Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notices to Importers

Items 161 TO 191 - Wheat, Barley and their Products

Serial No. 791
Date: August 9, 2011

Table of Contents


1.0 Purpose

1.1 The purpose of this Notice is to inform importers of the rules and procedures governing the administration of the tariff rate quotas (TRQs) for wheat, barley and their products.

2.0 Coverage

2.1 This Notice cancels and replaces Notice to Importers No. 628 dated January 10, 2002.  It refers to items 161 to 191 of the Import Control List (ICL).

2.2 Wheat, barley and their products are subject to tariff rate quotas (TRQs).  The coverage, access levels and coefficients of conversion for the various products covered are set out in section 6.1 and Annex 1 PDF * (8 KB) of this Notice.  The TRQs for these products are administered on a marketing year basis (August 1  to July 31).

2.3 Importers who require a determination as to whether or not the product they intend to import is within the scope of this Notice are to contact: Kelly Bartlett, Canada Border Services Agency, Post-Border Programs Directorate, 613-957-1468; fax: 613-952-3971.

3.0 Duration

3.1 This Notice will remain in effect until further notice.

4.0 Authority

4.1 Under the authority of paragraph 5(1)(a) and section 5.3 of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA), wheat, barley and their products were placed on the Import Control List on August 1, 1995 to implement a Canadian commitment under the World Trade Organization (WTO) Agreement on Agriculture.

4.2 Under TRQs, imports are subject to low rates of duty up to a predetermined limit, while imports over that limit will be subject to significantly higher rates of duty.  By sub-section 6.2(1) of the EIPA, the Minister responsible for the Act may determine an import access quantity allowed entry at the low rate of duty.  Having established an import access quantity, the Minister shall issue import permits under section  8.3 of the EIPA up to the limits of that quantity; these permits shall entitle the goods to which they apply to be subject to low rates of duty.  Paragraph 8.3(2)(b) authorizes the Minister to establish a General Import Permit (GIP) that may be invoked freely by those complying with its conditions.  Sub-section 8.3(3) allows the Minister to issue import permits for imports in excess of the import access quantity.  Pursuant to section 10 of the EIPA, the Minister may, at his discretion, amend, suspend, cancel or reinstate import permits, including GIPs.

5.0 Import Permit Issuance

5.1 Wheat, barley and their products were placed on the Import Control List established under the Export and Import Permits Act, and require import permits for entry into Canada.  To reduce the burden on importers, this will be managed through two General Import Permits (GIPs).  These permits are generally available and may be invoked upon importation, without prior application or fee.  GIP No. 20 will cover imports on a first-come, first-served basis at the applicable "within access commitment" rate of duty, until the TRQ level has been reached, based on a count of goods accounted for at Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) or placed into bond; thus, goods placed into bond while the General Import Permit No. 20 is in force may be released at any subsequent time at the lower duty rate.  Once the TRQ level has been reached, GIP No. 20 will cease to apply in respect of any covered goods, until the start of the next quota year on the following August 1.  GIP No. 100 will cover unlimited imports after TRQ levels are reached, but all imports under this GIP will be assessed the applicable duties, which are generally the "over access commitment" rates of duty.

6.0 Method of Administration

6.1 The following annual (August 1 to July 31) TRQ levels for wheat, barley, wheat products and barley products apply:

  • Wheat - 226 883 tonnes
  • Barley - 399 000 tonnes
  • Wheat Products - 123 557 tonnes (grain equivalent)
  • Barley Products - 19 131 tonnes (grain equivalent)

6.2  The TRQs for wheat, barley and their products are administered on a first-come, first-served basis.  Any resident of Canada is entitled to import any quantity of a product falling under one of the four TRQs as long as the applicable overall access quantity has not been reached.  The Minister will evaluate whether that quantity has been reached based on the amount of goods accounted for at CBSA or placed in bond, after applying appropriate conversion factors.  The Minister's decision that the access quantity is being reached will be publicized in advance of the closure date for the product in question so as to minimize disruptions to transactions in progress.  Up-to-date information on volumes imported is available through Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada's website to assist importers in making their plans.

6.3 Once the TRQ levels are reached, the following products will continue to be assessed the "within access" lower rate of duty:

a) Imports of Mexican, Costa Rican, Chilean, Peruvian or U.S. wheat, barley and their products under the applicable free trade agreement;

b) Wheat and barley products from any country, classified under the following specific tariff items:

  • mixes and doughs, falling under tariff item No. 1901.20.14;
  • pasta products, falling under tariff items Nos. 1902.11.21, 1902.19.12, 1902.19.22, 1902.19.92, 1902.30.12 and 1902.30.31;
  • cereals, falling under tariff items No. 1904.10.21, 1904.10.41, 1904.20.21, 1904.20.41, 1904.30.21 and 1904.90.21 ;
  • bread products, falling under tariff item No. 1905.10.21, 1905.10.51, 1905.40.31, 1905.40.61 and 1905.90.32;
  • biscuits, waffles and waffers falling under tariff item No. 1905.31.22, 1905.31.92, 1905.32.92 and 1905.90.43;
  • pretzels of tariff no. 1905.90.62 in packages of a weight not exceeding 1.36 kg.

6.4 Importers are reminded that invoking a GIP does not relieve them of other legal requirements pertaining to importation, such as those imposed by Canada Border Services Agency and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency.  For instance, importers, in addition to invoking the GIP, must seek a valid import certificate from the Permit Office, Plant Protection Division, Canadian Food Inspection Agency for authority to release, and must also meet the requirements of the Seeds Acts and Regulations.

7.0 Products Imported for Personal Use

7.1 Any resident of Canada may, under the authority of General Import Permit No. 3 import into Canada, for the personal use of the importer and the importer's household, wheat and barley and their products at the lower rate of duty.  There is no limit to the amount that may be imported, but all other applicable regulations (e.g. respecting seeds) continue to apply.

7.2 Where the goods imported under the authority of this GIP are required to be reported in the prescribed form under the Customs Act, that form shall contain the statement "Imported under the authority of General Import Permit No. 3: Wheat and Wheat products and Barley and Barley Products for Personal Use".

8.0 Supplementary Commercial Imports

8.1 The Minister may issue permits for imports at "within access commitment" rates of duty after the applicable import access quantity has been reached.  Request for such supplementary permits may be addressed to Lynn Matthew at the address below.  In deciding whether or not to issue a supplementary permit for a given product, the Minister will consider, in particular, the availability of like or directly substitutable products on the Canadian market.

8.2 When requesting a supplementary import permit, applicants should provide a detailed description of the product requested and its purpose.  Importers should also provide details of efforts made in securing domestic sources of supply.  Such information should include the name(s) and address(es) of supplier(s) contacted, the response received as to their supply capacity and any other evidence that may have been provided indicating an inability to supply.

Supplementary Feed Grain Imports

8.3 Feed grain users in the Atlantic provinces, Quebec, Ontario, British Columbia, the Yukon and Northwest Territories, who benefited from a feed grain assistance subsidy under the previous Feed Freight Assistance Program, will be eligible for supplementary import permits to import feed wheat and feed barley if they can demonstrate that they are not able to source Canadian supplies that are price competitive with imports.  Requests for supplementary import permits can normally be processed within three working days.

9.0 Export Licence Requirements

9.1 Export licence requirements for wheat and wheat products under the Canadian Wheat Board Act will remain in effect and are not affected by this initiative.  For further information, please contact the Canadian Wheat Board at 204-983-0655 or 204-792-1345/fax: 204-987-4178.

10.0 Contact Information

Lynn Matthew (Quota Manager) or
Donna Barr (Permits Officer)
Trade Controls Policy Division (TIC)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive,
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G2

Telephone: 613-944-1807 or 613-944-1808
Facsimile: 613-996-0612

E-mail: lynn.matthew@international.gc.ca or donna.barr@international.gc.ca

* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis aux importateurs

Articles 161 À 191 - Blé, orge et produits dérivés

Nº de série: 791
Date: le 9 août 2011

Table des matières


1.0 But

1.1 Le présent avis vise à informer les importateurs des règles et procédures régissant l'administration des contingents tarifaires (CT) pour le blé, l'orge et leurs dérivés.

2.0 Champ d'application

2.1 Le présent avis, annule et remplace l'Avis aux importateurs no. 628 du 10 janvier 2002, se rapporte aux articles 161 à 191 de la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlée (LMIC).

2.2 Le blé, l'orge et leurs dérivés sont assujettis à des contingents tarifaires (CT).  Le champ d'application, les niveaux d'accès et les coefficients de conversion pour les divers produits visés se trouvent au paragraphe 6.1 et à l'Annexe 1 PDF * (8 ko) du présent avis.  Les CT pour ces produits sont administrés sur la base de la campagne agricole (du ler août au 31 juillet).

2.3 Les importateurs qui désirent savoir si le produit qu'ils entendent importer est visé ou non par le présent avis doivent contacter:  Kelly Bartlett, Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, Direction programmes après le passage à la frontère, au 613-957-1468 ou télécopieur: 613-952-3971.

3.0 Durée de validité

3.1 Le présent avis restera en vigueur jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

4.0 Fondements juridiques

4.1 En vertu de l'alinéa 5(1)(a) et de l'article 5.3 de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (LLEI), le blé, l'orge et leurs dérivés ont été inscrits sur la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlée le 1er août 1995.  Le Canada met en vigueur ainsi ses engagements aux termes de l'Accord sur l'agriculture de l'Organisation mondiale du commerce (OMC) en établissant des CTs pour le blé, l'orge et leurs dérivés.

4.2 Les importations visées par des contingents tarifaires sont soumises à des taux de droit réduits jusquà une limite préétablie et celles qui dépassent la limite sont assujetties à des taux sensiblement plus élevés.  En vertu du paragraphe 6.2(1) de la LLEI, le Ministre responsable peut déterminer une quantité de marchandises pouvant être importée au taux de droit réduit.  Après avoir établi cette quantité, le Ministre délivre des licences d'importation, en vertu de l'article 8.3 de la LLEI, jusqu=à concurrence du niveau limite de cette quantité; les marchandises visées par ces licences seront assujetties aux taux réduits.  L'alinéa 8.3(2)(b) autorise le Ministre à établir une Licence générale d'importation (LGI) pouvant être utilisée librement par ceux qui en respectent les conditions.  Le paragraphe 8.3(3) autorise le Ministre  à délivrer des licences pour les importations en sus de la quantité maximale bénéficiant du régime d'accès.  Conformément à l'article 10 de la LLEI, le Ministre peut modifier, suspendre, annuler ou rétablir les licences d'importation, y compris les LGI.

5.0 Délivrance des licences d'importation

5.1 Le blé, l'orge et leurs dérivés ayant été  placés sur la Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlée établie en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, leur importation au Canada nécessite une licence d'importation pour toute expédition.  Pour réduire la charge de travail des importateurs, cette procédure est gérée au moyen de deux Licence générales d'importation (LGI).  Ces licences généralement consenties peuvent être invoquées au moment de l'importation, sans demande ou droit préalable.  La LGI no. 20 couvre les importations, selon la formule « premier arrivé, premier servi », aux taux « dans les limites de l'engagement d'accès » jusqu'à ce que le niveau maximale du contingent tarifaire ait été atteint selon le dénombrement des marchandises déclarées à l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) ou entreposées en douane.  Ainsi, les marchandises entreposées en douane pendant que la Licence générale d'importation no. 20 est en vigueur peuvent être dédouanées à une date ultérieure au taux mains élevé.  Lorsque le niveau du CT à été atteint et cette LGI cesse de s'appliquer à l'une des marchandises couvertes par un contingent, l'absence de couverture se poursuit jusqu'au 1er août suivant.  La LGI no. 100 vise toute quantité importée au-delà des limites de l'engagement d'accès prévues par les contingents tarifaires, mais toutes les marchandises importées en vertu de cette LGI sont imposées aux taux applicables, qui sont généralement les taux « au-delà de l'engagement d'accès ».

6.0 Méthode d'administration

6.1 Les niveaux de contingents tarifaires annuel (1 août au 31 juillet) suivants pour le blé, l'orge et leurs dérivés s'appliquent:

  • Blé - 226 883 tonnes
  • Orge - 399 000 tonnes
  • Produits du blé - 123 557 tonnes (équivalent céréalier)
  • Produits de l'orge - 19 131 tonnes (équivalent céréalier)

6.2 Les contingents tarifaires pour le blé, l'orge et leurs dérivés sont administrés selon la formule « premier arrivé, premier servi ».  Tout résident du Canada peut importer toute quantité d'un produit assujetti à l'un des quatre contingents tarifaires, tant que la quantité bénéficiant du régime d'accès n'a pas été atteinte.  Pour déterminer si la quantité a été atteinte, le Ministre se fonde sue la quantité des marchandises déclarées à l'ASFC ou entreposées en douane, après application des facteurs de conversion appropriés.  La décision du Ministre selon laquelle la quantité maximale a été atteinte est publiée avant la date limite pour le produit en cause, de façon à perturber le moins possible les transactions en cours.  Les importateurs peuvent obtenir l'information sur les quantités importées qui leur permettra d'établir leurs plans avec une certaine certitude au site web des Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada.

6.3 Lorsque le niveau maximal du CT sera atteint, les produits suivants continueront de bénéficier du taux de droit réduit applicable « dans les limites de l'engagement d'accès »:

a) Les importations du blé, de l’orge et de ses dérivés en provenance du Mexique, Costa Rica, Chili, Péru ou des États-Unis selon les accords de libre-échanges en vigueur.

b) les produits du blé et de l'orge classés sous les portes tarifaires suivants, peu importe le pays d'où ils proviennent:

  • les mélanges et les pâtes de cuisson, poste tarifaire 1901.20.14;
  • les pâtes alimentaires, postes tarifaires 1902.11.21, 1902.19.12, 1902.19.22, 1902.19.92, 1902.30.12 et 1902.30.31;
  • les céréales, postes tarifaires 1904.10.21, 1904.10.41, 1904.20.21, 1904.20.41, 1904.30.21 et 1904.90.21;
  • les produits panifiés, postes tarifaires 1905.10.21, 1905.10.51, 1905.40.31, 1905.40.61 et 1905.90.32;
  • les biscuits, gaufres et gaufrettes, postes tarifaires 1905.31.22, 1905.31.92, 1905.32.92 et 1905.90.43;
  • les bretzels, poste tarifaire 1905.90.62, sous emballage, dont le poids n'est pas supérieur à 1,36 kg.

6.4 Nous rappelons aux importateurs que l'invocation d'une LGI ne les libère pas des autres obligations légales en matière d'importation, notamment celles imposées par l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments.  Par exemple, en plus d'invoquer la LGI, les importateurs doivent demander au Bureau des licences de la Division de la protection des plantes de l'Agence, l'autorisation de dédouaner et doivent également satisfaire aux exigences de la Loi et du Règlement sur les semences.

7.0 Produits importés pour usage personnel

7.1 Tout résident du Canada peut, en vertu de la Licence générale d'importation no. 3, importer au Canada, pour son usage personnel et celui des personnes vivant sous son toit, du blé, de l'orge et de leurs dérivés, au taux inférieur.  Il n'y a pas de limite à la quantité importée, mais toutes les autres exigences pertinentes (p. ex. concernant les semences) continent à s'appliquer.

7.2 Lorsque les marchandises importées en vertu de cette LGI doivent être déclarées à l'aide de la formule presrite par la Loi sur les douanes, cette formule doit porter la mention « Importé en vertu de la Licence générale d'importation no. 3: Froment (blé) et produits du froment (blé) et orge et produits de l'orge pour usage personnel ».

8.0 Importations supplémentaires à des fins commerciales

8.1 Le Ministre peut délivrer des licences pour des importateurs au taux « dans les limites de l'engagement d'accès » après que la quantité maximale de marchandises bénéficiant du régime d'accès a été atteinte.  Les demandes de licences supplémentaires devraient être adressées à  Lynn Matthew, à l'adresse ci-après.  En décidant du bien-fondé de l'octroi d'une licence supplémentaire pour un produit donné, le Ministre tient notamment compte de la disponibilité sur le marché canadien de produits similaires ou pouvant lui être substitués directement.

8.2 Le requérant d'une licence d'importation supplémentaire doit fournit une description détaillée du produit demandé et de son usage.  L'importateur doit également préciser les efforts déployés pour trouver une source canadienne d'approvisionnement et fournir notamment le nom et l'adresse du ou des fournisseurs contactés, les réponses obtenues quant à la capacité d'approvisionnement de ces derniers, ainsi que et tout autre renseignement dont il dispose comme preuve de leur incapacité de fournir le produit en question.

Importations de grains fourragers supplémentaires

8.3  Les utilisateurs de grains fourragers des provinces de l'Atlantique, du Québec, de l'Ontario, de la Colombie-Britannique, du Yukon et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest ayant bénéficié d'une subvention en vertu de l'ancien Programme d'aide au transport des céréales fourragères, peuvent obtenir une licence supplémentaire pour l'importation de blé et d'orge de provende s'ils prouvent qu'ils sont incapables de se les procurer au Canada à un prix comparable à celui des grains importés.  Le traitement d'une demande de licence d'importation supplémentaire exige habituellement trois jours ouvrables.

9.0 Exigences relatives aux licences d'exportation

9.1 Les exigences relatives aux licences d'exportation du blé et des produits du blé, prévues dans la Loi sur la Commission canadienne du blé, demeurent en vigueur et ne sont pas modifiées par le présent avis.  Pour des renseignements complémentaires, s'adresser à la Commission canadienne du blé tél.: 204-983-0655 ou 204-792-1345/télécopieur: 204-987-4178.

10.0 Renseignements supplémentaires

Lynn Matthew (Gestionnaire de quota) ou
Donna Barr (Agente de permis)
Direction de la politique sur la réglementation commerciale
Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2

Téléphone: (613) 944-1807 ou (613) 944-1808
Fax: (613) 996-0612

Courriel: lynn.matthew@international.gc.ca ou donna.barr@international.gc.ca

* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à ce fichier, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.