Publications and Reports

Publications

Reports

Annual Reports to Parliament on the Administration of the Export and Import Controls Permits Act

These are the Reports of the Minister of Foreign Affairs, respecting operations under the Export and Import Permits Act for the years 2009 and 2010.

The Act provides that the Governor in Council may establish lists known as the Import Control List (ICL), the Export Control List (ECL) and the Area Control List (ACL). For each one of these lists, the Act sets out criteria that govern the inclusion of goods or countries on the respective lists and provides that the Governor in Council may revoke, amend, vary or re-establish any of the lists. Control over the flow of goods contained on these lists or to specific destinations is effected through the issuance of import or export permits.

Reports on Exports of Military Goods from Canada

As part of Canada's effort to encourage greater transparency on military exports, DFATD has published periodic reports on annual exports of military goods and technology since 1990.

The statistics on military exports in the following reports were obtained from quarterly military reports conditions filed by exporters on the actual shipments for each of the permits issued to them under the Export and Import Permits Act. These reports include the country of destination and a description of the goods and their value.

Since permits are not required for the export of most Group 2 items to the United States, the reports do not include statistics on military exports to the United States.

Statistics relating to the export of military goods and technology, including conventional arms and ammunition, can be found in the "Report on Exports of Military Goods from Canada" published by the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development.  These statistics are based on the export of military goods and technology as identified in the Munitions List (Group 2) of Canada’s Export Control List, which reflect commitments made in the multilateral Wassenaar Arrangement on Export Controls for Conventional Arms and Dual-Use Goods and Technologies and commitments made in the Organization of American States, as well as certain additional unilateral controls implemented by Canada.  Canada’s export control regime, including the Export Control List, is established and administered under the authority of Canada's Export and Import Permits Act.

Other statistics regarding the export of arms and ammunitions can be found on other government sites such as Industry Canada's "Trade Data On-Line" and Statistic Canada’s “Canadian Industrial Merchandise Trade Database”. This data is compiled based on categories of items negotiated at the World Customs Organization for the purpose of applying global customs tariff codes. The "Arms and Ammunitions" category of items negotiated via the World Customs Organization does not, in many cases, reflect what many countries would consider conventional arms and ammunition. (For example, goods such as flare guns used in oil and gas drilling, ammunition to frighten birds at airports, etc. may be listed under the “Arms and Ammunition” coding). The Canadian Commercial Corporation also generates their own export data based on contracts between Canadian suppliers and military end-users. Again, these statistics may include items which are not strictly military in nature, such as storage containers.

Publications et rapports

Publications

Rapports

Rapports annuels au Parlement sur l'application de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation

Veuillez trouver ci-joint les rapports du Ministre des Affaires Étrangères sur les activités découlant de la Loi sur les Licences d'exportation et d'importation pour les années 2009 et 2010.

Aux termes de la Loi, le gouverneur en conseil peut dresser des listes appelées respectivement Liste des marchandises d'importation contrôlée (LMIC), Liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée (LMEC) et Liste des pays visés (LPV). La Loi fixe des critères qui régissent l'inclusion de marchandises ou de pays dans les différentes listes et autorise le gouverneur en conseil à abroger, à modifier, à changer ou à rétablir ces listes. La circulation des biens figurant sur ces listes est contrôlée au moyen de licences d'importation ou d'exportation.

Rapports sur les exportations de matériel militaire du Canada

Dans le cadre des efforts déployés par le Canada pour encourager une plus grande transparence, le MAECD publie, depuis 1990, des rapports périodiques sur les exportations annuelles de matériel et de technologies militaires.

Les statistiques incluses dans les rapports qui suivent proviennent des rapports militaires trimestriels soumis par les exportateurs. Ces rapports militaires sont obligatoires pour toutes marchandises du groupe 2. Ces rapports indiquent la destination, la marchandise et la valeur.

Puisqu'aucune licence n'est requise pour exporter la plus part des marchandises du groupe 2 vers les États-Unis, les rapports suivants n'incluent pas les exportations vers les États-Unis.

Les statistiques liées à l’exportation de marchandises et de technologies militaires, y compris des armes et des munitions conventionnelles, sont disponibles dans le « Rapport sur les exportations de marchandises militaires du Canada » publié par Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement. Ces statistiques sont fondées sur les exportations de marchandises et de technologies cernées dans la Liste de matériel de guerre (groupe 2) de la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée, qui reflète les engagements pris dans l’Accord multilatéral de Wassenaar sur les contrôles à l’exportation des armes conventionnelles et des produits et technologies à double usage, les engagements pris au sein de l’Organisation des États américains, ainsi que certains contrôles unilatéraux mis en œuvre par le Canada. Le régime de contrôle à l’exportation du Canada, y compris la Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée, est établi et géré en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation du Canada.

D’autres statistiques concernant l’exportation d’armes et de munitions sont disponibles sur d’autres sites Web du gouvernement comme le site d’Industrie Canada, « Données sur le commerce en direct » et le site de Statistique Canada, «La Base de données sur le commerce international canadien de marchandises ». Ces données sont compilées à partir des catégories d’articles négociées à l’Organisation mondiale des douanes aux fins de l’application de codes tarifaires à l’échelle internationale. La catégorie d’articles « Armes et munitions » négociée par l’intermédiaire de l’Organisation mondiale des douanes, ne reflète pas, dans bien des cas, ce que de nombreux pays considéreraient comme des armes ou des munitions conventionnelles. (Par exemple, des marchandises comme les pistolets lance-fusées utilisés dans le forage pétrolier et gazier ou les munitions pour effrayer les oiseaux dans les aéroports, peuvent être classés sous  les codes harmonisés d’«Armes et munitions».) La Corporation commerciale canadienne produit également ses propres données fondées sur les contrats entre les fournisseurs canadiens et les utilisateurs finaux militaires. Là encore, il est possible que ces données incluent des articles qui ne sont pas forcément de nature militaire, comme des conteneurs de stockage.