Notice to Exporters

Multiple destination permit for dual-use items

Serial No. 177
Date: 3 May 2011

Table of Contents

Purpose

1. Subject to certain conditions and limitations, exporters may apply for a permit that allows the export of certain items included in Group 1 and Item 5504 of the Export Control List to consignees in 28 countries. These Multiple Destination Permits for Dual-Use Items (MDP-Dual-Use) are available for use to countries whose governments, like Canada's, participate in four multilateral export control regimes, namely the Wassenaar Arrangement, the Missile Technology Control Regime, the Australia Group and the Nuclear Suppliers Group.

2. An MDP-Dual-Use is an alternative to export permits for individual consignees in individual destinations. This permit is intended for use by exporters that can demonstrate a record of and capacity for compliance with the Export and Import Permits Act and its associated regulations. End-use information and the names of consignees do not have to be provided at the time of application but must be obtained prior to export. Certain information must be reported every six months and records must be retained for inspection upon request.

3. This Notice should be read in conjunction with the current version of “A Guide to Canada's Export Controls”, which is available on Export and Import Controls Website or by request to the Export Controls Division at Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada.

Eligible goods and technology

4. With the exceptions stated below, an MDP-Dual-Use may be used to export, by any means, including electronic transfer, goods or technology referred to in:

  • Group 1 of the Export Control List, except goods and technology listed in Schedule 1 of this Notice to Exporters; and
  • Item 5504 of the Export Control List, except goods and technology listed in Schedule 1 of this Notice to Exporters.

5. Goods and technology that are concurrently controlled in a Group or Item other than those described above and which are not covered by a General Export Permit may not be exported using an MDP-Dual-Use. Such exports must be authorized by a regular single destination export permit.

6. An MDP-Dual-Use may not be used to export goods or technology that are or have become subject to control under Item 5505 of the Export Control List.

7. In the case of goods and technology controlled by Item 5504, an MDP-Dual-Use may not be used to export any goods and technology that are subject to the requirement for a United States export authorization as described in paragraph 3(2)(c) of the Export Permits Regulations.

Eligible destination countries

8. An MDP-Dual-Use may be used to export goods and technology from Canada to consignees located in the following countries: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom

9. However, this permit does not authorize the export of goods or technology if the end-use location of those goods or technology is not in Canada, the United States, or any country listed in paragraph 8.

10. Exporters are reminded that no permit is required for the export of the goods and technology covered by this permit to the United States.

Validity

11. An MDP-Dual-Use may be valid for up to 5 years. Like other permits, MDP-Dual-Use may be amended as described in the Export Controls Handbook. However, the validity of an MDP-Dual-Use will not be extended beyond 5 years from original date of issuance. It is the exporter's responsibility to submit a new application for an MDP-Dual-Use to ensure that it has a valid permit.

12. An MDP-Dual-Use is valid for both temporary and permanent exports.

13. The exporter is required to monitor exports made under the authority of the permit. The exporter must ensure that the cumulative total quantity and value of exports made under the authority of this permit do not exceed the total quantity and value stated for each item on the permit. Permits may be amended to increase these quantities and values any time up to 4 weeks before the expiry date of the permit.

14. Permits may not be amended to add or change the goods or technology described therein. A new application must be submitted. Exporters may hold more than one MDP-Dual-Use at the same time. However, if an exporter applies for a new MDP-Dual-Use that includes more items than are described on an existing permit, the existing permit may be cancelled upon issuance of the new permit. If an exporter wishes to cancel an existing permit, this should be clearly stated in the application for a new permit.

Conditions

15. The following definitions apply to permits issued pursuant to this Notice:

  • “distributor” means a person or entity that acquires a good or technology for the purpose of resale or retransfer of that good or technology without effecting any substantial change in form or use of the good or technology.
  • “end-use” in the case of a final product means operation or employment of a good or technology for a purpose for which it was designed or is suited without substantial change and includes activities such as marketing, testing, repair, maintenance and overhaul of such products.
  • “end-use” in the case of an intermediate product means incorporation, integration or installation of such product in the production of a new good or technology, or further processing or manufacturing which results in a substantial change in form or use of the product and includes activities such as marketing, testing, repair, maintenance and overhaul of such products.
  • “end-user” means a person or entity that acquires a good or technology for end-use.

16. Issuance of an MDP-Dual-Use requires that the exporter submit reports to the Export Controls Division of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada that identify each consignee to which exports were made using this permit or a statement that no exports were made using this permit in the applicable period. Reports shall relate to exports made during the six-month periods from January 1 to June 30 and July 1 to December 31 and the reports shall be submitted within one month of the end of the period to which they pertain. Each report shall include:

  • in the case of a consignee that is a corporation, the name, address, and telephone number of the corporation and, where applicable, the corporation's internet site address, and the name and title of a responsible contact person, a telephone number and, where applicable, a facsimile number and electronic mail address for that person; or
  • in the case of a consignee that is a natural person, their name, address, telephone number and, where applicable, their facsimile number and electronic mail address; and
  • identification of the role of each consignee as being (i) final consignee and end-user, (ii) final consignee and distributor, or (iii) final consignee with other role.

View a suggested template for this report.

17. Issuance of an MDP-Dual-Use requires that the exporter submit to the Export Controls Division of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, within fifteen (15) working days from the date of a request by that Division, the following information in respect of any exports made using this permit during the time period specified in the request:

  • a description (as stated on the export permit) of the goods or technology exported to each consignee;
  • the quantity and value of goods or technology exported to each consignee;
  • the date and means of export;
  • any record specified in condition 6 of this permit.

18. Pursuant to the Export Permits Regulations, this permit requires that the exporter retain records of each export made using this permit for a period of six (6) years after the year in which the export was made. Such records shall comprise:

  • a written statement made by or correspondence received from the final consignee that establishes the end-use location of the goods or technology, and the role of each consignee as stated in paragraph 18(c) of this Notice;
  • a written statement by the exporter which describes, to the best of the exporter's knowledge, the intended end-use of the goods or technology by the final consignee and the intended end-use location of the goods or technology if different from the location of the final consignee;
  • where applicable, the name and address of the person from whom the exporter acquired the goods or technology;
  • where applicable, a copy of the contract of sale between the exporter and the person to whom the exporter sold the goods or technology for export;
  • where applicable, a copy of the commercial invoice which relates to the export;
  • where applicable, a bill of lading which relates to the export;
  • where applicable, a copy of the letter of credit or other financial documentation which identifies the Canadian and foreign financial institutions involved in the export; and
  • where applicable, a copy of the customs declaration form presented at the time of export from Canada. 

Administration

19. An MDP- Dual-Use may be issued to an applicant which is also the exporter. In other words, the applicant and the exporter must be the same.

20. In deciding whether or not to issue an MDP-Dual-Use, the Minister of Foreign Affairs may, among other things, consider whether the exporter has been subject to an export-related seizure or an ascertained forfeiture by the Canada Border Services Agency in the year preceding the date of the application.

21. Applications may be submitted using the secure, online system EXCOL. Applicants may select “MDP-Dual-Use” when they are asked to identify the consignee type in the online application form. If this option is not available to you, please contact the Export Controls Division by email to tie.reception@international.gc.ca.

22. General information about permit applications may be found in the Export Controls Handbook, available on Export and Import Controls Website. Applications for MDP-Dual-Uses must include the following:

  • a complete application form (generally done through our online system EXCOL);
  • a technical description of the goods and technology;
  • the estimated quantity and value of exports to be made during the validity period of the permit;
  • a cover letter confirming that the exporter has export compliance procedures in place and agrees to abide by the terms and conditions of the permit. View cover letter template

23. The service standard for the review of applications for MDP- Dual-Uses is 10 working days from the submission date of a complete application. Every effort will be made to ensure that the review of applications is finalized within this time.

Suspension or cancellation

24. An MDP-Dual-Use is an alternative to single destination permits (which specify consignees and may be used to export only to single countries). An MDP-Dual-Use may be suspended or cancelled upon written notice if the exporter fails to comply with the terms and conditions of the permit. Exporters are free to apply for export permits for individual destinations if they do not meet the qualifications required to apply for this permit.

25. Issuance of a permit does not constitute a precedent for any other application to export.

General

26. This Notice has been prepared for guidance and convenience of reference only. Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada does not provide legal advice on the foregoing. For all purposes of interpreting and applying the law, readers should consult the Export and Import Permits Act and its associated regulations. These publications are available on the internet at the site noted below and in most public libraries.

27. General enquiries about this Notice may be directed to:

Export Controls Division (TIE)
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0G2
Telephone 613-996-2387
Email: tie.reception@international.gc.ca
Internet: www.exportcontrols.gc.ca

Avis aux exportateurs

Licence à destinations multiples pour les produits à double usage

Nº de série : 177
Date : 3 mai 2011

Table des matières

Objet

1. Sous réserve de certaines conditions et restrictions, les exportateurs peuvent demander une licence qui permet l'exportation de certains produits compris dans le groupe 1 et à l'article 5504 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée à des destinataires dans 28 pays. Ces licences à destinations multiples pour les produits à double usage (LDM-double usage) peuvent être utilisées par les pays dont le gouvernement, comme celui du Canada, participe à quatre régimes multilatéraux de contrôles à l'exportation, c'est-à-dire l'Arrangement de Wassenaar, le Régime de contrôle de la technologie des missiles, le Groupe d'Australie et le Groupe des fournisseurs nucléaires.

2. Une LDM-double usage constitue une solution de rechange aux licences d'exportation vers des destinations uniques où se trouvent des destinataires individuels. Ce type de licence est destiné à être utilisé par les exportateurs qui peuvent démontrer un bon dossier et des capacités en matière de conformité à la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation ainsi qu'à son règlement afférent. Il n'est pas nécessaire de fournir l'information sur l'utilisation finale et les noms des destinataires au moment de la demande, mais ces renseignements doivent être transmis avant l'exportation. Certains renseignements doivent faire l'objet de rapports tous les six mois, et les dossiers doivent être conservés pour être vérifiés sur demande.

3. Le présent avis devrait être lu en parallèle avec la version actuelle du Guide des contrôles à l'exportation du Canada, accessible sur Contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation ou en présentant une demande à la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada.

Marchandises et technologies admissibles

4. À l'exception des éléments indiqués ci-dessous, une LDM-double usage peut être utilisée pour exporter, par n'importe quelle méthode, y compris les transferts électroniques, les marchandises et les technologies indiquées :

  • dans le groupe 1 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée, à l'exception des marchandises et des technologies énoncées à l'annexe 1 du présent avis aux exportateurs;
  • à l'article 5504 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée, à l'exception des marchandises et des technologies énoncées à l'annexe 1 du présent avis aux exportateurs.

5. Les marchandises et les technologies qui sont contrôlées concurremment dans un groupe ou à un article autres que le groupe et l'article susmentionnés ne peuvent être exportées au moyen d'une LDM-double usage. De telles exportations doivent être autorisées par une licence d'exportation individuelle.

6. Une LDM-double usage ne peut être utilisée pour exporter des marchandises ou des technologies assujetties à des contrôles effectués en vertu de l'article 5505 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d'exportation contrôlée.

7. Dans le cas des marchandises et des technologies contrôlées à l'article 5504, une LDM-double usage ne peut être utilisée pour exporter toute marchandise ou technologie assujettie à l'obligation d'obtenir une autorisation d'exportation des États-Unis, conformément à l'alinéa 3(2)(c) du Règlement sur les licences d'exportation.

Destinations admissibles

8. Une LDM-double usage peut être utilisée pour exporter des marchandises et des technologies du Canada vers des destinataires situés dans les pays suivants : Allemagne, Argentine, Australie, Autriche, Belgique, Bulgarie, Corée du Sud, Danemark, Espagne, Finlande, France, Grèce, Hongrie, Irlande, Italie, Japon, Luxembourg, Norvège, Nouvelle-Zélande, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Portugal, République tchèque, Royaume-Uni, Suède, Suisse, Turquie et Ukraine.

9. Toutefois, cette licence n'autorise pas l'exportation de marchandises ou de technologies si l'emplacement de l'utilisation finale de ces marchandises ou technologies ne se trouve pas au Canada, aux États-Unis ou dans l'un des pays énumérés au paragraphe 8.

10. Nous rappelons aux exportateurs qu'aucune licence n'est nécessaire pour l'exportation aux États-Unis de marchandises et de technologies visées par cette licence.

Validité

11. Une LDM-double usage peut être valide jusqu'à un maximum de cinq ans. À l'instar des autres licences, une LDM-double usage peut être modifiée conformément au Manuel des contrôles à l'exportation. Toutefois, la validité d'une LDM-double usage ne peut être prolongée au-delà de cinq ans à partir de la date de l'octroi de la licence. Il incombe à l'exportateur de présenter une nouvelle demande de LDM-double usage afin de s'assurer de posséder une licence valide.

12. Une LDM-double usage est valide pour les exportations tant temporaires que permanentes. Une exportation est considérée comme temporaire si les marchandises ou technologies sont retournées au Canada dans un délai d'un an après la date de l'exportation.

13. L'exportateur doit surveiller les exportations faites en vertu de cette licence. Il doit veiller à ce que la quantité et la valeur cumulatives des exportations faites en vertu de cette licence ne surpassent pas la quantité et la valeur indiquées pour chaque article visé par cette licence. La licence peut être modifiée pour augmenter ces quantités et valeurs jusqu'à quatre semaines avant sa date d'expiration.

14. La licence ne peut être modifiée pour changer les marchandises et les technologies qui y sont décrites ou pour en ajouter. Une nouvelle demande doit alors être présentée. Les exportateurs peuvent détenir plus d'une LDM-double usage à la fois. Toutefois, si un exportateur demande une nouvelle LDM-double usage qui comprend plus de produits que ceux qui sont énoncés dans une licence en vigueur, cette dernière peut être annulée au moment de l'octroi de la nouvelle licence. Si un exportateur souhaite faire annuler une licence en vigueur, il doit l'indiquer clairement dans sa nouvelle demande de licence.

Conditions

15. Les définitions suivantes s'appliquent aux licences octroyées en vertu du présent avis :

  • « distributeur » : S'entend d'une personne ou d'une entité qui acquiert une marchandise ou technologie afin de la revendre ou de la transférer sans en modifier substantiellement la forme ou l'usage.
  • « utilisation finale » : Dans le cas d'un produit final, s'entend du fonctionnement ou de l'emploi d'une marchandise ou technologie pour la fin à laquelle elle a été conçue ou convient sans modification substantielle à la forme ou l'usage du produit, et comprend des activités telles que la commercialisation, les essais, la réparation, l'entretien et la révision de tels produits.
  • « utilisation finale » : Dans le cas d'un produit intermédiaire, s'entend de l'incorporation, de l'intégration ou de l'installation d'un tel produit dans la production d'une nouvelle marchandise ou technologie, ou d'une transformation ultérieure ou d'une fabrication donnant lieu à une modification substantielle à la forme ou l'usage du produit, et comprend des activités telles que la commercialisation, les essais, la réparation, l'entretien et la révision de tels produits.
  • « utilisateur final » : S'entend d'une personne ou d'une entité qui acquiert une marchandise ou une technologie en vue de son utilisation finale.

16. L'exportateur qui se voit octroyer une LDM-double usage doit présenter à la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada des rapports dans lesquels est mentionné chaque destinataire vers qui les exportations ont été faites au moyen de cette licence ou qui contiennent une déclaration qu'aucune exportation n'a été faite au moyen de cette licence au cours de la période visée. Les rapports doivent avoir pour objet les exportations faites au cours des périodes de six mois du 1er janvier au 30 juin et du 1er juillet au 31 décembre, et ils doivent être présentés dans un délai d'un mois après la fin de la période à laquelle ils se rapportent. Chaque rapport doit comprendre :

  • dans le cas d'un destinataire qui est une société, le nom, l'adresse et le numéro de téléphone de la société et, s'il y a lieu, l'adresse du site Web de la société, le nom, le titre et le numéro de téléphone d'une personne-ressource et, s'il y a lieu, le numéro de télécopieur et l'adresse de courrier électronique de cette personne;
  • dans le cas d'un destinataire qui est une personne physique, le nom, l'adresse, le numéro de téléphone et, s'il y a lieu, le numéro de télécopieur et l'adresse de courrier électronique de cette personne;
  • la mention du rôle de chaque destinataire, c'est-à-dire soit : i) le destinataire final et l'utilisateur final; ii) le destinataire final et le distributeur;  iii) le destinataire final avec un autre rôle.

Voir un modèle de rapport suggéré.

17. L'exportateur qui se voit octroyer une LDM-double usage doit transmettre à la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, dans les 15 jours ouvrables suivant la date de la demande de la Direction, les renseignements suivants se rapportant à toute exportation faite au moyen de cette licence au cours de la période indiquée dans la demande :

  • une description (tel qu'indiquée sur la licence d'exportation) des marchandises et technologies exportées à chaque desintation;
  • la quantité et la valeur des marchandises ou des technologies exportées vers chaque destinataire;
  • la date et la méthode d'exportation;
  • tout document précisé à la condition 6 de la licence.

18. En vertu du Règlement sur les licences d'exportation, l'exportateur doit conserver les registres de chaque exportation faite au moyen de cette licence pendant une période de six ans suivant l'année de l'exportation. De tels dossiers doivent comprendre :

  • une déclaration écrite ou une correspondance du destinataire final qui confirme l'emplacement de l'utilisation finale des marchandises ou des technologies, ainsi que le rôle de chaque destinataire, conformément à l'alinéa 18c) du présent avis;
  • une déclaration écrite de l'exportateur décrivant, au meilleur des connaissances de ce dernier, l'utilisation finale prévue des marchandises ou des technologies par le destinataire final et l'emplacement de l'utilisation finale prévue des marchandises ou des technologies si cet emplacement est différent de celui du destinataire final;
  • s'il y a lieu, le nom et l'adresse de la personne auprès de qui l'exportateur a acquis les marchandises ou les technologies;
  • s'il y a lieu, une copie du contrat de vente entre l'exportateur et la personne à laquelle l'exportateur a vendu les marchandises ou les technologies à exporter;
  • s'il y a lieu, une copie de la facture commerciale qui se rapporte à l'exportation;
  • s'il y a lieu, un connaissement qui se rapporte à l'exportation;
  • s'il y a lieu, une copie de la lettre de crédit ou d'un autre document financier faisant mention des institutions financières canadiennes et étrangères qui sont impliquées dans l'exportation;
  • s'il y a lieu, une copie du formulaire de déclaration en douane présenté au moment de l'exportation à partir du Canada.

Administration

19. Une LDM-double usage peut être octroyée à un demandeur qui est aussi l'exportateur. En d'autres mots, le demandeur et l'exportateur doivent être la même personne.

20. Lorsqu'il décide de délivrer une LDM-double usage, le ministre des Affaires étrangères peut considérer, entre autres, le fait que l'exportateur ait fait l'objet d'une saisie liée à l'exportation ou d'une confiscation par constat de l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada au cours de l'année précédant la date de la demande.

21. Les demandes de LDM-double usage doivent être présentées à l'aide du système sécurisé en ligne CEED. Les demandeurs peuvent sélectionner « LDM-double usage » lorsqu'on leur demande d'identifier le type de destinataire dans le formulaire en ligne. Si vous n'avez pas accès à cette option, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction des contrôles à l'exportation par courriel à l'adresse tie.reception@international.gc.ca.

22. Le Manuel des contrôles à l'exportation, accessible sur Contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation, contient des renseignements généraux sur les demandes de licence. Les demandes de LDM-double usage doivent comprendre :

  • le formulaire de demande dûment rempli (en général à l'aide de notre système en ligne CEED);
  • une description technique des marchandises et des technologies;
  • une estimation de la quantité et de la valeur des exportations qui seront faites au cours de la période de validité de la licence;
  • une lettre d'accompagnement confirmant que l'exportateur a établi des procédés de vérification de la conformité des exportations et qu'il accepte de respecter les conditions d'utilisation de la licence. Voir un modèle de lettre d'accompagnement

23. Conformément à la norme de service applicable, une demande de LDM-double usage dûment remplie doit être examinée au cours des dix jours ouvrables suivant la date de sa présentation. Tous les efforts seront déployés afin de veiller à ce que l'examen de la demande soit terminé dans le délai prévu.

Suspension ou annulation

24. Une LDM-double usage constitue une solution de rechange aux licences à destination unique (lesquelles font mention des destinataires et sont utilisées pour exporter des produits vers un seul pays). Une LDM-double usage peut être suspendue ou annulée par l'envoi d'un avis écrit si l'exportateur ne respecte pas les conditions d'utilisation de la licence. S'ils ne répondent pas aux exigences à remplir pour demander cette licence, les exportateurs peuvent demander une licence d'exportation applicable à une seule destination.

25. L'octroi d'une licence ne constitue pas un précédent pour toute autre demande relative à l'exportation.

Information générale

26. Le présent avis a été préparé à titre indicatif et informatif seulement. Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada ne fournit pas de conseils juridiques par rapport aux renseignements mentionnés précédemment. Aux fins d'interprétation et d'application de la loi, les lecteurs doivent consulter la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation et son règlement afférent. Ces publications sont accessibles sur Internet à l'adresse indiquée ci-dessus, ainsi que dans la plupart des bibliothèques publiques.

27. Les demandes de renseignements généraux au sujet du présent avis peuvent être envoyées à l'adresse suivante :

Direction des contrôles à l'exportation (TIE)
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0G2
Téléphone : 613-996-2387
Courriel : tie.reception@international.gc.ca
Site Web : http://www.controlesalexportation.gc.ca