Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notices

Item 5201 of the Export Control List (ECL): "Peanut Butter"

Serial No. 152
Date: October 19, 2007

Table of Contents

1.0 Purpose

1.1 The purposes of this Notice are :

  1. to inform exporters of peanut butter to the United States of the policy and procedures governing the allocation of shares of the 14,500,000 kilograms of Canadian export quota; and
  2. to inform peanut butter exporters about the procedures and requirements governing the issuance of export permits for the exportation of peanut butter to the United States and to countries other than the United States.

2.0 Coverage

2.1 This Notice replaces Notice to Exporters No. 133 dated October 18, 2002. It refers to Item 5201 of the Export Control List (ECL): "peanut butter".

2.2 Peanut butter is defined as goods that are classified under tariff item No. 2008.11.10 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the Schedule to the Customs Tariff. The applicable U.S. tariff item number for peanut butter is 2008.11.05 of the Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS).

2.3 Exporters who require a determination as to whether or not the product they intend to export is within the U.S. peanut butter tariff rate quota (TRQ) are encouraged to obtain a binding ruling from U.S. Customs and Border Protection. Requests for binding rulings may be directed to: Director, National Commodity Specialist Division, United States Customs and Border Protection, Attn: CIE/Ruling Request, One Penn Plaza, 10th Floor, New York, N.Y. 10119.

3.0 Duration

3.1 This Notice will remain in effect until further notice.

4.0 Authority

4.1 The product covered by this Notice was added to the Export Control List pursuant to section 3.1 of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA), in order to ensure the orderly export marketing of peanut butter that is subject to a limitation imposed by the United States in 1995. The Minister may issue export permits for goods on the ECL under authority of subsection 7.(1) of the EIPA. The Minister may, at his discretion, amend, suspend, cancel or re-instate any permit or export allocation issued or granted under the Act.

5.0 General Information

5.1 In 1995, as part of its WTO commitments, the U.S. established a global tariff rate quota on peanut butter imports. Canada obtained a country-specific reserve of 14,500,000 kilograms. Export permits will be issued up to that level, in accordance with the criteria set out in sections 6 and 7 below. Peanut butter exports up to that level are subject to low rates of duty, and exports over that level are subject to higher rates of duty.

5.2 There are no quantitative restrictions on the exportation of peanut butter to destinations other than the United States. Exporters wishing to export peanut butter to countries other than the U.S. may invoke General Export Permit (GEP) No. 31.

6.0 Export Permit Issuance

6.1 Individual export permits are required for each shipment of peanut butter to the United States classified under tariff item No. 2008.11.10 in the List of Tariff Provisions set out in the Schedule to the Customs Tariff. These export permits normally allow Canadian exporters to export peanut butter at the low rate of duty.

6.2 DFAIT has in place the following procedures for receiving applications for “individual” export permits :

  1. When requesting an "individual" export permit, applicants are to complete the Form EXT-1466, "Application for Permit" (PDF * 95.24 KB) (attached as Appendix 1) and transmit it to DFAIT.
  2. A description of the process of applying for a permit is attached as Appendix 2; it includes fees, monthly billing system and information required from applicants. Export permits are issued either (i) through an on-line automated system in the offices of certain brokers in major centres across Canada, or (ii) at DFAIT (address in paragraph 12.1).

7.0 Allocation of the U.S. peanut butter export quota

7.1 The quota year for peanut butter extends from January 1 to December 31, inclusive.

7.2 The peanut butter export quota is allocated on an individual quota-share basis to traditional exporters that are resident of Canada and remain active in the manufacturing and export of peanut butter. Export permits will normally be issued on request to firms having a quota-share, up to the limits of that share, subject to compliance with conditions described in paragraphs 7.3 and 7.4 below.

7.3 Exporters are required to submit monthly summary export reports on all exports made under the authority of permits issued. The following information should be provided in the report: name of exporter, date of export, export permit number, U.S. consignee, U.S. Customs Entry number, invoice number and quantity exported (in kilograms). A sample form is contained in Appendix 3 and for your convenience an electronic version may be requested and will be provided either by e-mail or on a diskette. This report is required by the 15th day of the month following the month that the actual export took place in and should be forwarded to the attention of Laurie Wheeler at the e-mail address listed in paragraph 12.2 of this Notice. Exporters are required to retain copies of all associated documentation related to these exports and produce such records upon request.

8.0 Applying for a Share of the Peanut Butter Export Quota

8.1 “Traditional” exporters must complete an application form each year to receive a share of the peanut butter quota. The information that an applicant provides will be considered when allocating quota-shares of the U.S. peanut butter TRQ. Applicants may also be required to provide evidence of the actual quantity of peanut butter produced and exported in previous years, such as originals of sales orders and export invoices stating the name and address of the purchaser and the amount of peanut butter sold, export contracts, bills of lading, U.S. Customs Declarations and production records.

8.2 All information provided by applicants is subject to verification by officials of DFAIT. If the applicant fails to provide any information requested by DFAIT, the application may be declared incomplete and the applicant may be denied a share of the U.S. peanut butter TRQ.

9.0 Adjustment for under-utilization

9.1 Companies that use less than 98% of the quota allocated to them in any one year may receive a correspondingly lower allocation in the following year. Affected companies will be advised of the adjustments made to their allocation prior to the final allocation of the quota.

9.2 Quota holders may return to DFAIT any unused peanut butter quota issued to them on or before August 1st each year. Future quota allocations will not be affected by such under-utilization.

9.3 DFAIT will notify quota holders in writing should quota become available as a result of returns or under-utilization.

10.0 Transferability of export quota

10.1 The Minister may approve the transfer of export quota allocations to companies that are active in the manufacturing of peanut butter. All requests for transfer must be referred to DFAIT for approval. Unauthorized transfers may result in the cancellation of all or a portion of a company’s export allocation.

11.0 Compliance and Enforcement

11.1 The exportation of goods on the Export Control List without an export permit issued by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade is an offence and may lead to prosecution under the Export and Import Permits Act.

12.0 Further Information

12.1 Enquiries about quota allocations may be addressed to:

Keltie Findlay Leclair
Trade Controls Policy Division (TICA)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G2

Telephone: (613) 996-4333
Facsimile: (613) 996-0612
Email : keltie.findlay@international.gc.ca

12.2 Enquiries about permit issuance, reporting and utilization of export quota allocations may be addressed to:

Laurie Wheeler
Trade Controls Policy Division (TICA)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G2

Telephone: (613) 944-1804
Facsimile: (613) 996-0612
Email: laurie.wheeler@international.gc.ca

 

* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis

Article 5201 de la liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée (lMEC) : « beurre d'arachides »

No de série 152
Date : le 19 octobre 2007

Table des matières

1.0 Objet

1.1 Le présent Avis a pour but :

  1. d’informer les exportateurs de beurre d’arachides aux États-Unis des règles et procédures régissant l’attribution des quotes-parts des 14 500 000 kilogrammes du contingent d’exportation canadien; et
  2. d’informer les exportateurs de beurre d’arachides des procédures et des exigences régissant la délivrance de licences pour l’exportation de beurre d’arachides aux États-Unis et dans des pays autres que les États-Unis.

2.0 Champ d'application

2.1 Le présent avis remplace l’Avis aux exportateurs no 133 daté du 18 octobre 2002. Il concerne l’article 5201 de la Liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée (LMEC) : « beurre d'arachides ».

2.2 L'expression « beurre d'arachides » désigne toutes les marchandises classées sous la position tarifaire 2008.11.10 de la Liste des dispositions tarifaires figurant à l'Annexe 1 du Tarif des douanes. La position tarifaire correspondante du beurre d'arachides dans l'Harmonized Tariff Schedule of the United States (HTSUS) est le 2008.11.05.

2.3 Les exportateurs qui désirent savoir si le produit qu'ils veulent exporter est dans les limites du contingent tarifaire (CT) américain applicable aux importations de beurre d’arachides sont priés de communiquer avec les Douanes américaines et la protection des frontières afin d'obtenir une décision exécutoire. Les demandes de décision peuvent être adressées comme suit : Director, National Commodity Specialist Division, United States Customs and Border Protection, Attn: CIE/Ruling Request, One Penn Plaza, 10th Floor, New York, N.Y. 10119.

3.0 Durée

3.1 Le présent Avis restera en vigueur jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

4.0 Fondements juridiques

4.1 Le produit visé par le présent Avis a été ajouté à la Liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée (LMEC) en vertu de l'article 3.1 de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (LLEI), afin d'assurer la commercialisation ordonnée à l'exportation du beurre d'arachides qui est assujetti à une limite imposée par les États-Unis en 1995. Le Ministre doit délivrer des licences d'exportation pour les marchandises figurant dans la LMEC en vertu du paragraphe 7 (1) de la LLEI. Le ministre peut, à sa discrétion, modifier, suspendre, annuler ou rétablir les licences et les autorisations d'importation délivrées ou concédées en vertu de la loi.

5.0 Renseignements généraux

5.1 En 1995, les États-Unis, conformément à leurs engagements auprès de l'OMC, ont fixé un contingent tarifaire global pour le beurre d'arachides. Le Canada a obtenu un contingent national de 14 500 000 kilogrammes. Des licences d'exportation seront délivrées jusqu'à ce que ce niveau soit atteint, conformément aux critères énoncés aux articles 6 et 7 ci-dessous. Les exportations de beurre d'arachides sont assujetties à de faibles droits de douane jusqu'à concurrence d'une limite déterminée d'avance, tandis que les exportations dépassant cette limite sont assujetties à des droits de douane plus élevés.

5.2 Il n'y a pas de restrictions quantitatives à l'exportation de beurre d'arachides à destination de pays autres que les États-Unis. Conformément à l'alinéa 7 (1.1) de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, le Ministre a délivré la licence générale d'exportation no Ex.31 -Beurre d'arachides. Les entreprises souhaitant exporter du beurre d'arachides dans des pays autres que les États-Unis pourront le faire sans avoir à se soumettre à un contingent de la LLEI ou à obtenir une licence d'exportation « individuelle ».

6.0 Délivrance des licences d'exportation

6.1 Une licence d'exportation individuelle est requise pour chaque livraison aux États-Unis de beurre d'arachides classée sous la position tarifaire 2008.11.10 de la Liste des dispositions tarifaires figurant à l'Annexe 1 du Tarif des douanes. Ces licences d'exportation devraient permettre aux exportateurs canadiens d'exporter du beurre d'arachides à un faible taux de douane.

6.2 Le MAECI a mis en place les procédures suivantes pour la réception des demandes de licences d'exportation « individuelle » :

  1. Pour demander une licence d'exportation « individuelle », il faut remplir le formulaire EXT-1466 intitulé « Demande de licence » (PDF * 95.24 ko)(voir l'exemplaire figurant à l'annexe 1), et le transmettre àu MAECI.
  2. Une description de la démarche à suivre pour obtenir une licence est fournie à l'annexe 2; elle comprend les droits à acquitter, le système de facturation mensuelle et les renseignements demandés aux requérants. Les licences d'exportation sont émises (i) par un système automatisé en direct auquel ont accès certains bureau de courtiers en douane situés dans les grands centres à travers le Canada, ou (ii) au MAECI(adresse au paragraphe 12.1).

7.0 Critères de répartition du contingent d'exportation américain de beurre d'arachides

7.1 L’année contingentaire applicable au beurre d’arachides couvre la période du 1er janvier au 31 décembre, inclusivement

7.2 Le contingent d’exportation de beurre d’arachides est réparti sous forme de quotes-parts individuelles entre les exportateurs traditionnels qui sont des résidents du Canada et qui exercent toujours des activités de fabrication et d’exportation de beurre d’arachides. Les licences d’exportation sont normalement délivrées sur demande aux entreprises ayant obtenu une quote-part, jusqu’à concurrence de la limite prévue, sous réserve du respect des conditions énoncées aux paragraphes 7.3 et 7.4 ci-dessous.

7.3 Les exportateurs doivent soumettre chaque mois les rapports sommaires sur toutes les exportations effectuées avec les licences leur ayant été délivrées. Le rapport doit contenir les renseignements suivants : le nom de l’exportateur, la date de l’exportation, le numéro de la licence d’exportation, le consignataire américain, le numéro de la déclaration aux Douanes américaines, le numéro de la facture et la quantité exportée (en kilogrammes). Un spécimen de formule se trouve à l’annexe 3 et, pour votre commodité, une version électronique peut être fournie par courriel ou sur une disquette. Ce rapport doit être déposé au plus tard le 15e jour du mois suivant le mois au cours duquel l’exportation a été effectuée, et envoyé à l’attention de Laurie Wheeler à l’adresse courriel indiquée au para- graphe 12.2 du présent avis. Les exportateurs doivent conserver des copies de tous les documents relatifs à ces exportations et, sur demande, présenter des registres.

8.0 Demande d'une quote-part de contingent d'exportation de beurre d'arachides

8.1 Les exportateurs « traditionnels » doivent remplir une demande chaque année en vue de conserver leur quote-part du CT de beurre d’arachides. Les renseignements fournis par l’exportateur seront pris en considération aux fins d’attribution des quotes-parts du contingent américain d’exportation de beurre d’arachides. Les applicants peuvent être tenus de fournir des preuves des quantités réelles de beurre d’arachides fabriquées et exportées au cours des années précédentes, notamment : originaux des bons de commande et des factures commerciales faisant état du nom et de l’adresse de l’acheteur et de la quantité de beurre d’arachides vendue; contrats d’exportation; lettres de transport; déclarations en douane américaine; registres de production.

8.2 Tous les renseignements fournis par les requérants peuvent faire l’objet d’une vérification de la part des représentants du MAECI. En cas de défaut de présentation de tout renseignement demandé par leMAECI, la demande pourrait être déclarée incomplète et le requérant pourrait se voir refuser une quote-part du contigent américain de beurre d’arachides.

9.0 Ajustement pour sous-utilisation

9.1 Les entreprises utilisant moins de 98 % de leur quote-part au cours d'une année donnée verront normalement leur quote-part réduite à leur niveau réel d'utilisation pour l'année suivante. Les entreprises touchées seront informées des ajustements à leur quote-part avant l'attribution finale du contingent d’exportation.

9.2 Les entreprises qui remettent à la DGCEI leur quote-part non utilisée, au plus tard le 1er août d’une année donnée ne verront pas leur quote-part réduite pour sous-utilisation l’année suivante.

9.3 La DGCEI avisera par écrit les détenteurs de quotes-parts de la disponibilité de parts à la suite de remises ou de sous-utilisations.

10.0 Transférabilité du contingent d'exportation

10.1 Le ministre peut permettre le transfert des quotes-parts de contingent d’exportation à des entreprises qui fabriquent activement du beurre d’arachides. Toutes les demandes de transfert doivent être soumises àu MAECI pour approbation. Les transferts non autorisés peuvent mener à la perte totale ou partielle du contingent d’exportation attribué à l’entreprise.

11.0 Respect et exécution

11.1 Quiconque exporte des marchandises figurant sur la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée, sans avoir obtenu au préalable une licence d’exportation délivrée par les Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international Canada, commet une infraction et risque d’être poursuivi en justice en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation.

12.0 Renseignements complémentaires

12.1 Les demandes de renseignements peuvent être adressées à :

Keltie Findlay Leclair
Direction de la politique sur la réglementation
commerciale (TICA)
Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international
Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2

Téléphone : (613) 996-4333
Télécopieur : (613) 996-0612
Courriel : keltie.findlay@international.gc.ca

12.2 Les demandes de renseignements concernant la délivrance des licences ainsi que les démarches à suivre pour soumettre des rapports et l'utilisation des quotes-parts de contingent d'exportation peuvent être adressées à :

Laurie Wheeler
Direction de la politique sur la réglementation
commerciale (TICA)
Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2

Téléphone :  (613) 944-1804
Télécopieur : (613) 996-0612
Courriel : laurie.wheeler@international.gc.ca

* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à ce fichier, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.