Notice to Exporters

Butter, Dairy Spreads, Fats and Oils Derived From Milk, Other Than Butter Or Dairy Spreads (Items 159, 159.1 and 160 on the Import Control List)

Serial No. 854
Date: December 10, 2013

Table of Contents

  1. Purpose
  2. Coverage
  3. Duration
  4. Authority
  5. Size and Duration of the Butter, Dairy Spreads, and Fats and Oils Derived from Milk, Other Than Butter or Dairy Spreads TRQ for 2013-2014
  6. Allocation of the TRQ
  7. Supplemental Imports
  8. Import Permit Issuance
  9. Name of the Permits
  10. Permit fees
  11. Further information

1.0 Purpose

1.1 The purposes of this Notice are:

  • a. To inform importers of the Ministers policies and practices respecting the administration of the 3,274,000 kilogram tariff rate quota (TRQ) for butter, dairy spreads, and fats and oils derived from milk, other than butter or dairy spreads. It should be read with the Import Allocation Regulations and the Import Permit Regulations. Where elements of the present Notice augment these Regulations, those elements are to be read as expressions of the Minister's normal practices and procedures; and
  • b. To inform importers that the TRQ for butter, dairy spreads, and fats and oils derived from milk, other than butter or dairy spreads for the 2013-2014 marketing year has been entirely allocated to the Canadian Dairy Commission (CDC).

2.0 Coverage

2.1 This Notice cancels and replaces Notice to Importers No. 805, dated October 18, 2011. It refers to Items 159, 159.1 and 160 of the Import Control List (ICL), butter falling under tariff items 0405.10.10 or 0405.10.20, dairy spreads falling under tariff items 0405.20.10 or 0405.20.20, and fats and oils derived from milk, other than butter or dairy spreads falling under tariff items 0405.90.10 or 0405.90.20 in the list of tariff provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff.

2.2 This Notice should be read in conjunction with the most recent Notice to Importers governing the administration of supplementary imports for dairy products which is available on the Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada Internet site: Controlled Products - Agriculture - Dairy Products

2.3 Importers who require a determination as to whether the product they intend to import is within the scope of this Notice may contact Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA), Trade Programs and CARM Directorate at 613-957-1468, fax: 613-952-3971.

3.0 Duration

3.1 This Notice will remain valid until further notice.

4.0 Authority

4.1 Each of the products covered by this Notice was added to the Import Control List (ICL) pursuant to paragraphs 5(1)(a), (b), (d) and (e) and sections 5.3 of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) in order to implement a Canadian commitment under the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Agriculture.

4.2 Under TRQs, imports are subject to low within access commitment rates of duty up to a predetermined limit (i.e., until the import access quantity has been reached); imports over this limit are subject to higher over access commitment rates of duty. Under section 6.2 of the EIPA, the Minister may: a) determine an import access quantity allowed entry at the low rate of duty; b) establish a method of allocating the import access quantity; and c) issue an import allocation to any resident of Canada that applies for an allocation, subject to the regulations and any terms and conditions the Minister may specify in the allocation. Also pursuant to section 6.2 of the EIPA, the Minister may consent to the transfer of import allocations. Having established an import access quantity, the Minister shall, under subsection 8.3(1) of the EIPA, issue import permits to allocation holders that apply for permits, up to the limit of that quantity, subject to compliance and application of regulations made under section 12 of the EIPA. These permits shall entitle the goods to which they apply to be subject to the low within access commitment rates of duty. Subsection 8.3(3) allows the Minister to issue permits in excess of the access quantity.

4.3 Pursuant to subsection 6 (f) of the Import Allocation Regulations, when deciding whether to issue an import allocation or whether to consent to a transfer, the Minister shall take into account whether the import allocation holder has furnished false or misleading information in connection with any reports required by the Act or the regulations made under the Act or by any condition of an import allocation or import permit during the 12-month period preceding the period in respect of which the import allocation or transfer is to apply.

4.4 Pursuant to subsection 10.(1) of the EIPA, the Minister may amend, suspend, cancel or re-instate any permit or import allocation issued or granted under the Act.

5.0 Size and Duration of the Butter, Dairy Spreads, and Fats and Oils Derived from Milk, Other Than Butter or Dairy Spreads TRQ for 2013-2014

The butter, dairy spreads, and fats and oils derived from milk, other than butter or dairy spreads TRQ for 2013-2014 is set at 3,274,000 kg, within which 2,000,000 kg is a country-specific reserve to New Zealand, and extends from August 1, 2013 to July 31, 2014, inclusive.

5.1 The butter, dairy spreads, and fats and oils derived from milk, other than butter or dairy spreads TRQ for 2013-2014 is set at 3,274,000 kg, within which 2,000,000 kg is a country-specific reserve to New Zealand, and extends from August 1, 2013 to July 31, 2014, inclusive.

6.0 Allocation of the TRQ

6.1 The marketing year for the TRQ that applies to butter, dairy spreads, fats and oils derived from milk, other than butter or dairy spreads extends from August 1 to July 31, inclusive.

6.2 The Minister has approved the allocation of the TRQ that applies to butter, dairy spreads, and fats and oils derived from milk, other than butter and dairy spreads, to the Canadian Dairy Commission (CDC) for the 2013-2014 marketing year for the benefit of further processors. For further information, please contact the CDC at 613-792-2000.

7.0 Supplemental Imports

7.1 The Minister may, at his discretion, authorize imports of butter, dairy spreads, and fats and oils derived from milk, other than butter and dairy spreads in excess of the 3,274,000 kg import access quantity, in particular when the importation of these products is required to meet Canadian market needs.

7.2 Requests for authorization for supplementary imports may be submitted to Ms. Lynn Matthew at the address indicated in section 11.1 below. In deciding whether to issue a supplementary permit, the Minister will consider, amongst other criteria, the availability of like or directly substitutable products in the Canadian market.

8.0 Import Permit Issuance

8.1 Import permits are issued, normally, pursuant to an import authorization and are required for each shipment of products falling within tariff item Nos. 0405.10.10 or 0405.10.20 (butter), 0405.20.10 or 0405.20.20 (dairy spreads) and 0405.90.10 or 0405.90.20 (fats and oils derived from milk, other than butter or dairy spreads) in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the Schedule to the Customs Tariff. Importers may either invoke General Import Permit (GIP) No. 100 - Eligible Agricultural Goods, a copy of which is available on request, or present an import permit issued to their firm for that shipment (specific import permit) in order to clear customs. Those citing the GIP will be authorized to import unlimited quantities of butter, dairy spreads, and fats and oils derived from milk, other than butter and dairy spreads , but such imports will be subject to the higher over-access commitment rate of duty. Those presenting a specific import permit to the Canada Border Services Agency at the time of final accounting may enter their shipments at the lower within access commitment rate of duty. Note: Specific import permits will not be issued for shipments already imported into Canada under the authority of the General Import Permit, regardless of the importer's import allocation.

8.2 In accordance with the Import Permit Regulations, the procedures for receiving applications for import permits are as follows:

  • When requesting an import permit an applicant must submit a completed Form EXT-1466, Application for Permit (a copy of which is attached as Appendix 1).
  • A description of the process of applying for a permit is attached as Appendix 2, including information about fees, the monthly billing system and information required from applicants. All import permits are issued either (i) through an on-line automated system in the offices of customs brokers in major centres across Canada or (ii) in the offices of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada.

9.0 Name on the Permits

9.1 Please note that the name on the specific import permit must match exactly the name of the importer on Canada Border Services Agency's B3 customs entry and related documents at time of final accounting. Where the name on the import permit and the name of the importer on the B3 is not the same entity, the permit will be declared invalid. It is incumbent on the party granted an import authorization to ensure that applications for permits are made in the name of the importer of record. Questions about the proper procedures to fill out customs entry documents should be addressed to local Canada Border Services Agency's officials.

10.0 Permit fees

10.1 A fee will be levied for each permit or certificate issued in accordance with the Export and Import Permits and Certificates Fees Order (Notice to Importers No. 508, dated May 16, 1995).

11.0 Further information

11.1 Enquiries about import allocations may be addressed to:

Ms. Lynn Matthew
Trade Controls Policy Division (TIC)
Trade Controls Bureau (TID)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 0G2
Tel: 613-944-1807
Fax: 613-996-0612
E-mail: lynn.matthew@international.gc.ca

11.2 Enquiries about permit issuance and utilization of import allocations may be addressed to:

Mrs. Adèle Brisson
Trade Controls Policy Division (TIC)
Trade Controls Bureau (TID)
Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 0G2
Tel: 613-995-8104
Fax: 613-996-0612
E-mail: adele.brisson@international.gc.ca

11.3 A copy of this Notice and related information are available on Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada's internet site: http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/prod/agri/dairy-laitiers/index.aspx?lang=eng.

Avis aux exportateurs

Beurre, pâtes à tartiner laitières, gras et huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes à tartiner laitières (Articles Articles 159, 159.1 et 160 de la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlées)

No de série: 854
Date: le 10 décembre 2013

Table des matières

  1. But
  2. Champ d'application
  3. Durée de validité
  4. Fondements jurideques
  5. Quantité et durée du CT de beurre, pâtes à  tartiner laitière, et gras et huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes à  tartiner laitières pour 2013-2014
  6. Principes d'attribution du CT
  7. Licences d'importation supplémentaires
  8. Délivrance de licences d'importation
  9. Noms sur les licences
  10. Droits de licence
  11. Renseignements supplémentaires

1.0 But

1.1 Le present Avis a pour objet:

  • a. D'informer les importateurs des politiques et des pratiques du ministre régissant l'attribution des parts du contingent tarifaire (CT) de 3 274 000 kilogrammes s'appliquant au beurre, aux pâtes à  tartiner laitières, et aux gras et aux huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes   tartiner laitières. Le présent Avis doit être lu de concert avec le Règlement sur les autorisations d'importation et le Règlement sur les licences d'importation. Lorsque des éléments du présent Avis complètent le Règlement, ils sont réputés être l'expression des pratiques et procédures normales du ministre; et
  • b. D'informer les importateurs que le CT s'appliquant au beurre, aux pâtes à  tartiner laitière, et aux gras et aux huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes à  tartiner laitières a été entièrement attribué à  la Commission canadienne du lait (CCL) pour l'année de mise en marché 2013-2014.

2.0 Champ d'application

2.1 Le présent Avis annule et remplace l'Avis aux importateurs no 805 du 18 octobre 2011. Il se rapporte aux articles 159, 159.1 et 160 de la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrà´lée (LMIC), à  savoir le beurre visé par les positions tarifaires 0405.10.10 ou 0405.10.20, les pâtes à  tartiner laitières visées par les positions tarifaires 0405.20.10 ou 0405.20.20, et les gras et huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes à  tartiner laitières visés par les positions tarifaires 0405.90.10 ou 0405.90.20 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires énoncée dans l'annexe du Tarif des douanes.

2.2 Le présent Avis devrait être lu de concert avec le plus récent Avis aux importateurs régissant l'administration des importations supplémentaires de produits laitiers disponible sur le site internet des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada : http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/prod/agri/dairy-laitiers/index.aspx?lang=fra .

2.3 Les importateurs qui désirent savoir si la classification tarifaire du produit qu'ils veulent importer est visé ou non par le présent Avis doivent s'adresser à  l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Direction des programmes commerciaux et de la GCRA au 613-957-1468, télécopieur: 613-952-3971.

3.0 Durée de validité

3.1 Le présent Avis demeurera en vigueur jusqu'à  nouvel ordre.

4.0 Fondements juridiques

4.1 Les produits visés par le présent Avis ont tous été ajoutés à  la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrà´lée en vertu des alinéas 5(1)(a), (b), (d) et (e) et des articles 5.3 et 6 de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (LLEI), afin de mettre en Å“uvre un engagement pris par le Canada aux termes de l'Accord sur l'agriculture de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC).

4.2 En vertu du CT, les importations sont asujetties à  de faibles taux de droit dans les limites de l'engagement d'accès jusqu'à  concurrence d'une limite prédéterminée (c.-à -d. jusqu'à  ce que la quantité bénéficiant du régime d'accès soit épuisée); les importations dépassant cette limite sont assujetties aux taux de droit supérieurs à  l'engagement d'accès, qui sont plus élevés. En vertu de l'article 6.2 de la LLEI, le ministre peut : a) déterminer une quantité bénéficiant du régime d'accès au taux de droit moins élevé; b) établir une méthode pour attribuer la quantité de marchandises visée par le régime d'accès en cause; c) délivrer une autorisation d'importation à  tout résident du Canada qui en fait la demande, sous réserve des conditions qui y sont énoncées par le ministre et des règlements. Il peut en outre, en application de l'article 6.2 de la LLEI, autoriser le transfert de l'autorisation d'importation. Après avoir établi la quantité de marchandises bénéficiant du régime d'accès, le ministre délivrera, aux termes du paragraphe 8.3(1) de la LLEI, à  tout résident qui a une autorisation d'importation et qui en fait la demande, des licences d'importation jusqu'à  concurrence de la limite prévue, sous réserve de l'observation des règlements d'application de l'article 12 de la LLEI; ces licences autoriseront l'importation des marchandises visées par les taux de droit dans les limites du régime d'accès, qui sont moins élevés. En vertu du paragraphe 8.3(3), le ministre peut délivrer des licences pour l'importation en sus de la quantité maximale bénéficiant du régime d'accès.

4.3 Conformément au paragraphe 6 (f) du Règlement sur les autorisations d'importation, avant de décider de délivrer une autorisation d'importation ou d'en autoriser le transfert, le ministre prend en compte le cas échéant, le fait que le détenteur de l'autorisation d'importation a communiqué, durant les 12 mois qui précèdent la période à  laquelle s'appliquera l'autorisation d'importation ou le transfert, des renseignements faux ou trompeurs relativement à  tout rapport exigé en vertu de la Loi ou de ses règlements d'application ou selon les conditions régissant toute autorisation d'importation ou licence d'importation.

4.4 Conformément au paragraphe 10.(1) de la LLEI, le ministre peut modifier, suspendre, annuler ou rétablir les licences et les autorisations d'importation délivrées ou concédées en vertu de la Loi.

5.0 Quantité et durée du CT de beurre, pâtes à  tartiner laitière, et gras et huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes à  tartiner laitières pour 2013-2014

5.1 Le niveau d'accès pour le CT s'appliquant au beurre, aux pâtes à  tartiner laitière, et aux gras et aux huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes à  tartiner laitières est fixé à  3 274 000 kg pour l'année contigentaire 2013-2014 et couvre la période du 1er août 2013 au 31 juillet 2014 inclusivement. Sous ce CT, une allocation-pays de 2 000 000 kilogrammes est réservée aux importations de Nouvelle-Zélande.

6.0 Principes d'attribution du CT

6.1 L'année de mise en marché pour le CT qui s'applique au beurre, aux pâtes à  tartiner laitières, aux gras et aux huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes à  tartiner laitières couvre la période du 1er août au 31 juillet, inclusivement.

6.2 Le ministre a approuvé l'attribution du CT qui s'applique au beurre, aux pâtes à  tartiner laitières, aux gras et aux huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes à  tartiner laitières à  la Commission canadienne du lait (CCL) pour l'année de mise en marché 2013-2014 pour le bénéfice des transformateurs de second cycle. Pour de plus samples informations, contacter la CCL au 613-792-2000.

7.0 Licences d'importation supplémentaires

7.1 Le ministre peut, à  sa discrétion, autoriser des licences pour l'importation de beurre, pâtes à  tartiner laitière, et gras et huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes à  tartiner laitières en sus des 3 274 000 kg bénéficiant du régime d'accès en particulier lorsque l'importation de ces produits est nécessaire pour répondre à  un besoin sur le marché canadien.

7.2 Les demandes d'autorisation d'importations supplémentaires peuvent être transmises à  Mme Lynn Matthew à  l'adresse indiquée sous la section 11.1 ci-bas. En décidant du bien-fondé d'une licence supplémentaire, le ministre tiendra notamment compte de la disponibilité sur le marché canadien de produits similaires ou directement remplaçables.

8.0 Délivrance de licences d'importation

8.1 Les licences d'importation sont normalement accordées en vertu d'une autorisation d'importation et sont nécessaires pour chaque chargement deproduits visés par les nos tarifaires 0405.10.10 ou 0405.10.20 (beurre), 0405.20.10 ou 0405.20.20 (pâte à  tartiner laitières) et 0405.90.10 ou 0405.90.20 (gras et huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes à  tartiner laitières) du Tarif des douanes. Les importateurs peuvent se prévaloir de la Licence générale d'importation (LGI) no 100 “ Marchandises agricoles admissibles, dont une copie peut être obtenue sur demande, ou présenter aux services frontaliers canadiens la licence délivrée à  leur entreprise pour l'envoi (une licence d'importation spécifique) pour en obtenir le dédouanement. Ceux qui utilisent la LGI seront autorisés à  importer des quantitées illimitées de beurre, pâtes à  tartiner laitière, et gras et huiles dérivés du lait, autres que le beurre ou les pâtes à  tartiner laitières, mais ces importations seront assujetties à  des tarifs élevés, au-delà  de l'engagement d'accès. Ceux qui présentent une licence spécifique d'importation à  l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada au moment de la comptabilisation finale seront admissible au taux à  l'intérieur de l'engagement d'accès. Aucune licence d'importation n'est accordées dans le cas des expéditions déjà  importées au Canada en vertu d'une LGI, peu importe la quote-part de l'importateur.

8.2 Conformément au Règlement sur les licences d'importation, les formalités de demande de licence établies sont les suivantes:

  • Le demandeur doit faire soumettre un formulaire EXT-1466 Demande de licence (dont faire une copie est jointe à  titre d'annexe 1) dûment rempli.
  • Le processus de demande de licence est décrit à  l'annexe 2, qui indique également les droits, le système de facturation mensuelle et l'information que doit fournir le demandeur. Les licences d'importation sont délivrées soit au moyen du système interactif, auquel ont accès les courtiers en douane dans les grands centres du Canada, soit par le bureau des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada.

9.0 Noms sur les licences

9.1 Le titulaire d'une autorisation d'importation doit s'assurer que le nom inscrit sur la licence d'importation spécifique est identique au nom de l'importateur inscrit sur la déclaration en douane B3 et autres documents ayant rapport à  l'importation de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada au moment de la comptabilisation finale. Lorsque le nom figurant sur la licence d'importation et le nom de l'importateur inscrit sur la déclaration en douane B3 n'est pas le même, la licence sera invalidée. Il incombe au titulaire de l'autorisation d'importation de s'assurer que les demandes de licences sont faites au nom de l'importateur inscrit au dossier. Pour toute question sur la façon de remplir les déclarations en douane, prière de s'adresser aux fonctionnaires locaux de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

10.0 Droits de licence

10.1 Des droits doivent être acquittés pour chaque licence ou certificat émis conformément à  l'Arrêté sur le prix des licences et des certificats en matière d'exportation et d'importation (Avis aux importateurs no 508 du 16 mai 1995).

11.0 Renseignements supplémentaires

11.1 Prière d'adresser toute demande de renseignements sur les quotes-parts à :

Mme Lynn Matthew
Direction de la politique sur la réglementation commerciale (TIC)
Direction générale de la réglementation commerciale (TID)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2
Téléphone: 613-944-1807
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612
Courriel: lynn.matthew@international.gc.ca

11.2 Les demandes de renseignements sur la délivrance des licences et l'utilisation des quotes-parts peuvent être adressées à :

Mme Adèle Brisson
Direction générale de la réglementation commerciale (TID)
Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2
Téléphone: 613-995-8104
Télécopieur: 613-996-0612
Courriel: adele.brisson@international.gc.ca