Export Permits and Export Controls

Multiple destination permit for dual-use items

Summary

This type of permit may be used to export most dual-use items controlled in Group 1 and in Item 5504 of the Export Control List.It may be used to export to any consignee in 28 countries, as long as consignees and end-users of the goods or technology exported are located in those countries. Consignees must be reported twice a year and export records must be maintained and provided to the Export Controls Division if requested.This permit is an alternative to single destination permits (which specify consignees and may be used to export only to single countries).Failure to comply with the terms and conditions of this permit may result in its suspension or cancellation.

The following summarizes the use and conditions of this permit.Exporters should consult Notice to Exporters SER-177 for more details before submitting an application.

Coverage

Multiple destination permits for dual-use items (MDP-Dual-Use) may authorize the export by any means (including electronic transfer) of most of the goods and technology referred to in:

  • Group 1 of the Export Control List
  • Item 5504 of the Export Control List

However, a limited number of goods and technology may not be exported using an MDP-Dual-Use.The list of such items is found in Notice to Exporters SER-177. In addition:

  • Goods and technology that are concurrently controlled in a Group or Item other than Group 1 or Item 5504 and which are not covered by a General Export Permit may not be exported using an MDP-Dual-Use.Such exports must be authorized by a regular single destination export permit.
  • In the case of goods and technology controlled by Item 5504, an MDP-Dual-Use may not be used to export any goods and technology that are subject to the requirement for a United States export authorization as described in paragraph 3(2)(c) of the Export Permits Regulations.
  • An MDP-Dual-Use may not be used to export goods or technology that are or have become subject to control under Item 5505 of the Export Control List.

Consignees for exports made using an MDP-Dual-Use may only be located in the following 28 countries:

Argentina
Australia
Austria
Belgium
Bulgaria
Czech Republic
Denmark
Finland
France
Germany

Greece
Hungary
Ireland
Italy
Japan
Luxembourg
Netherlands
New Zealand
Norway

Poland
Portugal
South Korea
Spain
Sweden
Switzerland
Turkey
Ukraine
United Kingdon

The end-use location of goods and technology made using this permit must be in Canada, the United States, or the countries noted above. The exporter is obliged to establish the end-use location of the goods and technology exported using the MDP-Dual-Use.

An MDP-Dual-Use may be valid for up to 5 years. Like other permits, MDP-Dual-Use may be amended as described in the Export Controls Handbook. However, the validity of an MDP-Dual-Use will not be extended beyond 5 years from the original date of issuance. It is the exporter’s responsibility to submit a new application for an MDP-Dual-Use to ensure that it has a valid permit.

Applications

General information about permit applications may be found in the Export Controls Handbook.

MDP-Dual-Use applications may be submitted using the secure, online system EXCOL. Applicants may select “MDP-Dual-Use” when they are asked to identify the consignee type in the online application form. If this option is not available to you, please contact the Export Controls Division by email at tie.reception@international.gc.ca.
Applicants must meet the following conditions in order to be able to apply for a permit:

  • the applicants must be residents of Canada;
  • the applicant and the exporter name must be the same; and

Applications for MDP-Dual-Use must include the following:

  • a complete application form (generally done through our online system EXCOL);
  • a technical description of the goods and technology;
  • the estimated quantity and value of exports to be made during the validity period of the permit;
  • a cover letter using the template provided and confirming the exporter has export compliance procedures in place and agrees to abide by the terms and conditions of the permit.

In addition to the information in the Export Controls Handbook, applicants should know the following:

  • Descriptions of finished products should use the following format: [brand name or name of manufacturer] [model name] [part number, if applicable]. This information should be consistent with packaging labels, invoices, and shipping documents.
  • Descriptions of software or technical data should use the following format: [software developer or publisher name] [software name] [version number x.x] and identify the means of export – eg, on a DVD-ROM or by electronic file transfer;
  • Item descriptions should not describe the purpose, use, or physical appearance of the product (this should be provided instead in the field “Overall Description of Goods and End-Use” in the EXCOL application form) nor include references to the Export Control List (self-assessments should be provided in the field “ECL No.” in the EXCOL application form);
  • The description is how the goods or technology will be identified on the export permit, which will also be verified against the Export Declaration submitted to the Canada Border Services Agency at the time of export.

Compliance

The terms and conditions stated on an MDP-Dual-Use set out some requirements that exporters must fulfill after issuance of this permit. This permit is an alternative to single destination permits (which specify consignees and may be used to export only to single countries). Failure to comply with the terms and conditions of this permit may result in its suspension or cancellation.

Exporters using an MDP-Dual-Use are required to submit a report on consignees every six months. This report includes a statement by the exporter about the role of each consignee. It is recommended that exporters use the following template for these reports: Semi-annual report template MDP Dual-use (XLSNote *, 18KB). These reports should be submitted by uploading them to the Document tab in the relevant file in EXCOL.

Exporters must also maintain records about exports made and provide them to the Export Controls Division of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada upon request.

Export Control Compliance Plan

A statement is required in the cover letter that the exporter has implemented an export control compliance plan. Multidestination permits allow greater flexibility to exporters than individual permits, but also impose different conditions on them, in particular the requirement to submit certain reports at regular intervals. Failure to comply with these conditions may result in the suspension or cancellation of a multidestination permit. When this happens, an exporter may not use the permit until full compliance has been restored and must apply for individual permits in the interim. Export control compliance plans may reduce the risk and consequences of non-compliance.

In general terms, an export control compliance plan consists of defined or prescribed processes and procedures to ensure that employees at all levels of a company understand and act in accordance with the letter and spirit of the Export and Import Permits Act, the Customs Act, other trade-related legislation (for example, on economic sanctions) and their related regulations.

The export control compliance plan should establish the steps and due diligence processa company follows when planning, marketing, and shipping items included in the Export Control List to foreign clients, and should also cover download practices (if applicable). An important provision of such a plan is a defined processto provide a reasonable level of assurance (due diligence) that goods or technology may not beexported to unauthorized or illegitimate end-uses or end-users.

Attached to an export permit may be terms and conditions that constitute legal obligations on the company that uses that permit. An export control compliance plan should ensure that those terms and conditions are recorded and that internal company processes reflect and meet those obligations.

Other obligations on exporters of goods and technology subject to export controls are prescribed in the following sections of the Export and Import Permits Act:

  • Subsection 10.2 (which requires exporters to make records available for inspection)
  • Subsection 10.3 (which requires records to be kept)
  • Section 13 (which prohibits exports of goods or technology included in the Export Control List except in accordance with an export permit)
  • Section 16 (which prohibits the transfer of an export permit)
  • Section 17 (which prohibits the furnishing of false or misleading information or any misrepresentation in relation to an export permit application)
  • Section 18 (which prohibits any person from assisting another to contravene the Act or its regulations)

An export control compliance plan should also address a procedure to deal with instances of non-compliance. For example, the Export Controls Division of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada should be promptly notified of any failure to comply with the provisions of the Export and Import Permits Act or the terms and conditions of any export permit issued under the authority of that Act.

Notes

Note *

If you require a plug-in or third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Return to Note * referrer

Licences et contrôles des exportations

Licence à destinations multiples pour les produits à double usage

Résumé

Cette licence peut être utilisée pour exporter la plupart des produits à double usage qui sont contrôlés dans le groupe 1 et à l'article 5504 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée. Elle peut être employée afin d'exporter des produits à tout destinataire dans 28 pays, à condition que les destinataires et les utilisateurs finaux des marchandises ou des technologies exportées soient situés dans ces pays. Les destinataires doivent faire l'objet de rapports deux fois par année, et les dossiers des exportations doivent être conservés et transmis à la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation sur demande. Ce type de licence constitue une solution de rechange aux licences à destination unique (lesquelles font mention des destinataires et sont utilisées pour exporter des produits vers un seul pays). Le non‑respect des conditions d'utilisation de cette licence peut entraîner sa suspension ou son annulation.

Les paragraphes ci-dessous résument l'utilisation de cette licence et les conditions qui s'y rapportent. Les exportateurs peuvent consulter l'Avis aux exportateurs SER-177 pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements avant de présenter une demande.

Champ d'application

Les licences à destinations multiples pour les produits à double usage (LDM-double usage) autorisent l'exportation, par n'importe quelle méthode (y compris les transferts électroniques), de la plupart des marchandises et des technologies indiquées :

  • dans le groupe 1 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée;
  • à l'article 5504 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée.

Toutefois, un nombre limité de marchandises et de technologies ne peuvent être exportées au moyen d'une LDM-double usage. La liste de ces produits se trouve dans l'Avis aux exportateurs SER-177. De plus :

  • les marchandises et les technologies qui sont contrôlées concurremment dans un groupe ou à un article autres que le groupe 1 ou l'article 5504 et qui ne sont pas couvertes par une Licence générale d'exportation ne peuvent être exportées au moyen d'une LDM-double usage – de telles exportations doivent être autorisées par une licence d'exportation à destination unique;
  • dans le cas des marchandises et des technologies contrôlées à l'article 5504, une LDM‑double usage ne peut être utilisée pour exporter toute marchandise ou technologie assujettie à l'obligation d'obtenir une autorisation d'exportation des États-Unis, conformément à l'alinéa 3(2)c) du Règlement sur les licences d'exportation;
  • une LDM-double usage ne peut être utilisée pour exporter des marchandises ou des technologies assujetties à des contrôles à l'article 5505 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée.

Les destinataires des exportations faites au moyen d'une LDM-double usage doivent se trouver dans l'un des 28 pays suivants :

Allemagne
Argentine
Australie
Autriche
Belgique
Bulgarie
Corée du Sud
Danemark
Espagne
Finlande 

France
Grèce
Hongrie
Irlande
Italie
Japon
Luxembourg
Norvège
Nouvelle-Zélande
Pays-bas

Pologne
Portugal
Republique tchèque
Royaume-Uni
Suède
Suisse
Turquie
Ukraine

L'emplacement de l'utilisation finale des marchandises et des technologies exportées au moyen de cette licence doit être situé au Canada, aux États-Unis ou dans l'un des pays susmentionnés. L'exportateur se trouve dans l'obligation de préciser l'emplacement de l'utilisation finale des marchandises et des technologies exportées au moyen d'une LDM-double usage.

Une LDM-double usage est valide jusqu'à un maximum de cinq ans. À l'instar des autres licences, une LDM-double usage peut être modifiée conformément au Manuel des contrôles à l'exportation. Toutefois, la validité d'une LDM-double usage ne peut être prolongée au-delà de cinq ans à partir de la date de l'octroi de la licence. Il incombe à l'exportateur de présenter une nouvelle demande de LDM-double usage afin de s'assurer de posséder une licence valide.

Demandes

Pour de plus amples information générale sur les demandes de licence, consultez le Manuel des contrôles à l'exportation.

Les demandes de LDM-double usage doivent être présentées à l'aide du système sécurisé en ligne CEED. Les demandeurs peuvent sélectionner « LDM-double usage » lorsqu'on leur demande d'identifier le type de destinataire dans le formulaire de demande en ligne. Si vous n'avez pas accès à cette option, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation par courriel à l'adresse tie.reception@international.gc.ca.

Les demandeurs doivent répondre aux conditions suivantes pour être en mesure de demander une licence  :

  • le demandeur doit résider au Canada;
  • le nom du demandeur doit être le même que celui de l'exportateur;

Les demandes de LDM-double usage doivent comprendre les éléments suivants :

  • le formulaire de demande dûment rempli (en général à l'aide de notre système en ligne CEED);
  • une description technique des marchandises et des technologies;
  • une estimation de la quantité et de la valeur des exportations qui seront faites au cours de la période de validité de la licence;
  • une lettre d'accompagnement rédigée en suivant le modèle fourni et confirmant que l'exportateur a établi des procédés de vérification de la conformité des exportations et qu'il accepte de respecter les conditions d'utilisation de la licence.

Outre l'information contenue dans le Manuel des contrôles à l'exportation, les demandeurs doivent savoir ce qui suit :

  • La description d'un produit fini doit respecter le format suivant : [nom de la marque ou du fabricant] [nom du modèle] [numéro de pièce, s'il y a lieu]. Ces renseignements doivent correspondre aux étiquettes de l'emballage, aux factures et aux documents d'expédition.
  • La description d'un logiciel ou de données techniques doit respecter le format suivant : [nom du concepteur ou de l'éditeur du logiciel] [nom du logiciel] [numéro de version x.x]. Elle doit également faire mention de la méthode d'exportation, par exemple, par DVD‑ROM ou par transfert de fichier électronique.
  • La description du produit ne doit pas inclure l'objet, l'utilisation ou l'apparence physique du produit (ces renseignements doivent être indiqués dans le champ « Description générale des marchandises et utilisation finale » du formulaire de demande dans le CEED), ni comprendre de références à la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée (une autoévaluation doit être fournie dans le champ « No. de la LMEC » du formulaire de demande du CEED).
  • La description doit correspondre à la façon dont les marchandises ou la technologie seront décrites dans la licence d'exportation, laquelle sera aussi comparée à la déclaration d'exportation présentée à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada au moment de l'exportation.

Conformité

Les conditions énoncées dans une LDM-double usage comprennent certaines exigences auxquelles les exportateurs doivent répondre après l'octroi de la licence. Cette licence constitue une solution de rechange aux licences à destination unique (lesquelles font mention des destinataires et sont utilisées pour exporter des produits vers un seul pays). Le non-respect des conditions d'utilisation de cette licence peut entraîner sa suspension ou son annulation.

Les exportateurs qui utilisent une LDM-double usage doivent présenter tous les six mois un rapport sur les destinataires. Ce rapport comprend une déclaration de l'exportateur concernant le rôle de chaque destinataire. Nous recommandons aux exportateurs d'utiliser le modèle de rapport suivant : modèle de rapport semestriel LDM-double usage (XLSNote *, 18 Ko).  Ces rapports devraient être soumis en les téléchargeant dans l'onglet Document dans le dossier correspondant dans le système CEED.

Les exportateurs doivent également conserver les dossiers relatifs aux exportations et les transmettre à la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada sur demande.

Plan de conformité aux contrôles à l'exportation

Une déclaration est requise dans la lettre d'accompagnement, précisant que l'exportateur a mis en œuvre un plan de conformité aux contrôles à l'exportation. Les licences à multiples destinations offrent aux exportateurs une plus grande souplesse que les licences individuelles, mais elles leur imposent aussi des conditions différentes, en particulier l'exigence de soumettre certains rapports à intervalles réguliers. L'inobservation de ces conditions peut entraîner la suspension ou l'annulation d'une licence à multiples destinations. Lorsque cette situation se produit, l'exportateur ne peut pas utiliser la licence tant que sa pleine conformité n'est pas rétablie et doit demander des licences individuelles dans l'intervalle. Les plans de conformité aux contrôles à l'exportation peuvent réduire le risque de non-conformité et ses conséquences.

En termes généraux, un plan de conformité aux contrôles à l'exportation est composé de processus et de procédures définis ou prescrits afin de s'assurer que les employés de tous les échelons de l'entreprise comprennent la lettre et l'esprit de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, de la Loi sur les douanes et de toute autre loi liée au commerce (par exemple, sur les sanctions économiques) et leurs règlements, et agissent de manière à s'y conformer.

Le plan de conformité aux contrôles à l'exportation doit établir les mesures et le processus de diligence raisonnable qu'une entreprise suit lorsqu'elle assure la planification, la commercialisation et l'expédition d'articles figurant sur la LMEC et destinés à des clients étrangers, et doit aussi comprendre des pratiques de téléchargement (le cas échéant). Un processus défini, afin de fournir un niveau d'assurance raisonnable (diligence raisonnable) que les marchandises ou la technologie ne peuvent pas être exportées à des fins ou à des utilisateurs non autorisés ou illégitimes, constitue une disposition importante d'un tel plan.

La licence d'exportation peut comporter des conditions qui constituent une obligation juridique de la part de l'entreprise qui l'utilise. Le plan de conformité aux contrôles à l'exportation doit faire état de ces conditions et garantir que les processus internes de l'entreprise reflètent et respectent ces obligations.

Les sections suivantes de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation prévoient d'autres obligations applicables aux exportateurs de marchandises et de technologie assujetties aux contrôles à l'exportation :

  • paragraphe 10.2 (qui exige que les exportateurs rendent les registres disponibles pour inspection);
  • paragraphe 10.3 (qui exige la tenue de registres);
  • article 13 (qui interdit l'exportation de marchandises ou de technologie figurant sur la LMEC, si ce n'est sous l'autorité d'une licence d'exportation);
  • article 16 (qui interdit le transfert d'une licence d'exportation);
  • article 17 (qui interdit de fournir des renseignements faux ou trompeurs ou de faire en toute connaissance de cause une déclaration erronée dans une demande visant l'obtention d'une licence d'exportation);
  • article 18 (qui interdit à une personne d'aider quiconque à enfreindre la loi ou ses règlements).

Le plan de conformité aux contrôles à l'exportation devrait aussi prévoir une procédure de traitement des cas de non-conformité. Par exemple, la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada devrait rapidement être avisée de toute inobservation des dispositions de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation ou des conditions de toute licence d'exportation délivrée en vertu de cette loi.

Notes

Note *

Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à ce fichier, veuillez consulter la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.

Return to Note * referrer