Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notices

Item 80 - Carbon Steel, and Item 81 - Specialty Steel

Notice to Importers
Export and Import Permits Act

Serial No. 683
Date: August 31, 2005

Table of Contents

1.0 Purpose
2.0 Authority
3.0 Further information


1.0 Purpose

1.1 The purpose of this Notice is:

To inform importers that the steel import monitoring programme has been extended to August 31, 2008.

1.2 This Notice extends previous notices to importers concerning the steel import monitoring programme, including the Notice to Importers of March 12, 2001.

1.3 The steel import monitoring program does not limit the quantity of carbon and speciality steel products that may be imported into Canada.

1.4 This Notice should be read with the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) and the EIPA Regulations, as well as previous notices, in particular the Notice to Importers of March 12, 2001 which outlines the requirements and identifies covered commodities.

2.0 Authority

2.1 The steel import monitoring programme has been extended to August 31, 2008 under the authority of Subsection 5.1(1) and Section 6 of the Export and Import Permits Act. Subsection 5.1(1) provides that monitoring may be initiated when steel is being traded in circumstances of world surplus supply and depressed prices and where a significant proportion of world trade is subject to control through the use of non-tariff barriers. Pursuant to the provisions of Section 6, the Governor in Council has the discretion to revoke, amend, vary or re-establish the Import Control List.

3.0 Further Information

Enquiries may be addressed to:

Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Trade Controls Policy Division (TIC)
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0G2

Telephone:
Frédéric Laberge (Policy): 613-944-0773
Johanne Gauthier (Permits and Information): 613-944-0778
Facsimile: 613-995-5137

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis

Article 80 - Acier ordinaire et Article 81 - Acier spécialisé

Nº de série 683
Date: le 31 août 2005

Table des matières

1.0 But
2.0 Autorisation
3.0 Pour plus de renseignements


1.0 But

1.1 Le but du présent avis est le suivant :

Informer les importateurs que le programme de surveillance des importations d’acier est prolongé jusqu’au 31 août 2008.

1.2 Le présent avis prolonge les avis antérieurs aux importateurs concernant le programme de surveillance des importations d'acier, y compris l'Avis aux importateurs du 12 mars 2001.

1.3 Le programme de surveillance des importations d’acier ne limite pas la quantité des produits en acier ordinaire et en acier spécialisé pouvant être importés au Canada

1.4 Le présent avis doit être lu à la lumière de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (LLEI) et de ses règlements d'application, ainsi que les avis précédent, en particulier l'Avis aux importateurs du 12 mars 2001 qui décrit les exigences et identifie les produits couverts.

2.0 Autorisation

2.1 Le programme de surveillance des importations d’acier a été prolongé jusqu’au 31 août 2008 en vertu du paragraphe 5.1(1) et de l’article 6 de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation. Selon le paragraphe 5.1(1), il peut y avoir surveillance lorsque de l’acier est échangé sur les marchés mondiaux en période de surproduction et de chute des cours et si une part importante du marché mondial de l’acier est soumise à des contrôles non tarifaires. Selon l’article 6 de cette loi, le gouverneur en conseil peut abroger, modifier ou dresser à nouveau la Liste de marchandises d’importation.

3.0 Pour plus de renseignements

Les demandes de renseignements doivent être adressées au :

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
Direction de la politique sur la réglementation
commerciale (TIC)
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2

Téléphone:
Frédéric Laberge (Politique): 613-944-0773
Johanne Gauthier (Licences et renseignements) : 613-944-0778
Télécopieur: 613-995-5137