Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notices to Exporters

Softwood Lumber Exports to the United States: Applications for an Export Allocation

Serial No. 160
Date: December 02, 2008

Table of Contents

1.0 Background

1.1 On October 12, 2006, the Canada-United States Softwood Lumber Agreement (SLA) entered into force. Under the Agreement, shipments of softwood lumber from Canada to the United States are subject to certain Canadian border measures. In particular, under SLA "Option A", an export charge is payable on the export price of softwood lumber; and, under SLA "Option B", an export charge on the export price is payable at a lower rate, with an export allocation.

1.2 Softwood lumber first manufactured in the provinces of Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba and Saskatchewan is subject to Option B, an export charge on the export price at a lower rate with an export allocation.

1.3 Regulations with effect from October 12, 2006 govern eligibility for an export allocation and application procedures.

2.0 Purpose

2.1 The purpose of this Notice is to advise exporters of the opportunity and procedure for making applications for softwood lumber export allocations.

3.0 Application Procedure

3.1 Export allocations for shipments of certain softwood lumber first produced in the provinces of Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba and Saskatchewan to the United States will be issued by the Minister of Foreign Affairs. For each year covered by the SLA, commencing January 2007, export allocations for 12 monthly quantities will be issued to eligible applicants.

3.2 An exporter with an export allocation requires an export permit to authorize an export of softwood lumber to the United States. Exporters are required to be registered with Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) to be eligible for an export permit. For more information on CRA registration, please contact:

By Phone:
1-800-935-0313

By Mail:
Softwood Lumber Division
Surrey Tax Centre
9755 King George Highway
Surrey BC V3T 5E1

3.3 In order to qualify for an export allocation, exporters are required to make application for the allocation. The procedure for applying for a softwood lumber export allocation is established in the Softwood Lumber Products Export Allocation Regulations.

3.4 Exporters who have not yet submitted an Application for Softwood Lumber Export Allocation for 2009 should complete the attached application form and submit it to the Department by December 5, 2008. Completed applications are to be sent to:

Softwood Lumber Controls Division- Export and Import Controls Bureau
Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade

125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, OntarioK1A 0G2
Facsimile 613-944-8950

3.5 Exporters will be informed of the Minister’s decision through a Notice to Exporters which will be posted on the Export and Import Bureau’s website. Companies will be informed of their monthly allocations prior to January 2009

4.0 Further Information

4.1 For questions with respect to the export controls on shipments of softwood lumber to the United States or the application process, please contact:

Softwood Lumber Controls Division (TIS)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2

Hot Line 613-944-2168 or 1-877-808-8838
Facsimile 613-994-8950
E-mail address: softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Web Page: http://www.softwoodlumber.gc.ca

4.2 For questions with respect to the Softwood Lumber Agreement in general, please contact:

Softwood Lumber Division (TNS)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Hot Line 613-944-2167
Facsimile 613-944-1452
E-mail address: softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Web Page: http://www.softwoodlumber.gc.ca.

 


* If you require a plug-in or a third-party software to view this file, please visit the alternative formats section of our help page.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis aux exportateurs

Exportations de bois d'oeuvre aux États-Unis : Demandes de parts du contingent d'exportation

No de série 160
Date: 02 décembre 2008

Table des matières

1.0 Contexte

1.1 Le 12 octobre 2006, l'Accord sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux entre le Canada et les États Unis est entré en vigueur. Conformément à l'Accord, les expéditions de bois d'oeuvre du Canada vers les États-Unis font l'objet de certaines mesures frontalières canadiennes. En particulier, en vertu de « l'Option A » de l'Accord, un droit à l'exportation est payable sur le prix à l'exportation du bois d'oeuvre et, en vertu de « l'Option B » de l'Accord, un droit à l'exportation moins élevé est payable sur le prix à l'exportation, assorti d'une part du contingent.

1.2 Le bois d'oeuvre ayant subi une première transformation dans les provinces du Québec, de l'Ontario, du Manitoba et de la Saskatchewan est régi par l'Option B, un droit à l'exportation moins élevé sur le prix à l'exportation, assorti d'une part du contingent.

1.3 Des règlements, entrés en vigueur le 12 octobre 2006, régiront l'admissibilité aux parts du contingent d'exportation et les procédures de demande.

2.0 Objet

2.1 Le présent avis a pour but d'informer les exportateurs de la possibilité de présenter une demande de parts du contingent d'exportation de bois d'oeuvre résineux et des procédures à suivre.

3.0 Procédure de demande

3.1 Les parts du contingent d'exportation pour l'expédition vers les États-Unis de bois d'oeuvre ayant subi une première transformation dans les provinces du Québec, de l'Ontario, du Manitoba et de la Saskatchewan seront attribuées par le ministre des Affaires étrangères. Pour chaque année couverte par l'Accord sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux, à compter de janvier 2007, les parts du contingent d'exportation seront attribuées aux demandeurs admissibles pour douze quantités mensuelles.

3.2 Un exportateur qui a une part du contingent doit être titulaire d'une licence d'exportation pour que soit autorisée une exportation de bois d'oeuvre résineux aux États Unis. Les exportateurs sont requis de s'inscrire auprès de l'Agence du Revenu du Canada (ARC) afin d'être éligible pour une licence d'exportation. Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant l'inscription à l'ARC, veuillez communiquer avec :

Par téléphone: 1-800-935-0340

Par la poste:
Direction du bois d'oeuvre
Centre fiscal de Surrey
9755, autoroute King George
Surrey C.-B. V3T 5E1

3.3 Afin d'être admissibles à une part du contingent d'exportation, les exportateurs doivent en faire la demande. La procédure de demande pour une part du contingent d'exportation de bois d'oeuvre résineux est établie dans le Règlement sur les autorisations d'exportation de produits du bois d'oeuvre.

3.4 Les exportateurs désirant obtenir une part du contingent d'exportation doivent compléter et soumettre une demande d'une part de contingent d'exportation de bois d'oeuvre dûment signée pour l'année 2008. Si cela n'a pas été fait, veuillez remplir le formulaire de demande ci-joint et le présenter au Ministère d'ici le 5 décembre 2008. Les demandes dûment remplies doivent être envoyées à :

Direction des contrôles sur le bois d'oeuvre - Direction générale des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Télécopieur : 613-944-8950

3.5 Les entreprises seront avisées de la décision du Ministre par le biais d'un Avis aux exportateurs qui sera affiché sur le site web de la Direction générale des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation (DGCEI). Un fois ce processus terminé, les entreprises seront informées de leurs parts mensuelles avant janvier 2009

4.0 Autres renseignements

4.1 Pour plus d'information à propos des contrôles à l'exportation effectués sur les expéditions de bois d'oeuvre aux États Unis, veuillez communiquer avec :

Direction générale des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation - Bois d'oeuvre (TIS)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Ligne directe : 613-944-2168 ou 1-877-808-8838
Télécopieur : 613-944-8950
Courriel : softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Page Web : http://www.softwoodlumber.gc.ca

4.2 Pour plus d'information à propos de l'Accord sur le bois d'oeuvre résineux, veuillez communiquer avec :

Direction du bois d'oeuvre (TNS)
Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Ligne directe : 613-944-2167
Télécopieur : 613-944-1452
Courriel : softwood.boisdoeuvre@international.gc.ca
Page Web : http://www.softwoodlumber.gc.ca


* Si vous avez besoin d'un plugiciel ou d'un logiciel tiers pour accéder à ce fichier, veuillez consultez la section formats de rechange de notre page aide.