Notice to Exporters

Softwood Lumber Exports to the United States: Excluded Companies

Serial No. 150
Date: January 18, 2007

Table of Contents

1.0 Background

1.1 The Canada-U.S. Softwood Lumber Agreement 2006 (the Agreement) makes provision for the exclusion of exports by 32 companies from the imposition of the export measures, subject to certain requirements under the Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act, 2006 (SLPECA). Thus, s. 16(1) of the SLPECA provides that certain softwood lumber exports by a persons named in the Schedule to the Act are exempt from the export charge, provided the person satisfies the prescribed conditions. Conditions are prescribed in the Conditions for Exempted Persons Regulations.

2.0 Purpose

2.1 The purpose of this Notice is to advise exporters of the policies that apply to exports to the United States of softwood lumber products that are first manufactured or remanufactured by the excluded companies.

3.0 Exclusion from the Export Measure

3.1 Softwood lumber products that are either first manufactured or remanufactured by the excluded companies and exported to the United States are excluded from the export charge. The exclusion from the export charge is limited without reduction to an annual export volume that is derived for each excluded company from a Base Average Monthly Production. (See section 4.0 Calculation of the Base Average Monthly Production for a description of this calculation)

3.2 The exclusion from the export charge is subject to the reduction provisions described in Section 7.0 of this Notice, Continued Exclusion from the Export Measure.

3.3 Exporters of softwood lumber products first manufactured or remanufactured by these companies must obtain export permits for all exports to the United States.

4.0 Calculation of the Base Average Monthly Production

4.1 An excluded company's Base Average Monthly Production will be calculated and used in determining a company's annual export limit. A Base Average Monthly Production shall be established for each company by dividing its total production of softwood lumber products in 2004 and 2005, as provided by the provincial governments, by 24. The Export and Import Controls Bureau (EICB) will advise each company of its Base Average Monthly Production amount. A company's Base Average Monthly Production amount will remain fixed throughout the Agreement, unless the reductions as described in Section 7.0 of this Notice are applied.

4.2 For 9157-9516 Québec inc. (Scierie Nord-Sud inc.), a Base Average Monthly Production shall be established by dividing the company's total production of Softwood Lumber Products for 2002 and 2003 by 24.

4.3 Each excluded company's Annual Export Limit shall be that company's Base Average Monthly Production multiplied by the number of months in that Year that the Prevailing Monthly Price was not more than US$355/MBF. At the end of each year, the EICB will determine each company's compliance with Section 6.0 of this Notice.

4.4 The Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act 2006, received Royal Assent on December 14, 2006 with effect from October 12, 2006. As stated in Section 4.1, a Base Average Monthly Production amount will be established for each company. The October 2006 Base Average Monthly Production amount for each company was reduced to 64.52% reflecting the 20 days in October that the Act is in force.

4.5 Excluded companies will be advised individually by EICB of their Base Average Monthly Production amount.

5.0 Exports by Excluded Companies

5.1 An application for an export permit must declare the excluded company as the mill of origin. The application must provide the excluded company's Canada Revenue Agency Business Number that designates the mill of origin as an excluded company as identified in the Export and Import Controls System (EICS).

5.2 In the case of remanufactured lumber, the excluded company is required to identify the mill of origin of the input lumber in a comment box in the export permit application

5.3 The excluded company's annual export limit includes exports authorized pursuant to permits issued to the excluded company.

5.4 The date of an export by an excluded company is the date of export established in section 5 of the Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act, 2006.

6.0 Exports by Wholesalers

6.1 Softwood lumber products first manufactured or remanufactured by the excluded companies may be exported to the United States by a wholesaler, as long as the lumber product was not further processed by a non-excluded company prior to export.

6.2 Wholesalers can obtain permits for exports by using their unique EICB wholesaler account number and an application for an export permit must declare the excluded company as the mill of origin. The application must provide the excluded company's Canada Revenue Agency Business Number that designates the mill of origin as an excluded company as identified in the Export and Import Controls System (EICS).

6.3 The excluded company's annual export limit includes exports authorized pursuant to permits issued to wholesalers even though the product was not exported by the excluded company.

6.4 The date of an export by a wholesaler is the date of export established in section 5 of the Softwood Lumber Products Export Charge Act, 2006.

7.0 Continued Exclusion from the Export Measure

7.1 Each excluded company's annual export limit shall be that company's base average monthly production multiplied by the number of months in that Year that the Prevailing Monthly Price was not more than $US355/MBF.

7.2 An excluded company's actual exports, including exports by wholesalers of the excluded company's softwood lumber products, shall be determined at the end of the Year by summing the company's actual exports during the months when the Prevailing Monthly Price was not more than $US355/MBF.

7.3 If, in any Year, an excluded company's actual exports do not exceed its annual export limit, the company shall not be subject to a volume reduction in the following Year.

7.4 If, in any Year, an excluded company's actual exports exceed its annual export limit by 0.5% or less, the company shall not be subject to a volume reduction in the following Year, and such excess exports shall be disregarded in determining whether the company has exceeded its annual export limit.

7.5 If, in any Year, an excluded company's actual exports exceed its annual export limit by more than 0.5% of its annual export limit, the excluded company's limit for the following Year shall be reduced by the amount of the excess.

7.6 If, in any subsequent Year (whether or not consecutive), the excluded company again exceeds its annual export limit by more than 0.5% of its annual export limit, the excluded company's limit for the following Year shall be reduced by twice the amount of the excess.

7.7 If, in any subsequent Year (whether or not consecutive), the excluded company again exceeds its annual export limit by more than 0.5% of its annual export limit, the excluded company's limit for the following Year shall be reduced by three times the amount of the excess.

7.8 Finally, in any subsequent Year (whether or not consecutive), the excluded company again exceeds its annual export limit by more than 0.5% of its annual export limit, the Softwood Lumber Products that the company produces shall no longer be excluded from the Export Measures in the following year.

8.0 Example of the Calculation of the Base Average Monthly Production amount and the Annual Export Limit

8.1 Example 1 - January 2007 to December 2007

December 2006 - If an excluded company's total production of softwood lumber products in 2004 was 1,100 bfm and in 2005 was 1,300 bfm the calculation of the Base Average Monthly Production amount would be as follows:

(1,100+1,300)/24=100 bfm

January 2008 - There were 10 months of the previous Year that the Prevailing Monthly Price was not more than US$355/MBF, then the company's Annual Export Limit would be as follows:

(100 * 10 ) = 1,000 bfm

8.2 Example 2 - Transition Period October 12, 2006 to December 31, 2006

October 12, 2006 - If an excluded company's total production of softwood lumber products in 2004 was 1,100 bfm and in 2005 was 1,300 bfm the calculation of the Base Average Monthly Production amount would be as follows:

(1,100+1,300)/24=100 bfm

January 2007 - There were 3 months of the previous Year that the Prevailing Monthly Price was not more than US$355, then the company's Annual Export Limit would be as follows:

(100 * 64.52%) + (100 * 2) = 265 bfm

9.0 Further Information

9.1 For further information with respect to the Agreement, please contact:

Softwood Lumber Division (TNS)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

Hot Line 613-944-2167
Facsimile 613-944-1452
E-mail address: softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Web Page: Softwood Lumber

9.2 For further information with respect to the export controls on shipments of softwood lumber to the United States, please contact:

Export and Import Controls Bureau
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

Hot Line 613-944-2168 or 1-877-808-8838
Facsimile 613-995-5137
E-mail address: softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Web Page: Softwood Lumber

Avis aux exportateurs

Exportations de bois d'œuvre résineux aux États Unis : Entreprises exclues

Numéro de série : 150
Date: Le 18 janvier 2007

Table des matières

1.0 Contexte

1.1 L'Accord de 2006 sur le bois d'œuvre résineux entre le Canada et les États-Unis (" l'Accord ") prévoit exempter les exportations de 32 entreprises des mesures à l'exportation, sous réserve de certaines exigences en vertu de la Loi de 2006 sur le droit à l'exportation de produits de bois d'œuvre résineux. Par conséquent, aux termes de l'article 16(1) de la loi en question, certaines exportations de bois d'œuvre résineux effectuées par une personne dont le nom figure à l'annexe de la Loi sont exemptées de l'application du droit à l'exportation, à condition que la personne satisfasse aux conditions prescrites, lesquelles figurent dans le Règlement sur les conditions applicables aux personnes exemptées.

2.0 Objet

2.1 Le présent Avis a pour objet d'aviser les exportateurs des politiques qui s'appliquent aux exportations des produits de bois d'œuvre résineux aux États-Unis qui sont d'abord manufacturés ou remanufacturés par les entreprises exclues.

3.0 Exclusion de la mesure à l'exportation

3.1 Les produits de bois d'œuvre résineux qui ont subi une première ou une deuxième transformation des entreprises exclues et qui sont exportés aux États-Unis sont exclus du droit à l'exportation. L'exclusion du droit à l'exportation est limitée sans réduction à un volume annuel d'exportations qui découle pour chaque entreprise exclue de la production mensuelle moyenne de base. (Pour une description de ce calcul, veuillez consulter le paragraphe 4.0 du présent Avis, Calcul de la production mensuelle moyenne de base.)

3.2 L'exclusion du droit à l'exportation est assujettie aux dispositions de la réduction décrites au paragraphe 7.0 du présent Avis, Maintien de l'exclusion de la mesure à l'exportation.

3.3 Les exportateurs de produits de bois d'œuvre résineux qui ont subi une première ou une deuxième transformation de ces entreprises doivent obtenir des licences pour toutes les exportations vers les États-Unis.

4.0 Calcul de la production mensuelle moyenne de base

4.1 La production mensuelle moyenne de base d'une entreprise exclue sera calculée et utilisée en déterminant la limite d'exportation annuelle d'une entreprise. Une production mensuelle moyenne de base doit être établie pour chaque entreprise, en divisant par 24 la production totale de produits de bois d'œuvre résineux en 2004 et 2005 de celle-ci, qui est fournie par les gouvernements provinciaux. La Direction générale des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation (DGCEI) avisera chaque entreprise du montant de la production mensuelle moyenne de base. Celui-ci demeurera fixe pendant toute la durée de l'Accord, à moins que les réductions décrites au paragraphe 7.0 du présent Avis ne soient appliquées.

4.2 Pour 9157-9516 Québec inc. (Scierie Nord-Sud inc.), la production mensuelle moyenne de base sera établie en divisant par 24 la production totale de produits de bois d'œuvre résineux de l'entreprise en 2002 et 2003.

4.3 La limite d'exportation annuelle de chaque entreprise exclue devra être celle de la production mensuelle moyenne de base de cette entreprise, multipliée par le nombre de mois de l'année au cours de laquelle le prix courant mensuel du bois ne dépassait pas 355 $US par millier de pieds-planche. À la fin de chaque année, la DGCEI déterminera si chaque entreprise s'est conformée au paragraphe 6.0 du présent Avis.

4.4 La Loi de 2006 sur le droit à l'exportation de produits de bois d'œuvre résineux a reçu la sanction royale le 14 décembre 2006 et a pris effet à compter du 12 octobre 2006. Tel qu'il est stipulé au paragraphe 4.1, un montant de la production mensuelle moyenne de base sera établi pour chaque entreprise. Le montant d'octobre 2006 sera réduit de 64,52 % pour chaque entreprise, ce qui correspond aux 20 jours d'octobre au cours desquels la Loi a été en vigueur.

4.5 La DGCEI avisera chaque entreprise exclue de son montant de la production mensuelle moyenne de base.

5.0 Exportations des entreprises exclues

5.1 Une demande de licence d'exportation doit déclarer l'entreprise exclue comme scierie d'origine. Le numéro d'entreprise, attribué par l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) à l'entreprise exclue doit figurer sur la demande; ce numéro désigne la scierie d'origine comme une entreprise exclue, comme il est indiqué dans le Système des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation (SCEI).

5.2 Dans le cas du bois d'œuvre ayant subi une deuxième transformation, l'entreprise exclue doit inscrire la scierie d'origine du bois dans la case de commentaires prévue à cet effet sur le formulaire de demande de licence d'exportation.

5.3 La limite d'exportation annuelle de l'entreprise exclue comprend les exportations autorisées, conformément aux licences délivrées à l'entreprise exclue.

5.4 La date d'exportation d'une entreprise exclue est celle établie au paragraphe 5 de la Loi de 2006 sur le droit à l'exportation de produits de bois d'œuvre résineux.

6.0 Exportations des grossistes

6.1 Les produits de bois d'œuvre résineux qui ont subi une première ou une deuxième transformation des entreprises exclues peuvent être exportés aux États-Unis par un grossiste, tant que le produit de bois d'œuvre n'a pas reçu une transformation ultérieure par une entreprise non exclue avant l'exportation.

6.2 Les grossistes peuvent obtenir des licences d'exportation en utilisant leur numéro de compte exclusif de la DGCEI et une demande de licence d'exportation qui doit déclarer l'entreprise exclue comme scierie d'origine. La demande doit indiquer le numéro d'entreprise, attribué par l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) à l'entreprise exclue qui désigne la scierie d'origine comme entreprise exclue, comme il est indiqué dans le Système des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation (EICS).

6.3 La limite d'exportation annuelle de l'entreprise exclue comprend les exportations autorisées, conformément aux licences délivrées aux grossistes, même si le produit n'a pas été exporté par l'entreprise exclue.

6.4 La date d'une exportation par un grossiste est celle établie au paragraphe 5 de la Loi de 2006 sur le droit à l'exportation des produits de bois d'œuvre résineux.

7.0 Maintien de l'exclusion de la mesure à l'exportation

7.1 La limite d'exportation annuelle de chaque entreprise exclue devra être la production mensuelle moyenne de base de l'entreprise, multipliée par le nombre de mois de l'année où le prix courant mensuel du bois ne dépassait pas 355 $US par millier de pieds planche.

7.2 Les exportations réelles d'une entreprise exclue, y compris les exportations des grossistes des produits de bois d'œuvre résineux de l'entreprise exclue, devront être déterminées à la fin de l'année, en additionnant les exportations réelles de l'entreprise pendant les mois où le prix courant mensuel du bois ne dépassait pas 355 $US par millier de pieds-planche.

7.3 Si, au cours d'une année donnée, les exportations réelles d'une entreprise exclue ne dépassent pas la limite d'exportation annuelle de l'entreprise, celle-ci ne sera pas assujettie à une réduction de volume l'année suivante.

7.4 Si, au cours d'une année donnée, les exportations réelles d'une entreprise exclue dépassent la limite d'exportation annuelle de l'entreprise de 0,5 p. 100 ou moins, celle-ci ne sera pas assujettie à une réduction de volume l'année suivante, et on ne tiendra pas compte de ces exportations excédentaires pour déterminer si l'entreprise a dépassé ou non sa limite d'exportation annuelle.

7.5 Si, au cours d'une année donnée, les exportations réelles d'une entreprise exclue dépassent la limite d'exportation annuelle de l'entreprise de plus de 0,5 p. 100, la limite de cette entreprise sera réduite du montant excédentaire l'année suivante.

7.6 Si, au cours de toute année suivante (consécutive ou non), l'entreprise exclue dépasse à nouveau sa limite d'exportation annuelle de plus de 0,5 p. 100, la limite de cette entreprise sera réduite de deux fois le montant excédentaire l'année suivante.

7.7 Si, au cours de toute année suivante (consécutive ou non), l'entreprise exclue dépasse à nouveau sa limite d'exportation annuelle de plus de 0,5 p. 100, la limite de cette entreprise sera réduite de trois fois le montant excédentaire l'année suivante.

7.8 Enfin, au cours de toute année suivante (consécutive ou non), l'entreprise exclue dépasse à nouveau sa limite d'exportation annuelle de plus de 0,5 p. 100, les produits de bois d'œuvre résineux que l'entreprise fabrique ne devront plus être exclus des mesures d'exportation l'année suivante.

8.0 Exemple de calcul du montant de la production mensuelle moyenne de base et de la limite d'exportation annuelle

8.1 Exemple 1 - de janvier à décembre 2007

Décembre 2006 - Si la production totale des produits de bois d'œuvre résineux d'une entreprise exclue s'élevait à 1 100 pieds-planche en 2004 et à 1 300 pieds-planche en 2005, le montant de la production mensuelle moyenne de base se calculerait de la manière suivante :

(1 100 + 1300)/24=100 pieds-planche

Janvier 2008 - Pendant 10 mois de l'année précédente, le prix courant mensuel ne dépassait pas 355 $US par millier de pieds planche, alors la limite d'exportation annuelle de l'entreprise serait la suivante :

(100 x 10) = 1 000 pieds-planche

8.2 Exemple 2 - Période de transition du 12 octobre au 31 décembre 2006

Le 12 octobre 2006 - Si la production totale d'une entreprise exclue de produits de bois d'œuvre résineux s'élevait à 1 100 pieds-planche en 2004 et à 1 300 pieds-planche en 2005, le montant de la production mensuelle moyenne de base se calculerait de la manière suivante :

(1 100 + 1300)/24=100 pieds-planche

Janvier 2007 - Pendant 3 mois de l'année précédente, le prix courant mensuel ne dépassait pas 355 $US par millier de pieds planche, alors la limite d'exportation annuelle de l'entreprise serait la suivante :

(100 x 64,52 %) + (100 x 2) = 265 pieds-planche

9.0 Autres renseignements

9.1 Pour de plus amples renseignements à propos de l'Accord, veuillez communiquer avec :

La Direction du bois d'œuvre (TNS)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2

Ligne directe : 613-944-2167
Télécopieur : 613-944-1452
Courriel : softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Page Web : Bois d'oeuvre

9.2 Pour de plus amples renseignements à propos des contrôles à l'exportation effectués sur les expéditions de bois d'œuvre résineux aux États-Unis, veuillez communiquer avec :

La Direction générale des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2

Ligne directe : 613-944-2168 ou 1-877-808-8838
Télécopieur : 613-995-5137
Courriel : softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Page Web : Bois d'oeuvre