Notice to Exporters

General Export Permit – Dual-use Goods and Technology to Certain Destinations

Export and Import Permits Act

Serial No. 194
Date: August 2015

Table of Contents


Purpose

1. The purpose of this Notice is to advise exporters that, pursuant to the Export and Import Permits Act, the Minister of Foreign Affairs has issued a General Export Permit (GEP) relating to the export or transfer of certain dual-use goods and technology identified in Group 1 and in item 5504 of the Export Control List (ECL) /“A Guide to Canada’s Export Controls” (the Guide) to certain eligible destinations.

2. GEPs are intended to facilitate trade in defined circumstances, and are issued generally to all residents of Canada to allow the export or transfer of specified goods and technology that are identified in the ECL / Guide to specified eligible destinations, subject to certain terms and conditions. GEPs do not require an individual application to be submitted to Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada for the proposed export or transfer.

3. GEP 41 allows residents of Canada, subject to certain terms and conditions, to export or transfer certain items included in Group 1 and item number 5504 of  the ECL / Guide  to consignees that are located in any of the 32 eligible destinations identified in the GEP (paragraph 10 of this Notice). Eligible destinations are like-minded countries that similar to Canada are members of multiple multilateral export control regimes and have implemented an effective system of export controls.

4. This Notice should be read in conjunction with General Export Permit No. 41 – Dual-use Goods and Technology to Certain Destinations (GEP 41) and the current version of “A Guide to Canada's Export Controls”, which is available on our website or upon request from the Export Controls Division of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada.

Eligible Goods and Technology

5. GEP 41 covers the export or transfer of most goods and technology referred to in Group 1 and ECL item number 5504 of the ECL / Guide, excluding those goods and technologies identified in sections 3(2) and(3) or the Schedule of the GEP.

Ineligible Transactions

6. Goods and technologies that are intended to be used in a country that is not an eligible destination are not eligible for export or transfer under this GEP.

  • Example 1:  A Canadian exporter receives a request to export items controlled under ECL item number 5504.2.d to a consignee located in an eligible destination.  This consignee has declared to the Canadian exporter that they will export the item in its original state to a consignee not located in an eligible destination.  For such transactions, GEP 41 is not useable.  Such exports or transfers must be authorized by an individual export permit issued under the authority of the Export and Import Permits Act.
  • Example 2:  A Canadian exporter receives a request to export items controlled under ECL item number 5504.2.d to a consignee, a distributor, located in an eligible destination.  This consignee has declared to the Canadian exporter that they will export the items in their original state to various customers, including some that may not be located in an eligible destination.  For such transactions, GEP 41 is not useable. Such exports or transfers must be authorized by an individual export permit issued under the authority of the Export and Import Permits Act.

7. Goods and technologies requiring United States export authorization, under the United States’ International Traffic in Arms Regulations, as described in section (3)(2)(c)(i) to (iii) of the Export Permit Regulations are also not eligible for export or transfer under this GEP.  Such exports or transfers must be authorized by an individual export permit issued under the authority of the Export and Import Permits Act.

8. Eligible goods and technology that are also concurrently controlled in a Group or Item other than those deemed to be eligible goods and technology under GEP 41 and which are not covered by another GEP, may not be exported or transferred using GEP 41. Such exports or transfers must be authorized by an individual export permit issued under the authority of the Export and Import Permits Act.

  • Example 1:  A Canadian exporter wishes to export an item to an eligible destination that is controlled in both Group 1 and Group 6 of the Guide.  For such transactions, GEP 41 is not useable as there is currently no GEP that covers the export of items controlled in Group 6 of the Guide. Such exports or transfers must be authorized by an individual export permit issued under the authority of the Export and Import Permits Act.

Eligible Destinations

9. Eligible destinations are those like-minded countries who, like Canada, are members of multiple  multilateral export control regimes and have implemented effective export control systems, and include; Australia, Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea (South Korea), Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, the United Kingdom or the United States.

Conditions

10. Exporters wishing to utilize GEP 41 must prior to their first export or transfer in a calendar year, provide in writing to the Export Controls Division of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada:

  • their name, address, telephone number, and, if any, their facsimile number and electronic mail address, and
  • in the case of a corporation, the name of a contact person who has knowledge of the exports or transfers occurring under this GEP and their address, telephone number, facsimile number and electronic mail address, and the business number assigned to the corporation by the Minister of National Revenue.

11. Exporters must retain, for a period of six years after the year in which an export is made under these Permits, the following records:

  • the name and address of each consignee,
  • the item number in the Guide in which the good or technology is referred to, and a comparison of the technical specifications set out in the item number with technical specifications of the good or technology,
  • the name and any part number or unique identifier of the good and technology, as well as a description of the good and technology and its technical specifications,
  • the quantity and value of the export or transfer,
  • a written statement from each consignee which identifies the country of end-use of the good or technology  and an indication as to whether or not the consignee is the end-user or a distributer, or if neither, a description of the consignee’s role in the transaction
  • the date of export or transfer,
  • a copy of any contract between the resident of Canada and each consignee and any invoice or export or shipping document relating to the export or transfer.

12. Exporters must provide to the Export Controls Division, within 30 days of January 31st and July 31st, a report containing the following information in respect of any export or transfer made under the authority of GEP 41 for the six month period immediately preceding January 31st and July 31st.

  • the name, address and telephone number of each consignee and, if any, the consignee’s facsimile number and electronic mail address,
  • if the consignee is a corporation, the name and title of a contact person who has knowledge of the export or transfer, and the contact person’s telephone number and, if any, facsimile number and electronic mail address,
  • a description of each good or technology exported or transferred and the item number of the Guide in which it is referred to, and
  • the quantity and value of each good or technology exported or transferred identified by country of destination.

13. Further to a request from the Export Controls Division, exporters must provide, within 15 business days from the date of a request, the information identified in paragraph 12 of this Notice in respect of any export or transfer made using GEP 41 during the time period specified in the request.

14. Exporters must insert the term “GEP-41” (“LGE 41”) in the appropriate field of the form prescribed under the Customs Act if the item exported under this Permit is required to be reported under that Act.

General Information

15. Exporting or transferring controlled goods and technology except in accordance with the terms and conditions of the GEP or in accordance with an individually issued export permit can result in prosecution under the Export and Import Permits Act.

16. This Notice has been prepared for guidance and convenience of reference only. Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada does not provide legal advice on the foregoing. For all purposes of interpreting and applying the law, readers should consult the Export and Import Permits Act and its associated regulations. These publications are available on the internet at the site noted below.

17. Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada is committed to take all reasonable measures to protect the privacy, with respect to the information they provide, of residents of Canada who submit a notification of intent to use General Export Permits. However, please note that information provided for this purpose and reporting on the usage of General Export Permits may be shared with other federal institutions for the purpose of enforcement and administration of export controls or activities associated with the delivery of their mandate. This sharing of information will only be considered with federal institutions that are partners/consultees in the administration and enforcement of Canada's export control regime.

18. For further information, exporters may contact:

Export Controls Division (TIE)
Trade Controls Bureau
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
125 Sussex Drive
Ottawa, Ontario  K1A 0G2
Telephone: 343-203-4331
Facsimile: 613-996-9933
Email: tie.reception@international.gc.ca
Internet: Export and Import Controls

Avis aux exportateurs

Licence générale d'exportation – Marchandises et technologies à double usage exportées

Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation

No de série : 194
Date : Août 2015

Table des matières


Objet

1. Le présent avis a pour objet d’informer les exportateurs que, conformément à la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation, le ministre des Affaires étrangères a délivré une licence générale d’exportation (LGE) visant l’exportation ou le transfert de certaines marchandises et technologies à double usage énumérées à l’article 5504 de la Liste des marchandises et technologies d’exportation contrôlée (LMTEC) et dans le groupe 1 du Guide des contrôles à l’exportation du Canada (le Guide) à certaines destinations admissibles.

2. Les LGE ont pour but de faciliter les échanges commerciaux dans des circonstances bien définies. Elles sont délivrées de manière générale à tous les résidents du Canada afin de leur permettre d’exporter ou de transférer, vers des destinations admissibles précises, certaines marchandises et technologies figurant dans la LMTEC et le Guide, sous réserve de certaines conditions. Pour obtenir une LGE relativement à l’exportation ou au transfert proposé, il n’est pas nécessaire d’en faire la demande à Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada.

3. La LGE 41 permet aux résidents du Canada, sous réserve de certaines modalités, d’exporter ou de transférer certains des articles figurant à l’article 5504 de la LMEC et dans le groupe 1 du Guide à des consignataires situés dans l’une des 32 destinations admissibles répertoriées dans la LGE (paragraphe 10 du présent avis). Ces destinations comprennent les pays d’optique commune qui, comme le Canada, sont parties à divers régimes multilatéraux de contrôles à l’exportation, et disposent d’un système efficace de contrôle des exportations.

4. Le présent avis devrait être lu en parallèle avec la Licence générale d’exportation no 41 – Marchandises et technologies à double usage exportées vers certaines destinations (LGE 41) et la version actuelle du Guide des contrôles à l’exportation du Canada, qui est affiché sur notre site Web ou qui peut être obtenue sur demande auprès de la Direction des contrôles à l’exportation d’Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada.

Marchandises et technologies admissibles

5. La LGE 41 autorise l’exportation ou le transfert de la plupart des marchandises et des technologies faisant partie du groupe 1 du Guide et énumérées à l’article 5504 de la LMTEC, et exclut les marchandises et les technologies figurant aux les articles 3(2) et 3(3) de l’annexe de la LGE.

Transactions inadmissibles

6. La présente LGE n’autorise pas l’exportation ou le transfert de marchandises ou technologies destinées à être utilisées dans un pays autre qu’une destination admissible;

  • Exemple 1 : Un exportateur canadien reçoit une demande pour exporter des articles visés par l’article 5504.2.d de la LMTEC à un consignataire situé dans une destination admissible. Le consignataire en question a fait savoir à l’exportateur canadien qu’il allait exporter les articles dans leur état original à un consignataire ne se trouvant pas dans une destination admissible. Ce genre de transaction n’est pas couvert par la LGE 41. Les exportations ou les transferts de cette nature doivent faire l’objet d’une licence d’exportation individuelle délivrée en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation.
  • Exemple 2 : Un exportateur canadien reçoit une demande pour exporter des articles visés par l’article 5504.2.d de la LMTEC à un consignataire (un distributeur) situé dans une destination admissible. Le consignataire en question a fait savoir à l’exportateur canadien qu’il allait exporter les articles dans leur état original à différents clients, dont certains pourraient ne pas se trouver dans une destination admissible. Ce genre de transaction n’est pas couvert par la LGE 41. Les exportations ou les transferts de cette nature doivent faire l’objet d’une licence d’exportation individuelle délivrée en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation.

7. Les marchandises et les technologies qui nécessitent une autorisation d’exportation des États‑Unis aux termes de la International Traffic in Arms Regulations (le règlement américain sur le commerce international des armes) conformément aux sous-alinéas 3(2)c)(i) (ii) et (iii) du Règlement sur les licences d’exportation ne sont pas admissibles à l’exportation ou au transfert en vertu de la présente LGE. Les exportations ou les transferts de cette nature doivent faire l’objet d’une licence d’exportation individuelle délivrée en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation.

8. Les marchandises et les technologies qui sont aussi visées concurremment par un groupe ou un article autre que ceux considérés comme des marchandises et des technologies admissibles au titre de la LGE 41, et qui ne sont pas couvertes par une autre LGE, ne peuvent pas être exportées ou transférées en vertu de la LGE 41 car il n’existe actuellement aucun LGE qui touche l’exportation d’articles visée par le group 6 du Guide. Les exportations ou les transferts de cette nature doivent faire l’objet d’une licence d’exportation individuelle délivrée en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation.

  • Exemple 1 : Un exportateur canadien souhaite exporter un article vers une destination admissible qui est visée à la fois par le groupe 1 et le groupe 6 du Guide. Ce genre de transaction n’est par couvert par la LGE 41. Les exportations ou les transferts de cette nature doivent faire l’objet d’une licence d’exportation individuelle délivrée en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation.

Destinations admissibles

9. Les destinations admissibles sont les pays d’optique commune qui, comme le Canada, sont parties à divers régimes multilatéraux de contrôles à l’exportation, et disposent d’un système efficace de contrôle des exportations. Il s’agit des pays suivants : Allemagne, Australie, Autriche, Belgique, Danemark, Espagne, Estonie, États-Unis, Finlande, France, Grèce, Hongrie, Islande, Irlande, Italie, Japon, Lettonie, Lituanie, Luxembourg, Norvège, Nouvelle-Zélande, Pays-Bas, Pologne, Portugal, République de Corée (Corée du Sud), République slovaque, République tchèque, Royaume-Uni, Slovénie, Suède, Suisse, Turquie.

Conditions

10. Les exportateurs qui souhaitent se prévaloir de la LGE 41 doivent, avant d’effectuer leur première exportation ou leur premier transfert au cours d’une année civile, fournir par écrit les renseignements suivants à la Direction des contrôles à l’exportation d’Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada :

  • Son nom, son adresse, son numéro de téléphone et, le cas échéant, son numéro de télécopieur et son adresse électronique.
  • S’il s’agit d’une entreprise, celle-ci doit fournir le nom d’une personne-ressource qui est au fait de l’exportation ou du transfert effectué en vertu de la présente LGE, ainsi que son adresse, son numéro de téléphone, son numéro de télécopieur, son adresse électronique et le numéro d’entreprise qui lui a été assigné par le ministre du Revenu national.

11. Les exportateurs doivent conserver les dossiers suivants pendant six ans après l’année au cours de laquelle l’exportation a été effectuée en vertu de la présente licence :

  • le nom et l’adresse de chaque consignataire;
  • le numéro de l’article du Guide où figure chaque marchandise ou technologie et une comparaison entre les spécifications techniques figurant dans cet article et les spécifications techniques de la marchandise ou de la technologie;
  • le nom et tout numéro de pièce ou identificateur unique de chaque marchandise ou technologie, ainsi que la description et les spécifications techniques de la marchandise ou de la technologie;
  • la quantité et la valeur de l’exportation ou du transfert;
  • une déclaration écrite de chaque consignataire précisant le pays d’utilisation finale de la marchandise ou de la technologie et indiquant si le consignataire agit à titre d’utilisateur final ou de distributeur ou, si aucun de ces cas ne s’applique, son rôle à l’égard de la transaction.
  • la date de l’exportation ou du transfert;
  • une copie de tout contrat conclu entre le résident du Canada et chaque consignataire et de toute facture ou de tout document d’exportation ou d’expédition ayant trait à l’exportation ou au transfert

12. Les exportateurs doivent fournir à la Direction des contrôles à l’exportation, dans les 30 jours suivant le 31 janvier et le 31 juillet, un rapport comportant les renseignements suivants concernant les exportations et les transferts effectués en vertu de la LGE 41 pendant chaque période de six mois précédant immédiatement les dates en question :

  • le nom, l’adresse, le numéro de téléphone et, le cas échéant, le numéro de télécopieur et l’adresse de courriel de chaque consignataire;
  • si le consignataire est une personne morale, le nom et le titre d’une personne-ressource au fait de l’exportation ou du transfert, ainsi que le numéro de téléphone et, le cas échéant, le numéro de télécopieur et l’adresse de courriel de celle-ci,
  • une description de chaque marchandise ou technologie exportée ou transférée et l’article du Guide qui les décrit;
  • la quantité et la valeur de chaque marchandise ou technologie exportée par pays de destination.

13. Les exportateurs doivent fournir à la Direction des contrôles à l’exportation, dans les 15 jours ouvrables suivant la réception de la demande, l’information mentionnée au paragraphe 12 du présent avis concernant les exportations et les transferts effectués en vertu de la LGE 41 durant la période indiquée dans la demande.

14. Les exportateurs doivent indiquer le terme « LGE-41 » (« GEP-41 ») dans le champ approprié du formulaire prévu par la Loi sur les douanes lorsque la marchandise exportée en vertu de cette licence doit être déclarée selon la Loi en question.

Renseignements généraux

15. Toute exportation ou tout transfert de marchandises et de technologies contrôlées qui n’est pas effectué en conformité avec les modalités de la LGE ou d’une licence d’exportation individuelle peut donner lieu à des poursuites en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation.

16. Le présent avis a été préparé à titre indicatif et informatif seulement. Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada ne fournit pas de conseils juridiques par rapport aux renseignements mentionnés précédemment. Aux fins d’interprétation et d’application de la loi, les lecteurs doivent consulter la Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation et son règlement afférent. Ces publications sont disponibles sur Internet, à l’adresse fournie à la fin du document.

17. Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada s’engage à prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour protéger les renseignements personnels des résidents du Canada qui soumettent un avis faisant connaître leur intention d’utiliser une licence générale d’exportation. Veuillez toutefois noter que les renseignements fournis à cet égard et les rapports produits sur l’utilisation d’une licence générale d’exportation peuvent être communiqués à d’autres institutions fédérales aux fins de l’application et de l’administration des contrôles à l’exportation ou de la réalisation d’activités associées à l’exécution de leur mandat. La communication de ces renseignements ne s’effectuera qu’à l’intention des institutions fédérales qui sont des partenaires ou des consultants dans le cadre de l’administration et de l’application du régime canadien des contrôles à l’exportation.

18. Pour plus de précisions, les exportateurs peuvent contacter :

Direction des contrôles à l'exportation (TIE)
Direction générale de la réglementation commerciale
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
125, promenade Sussex
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0G2
Téléphone : 343-203-4331
Télécopieur : 613-996-9933
Courriel : tie.reception@international.gc.ca
Internet : Contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation