Guidance on Export Controls

Export Controls to Certain Destinations (incl. Canadian economic sanctions)

Related links

Area Control List

The export or transfer of any goods or technology (including technical data, technical assistance and information necessary for the development, production or use of a good) to countries on the Area Control List is controlled and must be authorized by an export permit issued by the Minister of Foreign Affairs under the authority of the Export and Import Permits Act.

Notices to Exporters provide details about applications to export to countries on the Area Control List:

Automatic Firearms Country Control List

Certain prohibited firearms, weapons, devices, or components thereof that are included on the Export Control List may be exported only to destinations in the Automatic Firearms Country Control List (AFCCL) and only under the authority of an export permit issued by the Minister of Foreign Affairs under the authority of the Export and Import Permits Act. Canada has inter-governmental defence, research, development and production arrangements with countries in the AFCCL.

The following goods, and their components and parts, as defined in section 4.1 of the Export and Import Permits Act and section 84 of the Criminal Code, are subject to the AFCCL when they are also included on the ECL:

  • an automatic firearm, whether or not it has been altered to discharge only one projectile with one pressure of the trigger;
  • any firearm that is prescribed by regulation to be a prohibited firearm;
  • any weapon, other than a firearm, that is prescribed by regulation to be a prohibited weapon;
  • any component or part of a weapon, or any accessory for use with a weapon, that is prescribed by regulation to be a prohibited device;
  • a cartridge magazine that is prescribed by regulation to be a prohibited device.

The AFCCL comprises the following countries:

  • Albania
  • Australia
  • Belgium
  • Botswana
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Turkey
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Prohibitions on military exports

Pakistan: On May 28, 1998, among other measures, the Minister of Foreign Affairs announced that military exports to Pakistan had been banned following nuclear weapons tests by that country. Any application to export to Pakistan goods or technology controlled in Group 2 of the Export Control List will be denied.

Canadian Economic Sanctions

The Parliament of Canada has enacted legislation authorizing the imposition of trade and economic sanctions through the United Nations Act and the Special Economic Measures Act. The Minister of Foreign Affairs is the responsible minister for these statutes.

Prohibitions on certain exports to Iran

The Regulations Implementing the United Nations Resolutions on Iran (the Iran Regulations) were implemented in response to the proliferation risks resulting from Iran's uranium enrichment-related, reprocessing or heavy water-related activities, or to the development of nuclear weapon delivery systems.

As part of the Iran Regulations, certain goods, technologies and transactions are prohibited from being knowingly sold, supplied or transferred, directly or indirectly, to any person in Iran or for the benefit of Iran. These Regulations address a wide variety of activities including, but not limited to, exports, imports, financial transactions, use of registered vessels and aircraft, and property transactions. Exporters must ensure that their transactions are in conformity with the Iran Regulations.

The Iran Regulations also contain important prohibitions in relation to dealings and transactions with "designated persons" and entities who are engaged in, directly associated with, or providing support for Iran's proliferation sensitive nuclear activities or the development of nuclear weapon delivery systems.

The goods and technologies that are prohibited for export to Iran under Section 3 of the Iran Regulations are specified in the Export Control List, in addition to some nuclear-related products. All exports of goods or technology in the Export Control List are subject to export controls and must be authorized by an export permit. To apply for a permit to export controlled goods or technology to Iran, you must follow the procedure and submit the supporting documents which are described in the notice below.

Furthermore, these Section 3 goods and technologies may only be exported to Iran if certain conditions are met and after obtaining a certificate from the Minister of Foreign Affairs to exempt them from the application of the Iran Regulations. Sections 17 to 20 of the Iran Regulations outline the circumstances and conditions under which such certificates may be issued.

Conseils sur les contrôles à l'exportation

Les contrôles à l'exportation à certains pays de destination (y inclus les sanctions économiques canadiennes)

Liens d'intérêts

La liste des pays visés

L'exportation ou le transfert de tout produit ou technologie (y compris les données techniques, l'assistance technique et les renseignements nécessaires à la mise au point, à la production ou à l'utilisation d'un article) vers des pays inscrits sur la Liste des pays visés sont contrôlés et doivent être autorisés par une licence d'exportation délivrée par le ministre des Affaires étrangères aux termes de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation.

Plus d'information sur les demandes d'exportation vers les destinations qui sont inscrites sur la Liste des pays visés est disponible dans des Avis aux exportateurs :

Liste des pays désignés - Armes automatiques (LPDAA)

L'exportation de certaines armes à feu, armes et dispositifs prohibés ou quelque élément ou pièce de tels objets inscrits sur la Liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée est limitée aux destinations qui figurent sur la Liste des pays désignés – Armes automatiques (LPDAA) et doit être autorisée par une licence d'exportation délivrée par le ministre des Affaires étrangères aux termes de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation. Le Canada a conclu des accords intergouvernementaux dans le domaine de la défense, de la recherche, du développement et de la production avec les pays inscrits sur la LPDAA.

Les marchandises suivantes, y compris leurs éléments et pièces, qui sont définies dans la section 4.1 de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation et dans la section 84 du Code criminel, sont soumises à la LPDAA lorsqu'ils sont inscrites sur la LMEC :

  • arme automatique, qu'elle ait été ou non modifiée pour ne tirer qu'un seul projectile à chaque pression de la détente;
  • arme à feu désignée comme prohibée par règlement;
  • toute arme — qui n'est pas une arme à feu — désignée comme prohibée par règlement;
  • élément ou pièce d'une arme, ou accessoire destiné à être utilisé avec une arme, désignés comme prohibé par règlement;
  • chargeur désigné comme prohibé par règlement.

Les pays suivants figuraient sur la LPDAA :

  • Albanie
  • Allemagne
  • Arabie saoudite
  • Australie
  • Belgique
  • Botswana
  • Bulgarie
  • Croatie
  • Danemark
  • Espagne
  • Estonie
  • États-Unis
  • Finlande
  • France
  • Grèce
  • Hongrie
  • Islande
  • Italie
  • Lettonie
  • Lituanie
  • Luxembourg
  • Norvège
  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Pays-Bas
  • Pologne
  • Portugal
  • République tchèque
  • Roumanie
  • Royaume-Uni
  • Slovaquie
  • Slovénie
  • Suède
  • Turquie

Interdictions d'exportations militaires

Le Pakistan : Le 28 mai 1998, le ministre des Affaires étrangères a annoncé, entre autres, l'interdiction d'exporter des marchandises et des technologies militaires au Pakistan suivant l'essai d'armes nucléaires par ce pays. Les exportateurs qui désirent obtenir des licences d'exportation pour des marchandises ou des technologies contrôlées dans le groupe 2 de la LMEC à destination du Pakistan seront automatiquement refusés.

Sanctions économiques canadiennes

Le Parlement du Canada a adopté des lois autorisant l'imposition de sanctions commerciales et économiques, à savoir la Loi sur les Nations Unies et la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales. Le ministre des Affaires étrangères est responsable de ces lois.

Interdictions de certaines exportations vers l'Iran

Le Règlement d'application de la résolution des Nations Unies sur l'Iran (le Règlement) a été mis en vigueur en réponse aux risques de prolifération que présentent les activités iraniennes liées à l'enrichissement d'uranium, au retraitement ou à l'eau lourde, ou à la mise au point de vecteurs d'armes nucléaires.

En vertu du Règlement, il est interdit de sciemment vendre, fournir ou transférer, directement ou indirectement, à toute personne en Iran ou au profit de ce pays, des produits, technologies et services financiers. Le Règlement s'applique à une foule d'activités, notamment l'exportation, l'importation, les opérations financières, l'utilisation de navires et d'aéronefs immatriculés, et les opérations portant sur des biens. Les exportateurs doivent s'assurer que leurs opérations sont conformes aux règlements.

Le Règlement sur l'Iran comporte également d'importantes restrictions en matière de vente ou de transactions financières avec des « personnes désignées » ou des entités désignées qui se livrent, s'associent directement ou offrent un soutien aux activités sensibles de prolifération nucléaire ou à la mise au point des vecteurs d'armes nucléaires en Iran.

Les biens et technologies qu'il est interdit d'exporter en Iran en vertu de l'Article 3 du Règlement comprennent les produits mentionnés dans la Liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée (LMEC) en plus de quelques produits nucléaire-connexes. Toute exportation de biens ou technologies assujettis à la LMEC fait l'objet de contrôles à l'exportation et doit être autorisée par une licence d'exportation. Pour demander une licence en vue d'exporter des biens et technologies contrôlés en Iran, il faut suivre la procédure et soumettre toutes les pièces justificatives décrites dans l'avis ci-dessous.

Dans certains cas, les biens et technologies identifiés dans l'Article 3 peuvent être exportés en Iran à condition que l'exportateur obtienne, du ministre des Affaires étrangères, une attestation qui les exemptera de l'application du Règlement. Les articles 17 à 20 du Règlement précisent les circonstances et les conditions dans lesquelles une telle attestation peut être délivrée.