Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Notices

Administration of the North American Free Trade Agreement Provisions Relating to Textile and Apparel Goods

Notice to Exporters
Export and Import Permits Act

Serial No: 70
Date: December 15, 1993

Table of Contents


Purpose

1. This Notice to Exporters supersedes Notices to Exporters, Nos. 34 and 35 dated August 1, 1988, No. 37 dated December 19, 1988, and No. 39 dated October 3, 1989, and has effect upon implementation on January 1, 1994 of the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). This Notice to Exporters provides an explanation of the provision of the NAFTA as they relate to textiles and apparel and outlines the criteria used in allocating to exporters their individual shares of the following Tariff Preference Level (TPL) export quotas: (1) cotton or man-made fiber apparel and made-up goods; (2) wool apparel and made-up goods; (3) cotton or man-made fiber fabrics and made-up goods; and, (4) cotton or man-made fiber spun yarn.

NAFTA Provisions

2. Annex 300-B, Appendix 2.1, Part A of the NAFTA, provides for the continued tariff elimination of customs duty on originating textile and apparel goods between the United States and Canada in accordance with Annex 401.2, as amended, of the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement (FTA). Part C provides for the elimination of customs duty on originating textile and apparel goods between Mexico and Canada.

3. The rules of Origin for textiles and apparel goods are set out in Annex 401, Section XI and Appendix 6A, Annex 300-B. Although there are several specific exceptions, in general, the rule of origin may be described as a "yarn forward" rule, requiring the yarn, fabric and finished product to all originate from NAFTA countries. The exceptions range from a stricter "fiber forward" rule in the case of knit made up articles to a less rigid "single transformation" rule in the case of brassieres.

4. Annex 300-B, Section 6, and Appendix 6 set out special provisions applicable to certain textile and apparel goods. Under Appendix 6, Part B, goods which would not otherwise satisfy the NAFTA Rules of Origin (Annex 401), will nevertheless qualify for NAFTA duty rates up to specified annual levels, called Tariff Preference Levels (TPLs). Above these levels, non-originatingtextile and apparel goods will be subject to the Most-Favoured-Nation tariff rate.

5. In order to enable U.S. and Mexican Customs officials to recognize those Canadian export shipments which are eligible to receive NAFTA Preferential duty rates under Appendix 6 at the point of entry, the Export and Import Permits Bureau (EIPB) will issue "Certificate of Eligibility". This certificate must be transmitted to the U.S. and Mexican importers in advance of shipment for presentation to U.S. and Mexican Customs officials at the border. Without this certificate, such shipments will not receive the NAFTA rate of duty, but instead will receive the Most-Favoured-Nation tariff rate.

Metric TPL Levels

6. Exporters should note that under the NAFTA there is agreement for conversion of the primary units of measure (other than for yarns) into Square Metre Equivalents (SMEs) by means of conversion factors identified in Schedule 3.1.3 of Annex 300-B.

7. The metric TPL levels for exports from Canada to the United States and Mexico for 1994 are as follows:

A. Cotton or man-made fiber apparel and made-up goods:

80,000,000 SME1 - United States
6,000,000 SME - Mexico

1 No more than 60,000,000 SME shall be made form fabrics which are knit or woven in a non-NAFTA country.

B. Wool apparel and made-up goods:

5,066,948 SME2 - United States
250,000 SME - Mexico

2 No more than 5,016,780 SME shall be men's or boy's suits of U.S. category 443.

C. Cotton or man-made fiber fabrics and made-up goods:

65,000,000 SME3 - United States
7,000,000 - Mexico

3 No more than 35,000,000 SME may be in goods of Chapters 52 through 55, 58 and 63 (other than subheading 6302.10, 6302.40, 6303.11, 6303.12, 6303.12, 6303.19, 6304.11 or 6304.91) of the Harmonized System (HS); and no more than 35,000,000 SME may be in goods of Chapters 60 and subheading 6302.10, 6302.40, 6303.11, 6303.19, 6304.11 or 6304.91 of the HS.

D. Cotton or man-made fiber spun yarn:

10,700,000 Kg - United States
1,000,000 Kg - Mexico

Authority

8. Under the authority of Section 9.1 of the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA), as amended, the Minister may, for the purpose of implementing an intergovernmental arrangement respecting the administration of Appendix 6, Annex 300-B of the NAFTA, issue a certificate with respect to an exportation of goods to the United States or Mexico stating the specific quantity of the goods for which a certificate is issued.

Allocation Criteria

9. The TPLs will be allocated to individual apparel/accessory and textile exporters according to the following criteria:

Exports to the United States

A) Cotton or man-made fiber apparel and made-up goods and cotton or man-made fiber fabrics and made-up goods:

The 1994 allocation of these two TPLs will be based on individual exporters' performance under the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement tariff rate quota in 1993. In addition, a substantial non-allocated balance remains in the 1994 quota level for both these TPLs. It will be made available to all exporters on a "first-come, first-served" basis, whether or not they have received individual prior allocations. However, allocation recipients will have to fully use their allocations prior to accessing the "first-come, first-served" basket.

B) Wool apparel and made-up goods:

The 1994 allocation will be as follows:

a) 79.2% (4,013,424 SME) of the TPL will be allocated based on individual exporters' performance under the FTA Tariff Rate Quota in 1993. (Should 1993 actual shipments be greater than 4,013,424) SME, the allocation will be made on a pro rate basis). Where NAFTA conversion factors differ from previously applied FTA conversion factors resulting in a reduction or an increase in the number of units exported, consideration will be given, on a case-by-case basis, to adjusting the individual company's TPL allocation.

b) 15.8% (800,177 SME) will be set aside for non-NAFTA yarn wovens and knit apparel not previously included in the FTA Tariff Rate Quota for wool apparel. One-half, 7.4% (400,088 SME) of this amount will be allocated for non-NAFTA origin yarn wovens and one-half, 7.4% (400.088 SME) will be allocated for knit apparel. Applicants seeking access to these set-asides will be required to replace the last three digits of the TPL Commodity Code, used when submitting applications, with Annex Codes identified in the January 1, 1994 Handbook of Import and Export Commodity Codes.

c) 5% (253,347 SME) will be made available to exporters who have not received individual prior allocations, on a "first-come, first-served" basis. Access to this "first-come, first-served" basket will be based on confirmed shipments.

C) Cotton or man-made fiber spun yarn:

The 1994 TPL will be allocated on a "first-come, first-served" basis.

Exports to Mexico

D) All 1994 TPLs will be allocated on a "first-come, first-served" basis.

Future Years' Allocation

10. Allocations for all TPLs in 1995 will be based on the following:

a) Allocation recipients will receive an allocation equivalent to their use of the 1994 quota.

b) A new entrants' pool will be established equal to 1% of the 1994 quota plus any unused 1994 quota, up to a total of 5% of the 1995 quota.

c) Any additional quota will be placed in a "growth pool" available on a "first-come, first-served" basis based on confirmed shipments. Allocation recipients will be granted access to the "growth pool" when their allocations have been completely used. New entrants will be granted access when the new entrants' pool has been completely used.

11. Allocations for 1996 to 1999 will be based on the foregoing formula.

Unused Allocations

12. Prior to September 30 of each year, commencing in 1994, allocation recipients may return up to 25% of their allocation for use by others on a "first-come, first-served" basis without incurring a reduction in their following year's allocation.

13. On October 1 of each year any unused portion of quota allocations up to 75% of the original allocation held by individual allocation recipients will be permanently forfeited and returned to the "growth pool".

14. On November 15 of each year, any unused portion of quota allocations up to 90% of the original allocation held by individual allocation recipients will be permanently forfeited and returned to the "growth pool".

Transfer of Quota Allocation

15. There is no proprietary right of transferability with respect to quota allocations. On the saleof total assets of a quota holding company, the quota reverts to the Government. The Government may, however, at its discretion, reallocate all or part of the quota to the new owner under conditions such as that production by the original quota holding company continues unaltered.

Records

16. Exporters are advised to maintain records on the country of origin of the imported fabrics, yarns or fibbers (whichever is applicable) which are used in making TEL textile and apparel goods, as well as information on where goods have been cut, sewn or otherwise assembled, as they may be requested to present them upon or subsequent to export. For further details on record-keeping requirements for the NAFTA, exporters should refer to Revenue Canada, (Customs and Excise) Memorandum D20-1-5.

Application for Certificates of Eligibility

17. When making an application for a certificate of eligibility you will be required to fill in "TEL" in the NAFTA Processing block or "DB" if claiming a 50% debit. You are also required to identify the origin of the fabric, yarn and fiber in the Country of Origin - raw material block.

Export and Import Permits and Certificates Fees Order, 1989

18. a) $10 will be levied for Certificate(s) of Eligibility delivered for a shipment containing up to 15 different commodities and delivered by a customs broker's office which is authorized by the Minister of Foreign Affairs to make such delivery and

b) $15 will be levied for Certificate(s) of Eligibility for a shipment containing up to 15 different commodities and delivered by the Export and Import Permits Bureau.

Certificate Cancellations

19. In cases where certificates of eligibility are subsequently not used (because of cancelled orders, or for any other reason), exporters must promptly return the pink copy of the Certificate of Eligibility to the EIPB for cancellation.

Director
Import Controls Division 1 (Textiles and Clothing)
Export and Import Permits Bureau
Department of Foreign Affairs and
International Trade
P.O. Box 481, Station "A"
Ottawa, Ontario
K1N 9K6

Telephone: (613) 996-3711
Facsimile: (613) 995-5137

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Avis

Administration de l'accord de libre-échange nord-américain dispositions sur les produits textiles et les vêtements

Avis aux exportateurs
Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation

Nº de série: 70
Date: le 15 décembre 1993

Table des matières


But

1. Le présent Avis aux exportateurs remplace les avis aux exportateurs nº 34 et 35 du 1er août 1988, nº 37 du 19 décembre 1988 et nº 39 du 3 octobre 1989, et prendra effet lors de la mise en oeuvre de l'Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA), le 1er janvier 1994. Le présent Avis aux exportateurs explique les dispositions de l'ALENA sur les produits textiles et les vêtements et esquisse les critères utilisés pour allouer aux exportateurs les parts des contingents d'exportation des niveaux de préférences tarifaire (NPT) suivant : 1) vêtements et articles confectionnés en coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou artificielles; 2) vêtements et articles confectionnés en laine; 3) tissus et articles confectionnés en coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou artificielles; 4) filés en fibres de coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou artificielles.

Dispositions de l'ALENA

2. L'Annexe 300-B, Appendice 2.1, Partie A, prévoit, entre le Canada et les État-Unis, l'élimination progressive de leurs droits de douane respectifs sur les produits textiles et les vêtements originaires de l'autre Partie en conformité avec l'annexe 401.2, modifiées, de l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis (ALE). La Partie C prévoit, entre le Canada et le Mexique, l'élimination progressive de leurs droits de douane respectifs sur les produits textiles et les vêtements originaires de l'autre Partie.

3. Les règles d'origine pour les produits textiles et les vêtements sont définies à la Section XI de l'Annexe 401 et à l'Appendice 6A de l'Annexe 300-B. Il y a plusieurs exceptions spécifiques, mais la règle d'origine peut généralement être décrite comme une règle «applicable au niveau du filé» et exigeant que le filé, le tissu et le produit fini soient originaires des pays ALENA. Les exceptions vont d'une règle plus stricte «applicable au niveau de la fibre», dans le cas des articles en tricot, à une règle de «transformationunique» moins rigide, dans le cas des soutiens-gorge.

4. La Section 6 et l'Appendice 6 de l'Annexe 300-B contiennent des dispositions spéciales applicables à certains produits textiles et à certains produits textiles et à certains vêtements. Selon la Partie B de l'Appendice 6, les produits qui ne satisferaient pas par ailleurs aux règles d'origine de l'ALENA (Annexe 401) seront quand même admissibles aux taux de droits de l'ALENA à concurrence de niveaux annuels spécifiés appelés Niveaux de préférence tarifaire (NPT). En dessus de ces niveaux, les produits textiles et les vêtements non originaires seront assujettis au taux de droit de la nation la plus favorisée (NPF).

5. Pour permettre aux agents des douanes américaines et mexicaines de reconnaître, au point d'entrée, les expéditions canadiennes admissibles aux taux de droits préférentiels en vertu de l'Appendice 6 de l'ALENA, La Direction générale des licences d'exportation et d'importation (DGLEI) délivrera des «certificats d'admissibilité». Ce certificat devra être transmis à l'avance aux importateurs américains, qui le présenteront aux agents des douanes lorsque l'expédition franchira la frontière. Sans un tel certificat, la marchandise expédiées ne bénéficiera pas du taux de droit de l'ALENA; elle sera plutôt imposée au taux de droit NPF.

Volumes métriques des NPT

6. Les exportateurs devraient noter que les partenaires de l'ALENA ont accepté de convertir les unités de mesure primaires (sauf pour les filés) en équivalents-mètres carrés (EMC) au moyen des facteurs de conversion mentionnés à la Liste 3.1.3 de l'Annexe 300-B.

7. Les volumes métriques des NPT pour les exportations du Canada vers les États-Unis et le Mexique en 1994 s'établissent comme il suit:

A. Vêtements et articles confectionnés en coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou artificielles:

80 000 000 EMC1 - États-Unis
6 000 000 EMC - Mexique

1. Pas plus de 60 000 000 EMC seront produits à partir de tissus tricotés ou tissés dans un pays non-ALENA.

B. Vêtements et articles confectionnés en laine:

5 066 948 EMC2 - États-Unis
250 000 EMC - Mexique

2. Pas plus de 5 016 780 EMC seront composés de costumes pour hommes ou garçonsde la catégorie 443.

C. Tissus et articles confectionnés en coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou en artificielles:

65 000 000 SME3 - États-Unis
7 000 000 - Mexique

3. Pas plus de 35 000 000 EMC ne pourront être composés de produits des chapitres 52 à 55, 58 et 63 (sauf la sous-position 6301.12, 6302.40, 6303.11, 6303.12, 6303.19, 6304.11 ou 6304.91) du Système harmonisé (SH); et pas plus de 35 000 000 EMC ne pourront être composés de produits du chapitre 60 et de la sous-position 6302.10, 6302.40, 6303.11, 6303.12, 6303.19, 6304.11 ou 6304.91 du SH.

D. Filés en fibres de coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou artificielles:

10 700 000 Kg - États-Unis
1 000 000 Kg - Mexique

Autorisation

8. En vertu de l'article 9.1 de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (LLEI), telle que modifiées, le Ministre peut, aux fins de la mise en application d'un arrangement intergouvernemental concernant l'administration de l'Appendice 6 de l'Annexe 300-B de l'ALENA, délivrer un certificat d'exportation de marchandises aux États-Unis et au Mexique mentionnant la quantité précise des marchandises visées par le certificat.

Critères d'allocation

9. Les NPT seront répartis entre les exportateurs de vêtements, d'accessoires et de produits textiles selon les critères suivants:

Exportations aux États-Unis

A) Vêtements et articles confectionnés en coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou artificielles et tissus et articles confectionnés en coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou artificielles:

L'allocation de ces deux NPT en 1994 sera basée sur les résultats de chaque exportateur par rapport au contingent tarifaire de l'Accord de libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis pour 1993. De plus, le niveau contingentaire pour 1994 contient encore une importante part non allouée pour ces deux NPT. Cette part sera offerte à tous les exportateurs selon la formule «premier arrivé, premier servi», qu'ils aient ou non déjà reçu des parts de contingents. Mais les bénéficiaires de part devront avoir déjà utilisé complet leurs allocations.

B) Vêtements et articles confectionnés en laine:

L'Allocation en 1994 sera basée sur les critères suivants:

a) 79,2% (4 013 424 EMC) du NPT seront alloués selon les résultats des exportateurs en rapport avec le contingent tarifaire de l'ALE pour 1993 (Si les expéditions réelles en 1993 devraient dépasser 4 013 424 EMC, l'allocation se fera au prorata). Lorsque les facteurs de conversion de l'ALENA diffèrent de ceux qui étaient préalablement appliqués selon l'ALE et que cette différence entraîne une réduction ou une augmentation du nombre des unités exportées, on envisagera, au cas par cas, la possibilité d'ajuster l'allocation de l'entreprise aux fins du NPT.

b) 15,8% (800 177 EMC) seront réservés aux filés et aux vêtements tricotés non-ALENA qui n'étaient pas précédemment inclus dans le contingent tarifaire de l'ALE pour les vêtements en laine. La moitié de cette quantité (7,4% ou 400 088 EMC) sera allouée aux vêtements tricotés. Les exportateurs qui désirent bénéficier de ces réserves devront remplacer les trois derniers chiffres du code des produits du NPT, utilisés au moment de présenter des demandes, par les codes d'annexe figurant dans le «Manuel d'importation de produits» du 1er janvier 1994.

c) 5 % (253 347 EMC) seront alloués aux exportateurs qui n'ont pas déjà reçu une part, selon le système «premier arrivé, premier servi». L'accès à ce système sera basé sur les expéditions confirmées.

C) Filés en fibres de coton ou en fibres synthétiques ou artificielles:

Le NPT pour 1994 sera alloué selon la formule «premier arrivé, premier servi».

Exportations au Mexique

D) Tous les NPT pour 1994 seront alloués selon la formule «premier arrivé, premier servi».

Allocations pour les années à venir

10. Les allocations de 1995 pour tous les NPT seront basées sur les critères suivants:

a) Les bénéficiaires d'allocations recevront une allocation équivalente à leur utilisation de contingent pour 1994.

b) Un pool des nouveaux venus sera créé qui équivaudra à 1 % du contingent non utilisés en 1994, jusqu'à concurrence de 5 % du contingent pour 1995.

c) Tout contingent additionnel sera placé dans un «pool de croissance» offert selon la formule «premier arrivé, premier servi», selon les expéditions confirmées. Les bénéficiaires d'allocation pourront avoir accès au «pool de croissance» lorsque leurs allocations auront été entièrement utilisées. Les nouveaux venus pourront y avoir accès lorsque que le pool créé à leur intention aura été pleinement utilisé.

11. Les allocations pour la période allant de 1996 à 1999 seront basées sur la formule qui précède.

Allocations non utilisées

12. Avant le 30 septembre de chaque année, à compter de 1994, les bénéficiaires d'allocations pourront remettre jusqu'à 25 % de leur allocation, à l'attention d'autres utilisateurs éventuels, selon la formule «premier arrivé, premier servi», sans subir une réduction de leur allocation l'année suivante.

13. Le 1er octobre de chaque année, toute partie inutilisée des contingents répartis, jusqu'à concurrence de 75 % de l'allocation initiale détenue par chacun des bénéficiaires, sera confisquée à jamais et remise dans le «pool de croissance».

14. Le 15 novembre de chaque année, toute partie inutilisée des contingents répartis, jusqu'à concurrence de 90 % de l'allocation initiale détenue par chacun des bénéficiaires, sera confisquée à jamais et remise dans la «pool de croissance».

Transfert des contingents répartis

15. Les contingents répartis ne donnent lieu à aucun droit exclusif de transférabilité. la vente de la totalité des biens d'une société détenant des contingents, ceux-ci sont remis au gouvernement. Le gouvernement peut toutefois, s'il le juge à propos, réallouer la totalité ou une partie de ces contingents au nouveau propriétaire à certaines conditions, par exemple la poursuite des activités de la société qui détenait les contingents à l'origine.

Dossiers

16. Il est conseillé aux exportateurs de tenir à jour des dossiers sur les pays d'origine des tissus, fils et fibres (selon le cas) importés, utilisés dans la fabrication de textiles et de vêtements assujettis aux NPT, ainsi que des renseignements sur les lieux où les articles ont été coupés, cousus ou assemblés, puisque qu'ils peuvent être tenus de les fournir au moment d'exporter ou après. Pour plus de précisions sur les exigences de l'ALENA en matière de conservation des dossiers, les exportateurs peuvent consulter la note D20-1-5 de Revenu Canada (Douanes et Accise).

Demande pour certificat d'admissibilité

17. Lorsque vous faites une demande pour un certificat d'admissibilité on vous demande d'inscrire "TPL" dans la case du Traitement de l'ALENA ou "DB" si vous réclamez un débit de 50%. On vous demande aussi d'identifier le pays d'origine du tissu, du fil et de la fibre dans la case - PAYS d'origine - matière première.

Décret concernant les droits relatifs aux licences et aux certificats en matière d'exportation et d'importation, 1989.

18.a) un droit de 10 dollars sera prélevé pour le ou les certificats d'admissibilité délivrés par un bureau de courtiers en douane autorisé à cette fin par le Ministre des Affaires étrangères pour l'expédition d'un maximum de 15 produits différents,

b) un droit de 15 dollars sera prélevé pour le ou les certificats d'admissibilité délivrés par la Direction générale des licences d'exportation et d'importation pour l'expédition d'un maximum de 15 produits différents.

Annulation des certificats

19. Dans le cas où un certificat d'admissibilité n'est pas utilisé (par suite d'une annulation de commande ou pour toute autre raison), l'exportateur doit retourner sans délai l'exemplaire rose du certificat à la DGLEI pour annulation.

Le Directeur
Direction du contrôle des importations (Textiles et vêtements)
Direction générale des licences d'exportation et d'importation
Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international
C.P. 481, Station «A»
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1N 9K6

Téléphone : (613)996-3711
Télécopieur : (613)995-5137