International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO)

Canada’s Delivery on Host-State Commitments to ICAO

Canada has been the host state to the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) since 1947 and, along with its Quebec and Montréal partners, remains strongly committed to the organization.

The Government of Canada renewed its hosting agreement with ICAO for another 20 years and delivered on additional commitments to the organization: Canada completed major renovations to the ICAO premises to better accommodate the 38th ICAO Assembly in the fall of 2013 and future conferences, and increased services and outreach, including at the ministerial level , to the ICAO community.

Canada and its partners continue to work hard to deliver optimal services to the ICAO community in its Montréal home.

This year marks the 70th anniversary of the Convention on International Civil Aviation, which led to the establishment of ICAO. To mark this event, the City of Montréal renamed Square-Victoria metro station to Square-Victoria-OACI. The Mayor of Montréal, Denis Coderre, Quebec’s Minister of International Relations, Christine St-Pierre, Senator Léo Housakos, ICAO’s President of the Council, Olumuyiwa Benard Aliu, ICAO’s Secretary General, Raymond Benjamin, and the President of the Société de transport de Montréal, Philippe Schnobb, were present. A commemorative plaque was unveiled and will be installed at the station.

"This plaque symbolizes our sustained and strong commitment to the work of ICAO in its Montreal home, now and into the future. As Montrealers and visitors alike come and go through this station in the course of their daily affairs, the new name and this plaque will remind them of the city’s proud and vital link to this important organization and the world of aviation.”

John Baird

Canada’s Foreign Affairs Minister

Related Link

L’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI)

Le Canada respecte ses engagements à titre d’État hôte de l’OACI

Le Canada, de concert avec ses partenaires Québec et Montréal, demeure fermement attaché à l’Organisation de l’aviation civile internationale (OACI), dont il est l’hôte depuis 1947.

Le gouvernement du Canada a renouvelé pour un autre 20 ans son accord d’hébergement avec l’OACI et a honoré ses engagements supplémentaires à son égard : il a procédé à la rénovation majeure des locaux de l’organisation pour faciliter la tenue de sa 38e assemblée à l’automne 2013 ainsi que celle d’autres conférences, et il a amélioré les services généraux offerts à la communauté de l’OACI et resserré les liens avec elle, notamment à l’échelon ministériel.

Le Canada et ses partenaires s’emploient constamment à offrir des services optimaux à la communauté de l’OACI à son siège à Montréal.

Cette année marque le 70e anniversaire de la Convention relative à l’aviation civile internationale, dont est issue l’OACI. Pour souligner l’évènement, la Ville de Montréal a renommé la station de métro Square-Victoria pour Square-Victoria-OACI en présence du maire de Montréal, Denis Coderre, de la ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie du Québec, Christine St-Pierre, du sénateur Léo Housakos, du président du conseil de l’OACI, Olumuyiwa Benard Aliu, du Secrétaire général de l'OACI, Raymond Benjamin, et du président de la Société de transport de Montréal, Philippe Schnobb. Une plaque commémorative a été dévoilée et sera installée à cette même station.

« Cette plaque symbolise notre appui ferme et soutenu au travail de l'OACI, dont le siège permanent est à Montréal depuis plus d'un demi-siècle, et le sera encore pour de nombreuses années. Pour les Montréalais et les visiteurs qui traverseront cette station de métro lors de leurs déplacements, le nouveau nom de la station ainsi que cette plaque constitueront un rappel du lien vital et du sentiment de fierté qui lient la ville de Montréal à l'OACI, une organisation éminente dans le monde de l'aviation ».

John Baird

Ministre des Affaires étrangères du Canada

Lien connexe