Canada and the Commonwealth

Head of the Commonwealth

Queen Elizabeth II is Head of the Commonwealth, and is Head of State of 16 Commonwealth member countries.

In 2012, Canada celebrated the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee, or 60th anniversary of Her Majesty's accession to the throne as Queen of Canada.

Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting

A Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) is held every two years and is an opportunity for Leaders to discuss global issues and Commonwealth priorities. The next CHOGM will be hosted by Malta in 2015.

There are also regular meetings for foreign, finance, justice, education, health, youth, tourism, gender, environment and sports ministers at which Canadian ministers become acquainted with their counterparts from other countries and both enhance their understanding of international issues and promote Canada's multilateral and bilateral priorities. Commonwealth Foreign Ministers meet annually on the margins of the UN General Assembly.