Cross-Country Global Commerce Strategy Consultations

Photos of Minister Fast

As part of Economic Action Plan 2012, the Government of Canada made a commitment to refresh the Global Commerce Strategy (GCS). The government undertook a series of cross-country consultations with industry and business leaders—including those from small-and medium-sized enterprises. A refreshed GCS will align Canada’s trade and investment objectives in large, dynamic and fast-growing priority markets, with an eye to ensuring that Canada is branded to its greatest advantage in those markets.

The GCS was launched in 2007 and has been central to the government’s pro-trade plan.

In May 2012, the government announced the formation of a 10 member advisory panel to help guide Canada’s pro-trade plan and act as a sounding board for a refreshed GCS.

The next phase of the GCS is to be announced in 2013.

Cross-Country Consultations

August 14, 2012 - Minister Fast launches a series of consultations with industry and business leaders—including those from SMEs to help refresh the GCS.

Minister Fast at podium

News Release: Harper Government Kicks Off Cross-Country Consultations on Next Phase of Canada’s Pro-Trade Plan

August 15, 2012 - The Government of Canada undertook consultations in Montréal with business leaders from across Quebec. The views of the Quebec business community will help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy (GCS).

Photo representing Montréal

Trade is fundamental to the prosperity of Quebec, with one in six jobs in Quebec generated by trade. Total exports of goods amounted to nearly $64 billion in 2011. Most of Quebec’s merchandise exports went to the United States (67.6 percent), followed by China (3.8 percent), Germany (2.4 percent), France (2.3 percent) and the Netherlands (2.2 percent). In 2011, the top three merchandise exports from Quebec were aluminum, aircraft and parts, and machinery.

As part of Economic Action Plan 2012, the government announced a commitment to refresh the GCS following extensive consultations with Canada’s key trade and investment stakeholders, including Canada’s business community, with a particular emphasis on the very critical community of small and medium-sized enterprises.

August 16, 2012 - Mark Adler, Member of Parliament for York Centre, on behalf of Minister Fast, attends a consultation session in Toronto with industry and business leaders from across southern Ontario to help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy (GCS).

Photo representing Toronto

News Release: Consultations on Next Phase of Government’s Pro-Trade Plan Take Place in Toronto

August 21, 2012 - Rod Bruinooge, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South, on behalf of the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today attended a consultation session in Winnipeg with industry and business leaders from across Manitoba to help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy (GCS).

Photo representing Winnipeg

News Release: Consultations on Next Phase of Government’s Pro-Trade Plan Take Place in Winnipeg

August 22, 2012 - The Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State (Western Economic Diversification), on behalf of the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today attended a consultation session in Saskatoon with industry and business leaders from across Saskatchewan to help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy (GCS).

Photo representing Saskatoon

News Release: Consultations on Next Phase of Government’s Pro-Trade Plan Take Place in Saskatoon

August 23, 2012 - Devinder Shory, Member of Parliament for Calgary Northeast, on behalf of the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today attended a consultation session in Calgary with industry and business leaders from across Alberta to help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy.

Photo representing Calgary

News Release: Consultations on Next Phase of Government’s Pro-Trade Plan Take Place in Calgary

August 24, 2012 - The Honourable Alice Wong, Minister of State (Seniors), on behalf of the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today attended a consultation session in Vancouver with industry and business leaders from across British Columbia to help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy (GCS).

Photo representing Vancouver

News Release: Consultations on Next Phase of Government’s Pro-Trade Plan Take Place in Vancouver

October 2, 2012 - The Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today met with his Global Commerce Strategy (GCS) Advisory Panel to discuss the next phase of the most ambitious trade expansion plan in Canadian history and ways to ensure the GCS continues to benefit Canadian workers, businesses and families.

News Release: Harper Government Continues Cross-Country Consultation on Refreshed Pro-Trade Plan for Jobs, Growth and Long-Term Prosperity

August 28, 2012 - Foreign Affairs Minister John Baird, on behalf of the Honourable Ed Fast, Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia-Pacific Gateway, today attended a consultation session in Ottawa with industry and business leaders from across Eastern Ontario to help the government refresh its Global Commerce Strategy (GCS).

News Release: Consultations on Next Phase of Government’s Pro-Trade Plan Take Place in Ottawa

Global Commerce Strategy

Related Links

Consultations pancanadiennes sur la Stratégie commerciale mondiale

Photos du ministre Fast

Pour donner suite à l’engagement pris par le gouvernement du Canada dans le Plan d’action économique de 2012 d’actualiser la Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM), le gouvernement a lancé une série de consultations auprès de chefs de file de l’industrie et de dirigeants d’entreprises, y compris des petites et moyennes entreprises. Une SCM actualisée permettra d’harmoniser les objectifs du Canada en matière de commerce et d’investissement sur les grands marchés dynamiques et en croissance rapide, auxquels le Canada attache une importance prioritaire, tout en y présentant le Canada sous son meilleur jour.

La SCM a été lancée en 2007; elle est l’un des pivots du programme de stimulation du commerce du gouvernement.

En mai 2012, le gouvernement a annoncé la création d’un comité consultatif composé de 10 membres, qui aideront à orienter le programme de stimulation du commerce du Canada et agiront à titre de conseillers de validation d’une SCM actualisée.

La prochaine étape de la SCM sera annoncée en 2013.

Consultations

Le 14 août 2012 - Le ministre Fast lance une série de consultations auprès de chefs de file de l’industrie et de dirigeants d’entreprises, y compris des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), afin d’aider à actualiser la SCM

Le ministre Fast au Podium

Communiqué : Le gouvernement Harper amorce les consultations pancanadiennes sur la prochaine étape du plan commercial du Canada

Le 15 août 2012 - Le gouvernement du Canada a tenu à Montréal une séance de consultation auprès des chefs d’entreprise du Québec. Leurs commentaires aideront le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Montréal

Le commerce est essentiel à la prospérité du Québec, dont un emploi sur 6 est lié au commerce. Les exportations québécoises se sont chiffrées à près de 64 milliards de dollars en 2011, la plupart étant destinées aux États-Unis (67,6 p. 100), suivis de la Chine (3,8 p. 100), de l’Allemagne (2,4 p. 100), de la France (2,3 p. 100) et des Pays-Bas (2,2 p. 100). En 2011, le Québec a exporté principalement de l’aluminium, des aéronefs et pièces connexes, ainsi que des machines.

Dans le Plan d’action économique de 2012, le gouvernement a annoncé son intention d’actualiser la SCM à la suite de vastes consultations auprès des principaux intervenants canadiens en matière de commerce et d’investissement, y compris le milieu canadien des affaires et, en particulier, le secteur vital des PME.

Le 16 août 2012 - Le député fédéral de York-Centre, M. Mark Adler, au nom du ministre Fast, a participé à une séance de consultation à Toronto avec des chefs de file de l’industrie et des dirigeants d’entreprise du sud de l’Ontario. Cette séance de consultation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Toronto

Communiqué : Consultations sur la prochaine étape du plan commercial du gouvernement à Toronto

Le 21 août 2012 - Le député fédéral de Winnipeg-Sud, M. Rod Bruinooge, au nom du ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, a participé aujourd’hui à une séance de consultation à Winnipeg avec des chefs de file et des dirigeants d’entreprise du Manitoba. Cette séance de consultation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Winnipeg

Communiqué : Consultations sur la prochaine étape du plan commercial du gouvernement à Winnipeg

Le 22 août 2012 - La ministre d’État (Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest) l’honorable Lynne Yelich, au nom du ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, a participé aujourd’hui à une séance de consultation à Saskatoon avec des chefs de file et des dirigeants d’entreprise de la Saskatchewan. Cette séance de consultation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Saskatoon

Communiqué : Consultations sur la prochaine étape du plan commercial du gouvernement à Saskatoon

Le 23 août 2012 - Le député fédéral de Calgary–Nord-Est, M. Devinder Shory, au nom du ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, a participé aujourd’hui à une séance de consultation à Calgary avec des chefs de file et des dirigeants d’entreprise de l’Alberta. Cette séance de consultation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Calgary

Communiqué : Consultations sur la prochaine étape du plan commercial du gouvernement à Calgary

Le 24 août 2012 - La ministre d’État (Ainés), l’honorable Alice Wong, au nom du ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, a participé aujourd’hui à une séance de consultation à Vancouver avec des chefs de file et des dirigeants d’entreprise de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette séance de consultation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Photo représentant Vancouver

Communiqué : Consultations sur la prochaine étape du plan commercial du gouvernement à Vancouver

Le 2 octobre 2012 - Le ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, a rencontré aujourd’hui les membres du Comité consultatif sur la Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM) pour discuter de la prochaine étape du programme de stimulation du commerce le plus l’ambitieux de l’histoire du Canada ainsi que des mesures à adopter pour s’assurer que la Stratégie profite toujours aux travailleurs, aux entreprises et aux familles du Canada.

Communiqué: Le gouvernement Harper poursuit ses consultations pancanadiennes sur le renouvellement du plan de promotion du commerce axé sur la création d’emplois, la croissance et la prospérité à long terme

Le 28 août 2012 - Le ministre des Affaires étrangères John Baird, au nom du ministre du Commerce international et ministre de la porte d’entrée de l’Asie-Pacifique, l’honorable Ed Fast, a participé aujourd’hui à une séance de consultation à Ottawa avec des chefs de file de l’industrie et des dirigeants d’entreprise de l’est ontarien. Cette séance de consultation aidera le gouvernement du Canada à renouveler sa Stratégie commerciale mondiale (SCM).

Communiqué : Consultations sur la prochaine étape du plan commercial du gouvernement à Ottawa

La Stratégie commerciale mondiale

Liens Connexes