur les enjeux relatifs au trafic illicite des migrants, aux tendances en matière de migration et à la gouvernance mondiale plus vaste de la migration. Avant d’obtenir la Bourse Cadieux Léger, il a occupé des postes de chercheur subalterne à l’American University et au Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars, où il s’est concentré sur les relations Canada États-Unis.

2010-2011 : Matias Margulis

Matias Margulis Matias Margulis a achevé ses études doctorales à l’Université McMaster, et est maintenant professeur adjoint en études internationales à l’Université Northern British Columbia. Son travail de recherche porte sur la réglementation mondiale en matière de commerce agricole et de sécurité alimentaire, en accordant une attention particulière à l’Organisation mondiale du commerce et au système des Nations Unies. En tant que titulaire de la bourse Cadieux-Léger, il a fourni des conseils et de l’expertise de recherche au département sur la gouvernance mondiale de la sécurité alimentaire. Il travaille actuellement sur un nouveau projet de recherche portant sur la gouvernance en matière d’acquisition massive de terres.
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur Matias, veuillez cliquer ici.

2009-2010 : Clint Abbott

Clint Abbott Clint Abbott termine actuellement son doctorat sur la gouvernance internationale à l’Université de Waterloo. Son mémoire porte sur la gouvernance en réseau et la diplomatie dans le cadre des sommets, ainsi que sur la façon dont l’introduction des réseaux a eu une incidence sur le processus d’élaboration des politiques et ses résultats. Pendant les derniers mois de sa bourse, M. Abbott a mené des entrevues auprès de différents intervenants de l’établissement des politiques pour les sommets du G8 et du G20 de 2010, notamment des représentants de ministères et d’organismes du gouvernement du Canada, d’organisations non gouvernementales internationales et de fondations. Avant d’obtenir la bourse Cadieux Léger, M. Abbott a travaillé au Centre for Global Studies de l’Université de Victoria et au Centre pour l’innovation dans la gouvernance internationale.

2008-2009 : Christine Cheng

ChengChristine Cheng est chargée de cours (professeure adjointe) en études sur la guerre au Collège universitaire King’s à London. Elle mène des recherches sur la transition après les conflits, la défaillance et l’édification des États, et les politiques de l’Afrique de l’Ouest. Mme Cheng, qui est titulaire d’un doctorat en philosophie du Collège Nuffield à l’Université Oxford, a déjà été récipiendaire de la bourse Boskey en relations internationales du Collège Exeter à l’Université Oxford. Au Collège universitaire King’s, elle enseigne dans le cadre du programme de maîtrise sur les conflits, la sécurité et le développement. Elle est coauteure de Corruption and Post-Conflict Peacebuilding (Routledge 2011). À titre de récipiendaire de la bourse Cadieux-Léger, Mme Cheng a effectué des recherches sur la transition de la guerre à la paix au Libéria. Elle a également travaillé, en collaboration avec la Direction des économies de guerre, à un projet visant à geler et à saisir les actifs des « seigneurs de guerre ».
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur Christine, veuillez cliquer ici ou visitez son blogue.  

2007-2008 : Megan Bradley

Megan BradleyMegan Bradley est une collaboratrice en matière de politique étrangère à la Brookings Institution, où elle travaille au Brookings-LSE Project on Internal Displacement. Ses recherches portent sur les droits et le bien-être des réfugiés et des personnes déplacées à l'intérieur de leur propre pays (PDIP) et sont particulièrement axées sur le règlement des crises liées aux déplacements et des questions de justice transitionnelle. Récipiendaire de la bourse Cadieux-Léger en 2007-2008, Mme Bradley a obtenu un doctorat en relations internationales du Collège St. Antony à l’Université d’Oxford en 2009. Elle est également titulaire d’une maîtrise ès sciences en migration forcée (2004) de l’Université d’Oxford et d’une maîtrise en philosophie et relations internationales de l’Université de St. Andrews (2003). Mme Bradley a intégré l’Université Saint-Paul (à Ottawa, au Canada) à titre de professeure adjointe des études sur les conflits en 2009 et a enseigné à l’Université McGill (à Montréal, au Canada). Elle a en outre collaboré avec des organisations qui œuvrent dans les domaines de l’aide humanitaire, des droits de la personne et du développement, dont le Haut-Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés et le Centre de recherches pour le développement international. Elle est l’auteure de Refugee Repatriation: Justice, Responsibility and Redress (Cambridge University Press).
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur Megan, veuillez cliquer ici.

2006-2007 : Sean Burges

Sean BurgesLe projet de recherche mené par Sean Burges dans le cadre de la bourse Cadieux-Léger portait sur les domaines de convergence et de divergence dans les politiques étrangères brésilienne et canadienne. Sean a complété son doctorat en études politiques et internationales à l’Université de Warwick, au Royaume-Uni, et a reçu une bourse postdoctorale du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines à la Norman Paterson School of International Affairs de l’Université Carleton. Il est actuellement maître de conférences à la Australian National University. Avant cela, il a travaillé comme analyste principal en planification à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur Sean, veuillez cliquer ici.

2005-2006 : Robert Dufresne

DufresneRobert Dufresne a terminé son doctorat en droit à l’Université de New York en 2007. Sa thèse était intitulée Resources, Law and Violence: A Study of International Law’s Role in the Relation between Organized Violence and Global Resource Exploitation. À titre de boursier Cadieux-Léger, il a mené des recherches sur la possibilité d’utiliser les mécanismes du contentieux canadien pour faire progresser la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. Robert a participé également aux tables rondes nationales sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises, et œuvré au sein du secteur canadien de l'extraction dans les pays en développement. Aujourd’hui, il est analyste à la Direction du droit et du gouvernement à la Bibliothèque du Parlement.

2004-2005 : Mark Sedra

Mark_SedraMark Sedra a fait son doctorat au Département d’études politiques de la School of Oriental and African Studies, à Londres. À titre de boursier Cadieux-Léger, il a mené des recherches sur la reconstruction des structures de sécurité dans les environnements post-conflit, son étude de cas se concentrant principalement sur l’Afghanistan. Il est maintenant professeur auxiliaire au Département de sciences politiques de l’Université de Waterloo et à l’école Balsillie des affaires internationales. Il est également cofondateur et président du Security Governance Group, une société d’experts-conseils en affaires internationales située à Waterloo, en Ontario.
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur Mark, veuillez cliquer ici.

2003-2004: Caroline Boivin

Après avoir terminé la bourse Cadieux-Léger, Caroline Boivin est resté au sein du MAÉCI et est actuellement Chargée de dossiers principale à la Direction des institutions, des politiques et des opérations.

2002-2003 : Sylvain Razavi

Sylvain_RazaviÀ titre de titulaire de la bourse Cadieux-Léger, Sylvain Razavi a mené une étude comparant la politique étrangère du Canada à l’endroit de l’Iraq avant la première guerre du Golfe et celle de la période précédant l’invasion de 2003. Il est aujourd’hui analyste à la Direction de l'apprentissage et du perfectionnement professionnel à la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada.

2001-2002 : Philippe Tremblay

L’attribution de la bourse Cadieux-Léger à Philippe Tremblay, qui coïncidait avec la présidence canadienne du G8, lui a offert l’occasion de participer directement à la réunion des ministres des Affaires étrangères du G8. M. Tremblay s’est ensuite joint au service extérieur et a d’abord été affecté à l’ambassade du Canada à Tokyo (de 2006 à 2009). À son retour du Japon, il est entré au service de la Direction de la non-prolifération et du désarmement, où il a travaillé à la rédaction des déclarations de principes du Canada sur les enjeux de la non-prolifération, du contrôle des armements et du désarmement (NCAD) en prévision de la Conférence d’examen du Traité sur la non-prolifération des armes nucléaires de 2010 et de la présidence du G8 par le Canada. M. Tremblay a assumé les fonctions de conseiller ministériel et de conseiller ministériel principal auprès du ministre Lawrence Cannon et du ministre John Baird, en 2010 et 2011 respectivement. Il occupe maintenant le poste de conseiller politique à l’ambassade du Canada à Ankara, qui représente les intérêts canadiens en Turquie, en Géorgie, en Azerbaïdjan et au Turkménistan.

2000-2001 : Hélène Viau

À titre de boursière Cadieux-Léger, Hélène Viau a mené des recherches portant sur la relation Canada–Europe en matière de défense et de sécurité, et publié différents articles à ce sujet. La bourse lui a permis de participer à diverses conférences universitaires et gouvernementales, à l’élaboration de documents internes et de discours sur les relations transatlantiques, ainsi qu’à des projets de planification des politiques, notamment le Dialogue sur la politique étrangère du Canada. Elle a occupé ensuite différents postes au MAECI et s’est jointe au service extérieur du Canada. Hélène est aujourd’hui Directrice adjointe de la Direction des relations avec l'Asie du Sud au MAECI.

1999-2000 : Michael Bonser

Michael Bonser est le directeur du Groupe des affaires humanitaires et des interventions d'urgence au MAECI depuis 2009. Avant cette affectation, il a occupé divers postes de conseiller politique au sein du Secteur de la sécurité internationale du Ministère, dont ceux d’adjoint exécutif du sous-ministre adjoint, de conseiller principal en relations canado-américaines en matière de défense et de conseiller principal en affaires humanitaires. Avant de se joindre au MAECI en 1999, M. Bonser a assumé les fonctions de chef de Cabinet pour deux députés différents de 1992 à 1997. Il a ensuite travaillé au sein d’organisations à but non lucratif qui œuvrent dans le domaine de la promotion et de la protection des droits de la personne. Il a par ailleurs collaboré avec l’Institut bangladais des droits de la personne en 1998-1999. M. Bonser est titulaire d’une maîtrise en relations internationales de l’Université Acadia et d’un baccalauréat ès arts avec spécialisation en histoire et en études politiques de l’Université Queen’s. Il a publié plusieurs articles sur les interventions humanitaires et la consolidation de la paix. En tant que titulaire de la bourse Cadieux-Léger, M. Bonser a mené des recherches portant principalement sur les interventions humanitaires comme élément du programme de sécurité humaine dans son ensemble.

1998-1999 : David Carment

David_CarmentDavid Carment est professeur à la Norman Paterson School of International Affairs de l’Université Carleton et membre du Canadian Defence and Foreign Affairs Institute. Il est également directeur de la recherche au Projet des indicateurs-pays pour la politique étrangère, qu’il a lancé alors qu’il était boursier Cadieux-Léger. De plus, au cours de cette période, il a coécrit un livre avec Frank Harvey, Using Force to Prevent Ethnic Violence: An Evaluation of Theory and Evidence.
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur David, veuillez cliquer ici.

1997-1998 : Don Hubert

Don_HubertDon Hubert est titulaire d’un doctorat en sciences politiques et sociales de l’Université de Cambridge et professeur agrégé à l’École supérieure d’affaires publiques et internationales de l’Université d’Ottawa. Il a dirigé pendant près de dix ans l’élaboration de la politique sur la sécurité humaine au MAECI, à titre de directeur de la sécurité humaine. Don a commencé sa carrière au MAECI à titre de boursier Cadieux-Léger, après avoir exercé des fonctions postdoctorales au Centre d’études sur la politique étrangère de l’Université Dalhousie et avoir participé au projet sur l’humanitarisme et la guerre à l’Université Brown. La bourse Cadieux-Léger lui a permis de mener une étude sur la campagne pour l’abolition des mines antipersonnel.
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur Don, veuillez cliquer ici.

1994-1995 : Charles Van der Donckt

À titre de récipiendaire de la bourse Cadieux-Léger, Charles Van der Donckt a élaboré une monographie sur le régionalisme et la gestion de conflit, publiée par le MAECI et par une revue universitaire. Charles est revenu au MAECI en 1998 après avoir terminé son doctorat à la Australian National University. Il a occupé le poste de premier secrétaire au haut-commissariat du Canada à Canberra, en Australie, avant d’accepter un poste de conseiller politique en Afghanistan en 2007. Plus récemment il était haut-commissaire auprès de la République islamique du Pakistan.

1993-1994 : Jennifer Welsh

Jennifer_WelshJennifer Welsh a obtenu son doctorat en relations internationales à l’Université d’Oxford. Dans le cadre de la bourse Cadieux-Léger, elle a travaillé sur des dossiers concernant l’Organisation pour la sécurité et la coopération en Europe et la sécurité coopérative à l’époque de l’après-guerre froide. Elle est aujourd’hui professeure en relations internationales à l’Université d’Oxford et et chargée de cours au Collège Somerville. Elle est aussi codirectrice du Oxford Institute for Ethics, Law and Armed Conflict (Institut pour l’éthique, le droit et les conflits armés d’Oxford) ou ELAC. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur Mme Welsh, veuillez consulter son profil sur la page du Department of Politics and International Relations (Département de la politique et des relations internationales) de l’Université Oxford et sur celle de l’ELAC. Vous pouvez aussi jeter un coup d’œil à son blogue sur le site opencanada.org.

1992-1993: Stéphane Lefebvre

Stephane LefebvreStéphane Lefebvre a commencé sa carrière comme lauréat de la bourse Marcel Cadieux, et il a par la suite travaillé comme chercheur dans le domaine de la défense au sein de la Direction de l’analyse stratégique du ministère de la Défense nationale, comme analyste du renseignement au Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité (SCRS) et comme directeur intérimaire du renseignement et chef du renseignement et des programmes d’évaluation au ministère des Transports (Transports Canada). De 2006 à 2011, il a assumé les fonctions de chef de la section Analyse stratégique du Centre de la recherche opérationnelle et de l’analyse (CROA) à Recherche et développement pour la défense Canada (RDDC). En 2011-2012, il a passé une année au Canadian Centre for Intelligence and Security Studies (CCISS) de l’Université Carleton à titre de scientifique de la défense en résidence. En avril 2012, il a accepté un poste de gestionnaire de programmes au sein du Bureau du Conseil privé. M. Lefebvre a reçu la Médaille commémorative du jubilé de Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II. Auteur de plusieurs chapitres de livres et monographies, il a aussi publié dans plusieurs revues académiques et professionnelles, entre autres les suivantes : Revue française de science politique, International Journal, Contemporary Politics et Low Intensity Conflict and Law Enforcement. Il est membre du comité de rédaction du Journal of Slavic Military Studies et du International Journal of Intelligence and CounterIntelligence.

1992 : Alexander Moens

Alexander_MoenPremier récipiendaire de la bourse Marcel Cadieux au MAECI, Alexander Moens a mené des recherches sur la relation entre l’OTAN et la nouvelle politique étrangère et de sécurité de l’Union européenne. Il a continué de publier de nombreux articles à ce sujet, ainsi que sur la politique étrangère des États-Unis et les relations canado-américaines. Il est titulaire d’un doctorat en sciences politiques de l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, professeur de sciences politiques à l’Université Simon Fraser et agrégé supérieur de recherches en matière de politique américaine à l’Institut Fraser.
Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur Alexander, veuillez cliquer ici ou visitez son site Web.

Si vous êtes un ancien récipiendaire de la bourse Cadieux-Léger et que votre nom ne fait pas partie de cette liste, veuillez contacter la Direction de la recherche sur les politiques à l'addresse suivante : por@international.gc.ca.