Notice to Importers

Broiler Hatching Eggs and Chicks for Chicken Production (Items 94 and 95 on the Import Control List)

Serial No. 844
Date: October 30, 2013

Table of Contents

Application Form EXT2145 (Appendix 1)

The Notice to Importers inviting applications for an allocation of the tariff rate quota for Broiler Hatching Eggs and Chicks for chicken production for 2015 has not yet been published. The application form for 2015 will be available once the Notice to Importers is published.


1.0 Purpose

1.1 The purpose of this Notice is:

a) to inform importers of the Minister’s policies and practices respecting the administration of the tariff rate quota (TRQ) for Broiler Hatching Eggs and Chicks for chicken production. It should be read with the Import Allocation Regulations and the Import Permit Regulations. Where elements of the present Notice augment these Regulations, those elements are to be read as expressions of the Minister’s normal practices and procedures; and

b) to invite applications for quota shares of the Broiler Hatching Egg and Chick TRQ available for allocation for the period January 1 to December 31, 2013.

1.2 This Notice should be read in conjunction with the most recent Notice to Importers governing the administration of supplemental imports for Broiler Hatching Eggs and Chicks for chicken production which is available on the Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD) Internet site: Notices to Importers: Items 94 and 95 - Broiler Hatching Eggs and Chicks for Chicken Production - Supplemental Imports (http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/prod/agri/incubation/notices-avis795.aspx?lang=eng).

2.0 Coverage

2.1 This Notice replaces Notice to Importers No. 826 of November 23, 2012. It refers to Items 94 and 95 of the Import Control List (ICL), namely live broilers for domestic production, being fowls of the species Gallus domesticus, weighing not more than 185 grams, that are classified under tariff item No. 0105.11.21 or 0105.11.22 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff; and hatching eggs, for broilers, of fowls of the species Gallus domesticus, that are classified under tariff item No. 0407.11.11 or 0407.11.12 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff.

3.0 Duration

3.1 This Notice will remain in effect until December 31, 2014.

4.0 Authority

4.1 Each of the products covered by this Notice was added to the ICL pursuant to paragraphs 5(1)(a), (b), (d) and (e) and sections 5.3 and 6 of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) in order to implement a Canadian commitment under the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Agriculture.

4.2 Under TRQs, imports are subject to low "within access commitment" rates of duty up to a predetermined limit (i.e., until the import access quantity has been reached); imports over this limit are subject to higher "over access commitment" rates of duty. Under section 6.2 of the EIPA, the Minister may: a) determine an import access quantity allowed entry at the low rate of duty; b) establish a method of allocating the import access quantity; and c) issue an import allocation to any resident of Canada that applies for an allocation, subject to the regulations and any terms and conditions the Minister may specify in the allocation. Also pursuant to section 6.2 of the EIPA, the Minister may consent to the transfer of import allocations. Having established an import access quantity, the Minister shall, under subsection 8.3(1) of the EIPA, issue import permits to allocation holders that apply for permits, up to the limit of that quantity, subject to compliance and application of regulations made under section 12 of the EIPA. These permits shall entitle the goods to which they apply to be subject to the low "within access commitment" rates of duty. Subsection 8.3(3) allows the Minister to issue permits in excess of the access quantity.

4.3 Pursuant to subsection 6 (f) of the Import Allocation Regulations, when deciding whether to issue an import allocation or whether to consent to a transfer, the Minister shall take into account whether the import allocation holder has furnished false or misleading information in connection with any reports required by the Act or the regulations made under the Act or by any condition of an import allocation or import permit during the 12-month period preceding the period in respect of which the import allocation or transfer is to apply.

4.4 Pursuant to subsection 10.(1) of the EIPA, the Minister may amend, suspend, cancel or re-instate any permit or import allocation issued or granted under the Act.

5.0 Annual import access level

5.1 The combined annual access level for 2014 for imports of broiler hatching eggs and chicks shall be 21.1% of estimated domestic production of broiler hatching eggs for 2014. This estimate will be adjusted and finalized in August 2014, when final production figures are available. The calculation of domestic production includes exports, but excludes imports.

5.2  The combined annual access level is subdivided into two separate and distinct access levels for broiler hatching eggs and for chicks. Separate import allocations will be issued to all eligible applicants. A company which receives an allocation for broiler hatching eggs may convert any portion of this allocation into an egg-equivalent (EE) allocation for chick imports at a conversion rate of 1.27 broiler hatching eggs for one chick. Chick import allocations may not, however, be converted into hatching egg import allocations.

5.3
  The annual access level for broiler hatching eggs shall be 17.4% of the estimated domestic broiler hatching egg production for the year. The annual access level for EE chicks shall be 3.7% of the estimated domestic broiler hatching egg production for the year.

6.0 Allocation of the broiler hatching eggs and chicks TRQ

6.1 The broiler hatching egg and chick TRQ is allocated to federally-registered hatcheries on the basis of market share.

6.2 The term market share, as used in this Notice, means an applicant's share of the total number of chicks hatched by all successful applicants during the reference period (i.e. the period of 52 complete, consecutive weeks starting on the first Sunday of October two years before the allocation year) as reported to DFATD for the purpose of obtaining an import allocation.

7.0 Utilization of import allocations

7.1 Federally-registered hatcheries that receive an import allocation will be permitted to import up to 95% of this allocation prior to August 1, 2014. Allocation holders will be informed by letter regarding the remaining 5%, with adjustments, if any, after the overall import access quantity for 2014 is finalized in August 2014.

7.2 A penalty will normally be assessed for import allocation under-utilization in the next year to allocation holders whose actual utilization of either their chick or egg allocation is less than 90%Footnote 1. An allocation for the next year will normally be adjusted downward in percentage to the total under-utilization (in egg equivalents) of these two quantities by that company during the 12-month period preceding the calendar year during which the import allocation is to apply Footnote 2 . The calculation will normally take into account the weight of the chick or egg import allocation relative to the overall total.

8.0 Application for import allocations

8.1 Federally-registered hatcheries applying for an import allocation on the basis of market share must provide information on the total number of chicks hatched for chicken meat production during the reference period by completing and submitting the form provided in Appendix 1.

8.2 Additional supporting information on the total number of chicks hatched for chicken meat production, such as copies of their weekly Report of Chicken Hatchery Operations prepared for Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada and/or Provincial Boards or Commissions, is not required to be submitted at the time of application; however, it must be supplied on demand if requested. Market share, determined on the basis pursuant to paragraph 6.2, is subject to verification by DFATD.

8.3 Applicants for an allocation are required to provide a list of related persons. Applicants should consult Appendix 2 for the definition of related persons as it applies for the purpose of this Notice.

9.0 Application deadline

9.1 Applications MUST be postmarked December 7, 2013 or earlier. Applications sent by MAIL or COURIER should be addressed to the broiler hatching eggs and chicks quota manager at DFATD. The name and mailing address of the broiler hatching eggs and chicks quota manager can be obtained on the DFATD website, under Contact Us (http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/contact-contactez.aspx?lang=eng).

9.2 Companies submitting late applications will not be considered for a share of the 2014 TRQ.

9.3 Applications sent by facsimile will not be accepted. Only original applications will be accepted.

10.0 Notification of import allocations

10.1 The review and processing of applications by DFATD may unavoidably result in delays in the notification of allocations to importers. DFATD will make every effort to inform all applicants of their allocation [if any] in early 2014; in the meantime eligible applicants may apply for permits from January 1, 2014.

11.0 Authorization of supplemental imports for shortages and prior utilization of import allocations

11.1 Supplemental import permit requests from applicants will only be considered if they and their related hatcheries have utilized their annual import allocations of both broiler hatching eggs and chicks within a given quarter of the year on a cumulative basis, according to the following schedule:

  • By March 31 - 30% of annual import allocation;
  • By June 30 - 60% of annual import allocation;
  • By Sept. 30 - 80% of annual import allocation;
  • After September 30 - 100% of annual import allocation.

The applicable utilization rate is determined by the date of delivery, not the date of the request.

12.0 Transferability of Import Allocations

12.1 The Minister may allow the transfer of import allocations among allocation holders. All requests for transfer of import allocations must be referred to DFATD for consideration.

13.0 Import Permit Issuance

13.1 Import permits are required for each shipment of broiler hatching eggs and chicks falling under tariff item Nos. 0407.11.11 or 0407.11.12 and 0105.11.21 or 0105.11.22, respectively, in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff. Importers may either invoke General Import Permit (GIP) No. 100 - Eligible Agricultural Goods, a copy of which is available on request, or present an import permit issued by DFATD to their firm for that shipment (specific import permit) in order to clear Canada Customs. The specific import permit must also be presented to Canada Border Services Agency at the time of accounting for the shipment to be eligible for classification under tariff item No. 0407.11.11 or 0105.11.21. Goods imported without a specific import permit (i.e. those invoking the GIP) will be subject to classification under tariff item No. 0407.11.12 (broiler hatching eggs), for which the duty is 238% (but not less than 2.91$/dzn), or under tariff item No. 0105.11.22 (chicks), for which the duty is 238% (but not less than 30.8¢ each). Note: Specific permits will not be issued for shipments already imported into Canada under the authority of the GIP, regardless of the importer’s import allocation.

14.0 Permit issuance and validity

14.1 An individual import permit is required for each shipment of broiler hatching eggs and chicks to enter Canada under the TRQ.

14.2 Import permits are issued through an on-line automated system either (a) in the offices of customs brokers in major centres across Canada, or (b) at DFATD in Ottawa (address listed in paragraph 9.1).

14.3 A list of customs brokers having access to the on-line computer system may be obtained from DFATD on request.

14.4 Import permits are normally issued with a validity period of 30 days around the date of arrival specified by importers (5 days prior to it and 24 days after). Under no circumstances will utilization of permits for one quota year be allowed in the next quota year.

15.0 Import permit applications

15.1 Requests for import permits will be accepted within the 30 days prior to the expected date of arrival of the shipment in Canada. When requesting an import permit, applicants should complete form EXT-1466: Application for Permit, and transmit it to the agents referred to in paragraph 18.2 of this Notice.

15.2 In completing import permit applications, the following codes should be used to describe the product to be imported:

  • Broiler Hatching Eggs (hatching eggs import allocation): 0407.11.11.00.0000 (Dozen).
  • Chicks (chicks import allocation): 0105.11.21.00.0200 (Number) (Chicks imported under this code will be charged to an applicant's chicks import allocation).
  • Chicks (converted from hatching eggs import allocation): 0105.11.21.00.0000 (number). (Note: Chicks imported under this code will be charged to an applicant's hatching egg import allocation).

15.3 The possession of an import permit does not relieve importers from the obligation to comply with other legislative requirements, such as those administered by the Canadian Food Inspection Agency and the Canada Border Services Agency

16.0 Hatching eggs of the species Gallus domesticus other than for broilers

16.1 Effective January 1, 1995, hatching eggs of the species Gallus domesticus (chicken) other than for broilers are captured under Item 135 of the ICL. They are classified under tariff item No. 0407.11.91 or 0407.11.92 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the schedule to the Customs Tariff. Import permits are required for EACH shipment of hatching eggs falling within these tariff items. Importers may either invoke General Import Permit No. 100 - Eligible Agricultural Goods, a copy of which is available on request, or present an import permit issued to their firm for that shipment (specific import permit) to clear Canada Customs. The specific import permit must also be presented to Canada Border Services Agency at the time of accounting for the shipment to be eligible for classification under tariff item No. 0407.11.91 and allowed entry at the low rate of duty. Those without a specific import permit (i.e. those invoking the GIP) will be subject to classification under tariff item No. 0407.11.92, for which the duty is 163.5% (but not less than 79.9¢/dzn). Note: Specific permits will not be issued for shipments already imported into Canada under the authority of the GIP.

16.2 There are no import access quantities for hatching eggs other than for broilers into Canada. Applications for specific import permits for hatching eggs other than for broilers will be issued on request.

16.3 In completing the Application for Permit form, importers are requested to use code 0407.11.91.00.0000 to describe the product to be imported.

17.0 Permit fees

17.1 A fee will be levied for each supplemental import permit issued in accordance with the Export and Import Permits and Certificates Fees Order (Notice to Importers No. 508 dated May 16, 1995).

18.0 Further information

18.1 Names and direct phone numbers for quota manager(s), permit officer(s), and the Help Desk are available on the DFATD website: Contact Us (http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/contact-contactez.aspx?lang=eng).

18.2 For directory assistance, you may call 613-944-0773.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The utilization rate (%) will be calculated for every allocation holder as follows:

Utilization Rate (%) = (Actual Level of Use (EE) / Total Allocation Granted (EE)) X 100%

Where:
Actual Level of Use (EE) = Permits Used (EE) + Transfers Out (EE)

And:
Total Allocation Granted (EE) = Initial Allocation (EE) + Transfers In (EE)

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The under-utilization penalty will be calculated as follows:

Underutilization Penalty (EE) = Pre-penalty Allocation (EE) X Underutilization Rate (%)

Where:
“Pre-penalty Allocation (EE)” is the allocation that the allocation holder would have been eligible for in the new quota year, if the allocation holder had not under-utilized in the previous quota year.

And:
Underutilization Rate (%) = 100% - Utilization Rate (%)

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis aux importateurs

Oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair et poussins destinés à la production de poulets (Articles 94 et 95 de la Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée)

No de série : 844
Date : Le 30 octobre 2013

Table des matières

Formulaire de demande EXT2145 (Annexe 1)

L'Avis aux importateurs invitant à présenter une demande pour une allocation du contingent tarifaire d’oeufs d’incubation de poulets de chair et poussins destinés à la production de poulets pour 2015 n’a pas été encore publié. Le formulaire de demande pour 2015 sera disponible une fois que l'Avis aux importateurs sera publié.


1.0 But

1.1 Le présent Avis a pour objet:

a) d'informer les importateurs des politiques et les pratiques du Ministre régissant l'attribution des parts du contingent tarifaire (CT) d’oeufs d’incubation de poulets de chair et poussins destinés à la production de poulets. Cet Avis doit être lu de concert avec le Règlement sur les autorisations d’importation et le Règlement sur les licences d’importation. Lorsque des éléments du présent Avis viennent s’ajouter aux règlements, ces éléments doivent être pris comme l’expression des règles et procédures normales du Ministre; et

b) d'inviter les intéressés à demander des quotes-parts du CT d’oeufs d’incubation et poussins disponible pour allocation pour la période du 1er janvier au 31 décembre 2013.

1.2 Le présent Avis devrait être lu conjointement avec le plus récent Avis aux importateurs régissant l’administration des importations supplémentaires d’œufs d’incubation et poussins destinés à la production de poulet disponible sur le site Internet des Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada (MAECD) :  Avis aux importateurs - Articles 94 et 95 - Oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair et poussins destinés à la production de poulets - importations supplémentaires (http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/prod/agri/incubation/notices-avis/795.aspx?lang=fra).

2.0 Champ d'application

2.1 Le présent Avis remplace l'Avis aux importateurs no 826 du 23 novembre 2012. Il concerne les articles 94 et 95 de la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlée (LMIC), à savoir les poulets de chair pour la production nationale, qui sont des volailles de l'espèce domestique, n'excédant pas 185g, et qui sont classés dans les numéros tarifaires 0105.11.21 ou 0105.11.22 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires figurant à l'annexe du Tarif des douanes, et les oeufs d'incubation pour poulets de chair de l'espèce domestique, qui sont classés dans les numéros tarifaires 0407.11.11 ou 0407.11.12 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires figurant à l'annexe du Tarif des douanes.

3.0 Durée d'application

3.1 Le présent Avis demeurera en vigueur jusqu'au 31 décembre 2014.

4.0 Fondements juridiques

4.1 Les produits visés par le présent Avis ont tous été ajoutés à la LMIC en vertu des alinéas 5(1)a), b), d) et e) et des articles 5.3 et 6 de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (LLEI), afin de mettre en œuvre un engagement pris par le Canada aux termes de l'Accord sur l'agriculture de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC).

4.2 En vertu du CT, les importations sont frappées de faibles taux de droit « dans les limites de l'engagement d'accès » jusqu'à concurrence d'une limite prédéterminée (c.-à-d. jusqu'à ce que la quantité bénéficiant du régime d'accès soit épuisée); les importations dépassant cette limite sont frappées de taux de droit « supérieurs à l'engagement d'accès », qui sont plus élevés. En vertu de l'article 6.2 de la LLEI, le ministre peut : a) déterminer une quantité bénéficiant du régime d'accès au taux de droit moins élevé; b) établir une méthode pour attribuer la quantité de marchandises visée par le régime d'accès en cause; c) délivrer une autorisation d'importation à tout résident du Canada qui en fait la demande, sous réserve des conditions qui y sont énoncées par le ministre et des règlements. Il peut en outre, en application de l'article 6.2 de la LLEI, autoriser le transfert de l'autorisation d'importation. Après avoir établi la quantité de marchandises bénéficiant du régime d'accès, le ministre délivrera, aux termes du paragraphe 8.3(1) de la LLEI, à tout résident qui a une autorisation d'importation et qui en fait la demande, des licences d'importation jusqu'à concurrence de la limite prévue, sous réserve de l'observation des règlements d'application de l'article 12 de la LLEI; ces licences autoriseront l'importation des marchandises visées par les taux de droit « dans les limites du régime d'accès », qui sont moins élevés. En vertu du paragraphe 8.3(3), le ministre peut délivrer des licences pour l'importation en sus de la quantité maximale bénéficiant du régime d'accès.

4.3 Conformément au paragraphe 6 (f) du Règlement sur les autorisations d'importation, avant de décider de délivrer une autorisation d'importation ou d'en autoriser le transfert, le ministre prend en compte le cas échéant, le fait que le détenteur de l'autorisation d'importation a communiqué, durant les 12 mois qui précèdent la période à laquelle s'appliquera l'autorisation d'importation ou le transfert, des renseignements faux ou trompeurs relativement à tout rapport exigé en vertu de la Loi ou de ses règlements d'application ou selon les conditions régissant toute autorisation d'importation ou licence d'importation.

4.4 Conformément au paragraphe 10.(1) de la LLEI, le ministre peut modifier, suspendre, annuler ou rétablir les licences et les autorisations d'importation délivrées ou concédées en vertu de la Loi.

5.0 Niveau annuel d'accès à l'importation

5.1 Le niveau d'accès annuel combiné de 2014 pour les importations d'oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair et de poussins équivaudra à 21,1 % de la production nationale prévue d'oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair pour 2014. Cette estimation sera ajustée et finalisée en août 2014, lorsque les chiffres de production définitifs seront connus. Le calcul de la production nationale comprend les exportations, mais exclut les importations.

5.2 Le niveau d'accès annuel combiné se subdivise en deux niveaux d'accès séparés et distincts pour les oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair et pour les poussins. Des autorisations d'importation distinctes seront accordées aux requérants éligibles. Une entreprise qui se voit attribuer une quote-part d'oeufs d'incubation peut en convertir une partie en une attribution pour importation de poussins en équivalent-œufs (EE), à raison de 1,27 oeuf d'incubation pour un poussin. La conversion inverse est toutefois impossible.

5.3  Le niveau d'accès annuel des oeufs doit représenter 17,4 % de la production nationale prévue d'oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair pour l'année. Le niveau d'accès annuel des poussins en EE doit représenter 3,7% de la production nationale prévue d'oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair pour l'année.

6.0 Attribution du CT d'oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair et de poussins

6.1 Le CT d'oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair et de poussins est alloué aux couvoirs enregistrés au fédéral, sur la base de la part de marché.

6.2 L'expression part de marché, telle qu'utilisée dans le présent Avis, constitue la part d'un requérant sur le nombre total de poussins résultant des éclosions destinés à la production de poulet de chair pendant la période de référence (c.-à-d. la période de 52 semaines complètes et consécutives à partir du premier dimanche d'octobre deux ans avant l'année de contingentaire) que les requérants ont déclaré au MAECD pour obtenir une quote-part du CT.

7.0 Utilisation des quotes-parts du CT

7.1 Les couvoirs enregistrés au fédéral qui reçoivent une quote-part du CT seront autorisés à importer jusqu'à 95% de cette quote-part avant le 1er août 2014. Ils seront informés par écrit concernant les 5% restants, et des ajustements, le cas échéant, lorsque la quantité bénéficiant du régime d'accès pour 2014 aura été fixée pour de bon en août 2014.

7.2 Une pénalité sera normalement imposée en cas de sous-utilisation de la quote-part dans la prochaine année si l’utilisation réelle de l’une ou l’autre part d’œufs d’incubation ou de poussins est inférieure à 90 %Footnote 1. La quote-part sera normalement rajustée à la baisse en fonction du pourcentage de sous-utilisation totale des deux quotas, en équivalent d’œufs, durant les 12 mois qui précèdent l’année civile à laquelle s’appliquera l’autorisation d’importation Footnote 2. Le calcul prendra normalement en considération la proportion qui est allouée à chacun des quotas dans le régime d’accès.

8.0 Demande d'une quote-part du CT

8.1 Les couvoirs enregistrés au fédéral qui demandent une quote-part du CT en fonction de leurs parts de marché doivent fournir des renseignements justificatifs sur le nombre total de poussins résultant des éclosions destinés à la production de chair de poulet pour la période de référence en remplissant et en soumettant le formulaire prévu à l'annexe 1.

8.2 Des renseignements supplémentaires à l'appui sur le nombre total de poussins résultant des éclosions destinés à la production de chair de poulet, telles que des copies du Rapport hebdomadaire d'exploitation de leur couvoir qu'ils préparent pour Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et/ou l'office provincial de commercialisation, n'est pas tenu d'être soumis à moment de la demande, mais elle doit être fournie sur demande si nécessaire. Le MAECD se réserve le droit de vérifier la part de marché des requérants, établie conformément au paragraphe 6.2.

8.3 Les requérants d’une quote-part doivent fournir une liste des personnes liées. Les requérants devraient consulter l’Annexe 2 pour la définition de personnes liées pour les fins de cet Avis.

9.0 Date limite de demande

9.1 Les demandes devront être acheminées par la poste au plus tard le 7 décembre 2013, le cachet de la poste en faisant foi. Les demandes envoyées par courrier ou par messager doivent être adressées au gestionnaire du contingent d’œufs d’incubation de poulets de chair et poussins du MAECD. Le nom et l’adresse du gestionnaire du contingent d’œufs d’incubation de poulets de chair et poussins peut être obtenu sur le site internet du MAECD à la page Contactez-nous (http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/contact-contactez.aspx?lang=fra).

9.2 Les demandes présentées par les sociétés retardataires ne seront pas prises en compte dans l'allocation de parts du CT pour 2013.

9.3 Seul l'original des demandes est acceptable. Les demandes envoyées par télécopieur seront refusées.

10.0 Notification d'attribution de quotes-parts du CT

10.1 D'ordinaire, la vérification et le traitement des demandes par le MAECD cause inévitablement certains retards dans la notification d'attribution de quotes-parts aux importateurs. Le MAECD mettra tout en oeuvre pour informer tous les importateurs [s’il y a lieu] de leurs quotes-parts au début de 2014; entre-temps, les importateurs éligibles peuvent présenter leurs demandes de licence à compter du 1er janvier 2014.

11.0 Accès aux licences supplémentaires pour pénurie sur le marché : utilisation antérieure des quotes-parts

11.1 Une demande de licence supplémentaire ne sera étudiée que si le requérant et ses couvoirs liés ont utilisé leur quote-part annuelle du CT d'oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair et de poussins dans un trimestre, sur une base cumulative, selon le calendrier suivant:

  • Au 31 mars - 30 % de leur quote-part annuelle;
  • Au 30 juin - 60 % de leur quote-part annuelle;
  • Au 30 sept. - 80 % de leur quote-part annuelle;
  • Après le 30 septembre - 100 % de leur quote-part annuelle.

Le niveau d’utilisation applicable est déterminé par la date de livraison et non la date de la demande.

12.0 Transférabilité d'une autorisation d'importation

12.1 Le ministre peut autoriser le transfert d'autorisations d'importations entre les détenteurs de quotes-parts. Toute demande de transfert d'une autorisation d'importation doit être adressée au MAECD, aux fins de considération.

13.0 Délivrance de licences d'importation

13.1 Des licences d'importation sont requises pour chaque expédition d'oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair et de poussins visés par les numéros tarifaires 0407.11.11 ou 0407.11.12 et 0105.11.21 ou 0105.11.22 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires figurant à l'annexe du Tarif des douanes. Les importateurs peuvent se prévaloir de la Licence générale d'importation (LGI) no 100 - Marchandises agricoles admissibles, dont une copie peut être obtenue sur demande, ou présenter une licence d'importation délivrée par MAECD à leur firme pour cette expédition (licence d'importation spécifique) pour en obtenir le dédouanement. La licence d'importation spécifique doit aussi être présentée à Douanes Canada au moment de la comptabilisation pour que l'expédition soit admissible au classement dans les numéros tarifaires 0407.11.11 ou 0105.11.21. Les marchandises importées sans licence d'importation spécifique (c.-à-d. en vertu de la LGI) seront classées dans les numéros tarifaires 0407.11.12 (oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair), pour lequel le taux de droit est de 238% (mais pas moins de 2,91$ la douzaine) ou 0105.11.22 (poussins), pour lequel le taux de droit est de 238% (mais pas moins de 30,8¢ chacun). Nota : Aucune licence spécifique ne sera délivrée pour des marchandises déjà importées au Canada sous l'autorité de la LGI, quelle que soit la quote-part allouée à l'importateur.

14.0 Délivrance et période de validité

14.1 Une licence d'importation est requise pour chacune des livraisons.

14.2 Les licences d'importation sont délivrées grâce à un système de traitement en direct soit a) par l'entremise de courtiers en douane situés dans les grands centres du Canada, soit b) par le MAECD à Ottawa (adresse au paragraphe 9.1).

14.3 Une liste des courtiers en douane ayant accès au système de traitement en direct est disponible auprès du MAECD.

14.4 Les licences d'importation sont normalement valables pour une période de 30 jours entourant la date d'arrivée indiquée par l'importateur (5 jours avant et 24 jours après). Les licences délivrées au cours d'une année contingentaire donnée ne pourront jamais être utilisées au cours de l'année contingentaire suivante.

15.0 Demandes de licences d'importation

15.1 Les demandes de licences d'importation seront acceptées dans les 30 jours précédant la date d'arrivée des marchandises au Canada. Pour obtenir une licence d'importation, les requérants doivent remplir le formulaire EXT-1466: Demande de licence, et le faire parvenir aux agents mentionnés au paragraphe 18.2 du présent Avis.

15.2 En remplissant leurs demandes, ils doivent utiliser les codes suivants pour décrire les produits à importer :

  • Oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair (quote-part d'oeufs d'incubation): 0407.11.11.00.0000 (douzaine).
  • Poussins (quote-part de poussins) : 0105.11.21.00.0200 (nombre) (Les poussins importés sous ce code seront imputés à la quote-part de poussins du requérant).
  • Poussins (convertis de la quote-part d'oeufs d'incubation): 0105.11.21.00.000 (nombre). (Note: les poussins importés sous ce code seront imputés à la quote-part d’oeufs d’incubation du requérant).

15.3 La possession d'une licence d'importation n'enlève toutefois pas à l'importateur l'obligation de satisfaire aux autres prescriptions législatives comme celles administrées par l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments et par l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada.

16.0 Oeufs d'incubation de l'espèce domestique autres que pour poulets de chair

16.1 Depuis le 1er janvier 1995, les oeufs d'incubation de l'espèce domestique (poulet) autres que pour poulets de chair sont visés par l'article 135 de la LMIC. Ils sont classés dans les numéros tarifaires 0407.11.91 ou 0407.11.92 de la liste des dispositions tarifaires figurant à l'annexe du Tarif des douanes. Des licences d'importation sont requises pour CHAQUE expédition d'oeufs d'incubation de poulets de chair visés par ces numéros tarifaires. Les importateurs peuvent se prévaloir de la Licence générale d'importation (LGI) no 100 - Marchandises agricoles admissibles, dont une copie peut être obtenue sur demande, ou présenter une licence d'importation délivrée à leur firme pour cette expédition (licence d'importation spécifique) pour en obtenir le dédouanement. La licence d'importation spécifique doit également être présentée aux douanes canadiennes au moment de la comptabilisation pour que la livraison soit admissible au classement dans le numéro tarifaire 0407.11.91 et bénéficier du taux de droit moins élevé. Les marchandises importées sans licence d'importation spécifique (c.-à-d. en vertu de la LGI) seront classées dans le numéro tarifaire 0407.11.92, pour lequel le taux de droit est de 163,5% (mais pas moins de 79,9¢ la douzaine). Nota: Aucune licence spécifique ne sera délivrée pour des marchandises déjà importées au Canada sous l'autorité de la LGI.

16.2 Aucune quantité bénéficiant du régime d'accès n’est appliquée à l'importation au Canada d'oeufs d'incubation autres que pour poulets de chair. Les demandes de licences spécifiques pour l'importation d'oeufs d'incubation autres que pour poulets de chair seront délivrées sur demande.

16.3 Lorsqu'ils remplissent le formulaire de Demande de licence, les importateurs doivent utiliser le code 0407.11.91.00.0000 pour décrire le produit à importer.

17.0 Droits de licence

17.1 Des droits doivent être acquittés pour chaque licence ou certificat délivré conformément à l'Arrêté de 1995 sur le prix des licences et des certificats en matière d'importation et d'exportation (Avis aux importateurs no 508 du 16 mai 1995).

18.0 Renseignements supplémentaires

18.1 Les noms et numéros de téléphones des gestionnaires de contingent, des officiers de permis ainsi que du service de dépannage sont disponible sur le site internet du MAECD : Contactez-nous (http://www.international.gc.ca/controls-controles/contact-contactez.aspx?lang=fra).

18.2 Pour l'assistance-annuaire, veuillez composer le 613-944-0773.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Le taux d’utilisation (%) est calculé comme suit pour tous les détenteurs d’une allocation :

Taux d'utilisation (%) = (Niveau d'utilisation réel (EE) / Allocation totale accordée (EE)) X 100

Où :
Niveau d'utilisation réel (EE) = licences utilisées (EE)+ transferts sortants (EE)

Et :
Allocation totale accordée (EE) = Allocation initiale (EE) + transferts entrants (EE)

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

La pénalité pour sous-utilisation sera calculée comme suit :

Pénalité pour sous-utilisation (EE) = allocation avant pénalités (EE) X taux de sous-utilisation (%)

Où :
« Allocation avant pénalités (EE) » est l’allocation que le détenteur d’une allocation aurait reçu pour la nouvelle année contingentaire s’il n’avait pas sous-utilisé au cours de l’année contingentaire précédente.

Et :
Taux de sous-utilisation (%) = 100 % - Taux d’utilisation (%)

Return to first footnote 2 referrer