Logs

Clarification of the procedures regarding the export of logs harvested from Treaty Settlement (and self-government) Lands in British Columbia

This notice provides clarification of the procedures regarding the export of logs harvested from Treaty Settlement (and self-government) Lands in British Columbia, categories of land that did not exist at the time of the initial publication of Notice to Exporters No. 102 – Export of Logs from British Columbia.

1. In order to lawfully export logs harvested from Treaty Settlement Lands in British Columbia (areas of land owned and managed by First Nations pursuant to a treaty between the First Nations and the Federal Government) or self-government lands (areas of land over which First Nations have jurisdiction pursuant to a self-government agreement with the Federal Government), an applicant/exporter must obtain an export permit issued by the Export Controls Division of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (ECD/DFAIT). In order to obtain an export permit, the applicant/exporter must provide the ECD/DFAIT the following documents:

i) A completed export permit application:

Applicants/Exporters wishing to apply for an export permit via paper may do so by completing form EXT-1042 (PDF, 91.5 KB), Application for Permit to Export Goods (General Information Form) and form EXT 1042-3 (PDF, 113 KB), Application for Permit to Export Goods (Logs Detail Form).

Applicants/Exporters wishing to apply for an export permit electronically may do so by using EXCOL, DFAIT's online export permit application system. Within the EXCOL system, applicants will select ‘Apply for… B.C. Logs' from the list of options provided.

ii) Written letter of consent from the duly appointed representative of the First Nation government having jurisdiction over the Treaty Settlement Lands or self-government lands from which the logs proposed forexport were harvested.

2. The letter of consent issued shall be sent to the ECD/DFAIT at the following address:

i) By postal mail:
Log Export Controls Clerk
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade
Export Controls Division (TIE)
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

ii) By E-mail: tie.logs-billes@international.gc.ca

iii) By Fax: 613-944-2491

3. Upon receipt of the documents noted above, the ECD/DFAIT will undertake the process of reviewing the application and if acceptable, issuing the Federal export permit.

4. As with all logs exported from British Columbia, logs must be available for inspection by the British Columbia Ministry of Forests and Ranges. As well, all logs must be marked to identify their origin.

Billes de bois

Précisions sur les procédures pour l'exportation des billes de bois récoltées sur des terres visées par le règlement conventionnel (et autonomes) en Colombie-Britannique

Le présent communiqué donne des précisions sur les procédures à suivre pour l'exportation des billes de bois récoltées sur des terres visées par le règlement conventionnel (et autonomes) en Colombie-Britannique, ces catégories de terres n'existant pas au moment de la publication de l'Avis aux exportateurs no 102 — Exportation de billes de Colombie-Britannique.

1. Pour exporter légalement des billes de bois récoltées sur des terres visées par le règlement conventionnel en Colombie-Britannique (terres appartenant aux Premières nations et régies par elles conformément à un traité entre les Premières nations et le gouvernement fédéral) ou des terres autonomes (terres relevant de l'autorité des Premières nations conformément à une loi sur l'autonomie gouvernementale conclue avec le gouvernement fédéral), le requérant ou exportateur doit obtenir une licence d'exportation délivrée par la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (DCE/MAECI). Pour obtenir une licence d'exportation, le requérant ou exportateur doit fournir au DCE/MAECI les documents suivants :

i) une demande de licence d'exportation dûment remplie :

Les requérants ou exportateurs peuvent demander une licence d'exportation par écrit en remplissant le formulaires EXT 1042 (PDF, 91.5 ko) — Demande de licence pour exporter des marchandises (Renseignements généraux) et le formulaire EXT 1042-3 (PDF, 113 ko) — Formulaire de demande de licence d'exportation de marchandises (Billes de bois).

Les requérants ou exportateurs peuvent demander une licence d'exportation par voie électronique à l'aide du système de demande de licence d'exportation en ligne du CEED élaboré par le MAECI. Dans le CEED, les demandeurs sélectionneront dans le menu de gauche «  Demander… Billes de bois de la C.-B. ».

ii) un accord écrit émanant du représentant dûment désigné par le gouvernement de la Première nation ayant compétence sur les terres visées par le règlement conventionnel ou autonomes sur lesquelles ont été récoltées les billes de bois que l'on veut exporter.

2. Une fois délivré, l'accord écrit doit être envoyé au DCE/MAECI à l'adresse suivante :

i) par la poste :
Commis aux contrôles à l'exportation des billes de bois
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international
Direction des contrôles à l'exportation (TIE)
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2

ii) par courriel : tie.logs-billes@international.gc.ca

iii) par télécopieur : 613-944-2491

3. Dès la réception des documents mentionnés ci-dessus, le DCE/MAECI procédera à l'examen de la demande et, si elle est admissible, à la délivrance d'une licence d'exportation fédérale.

4. Comme pour toutes les billes de bois exportées de la Colombie-Britannique, les billes de bois doivent pouvoir faire l'objet d'une inspection par le British Columbia Ministry of Forests and Range. Toutes les billes de bois doivent également être marquées pour indiquer leur origine.