Export permits for cryptographic items

EU+5 Cryptography export permit

Summary: This type of permit may authorize exports of hardware, software, source code or other technology controlled under Export Control List Group 1 Category 5 – Part 2: “Information Security”. Eligible destinations include all countries within the European Union (except Cyprus), Australia, Japan, New Zealand, Norway and Switzerland. There are no regular reporting requirements but export records must be maintained and provided to the Export Controls Division if requested.

Coverage

EU+5 Cryptography permits may authorize the export by any means (including electronic transfer) of the following:

  • Items (including hardware, software, source code or other technology), as specified on the permit, that incorporate cryptography that is controlled in Category 5, Part 2 of Group 1 of the Export Control List;

This permit may not be used to authorize the export of goods or technology which fall under the following Items, as defined in the Guide to Canada’s Export Controls. Applications which include goods or technology that are controlled in these Items will be returned without action.

  • 1-5.A.2.a.2: Systems, equipment, application specific “electronic assemblies”, modules and integrated circuits for “information security”, as follows, and other specially designed components therefor:designed or modified to perform cryptoanalytic functions
  • 1-5.A.2.a.4: Systems, equipment, application specific “electronic assemblies”, modules and integrated circuits for “information security”, as follows, and other specially designed components therefor: specially designed or modified to reduce the compromising emanations of information-bearing signals beyond what is necessary for health, safety and electromagnetic interference standards
  • 1-5.A.2.a.9: Systems, equipment, application specific “electronic assemblies”, modules and integrated circuits for “information security”, as follows, and other specially designed components therefor: designed or modified to use “quantum cryptography”

EU+5 Cryptography permits authorize exports to final consignees in the following countries:

  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

The validity period for the EU+5 Cryptography permit is 5 years. Permit amendment requests may be made through EXCOL to extend the validity of export permits up to 3 weeks before the expiry date. Exporters may request in the EXCOL application form shorter validity periods. Applicants whose product development cycles are shorter than 5 years may wish to request shorter validity periods since new versions of a cryptography item require the submission of a new application (and these new applications may include all previous versions of the same product).

Prohibitions

EU+5 Cryptography permits explicitly exclude, in the terms and conditions stated on each permit, exports:

  • to countries that are included in the Area Control List; that are subject to Canadian economic sanctions (including those implemented under the United Nations Act or the Special Economic Measures Act); that are excluded from the application of General Export Permit No. 12; and that are subject to sanctions under the Export and Import Permits Act;
    • As of January 2011, the countries that are subject to these measures are the following: Afghanistan, Belarus, Burma (Myanmar), Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Eritrea, Guinea, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Liberia, North Korea, Pakistan, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Zimbabwe.
  • for end-use that is directly or indirectly related to research, development or production of chemical, biological or nuclear weapons, or any missile programmes for such weapons.

Applications

Please contact the Export Controls Division if you wish to submit an application for a multidestination permit using EXCOL and have not done so before. You should send an email to tie.reception@international.gc.ca and request that your EXCOL profile to be set to enable applications for multidestination cryptography permits.

Applications for EU+5 Cryptography permits must include the following:

  • complete application form (generally done through our online system EXCOL)
  • a completed cryptography and information security product questionnaire
  • technical description of the goods/technology. The Export Controls Division undertakes a technical assessment of the goods or technology listed in the export permit application to determine under which Export Control List Item(s) they fall. For this purpose, technical specifications of the export must be detailed and adequately describe the characteristics of the goods and services. Enough details must be provided to establish the true nature of the items. These could be provided in the form of drawings, data sheets, manuals, component lists, block diagrams, exploded view drawings, and so on. Marketing brochures may also provide useful additional information. The information that is submitted should make clear the type and function of the goods and provide key technical parameters.
  • cover letter using the template provided and confirming the exporter agrees to abide by the terms and conditions of the permit

Applicants should note the following guidelines on identifying cryptographic goods and technology in an export permit application:

  • Descriptions of finished products should use the following format: [brand name or name of manufacturer] [model name] [part number]. This information should be consistent with packaging labels, invoices, and shipping documents.
  • Descriptions of software should use the following format: [software developer or publisher name] [software name] [version number x.x] [means of export – eg, on CD or by FTP]. This format assumes that, in the version number, changes to the right of the decimal (eg, from version 3.0 to 3.1) will only be updates, patches, or fixes with no change to the cryptographic functionality, and that any other change to the software, including a change to the cryptographic functionality, will result in a change from version 3 to version 4.
  • Item descriptions should not describe the purpose, use, or physical appearance of the product (this should be provided instead in the field “Overall Description of Goods and End-Use” in the EXCOL application form) nor include references to the Export Control List (self-assessments should be provided in the field “ECL No.” in the EXCOL application form).
  • The Description is how the goods or technology will be identified on the export permit, which will also be verified against the Export Declaration submitted to the Canada Border Services Agency at the time of export.

An export permit issued for software will generally include the version number, as noted above (eg, version 1.x). Changes to the version number to the left of the decimal (ie, from version 1.x to version 2.x) require a new permit to be issued. In other words, if a permit is issued for version 1.1, the exporter may also use that permit to export versions 1.2 and 1.3 (assuming there has been no change to the cryptographic functionality). However, that permit may not be used to export version 2.1 of the same software. A new permit application should be submitted.

Compliance

After issuance of an EU+5 Cryptography permit, the exporter must:

  • comply with other terms and conditions that may be stated on an export permit. Exporters are obliged to comply with these conditions when they export under the authority of the permit. Exporters must review the terms and conditions upon receipt of the export permit and prior to exporting, and may contact the Export Controls Division (email tie.reception@international.gc.ca) for more information.
  • comply with provisions of the Export and Import Permits Act which require, inter alia, the keeping of records for at least six years after the end of the year to which they relate, and that such records be provided upon demand to an officer of the Export Controls Division. Exporters using this permit must retain documentation which demonstrates that the exporter has undertaken due diligence. Such documentation may include contracts, invoices, requests for products, statements of work, specific correspondence, (if applicable) vendor/reseller/distributor agreements, and bills of lading. The purpose of due diligence is to verify that the transaction adheres to the permit and its specific terms and conditions.

Licences d'exportation applicables aux articles de cryptologie

Licence d'exportation de cryptologie UE+5

Résumé : Ce type de licence peut autoriser l'exportation de matériel informatique, de logiciels, de code source ou d'une autre technologie visés par la Liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée (LMEC), groupe 1, catégorie 5 – partie 2 : « Sécurité de l'information ». Les pays de destination admissibles sont tous les pays membres de l'Union européenne (sauf la Chypre), plus l'Australie, le Japon, la Nouvelle-Zélande, la Norvège et la Suisse. Il n'existe pas d'exigences relatives à l'établissement de rapports périodiques, mais des dossiers sur les exportations doivent être tenus et fournis à la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation, si elle en fait la demande.

Portée

Les licences d'exportation de cryptologie UE+5 peuvent autoriser l'exportation par tous les moyens (y compris le transfert électronique) des :

  • articles (notamment le matériel informatique, les logiciels, les codes sources ou d'autres technologies) figurant sur la licence, qui comprennent tout article cryptographique contrôlé du groupe 1, catégorie 5 – partie 2 de la LMEC.

Cette licence ne peut être utilisée pour autoriser l'exportation de marchandises ou de technologies appartenant à la catégorie d'articles énumérés ci-après, lesquels sont décrits dans le Guide des contrôles à l'exportation du Canada. Les demandes qui contiennent des marchandises ou des technologies contrôlées dans cette catégorie seront retournées et il n'y sera pas donné suite.

  • 1-5.A.2.a.2 : Systèmes, équipements, « ensembles électroniques » spécifiques à une application donnée, modules ou circuits intégrés assurant la « sécurité de l'information », comme suit, et autres composants spécialement conçus ou modifiés pour exécuter des fonctions d'analyse cryptographique.
  • 1-5.A.2.a.4 : Systèmes, équipements, « ensembles électroniques » spécifiques à une application donnée, modules ou circuits intégrés assurant la « sécurité de l'information », comme suit, et autres composants spécialement conçus ou modifiés pour réduire les émanations compromettantes de signaux porteurs d'information, au-delà de ce qui est nécessaire dans le cadre des normes de santé, de sécurité ou de brouillage électromagnétique.
  • 1-5.A.2.a.9 : Systèmes, équipements, « ensembles électroniques spécifiques à une application donnée, modules ou circuits intégrés assurant la « sécurité de l'information comme suit, et autres composants spécialement conçus ou modifiés pour utiliser la « cryptographie quantique ».

Les licences d'exportation de cryptologie UE+5 autorisent les exportations vers les destinateurs finaux dans les pays suivants :

  • Allemagne
  • Australie
  • Autriche
  • Belgique
  • Bulgarie
  • Danemark
  • Espagne
  • Estonie
  • Finlande
  • France
  • Grèce
  • Hongrie
  • Irlande
  • Italie
  • Japon
  • Lettonie
  • Lituanie
  • Luxembourg
  • Malte
  • Norvège
  • Nouvelle-Zélande
  • Pays-Bas
  • Pologne
  • Portugal
  • République tchèque
  • Roumanie
  • Royaume-Uni
  • Slovaquie
  • Slovénie
  • Suède
  • Suisse

La période de validité d'une licence d'exportation de cryptologie UE+5 est de cinq ans. Une demande de modification de licence peut être présentée dans le Système CEED pour prolonger la période de validité de la licence d'exportation d'au plus trois semaines avant la date d'expiration. Le formulaire de demande CEED offre aux exportateurs l'option de demander une période de validité plus courte. Les exportateurs dont le cycle de développement du produit est plus court que cinq ans peuvent demander une période de validité plus courte, puisque les nouvelles versions d'un article cryptographique nécessitent la soumission d'une nouvelle demande (et ces nouvelles demandes peuvent comprendre toutes les options antérieures d'un même produit).

Interdictions

Les licences d'exportation de cryptologie UE+5 excluent explicitement dans leurs conditions l'exportation :

  • vers les pays figurant sur la Liste des pays visés; qui sont assujettis aux sanctions économiques canadiennes (y compris celles applicables en vertu de la Loi sur les Nations Unies ou de la Loi sur les mesures économiques spéciales); qui sont exclus de la demande de licence générale d'exportation no 12; et qui sont assujettis aux sanctions prévues par la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation;
    • Depuis le mois de janvier 2011, les pays visés par ces mesures sont les suivants : l'Afghanistan, le Bélarus, la Birmanie (Myanmar), la Corée du Nord, le Congo, la Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, l'Érythrée, la Guinée, l'Iran, l'Iraq, le Liban, le Liberia, le Pakistan, le Rwanda, la Sierra Leone, la Somalie, le Soudan, la Syrie et le Zimbabwe.
  • pour utilisation finale directement ou indirectement liée à la recherche, au développement ou à la production d'armes chimiques, biologiques ou nucléaires, ou à tout programme de missiles applicable à de telles armes.

Demandes

Veuillez communiquer avec la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation si vous souhaitez soumettre une demande de licence à multiples destinations en utilisant le CEED et que vous ne l'avez pas fait antérieurement. Vous devriez envoyer un courriel à l'adresse tie.reception@international.gc.ca et demander que votre profil CEED soit établi afin de pouvoir présenter une demande de licence d'exportation de cryptologie à multiples destinations.

Les demandes de licences d'exportation de cryptologie UE+5 doivent inclure :

  • un formulaire de demande rempli (en général au moyen de notre système en ligne CEED);
  • un questionnaire sur le produit lié à la cryptologie et à la sécurité de l'information rempli;
  • une description technique des marchandises ou de la technologie. La Direction des contrôles à l'exportation procède à une évaluation technique des marchandises ou de la technologie figurant sur la demande de licence d'exportation, afin de déterminer de quel(s) article(s) de la LMEC ces marchandises ou cette technologie relèvent. À cette fin, les spécifications techniques de l'exportation doivent être détaillées et décrire adéquatement les caractéristiques des marchandises et des services. Il faut fournir suffisamment de détails pour établir la véritable nature des articles. Ces détails peuvent prendre la forme de dessins, de feuilles de données, de manuels, de listes de composantes, etc. Des brochures commerciales peuvent aussi fournir de l'information supplémentaire utile. L'information soumise doit clairement indiquer le type de marchandises et leur fonction et fournir des paramètres techniques clés;
  • une lettre d'accompagnement d'après le modèle fourni, confirmant que l'exportateur accepte de respecter les conditions de la licence.

Les demandeurs doivent prendre note des lignes directrices suivantes sur l'identification de marchandises et de technologies cryptographiques lorsqu'ils présentent une demande pour une licence d'exportation :

  • La description des produits finis devrait respecter le format suivant : [nom de la marque ou nom du fabricant] [nom du modèle] [numéro de pièce]. Cette information devrait être compatible avec les étiquettes des emballages, les factures et les documents d'expédition.
  • La description des logiciels devrait respecter le format suivant : [concepteur du logiciel ou nom de l'éditeur] [nom du logiciel] [numéro de version x.x] [mode d'exportation – p. ex., sur CD ou par FTP]. Ce format suppose que, dans le numéro de version, les changements à la droite de la décimale (p. ex., de la version 3.0 à la version 3.1) ne seront que des mises à jour, des rustines ou des corrections de bogue, sans modification de la fonctionnalité de cryptologie, et que tout autre changement au logiciel, y compris une modification de la fonctionnalité de cryptologie, donnera lieu au passage à une autre version, p. ex., de la version 3 à la version 4.
  • La description de l'article ne devrait pas porter sur le but, l'utilisation ou l'apparence physique de l'article (ces renseignements devraient plutôt figurer dans le champ du formulaire de demande du CEED, intitulé « Description générale des marchandises et utilisation finale »), ni comprendre de références à la LMEC (des autoévaluations devraient être fournies sur le formulaire de demande du CEED dans le champ réservé au numéro de LMEC).  
  • La description doit correspondre à la façon dont les marchandises ou la technologie seront détaillées sur la licence d'exportation, laquelle sera aussi comparée à la déclaration d'exportation soumise à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada au moment de l'exportation.

En général, une licence d'exportation de logiciel comprend le numéro de version, comme il est mentionné ci-dessus (p. ex. version 1.x). Les changements apportés au numéro de version à la gauche de la décimale (p. ex. de la version 1.x à la version 2.x) nécessitent la délivrance d'une nouvelle licence. Autrement dit, si une licence est délivrée pour la version 1.1, l'exportateur peut aussi utiliser la licence pour les versions 1.2 et 1.3 (à condition qu'il n'y ait eu aucun changement aux fonctions cryptographiques). Toutefois, cette licence ne peut pas être utilisée avec la version exportée 2.1 du même logiciel. Il faudrait alors présenter une nouvelle demande de licence.

Conformité

Après avoir reçu une licence d'exportation de cryptologie UE+5, l'exportateur doit :

  • se conformer aux autres conditions pouvant être stipulées sur la licence d'exportation. Les exportateurs sont tenus de respecter ces conditions lorsqu'ils exportent en vertu de la licence. Ils doivent examiner les conditions à la réception de la licence d'exportation et avant d'exporter, et peuvent communiquer avec la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation (adresse de courriel : tie.reception@international.gc.ca) pour obtenir plus d'information.
  • se conformer aux dispositions de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, laquelle exige, entre autres, la conservation des registres pendant au moins six ans suivant la fin de l'année qu'ils visent, et la fourniture de ces registres, sur demande, à un agent de la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation. Les exportateurs qui utilisent cette licence doivent conserver des documents démontrant qu'ils ont exercé la diligence requise. Parmi les documents acceptés figurent les contrats, les factures, les demandes de produits, les énoncés de travail, une correspondance détaillée, des ententes conclues avec un vendeur/revendeur/distributeur (s'il y a lieu) et des connaissements. La diligence requise a pour but de s'assurer que la transaction est conforme à la licence et à ses conditions spécifiques.