Ministerial Visit to Africa

Photo Gallery

March 18, 2010

Minister Van Loan visited South Africa and Kenya March 15 to 18 to promote Canadian commercial expertise in Africa and deepen the growing trade relationship.

During his visit to South Africa, Minister Van Loan marked the conclusion of bilateral air transportation negotiations and advocated Canadian investment in South Africa’s mining, transportation and infrastructure sectors.

The Minister also toured the Gautrain depot, where work to build a rapid rail transit network to link O.R. Tambo International Airport, Johannesburg and Pretoria is under way. Canada’s Bombardier Inc. is a key partner in the consortium leading the project.

While in Kenya, Minister Van Loan met with key business and government officials to confirm Canada’s support for East Africa regional economic integration.

While in Nairobi, Minister Van Loan participated in the signing of a memorandum of understanding between the Canadian Commercial Corporation and Muringa Holdings Ltd., which involves developing a thermal power plant at Naivasha, Kenya, to upgrade that country’s power system capacity with Magellan Aerospace Limited of Toronto.

Minister Van Loan's Itinerary

South Africa: March 15-17, 2010

  1. Johannesburg
  2. Cape Town

Kenya: March 18, 2010

  1. Nairobi

Media Centre

News Releases

Media Advisory

Media Kit

Related Links

South Africa

Kenya

Visite ministérielle en Afrique

Galerie de photos

Le 18 mars 2010

Le ministre Van Loan a visité l’Afrique du Sud et le Kenya du 15 au 18 mars afin de promouvoir l’expertise commerciale canadienne et approfondir les relations commerciales.

Durant sa visite en Afrique du Sud, le ministre Van Loan a annoncé la conclusion d’un accord bilatéral de transport aérien et fait la promotion de l’investissement canadien dans les secteurs sud-africains des mines, des transports et de l’infrastructure.

Le ministre Van Loan a également visité le dépôt de Gautrain, où des travaux sont en cours pour construire un réseau de trains rapides entre l’aéroport international O.R. Tambo, Johannesburg et Pretoria. La société canadienne Bombardier Inc. est l’un des principaux partenaires du consortium qui dirige ce projet.

Au Kenya, le ministre a rencontré de hauts représentants du gouvernement et de gens d’affaires dans le but de confirmer l’appui du Canada en faveur de l’intégration économique dans la région de l’Afrique de l’Est.

Pendant qu’il se trouvait à Nairobi, il a assisté à la signature d’un protocole d’entente entre la Corporation commerciale canadienne et Muringa Holdings Ltd, qui prévoit la construction d’une centrale thermique à Naivasha, au Kenya, afin d’améliorer la capacité du réseau d’électricité du pays, avec l’appui de Magellan Aerospace Limited de Toronto.

Itinéraire du ministre Van Loan

Afrique du Sud : 15-17  mars 2010

  1. Johannesburg
  2. Cape Town

Kenya : 18 mars 2010

  1. Nairobi

Centre de presse

Communiqués

Avis aux médias

Trousse des médias

Liens connexes

Afrique du Sud

Kenya