Notice to Exporters

Softwood Lumber Exports to the United States: Entry Into Force of the Softwood Lumber Agreement and Transition Period Exports October 12 – December 31, 2006

Serial No. 145
Date: October 12, 2006

Table of Contents

  1. Background
  2. Purpose
  3. Entry Into Force of the Agreement
  4. Transition Period Exports
  5. Option A – Export Charge
  6. Option B – Export Charge With Export Allocation
  7. Lumber Manufactured by Excluded Companies
  8. Coverage
  9. Authority
  10. Compliance and Enforcement
  11. Permit Fees
  12. Further information

1.0 Background

1.1 On April 27, 2006 Canada and the United States announced a framework agreement to resolve the softwood lumber dispute. The legal text of the Canada-United States Softwood Lumber Agreement 2006 (the Agreement) was initialled by Canada and the United States on July 1, 2006 and signed on September 12, 2006.

1.2 On September 18, 2006, the Minister of International Trade introduced the Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act, 2006. Once passed, the legislation will have retroactive effect to October 12, 2006.

1.3 Under the Agreement, and as provided for under the legislation to implement the Agreement, the Minister will designate that softwood lumber first manufactured in a region subject to the export measures be subject to one of two border measures: Option A, an export charge without export allocations; and Option B, a lower export charge with export allocations. The following table summarizes the two options.

Prevailing Monthly PriceOption A – Export Charge (Expressed as a % of Export Price)Option B – Export Charge (Expressed as a % of Export Price) with Export Allocation
Over $US355No Export ChargeNo Export Charge and no volume restraint
$US336-3555%2.5% Export Charge + maximum volume that can be exported to the United States cannot exceed the Region's share of 34% of Expected U.S. Consumption for the month
$US316-33510%3% Export Charge + maximum volume that can be exported to the United States cannot exceed the Region's share of 32% of Expected U.S. Consumption for the month
$US315 or under15%5% Export Charge + maximum volume that can be exported to the United States cannot exceed the Region's share of 30% of Expected U.S. Consumption for the month

1.4 Regions electing Option B (export charge with export allocations) will operate under the Option A (export charge) regime, commencing October 12, 2006 until the Government of Canada is able to implement Option B, on January 1, 2007. The legislation makes provision for exporters shipping softwood lumber products first manufactured in Option B regions during this three-month transition period.

1.5 The full text of the Agreement can be found on the Softwood Lumber web site.

2.0 Purpose

2.1 The purpose of this Notice to Exporters is to advise softwood lumber exporters to the United States that the Softwood Lumber Agreement will enter into force on October 12, 2006.

2.2 This Notice also advises that special provisions will be put in place during the transition period of October 12, 2006 to December 31, 2006, pursuant to the legislation.

2.3 This Notice amends Notice to Exporters Serial No. 143 with respect to lumber manufactured by excluded companies

3.0 Entry Into Force of the Softwood Lumber Agreement

3.1 Further to the Notice to Exporters Serial No. 144, the Governments of Canada and the United States have agreed that the Softwood Lumber Agreement will enter into force on October 12, 2006. Changes in export permit requirements outlined in Notice to Exporters Serial No. 143 will take effect October 12, 2006.

4.0 Transition Period Exports

4.1 The following provisions will apply to exports of softwood lumber to the United States with shipments dates commencing October 12, 2006 and ending December 31, 2006. Export permits will be required for all shipments of softwood lumber to the United States during this period.

4.2 The Option A, Export Charge will apply to exports from: British Columbia Coast, British Columbia Interior, Alberta as described in Section 5.0 below. The Option B, Export Charge With Export Allocation will apply to exports from: Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba and Saskatchewan as described in Section 6.0 below.

5.0 Option A – Export Charge

5.1 Exporters of softwood lumber products to the United States that are first manufactured in Option A regions will be required to obtain export permits and to remit export charges at the rates specified in paragraph 1.3 during the transition period October 12, 2006 to December 31, 2006.

5.2 Option A Surge Provisions - Exporters of softwood lumber products will be subject to the surge provisions as specified in the legislation during the transition period. In the event that the volume of softwood lumber products exported to the United States first manufactured in an Option A region in any month exceeds that region's Trigger Volume:

  1. if the volume of exports from the region exceeds the region's Trigger Volume by 1% or less in a month, the applicable Trigger Volume for that region will be reduced during the following month by the total volume of the overage (i.e., the amount by which actual exports exceeded the Trigger Volume);

  2. if the volume of exports from a region exceeds that region's Trigger Volume by more than 1% in a month, an additional export charge equal to 50% of the applicable export charge rate for that month will be applied retroactively to all exports to the United States first manufactured in that region during that month.

5.3 For the month of October 2006, the Trigger Volumes for each region will be adjusted by a factor of 64.52% of the volume that would have otherwise been available to each region for the full month of October.

5.4 The Department will publish the monthly Trigger Volumes for each of the regions on its web site and update the shipment data on a daily basis, based on the export permits issued the previous day.

6.0 Option B – Export Charge With Export Allocation

6.1 Exporters of softwood lumber products to the United States that are first manufactured in Option B regions will be required to obtain export permits and to remit export charges at the Option A rates specified in paragraph 1.3 during the transition period October 12, 2006 to December 31, 2006.

6.2 Although no export allocations will be made to exporters of softwood lumber first manufactured in Option B regions, a Regional Quota Volume will be established as specified in the legislation and published on the department's web site.

6.3 Exporters of softwood lumber products first manufactured in an Option B region that do not exceed the Regional Quota Volume for the month by more than 12% will be entitled to a refund of a portion of the export charge remitted to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA). The refund will be the difference between the amount remitted at the Option A export charge rate, and what the exporter would have paid in export charge for that month under Option B, as specified in paragraph 1.3. The refund of export charges remitted will be made by CRA. Please consult CRA for procedures for requesting a refund. Further information which may become available will be placed on the business pages of the CRA website. You may also contact the CRA Information Line at 1-866-330-3304.

6.4 During this transition period, Option B regions will be subject to the carry-forward and carry-back provisions of the legislation, at a regional level. A region will be permitted to carry-forward from the immediate prior month up to 12% of the Regional Quota Volume for the current month.

6.5 As well, a region will be permitted to carry-back (borrow) from the next month up to 12% of the Regional Quota Volume for the current month. The amount of Regional Quota Volume borrowed from the next month will be deducted from the Regional Quota Volume for the next month.

6.6 The carry-forwards and carry-backs will be limited to 12% of the monthly Regional Quota Volume and will be applied on a regional basis only. No carry-forward from a period prior to October 12, 2006 will be permitted. No carry-back from a period following the Transition Period (December 31, 2006) will be permitted.

6.7 If shipments of softwood lumber products to the United States first manufactured in an Option B region exceed the Regional Quota Volume for that region during a month, including the adjustment for the carry-forward and carry-back provisions of the Agreement, exporters of softwood lumber first manufactured in that region will be subject to the Option A export charge rates for shipments made during that month. In addition, the Option A surge provisions of the Agreement and the legislation will apply. See Paragraph 5.2.

6.8 For the month of October 2006, the Trigger Volumes for each region will be adjusted by a factor of 64.52% of the volume that would have otherwise been available to each region for the full month of October. As well, the carry-back allowance for a region selecting Option B, Export Charge with Export Allocation will be limited to 12% of the adjusted October Trigger Volume for each region.

6.9 The Department will publish the monthly Trigger Volumes for each of the regions on its web site and update the shipment data on a daily basis, based on the export permits issued the previous day.

7.0 Lumber Manufactured by Excluded Companies

7.1 Section 10.0 of Notice to Exporters Serial No. 143, is hereby repealed and replaced with the following:

7.2 Shipments of softwood lumber products manufactured by the excluded companies listed in Annex 3 - Excluded Companies to Notice to Exporters Serial No. 143 are exempt from the export measures of the Agreement, up to an annual level to be established for each of the excluded companies as specified in the Agreement.

7.3 All exporters of softwood lumber products manufactured by the excluded companies will be required to register with Canada Revenue Agency and to obtain an export permit from the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade for every shipment of softwood lumber products to the United States.

7.4 Shipments of softwood lumber manufactured by an excluded company will continue to be eligible for exclusion from the export measures as long as the company's actual annual export volume does not exceed its annual export limit, as determined by the Agreement. In the event that annual shipments do exceed a company's export limits, the export limits in following years will be reduced. Continued annual shipments in excess of an excluded company's export limit could lead to the possibility that the company will lose its exclusion from the export measures.

8.0 Coverage

8.1 Effective October 12, 2006, export permits for every shipment to the United States will be required for covered goods that are described in Annex 1 - Covered Products. For Canadian implementation purposes, exporters will be required to provide the Canadian Customs Tariff (CCT) classification of the goods (first column in Annex 1 - Covered Products) in the application for export permits. See Annex 2 – Applying for an Export Permit.

9.0 Authority

9.1 Softwood lumber products will be included on the Export Control List by the Governor in Council pursuant to the Export and Import Permits Act, as amended. The Export Control List will be amended to include the products identified in this Notice effective October 12, 2006. As well, Export Permit Regulations (Softwood Lumber Agreement 2006) will be issued effective October 12, 2006.

10.0 Compliance and Enforcement

10.1 The exportation of goods listed in Annex 1 – Covered Products and as included on the Export Control List without an export permit issued by the Minister of International Trade is an offence and may lead to prosecution under the Export and Import Permits Act.

10.2 Exporters are required to keep records of individual shipments covered by each permit. This information may be subject to verification and additional information may be requested by the Export and Import Controls Bureau (EICB).

11.0 Permit Fees

11.1 Export permit fees are payable pursuant to the Export and Import Permits and Certificates Fees Order. A $9 fee will be levied for each permit where the export permit is delivered by a person who is not employed in the public service of Canada but who is authorized by the Minister to make the delivery. However, brokers with on-line privileges may charge more; brokers' fees may vary.

11.2 Where an exporter applies directly to the EICB for an export permit, the permit fee is $14 payable with the application. Payment may be made by cheque or bank money order, payable to the "Receiver General for Canada"; by bank wire transfer as described below in paragraph 14.3; or by "Visa" or "Master Card", by providing card number, expiry date and name of card holder.

11.3 Payment of export permit fees may be made by cheque, bank money order or bank wire transfer in the following ways. First, exporters may send a cheque payable to the "Receiver General for Canada" to the following address:

By Mail or Prepaid Courier:
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive,
Cashiers Office, Tower D-1 (SMFM)
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G2

A second means for payment is available through wire transfers capability. For this option, an exporter has to request from a bank that a wire transfer payable to the "Receiver General for Canada" be sent to the Department's Royal Bank branch at the following address:

Royal Bank of Canada
L.B. Pearson Bldg.
125 Sussex Dr.
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 8V5
Transit # 1016
Branch # 003
ATT: DFAIT – Export and Import Finance Section 613-944-2496

12.0 Further Information

12.1 For further information with respect to the Agreement, please contact:

Softwood Lumber Division (TNS)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

Telephone: 613-944-2167
Facsimile: 613-944-1452
E-mail address: softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Web Site: Softwood Lumber

12.2 For further information with respect to the export controls on shipments of softwood lumber to the United States, please contact:

Export and Import Controls Bureau
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

Telephone: 613-944-2168 or 1-877-808-8838 (Hot Line)
Facsimile: 613-995-5137
E-mail address: softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Web Site: Softwood Lumber

Avis aux exportateurs

Exportations de bois d'oeuvre résineux vers les États Unis : Entrée en vigueur de l'Accord sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux et règles en vigueur pendant la période de transition du 12 octobre au 31  décembre 2006

No de série : 145
Date : Le 12 octobre 2006

Table des matières

  1. Contexte
  2. Objet
  3. Entrée en vigueur de l'Accord
  4. Exportations effectuées durant la période de transition
  5. Option A – Droit à l'exportation
  6. Option B – Droit à l'exportation assorti de parts de contingent
  7. Bois d'oeuvre résineux ayant fait l'objet d'une transformation dans les entreprises exclues
  8. Champ d'application
  9. Autorisation
  10. Conformité et application
  11. Droits de licence
  12. Renseignements supplémentaires

1.0 Contexte

1.1 Le 27 avril 2006, le Canada et les États-Unis ont annoncé la conclusion d'un accord-cadre pour régler le différend sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux. Le texte officiel de l'Accord sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux Canada-États-Unis de 2006 (l'Accord) a été paraphé par les deux parties le 1er juillet 2006 et signé le 12 septembre 2006.

1.2 Le 18 septembre 2006, le ministre du Commerce international a déposé la Loi de 2006 sur le droit à l'exportation de produits de bois d'oeuvre résineux. Une fois adoptée, cette loi sera rétroactive au 12 octobre 2006.

1.3 Aux termes de l'Accord, et comme le prévoit la loi de mise en œuvre de ce dernier, le bois d'oeuvre résineux ayant fait l'objet d'une première transformation dans une région visée par les mesures à l'exportation sera assujetti à l'une des deux mesures frontalières suivantes : l'Option A, un droit à l'exportation sans parts de contingent, ou l'Option B, un droit à l'exportation moins élevé assorti de parts de contingent. Le tableau ci dessous résume ces deux options.

Prix mensuel de référenceOption A – Droit à l'exportation (exprimé comme un p. 100 du prix à l'exportation)Option B – Droit à l'exportation (exprimé comme un p. 100 du prix à l'exportation) assorti de parts de contingent
Plus de 355 $USAucun droit à l'exportationAucun droit à l'exportation ni limitation de volume
336 à 355 $US5 p. 100Droit à l'exportation de 2,5 p. 100 + limitation du volume maximal pouvant être expédié afin qu'il ne dépasse pas la part d'une région, établie à 34 p. 100 de la consommation américaine attendue
316 à 335 $US10 p. 100Droit à l'exportation de 3 p. 100 + limitation du volume maximal pouvant être expédié afin qu'il ne dépasse pas la part de la région, établie à 32 p. 100 de la consommation américaine attendue
315 $US ou moins15 p. 100Droit à l'exportation de 5 p. 100 + limitation du volume maximal pouvant être expédié afin qu'il ne dépasse pas la part de la région, établie à 30 p. 100 de la consommation américaine attendue

1.4 Les régions qui choisiront l'Option B (droit à l'exportation assorti de parts de contingent) seront régies par l'Option A (droit à l'exportation) à compter du 12 octobre 2006, et ce, jusqu'à ce que le gouvernement du Canada soit en mesure de mettre en œuvre l'Option B, soit le 1er janvier 2007. La loi prévoit des dispositions qui s'appliqueront aux exportateurs qui expédieront des produits de bois d'oeuvre ayant fait l'objet d'une première transformation dans les régions régies par l'Option B pendant cette période de transition de trois mois.

1.5 Le texte intégral de l'Accord est affiché sur le site Web.

2.0 Objet

2.1 Le présent Avis aux exportateurs a pour objet d'informer les exportateurs de bois d'oeuvre résineux aux États Unis que l'Accord sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux entrera en vigueur le 12 octobre 2006.

2.2 Le présent Avis informe aussi les exportateurs que des mesures spéciales seront mises en place pendant la période de transition allant du 12 octobre au 31 décembre 2006, conformément à la loi.

2.3 Le présent Avis modifie également l'Avis aux exportateurs nº 143 quant au bois d'oeuvre ayant fait l'objet d'une transformation dans les entreprises exclues.

3.0 Entrée en vigueur de l'Accord sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux

3.1 À la suite de l'Avis aux exportateurs nº 144, les gouvernements du Canada et des États Unis ont convenu que l'Accord sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux entrerait en vigueur le 12 octobre 2006. Les changements apportés aux exigences relatives aux licences d'exportation décrits dans l'Avis aux exportateurs nº 143 entreront en vigueur le 12 octobre 2006.

4.0 Exportations effectuées durant la période de transition

4.1 Les mesures suivantes s'appliqueront aux exportations à destination des États-Unis de bois d'oeuvre résineux dont la date d'expédition ira du 12 octobre 2006 au 31 décembre 2006. Des licences d'exportation seront nécessaires pour toutes les expéditions de bois d'oeuvre résineux vers les États-Unis effectuées pendant cette période.

4.2 Les régions suivantes seront assujetties à l'Option A (Droit à l'exportation) : côte de la Colombie Britannique, intérieur de la Colombie Britannique et Alberta tel que définie dans la section 5 ci-dessous. Les régions suivantes seront assujetties à l'Option B (Droit à l'exportation assorti de contingents à l'exportation): Québec, Ontario, Manitoba et Saskatchewan tel que définie dans la section 6 ci-dessous.

5.0 Option A – Droit à l'exportation

5.1 Pendant la période de transition, soit du 12 octobre au 31 décembre 2006, pour exporter aux États-Unis des produits de bois d'oeuvre résineux ayant fait l'objet d'une première transformation dans une région sous le régime de l'Option A, les exportateurs devront obtenir des licences d'exportation et verser les droits à l'exportation applicables aux taux figurant au paragraphe 1.3.

5.2 Dispositions de l'option A relatives au mécanisme en cas de dépassement – Pendant la période de transition et conformément à la loi, les exportateurs de produits de bois d'oeuvre résineux seront assujettis aux dispositions relatives au mécanisme en cas de dépassement. Pour un mois donné, si le volume des exportations aux États-Unis de produits de bois d'oeuvre résineux ayant fait l'objet d'une première transformation dans une région sous le régime de l'Option A dépasse le volume de déclenchement établi pour la région :

  1. si, au cours d'un mois donné, le volume des exportations de la région dépasse de 1 p. 100 ou moins le volume de déclenchement établi pour la région, le volume de déclenchement applicable à cette région le mois suivant sera réduit du volume total représentant l'excédent (c'est-à-dire le nombre de milliers de pieds planche exportés en excédent du volume de déclenchement);

  2. si, au cours d'un mois donné, le volume des exportations de la région dépasse de plus de 1 p. 100 le volume de déclenchement établi pour la région, un droit à l'exportation additionnel s'élevant à 50 p. 100 du droit à l'exportation établi pour ce mois sera appliqué rétroactivement à toutes les exportations ayant fait l'objet d'une première transformation dans cette région à destination des États-Unis durant le mois en question.

5.3 Pour le mois d'octobre 2006, les volumes de déclenchement pour chacune des régions seront ajustés d'un coefficient de 64,52 p. 100 du volume qui aurait autrement été alloué à chacune des régions pour tout le mois d'octobre.

5.4 Le Ministère publiera mensuellement sur son site Web les volumes de déclenchement pour chacune des régions et mettra à jour quotidiennement les données relatives aux expéditions, en fonction des licences d'exportation délivrées le jour précédent.

6.0 Option B – Droit à l'exportation assorti de parts de contingent

6.1 Pendant la période de transition allant du 12 octobre au 31 décembre 2006, pour exporter aux États-Unis des produits de bois d'oeuvre résineux ayant fait l'objet d'une première transformation dans les régions sous le régime de l'Option B, les exportateurs devront se procurer des licences d'exportation et verser les droits à l'exportation aux taux en vigueur conformément à l'Option A, lesquels figurent au paragraphe 1.3.

6.2 Bien qu'aucune part de contingent ne sera attribuée aux exportateurs de bois d'oeuvre résineux ayant fait l'objet d'une première transformation dans une région sous le régime de l'Option B, un volume de contingent régional sera établi conformément à la loi et sera publié sur la site Web.

6.3 Les exportateurs de produits de bois d'oeuvre résineux ayant fait l'objet d'une première transformation dans une région sous le régime de l'Option B qui ne dépassent pas de plus de 12 p. 100 leur volume de contingent régional établi pour ce mois auront droit à un remboursement d'une partie du droit à l'exportation versé à l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC). Le remboursement équivaut à la différence entre les droits à l'exportation que l'exportateur a versés pour ce mois aux taux de l'Option A, et les droits qu'il aurait dû verser si les exportations de la région avaient été assujetties à l'Option B, comme il est indiqué au paragraphe 1.3. Le remboursement des droits à l'exportation versés sera effectué par l'ARC. Veuillez consulter cette dernière pour connaître les modalités à suivre pour présenter une demande de remboursement. Tout renseignement supplémentaire à ce sujet sera affiché sur les pages du site Web de l'ARC réservées aux entreprises. Vous pouvez également communiquer avec l'ARC, en composant le numéro suivant :
1-866-330-3304.

6.4 Pendant la période de transition, les régions sous le régime de l'Option B seront assujetties aux dispositions de la loi concernant le report et l'emprunt, à un niveau régional. Selon ces dispositions, une région peut reporter sur le mois suivant un volume inutilisé équivalant à 12 p. 100 de son contingent régional mensuel.

6.5 De plus, une région peut utiliser de façon anticipée (ou emprunter) un volume équivalent à 12 p. 100 de son contingent régional mensuel. Le montant du volume de contingent emprunté au mois suivant sera déduit du volume de contingent du mois suivant.

6.6 Les reports et les emprunts se limiteront à 12 p. 100 du volume de contingent mensuel et seront appliqués sur une base régionale seulement. Aucun report à partir d'une période précédant le 12 octobre 2006 ne sera permis. Aucun emprunt à partir d'une période suivant la période de transition (31 décembre 2006) ne sera permis.

6.7 Si les expéditions aux États-Unis de produits de bois d'oeuvre résineux ayant fait l'objet d'une première transformation dans une région sous le régime de l'Option B excèdent le volume de contingent régional de la région au cours d'un mois donné, y compris après l'ajustement nécessaire pour refléter les dispositions de report et d'emprunt prévues par l'Accord, les exportateurs de bois d'oeuvre résineux ayant fait l'objet d'une première transformation dans cette région seront assujettis au droit à l'exportation de l'Option A pour les expéditions effectuées au cours de ce mois. De plus, la loi et les dispositions de l'Option A relative au mécanisme en cas de dépassement de l'Accord s'appliqueront. Voir le paragraphe 5.2.

6.8 Pour le mois d'octobre 2006, les volumes de déclenchement pour chacune des régions seront ajustés d'un coefficient de 64,52 p. 100 du volume qui aurait autrement été alloué à chacune des régions pour tout le mois d'octobre. De plus, les régions ayant choisi l'Option B (Droit à l'exportation assorti de contingents à l'exportation) pourront reporter un maximum de 12 p. 100 de leur volume de déclenchement ajusté pour le mois d'octobre.

6.9 Le Ministère publiera sur son site Web les volumes de déclenchement mensuels pour chacune des régions et mettra à jour quotidiennement les données relatives aux expéditions, en fonction des licences d'exportation délivrées le jour précédent.

7.0 Bois d'oeuvre résineux ayant fait l'objet d'une transformation dans les entreprises exclues

7.1 La section 10.0 de l'Avis aux exportateurs nº 143, est par la présente abrogée et remplacée par ce qui suit :

7.2 Les expéditions de produits de bois d'oeuvre résineux fabriqués par les entreprises exclues figurant à l'Annexe 3 de l'Avis aux exportateurs nº 143 - Entreprises exclues sont exemptées de l'application des mesures à l'exportation prévues à l'Accord, jusqu'à un niveau annuel à établir pour chacune d'entre elles, comme le précise l'Accord.

7.3 Les exportateurs de produits de bois d'oeuvre résineux fabriqués par les entreprises exclues devront s'inscrire auprès de l'ARC et obtenir une licence d'exportation du ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international pour chaque expédition de produits de bois d'oeuvre résineux à destination des États-Unis.

7.4 Les expéditions de bois d'oeuvre produits par une entreprise exclue continueront d'être admissibles à une exclusion des mesures à l'exportation tant que le volume annuel réel des exportations de l'entreprise n'excédera pas sa limite annuelle, comme le prévoit l'Accord. Si les exportations annuelles excèdent la limite établie pour une entreprise, cette limite sera réduite l'année suivante. Des expéditions annuelles dépassant continuellement la limite d'exportation établie pour une entreprise exclue pourraient potentiellement amener l'entreprise en question à perdre son droit d'être exclue de l'application des mesures à l'exportation.

8.0 Champ d'application

8.1 À compter du 12 octobre 2006, des licences d'exportation seront nécessaires pour toutes les expéditions des marchandises visées décrites plus en détail à l'Annexe 1 –Produits visés. À des fins de mise en œuvre de l'Accord par le Canada, les exportateurs devront fournir le numéro de classement du Tarif des douanes du Canada (TDC) de leurs produits (première colonne de l'Annexe 1 – Produits visés) au moment de présenter leur demande de licence d'exportation. Voir Annexe 2 – Demande de licence d'exportation de bois d'oeuvre résineux.

9.0 Autorisation

9.1 Les produits de bois d'oeuvre résineux figureront à la Liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée sanctionnée par le gouverneur en conseil en application de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation, telle que modifiée. La liste fera l'objet de modifications afin d'y ajouter tous les produits mentionnés dans le présent Avis à compter du 12 octobre 2006. De plus, le Règlement sur les licences d'exportation (Accord sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux de 2006) sera en vigueur à compter du 12 octobre 2006.

10.0 Conformité et application

10.1 L'exportation de marchandises figurant à l'Annexe 1 – Produits visés et inscrites à la Liste des marchandises d'exportation contrôlée sans licence d'exportation délivrée par le ministre du Commerce international constitue une infraction et peut donner lieu à des poursuites en application de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation.

10.2 Les exportateurs doivent tenir des dossiers des expéditions individuelles visées par chaque licence. La Direction générale des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation (DGCEI) peut vérifier ces informations et demander des renseignements supplémentaires.

11.0 Droits de licence

11.1 Des droits sur les licences d'exportation sont exigibles en application de l'Arrêté sur le prix des licences et des certificats en matière d'importation et d'exportation. Un droit de 9 dollars est prélevé pour chaque licence, si la licence d'exportation est émise par une personne qui n'est pas un fonctionnaire du Canada, mais qui a reçu du Ministre une autorisation à cette fin. Toutefois, les courtiers ayant des privilèges d'accès en direct peuvent exiger davantage; les droits de courtage peuvent varier.

11.2 Si l'exportateur s'adresse directement à la DGCEI pour obtenir une licence d'exportation, le droit de licence est de 14 dollars et doit accompagner la demande. Le paiement peut s'effectuer par chèque ou mandat bancaire à l'ordre du « Receveur général du Canada », par virement bancaire télégraphique tel que décrit ci-après au paragraphe 14.3 ou par carte « Visa » ou « Master Card », en précisant le numéro de la carte, sa date d'expiration et le nom de son titulaire.

11.3 On peut acquitter les droits de licence d'exportation par chèque, mandat bancaire ou virement bancaire télégraphique comme suit : tout d'abord, l'exportateur peut envoyer un chèque établi à l'ordre du « Receveur général du Canada » à l'adresse suivante :

Par la poste ou par messagerie, port payé :
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Bureau du caissier, Tour D-1 (SMFM)
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2

Un second moyen d'acquittement est le virement télégraphique. Dans cette option, l'exportateur doit demander à une banque d'envoyer un virement télégraphique établi à l'ordre du « Receveur général du Canada » à la succursale de la Banque royale, au Ministère, à l'adresse suivante :

Banque Royale du Canada
Édifice L.B. Pearson
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 8V5
No de domiciliation 1016
No de succursale 003
À l'attention de : MAECI – Section des finances à l'exportation et à l'importation (613-944-2496)

12.0 Renseignements supplémentaires

12.1 Pour obtenir plus de renseignements concernant l'Accord, veuillez communiquer avec :

Direction du bois d'oeuvre (TNS)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2

Téléphone : 613-944-2167 (Dépannage)
Télécopieur : 613-944-1452
Courriel : softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Site Web : Bois d'oeuvre résineux

12.2 Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les contrôles à l'exportation pour les expéditions de bois d'oeuvre résineux vers les États-Unis, veuillez communiquer avec :

Direction générale des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2

Téléphone : 613-944-2168 ou 1-877-808-8838 (Dépannage)
Télécopieur : 613-995-5137
Courriel : softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Site Web : Bois d'oeuvre résineux