Export Controls Handbook

Use of this Document

This Export Controls Handbook is intended as a reference tool for exporters and provides practical information about the administration of Canada's export controls which are administered pursuant to the Export Control List, the Area Control List and the Automatic Firearms Country Control List under the authority of the Export and Import Permits Act. Information contained in this Handbook includes: how to obtain the necessary permits for the export or transfer of controlled items and how to comply with the requirements of the Export and Import Permits Act and its related regulations.

The information in this Handbook does not pertain to applications to export goods described in Items 5001 to 5204 (Medical Products, Forest Products, and Agriculture and Food Products) of the Export Control List.

In any case where a discrepancy arises between the Export Controls Handbook and the relevant legislation and regulations, the legislation and regulations will prevail. For the purposes of interpreting and applying the law, please consult Part III of the Canada Gazette, “Acts of Parliament”, and Part II of the Canada Gazette, “Official Regulations”.

These publications are available in most public libraries and on the Canada Gazette website. Electronic copies of the Export and Import Permits Act and its related regulations are also available on the Department of Justice website.

Contact Export Controls

The Export Controls Division of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada is responsible for the administration of export controls under the authority of the Export and Import Permits Act.

How to contact us:

Export Controls Division (TIE)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

Telephone: 613-996-2387
Facsimile: 613-996-9933
E-mail: tie.reception@international.gc.ca
Internet: http://www.exportcontrols.gc.ca

For general enquiries, including the status of an export permit application, please call 613-996-2387 or e-mail: tie.reception@international.gc.ca. Please quote the export permit application identification (ref ID) number.

For Enquiries Related to the CBSA

For enquiries related to the Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), including detention or seizure of goods, Customs Declaration Form (B-13A), or the Customs Automated Export Declaration, please call 1 (800) 461-9999 or contact your local CBSA office. Telephone numbers are available in the blue pages of your local telephone book under “Government of Canada”. Information is also available on Canada Border Services Agency website.

Previous Page | Table of Contents | Next Page

Manuel des contrôles à l'exportation

Utilisation du présent document

Le présent manuel des contrôles à l'exportation se veut un outil de référence pour répondre aux questions des exportateurs et fournir de l'information pratique au sujet de l'administration des contrôles à l'exportation au Canada aux termes de la Liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée, de la Liste des pays visés et de la Liste des pays désignés (armes automatiques) en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation. Ce manuel contient des renseignements quant à la façon d'obtenir les licences nécessaires pour exporter ou transférer des marchandises contrôlées et quant à la façon de satisfaire aux exigences de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation et aux règlements qui s'y rattachent.

Les renseignements contenus dans le présent manuel ne concernent pas les demandes d'exportation des marchandises décrites aux articles 5001 à 5204 (produits médicaux, produits forestiers et produits agricoles et alimentaires) de la Liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée.

En cas de divergence entre le Manuel des contrôles à l'exportation et la loi et les règlements pertinents, la loi et les règlements prévaudront. Aux fins de l'interprétation et de l'application de la loi, veuillez consulter la Partie III - Lois sanctionnées - et la Partie II - Règlements officiels - de la Gazette du Canada, qu'on peut trouver dans la plupart des bibliothèques publiques et sur le site Gazette du Canada. La Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation et ses Règlements apparentés peuvent également être consultés sur le site web du Ministère de la Justice.

Contactez la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation

La Direction des contrôles à l'exportation du ministère des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement est chargée de l'administration des contrôles à l'exportation en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation. Nos coordonnées :

Direction des contrôles à l'exportation (TIE)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2

Téléphone : 613-996-2387
Télécopieur : 613-996-9933
Courriel : tie.reception@international.gc.ca
Internet : http://www.controlesalexportation.gc.ca

Pour obtenir des renseignements généraux, notamment pour savoir où en est une demande de licence d'exportation, veuillez composer le 613-996-2387 ou envoyer un courriel à l'adresse suivante en précisant le numéro de référence de la demande : tie.reception@international.gc.ca.

Demandes de renseignements sur l'ASFC

Pour toute demande de renseignements sur l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC), notamment sur la retenue et la saisie de marchandises, la Déclaration d'exportation (formulaire B13A) ou la Déclaration d'exportation canadienne automatisée (DECA), veuillez composer le 1-800-461-9999 ou communiquer avec le bureau régional de l'ASFC dont les coordonnées se trouvent dans les pages bleues de l'annuaire téléphonique local à la rubrique « Gouvernement du Canada ». Vous pouvez aussi consulter le site Web de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

Page précédente | Table des matières | Page suivante