Gender and the International Criminal Court (ICC)

On July 17, 1998, 120 countries provided for the world's first permanent International Criminal Court (ICC) by voting in favour of the Rome Statute.

The Rome Statute represents important advances in the prosecution of gender-based and sexually violent crimes that take place during armed conflict.

Historically, gender-based crimes have received little attention from investigators and prosecutors. The ICC strives to change that by including gender-based crimes in the Rome Statute and by making gender issues a central concern for the Court.

Background

Early in the process of negotiating the Rome Statute, participating States and nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) realized that they needed to create a gender-sensitive court. Accordingly, they pressed to incorporate provisions in the Rome Statute that address the full range of gender-based crimes against humanity and war crimes.

Delegates also made provisions to ensure that victims and witnesses, including victims and witnesses of gender-based crimes, could participate in the ICC process without revisiting traumatic experiences. To that end, negotiators guaranteed that ICC judges and staff would include individuals with expertise on gender-based crimes and the needs of the victims and witnesses of those crimes.

Genocide, Crimes Against Humanity and War Crimes

The central pillar of the Rome Statute is the definition of crimes. Both the definitions of crimes against humanity and war crimes specifically include “rape, sexual slavery, enforced prostitution, forced pregnancy, enforced sterilization, or any other form of sexual violence.” This list is significant because it represents a nuanced understanding of sexual violence within the context of international and internal armed conflicts. This understanding was first adopted by the International Criminal Tribunals for the Former Yugoslavia and Rwanda.

The definition of crimes against humanity also includes:

  • persecution of any identifiable group or collectivity on various grounds, including gender; and
  • enslavement, which includes trafficking in women.

Witnesses and Victims

Apart from the obvious recognition of gender-based offences in the Rome Statute's definitions of crimes, it includes a number of articles that will directly affect how women experience the ICC.

It is very difficult to prosecute crimes of sexual violence unless victims and witnesses can provide evidence for investigators and the Court. In order to minimize this difficulty, many governments and NGOs worked hard during ICC negotiations to define proper, gender-sensitive treatment of victims and witnesses.

The Rome Statute allows victims to participate at key intervals in the investigation and trial process. For example, victims can make representations to the Pre-Trial Chamber as part of the Prosecutor's request to authorize an investigation:

Article 15(3)
Prosecutor

If the Prosecutor concludes that there is a reasonable basis to proceed with an investigation, he or she shall submit to the Pre-Trial Chamber a request for authorization of an investigation, together with any supporting material collected. Victims may make representations to the Pre-Trial Chamber, in accordance with the Rules of Procedure and Evidence.

In order to protect the safety and well-being of victims, special measures may be taken when a victim appears before the Court, such as allowing the person to give testimony in a courtroom closed to the public:

Article 68(2)
Protection of the victims and witnesses and their participation in the proceedings

As an exception to the principle of public hearings provided for in article 67, the Chambers of the Court may, to protect victims and witnesses or an accused, conduct any part of the proceedings in camera or allow the presentation of evidence by electronic or other special means. In particular, such measures shall be implemented in the case of a victim of sexual violence or a child who is a victim or a witness, unless otherwise ordered by the Court, having regard to all the circumstances, particularly the views of the victim or witness.

The Rome Statute also provides for reparations to victims, which may include restitution, compensation and rehabilitation:

Article 75
Reparations to victims

  1. The Court shall establish principles relating to reparations to, or in respect of, victims, including restitution, compensation and rehabilitation. On this basis, in its decision the Court may, either upon request or on its own motion in exceptional circumstances, determine the scope and extent of any damage, loss and injury to, or in respect of, victims and will state the principles on which it is acting.
  2. The Court may make an order directly against a convicted person specifying appropriate reparations to, or in respect of, victims, including restitution, compensation and rehabilitation. Where appropriate, the Court may order that the award for reparations be made through the Trust Fund provided for in article 79.
  3. Before making an order under this article, the Court may invite and shall take account of representations from or on behalf of the convicted person, victims, other interested persons or interested States.
  4. In exercising its power under this article, the Court may, after a person is convicted of a crime within the jurisdiction of the Court, determine whether, in order to give effect to an order which it may make under this article, it is necessary to seek measures under article 93, paragraph 1.
  5. A State Party shall give effect to a decision under this article as if the provisions of article 109 were applicable to this article.
  6. Nothing in this article shall be interpreted as prejudicing the rights of victims under national or international law.

The ICC has a Victims and Witnesses Unit located within the Registry. This Unit is responsible for protecting and counseling victims and witnesses. The Victims and Witnesses Unit is staffed by individuals with extensive experience dealing with trauma related to crimes of sexual violence:

Article 43(6)
The Registry

The Registrar shall set up a Victims and Witnesses Unit within the Registry. This Unit shall provide, in consultation with the Office of the Prosecutor, protective measures and security arrangements, counseling and other appropriate assistance for witnesses, victims who appear before the Court, and others who are at risk on account of testimony given by such witnesses. The Unit shall include staff with expertise in trauma, including trauma related to crimes of sexual violence.

Staffing of the Court and Choice of Judges

All of the articles on crimes, victim participation and victim protection included in the Rome Statute would be virtually useless if the Court were not staffed by people who are aware of and sensitive to gender issues. Therefore, the Rome Statute specifically requires the Prosecutor and the Registrar to strive for fair representation of women and men on their staff, and to provide for staff with legal expertise on issues such as violence against women:

  • Article 42 states that “the Prosecutor shall appoint advisers with legal expertise on specific issues, including, but not limited to, sexual and gender violence and violence against children.”
  • Article 43(6) states that the Victims and Witnesses Unit “shall include staff with expertise in trauma, including trauma related to crimes of sexual violence.”
  • Article 36(8) specifies that when countries are choosing judges, they must take into account the need for a fair representation of female and male judges, as well as the need to include judges with legal expertise on violence against women.

Conclusion

The Rome Statute reflects the full range of gender issues relevant to the Court. Among the provisions that ensure that the rights of individuals are protected regardless of gender, the Rome Statute:

  • adds gender-based crimes and crimes of sexual violence to the list of crimes under ICC jurisdiction;
  • codifies the rights of victims during international criminal proceedings;
  • ensures that the ICC has gender-sensitive judges and staff; and
  • ensures that the ICC has a fair representation of female and male judges.

These provisions represent a truly great accomplishment and a significant step forward for international justice.

La problématique hommes-femmes et la Court Pénal International (CPI)

Le 17 juillet 1998, 120 pays ont voté en faveur de l'adoption du Statut de Rome, qui prévoit l'institution de la première cour pénale sur la scène internationale (la CPI).

Ce document représente un grand pas en avant au chapitre de la répression des actes de violence sexuelle et plus généralement des crimes sexistes en période de conflit armé.

Historiquement, les crimes sexistes ont reçu peu d'attention de la part des enquêteurs et des procureurs. La problématique hommes-femmes intéresse la CPI à bien des égards et elle s'efforce de pallier à la situation en vertu de l'inclusion de ces genres de crimes dans le Statut de Rome.

Contexte

Au début des négociations du Statut de Rome, les États et les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) se sont rendus compte qu'il fallait créer un tribunal sensible à la problématique hommes-femmes. Ils ont donc instamment demandé à ce qu'on incorpore au Statut des dispositions portant sur tout l'éventail des crimes contre l'humanité et des crimes de guerre de nature sexiste. Ils ont aussi pris des dispositions pour assurer aux victimes et aux témoins, et notamment aux victimes et aux témoins des crimes sexistes, un traitement non traumatisant. Par ailleurs, ils ont veillé à ce qu'il y ait parmi les juges et le personnel de la CPI des personnes compétentes en matière de violences à motivation sexiste et aptes à comprendre les besoins des victimes ou des témoins de ces crimes.

Génocide, crimes contre l'humanité et crimes de guerre

Le pilier central du Statut de Rome est la définition des crimes. Les définitions des crimes contre l'humanité et des crimes de guerre englobent « le viol, l'esclavage sexuel, la prostitution forcée, la grossesse forcée, la stérilisation forcée ou toute autre forme de violence sexuelle de gravité comparable ». Cette liste est très importante, car elle codifie enfin les interprétations nuancées données par les tribunaux pénaux internationaux constitués pour l'ex-Yougoslavie et le Rwanda des différents actes de violence sexuelle qui sont posés pendant les conflits armés internes ou internationaux.

La définition des crimes contre l'humanité englobe aussi :

  • la persécution de tout groupe ou de toute collectivité identifiable pour différents motifs, notamment des motifs d'ordre sexiste;
  • la réduction en esclavage, qui comprend la traite des femmes.

Victimes et témoins

Mise à part l'évidente reconnaissance des crimes sexistes dans les sections des définitions du Statut de Rome, plusieurs autres articles auront un effet direct sur les rapports entre les femmes et la CPI.

Le Procureur aura du mal à prouver les actes de violence sexuelle si les victimes et les témoins ne prouvent pas l'existence de ces actes aux enquêteurs et à la Cour. Par conséquent, une des principales préoccupations de beaucoup de gouvernements et d'ONG dans les négociations de la CPI a été d'assurer aux victimes et aux témoins un traitement approprié sensible à la problématique hommes-femmes.

Le Statut autorise les victimes à participer à l'enquête et au procès à des moments cruciaux. Ainsi, quand le Procureur présente à la Chambre préliminaire une demande d'autorisation d'enquête, les victimes peuvent aussi adresser des représentations à la Chambre.

Article 15(3)
Le Procureur

S'il conclut qu'il y a une base raisonnable pour ouvrir une enquête, le Procureur présente à la Chambre préliminaire une demande d'autorisation en ce sens, accompagnée de tout élément justificatif recueilli. Les victimes peuvent adresser des représentations à la Chambre préliminaire, conformément au Règlement de procédure et de preuve.

Quand une victime comparaît devant la Cour, des mesures spéciales peuvent être prises; on peut par exemple permettre à la personne de témoigner à huis clos afin d'assurer sa sécurité et son bien-être.

Article 68(2)
Protection et participation au procès des victimes et des témoins

Par exception au principe de la publicité des débats énoncé à l'article 67, les Chambres de la Cour peuvent, pour protéger les victimes et les témoins ou un accusé, ordonner le huis clos pour une partie quelconque de la procédure ou permettre que les dépositions soient recueillies par des moyens électroniques ou autres moyens spéciaux. Ces mesures sont appliquées en particulier à l'égard d'une victime de violence sexuelle ou d'un enfant qui est victime ou témoin, à moins que la Cour n'en décide autrement compte tenu de toutes les circonstances, en particulier des vues de la victime ou du témoin.

Le Statut de Rome prévoit aussi une réparation en faveur des victimes, qui peut prendre la forme de la restitution, de l'indemnisation ou de la réhabilitation.

Article 75
Réparation en faveur des victimes

  1. La Cour établit des principes applicables aux formes de réparation, telles que la restitution, l'indemnisation ou la réhabilitation, à accorder aux victimes ou à leurs ayants droit. Sur cette base, la Cour peut, sur demande, ou de son propre chef dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, déterminer dans sa décision l'ampleur du dommage, de la perte ou du préjudice causé aux victimes ou à leurs ayants droit, en indiquant les principes sur lesquels elle fonde sa décision.
  2. La cour peut rendre contre une personne condamnée une ordonnance indiquant la réparation qu'il convient d'accorder aux victimes ou à leurs ayants droit. Cette réparation peut prendre notamment la forme de la restitution, de l'indemnisation ou de la réhabilitation. Le cas échéant, la Cour peut décider que l'indemnité accordée à titre de réparation est versée par l'intermédiaire du Fonds visé à l'article 79.
  3. Avant de rendre une ordonnance en vertu du présent article, la Cour peut solliciter, et prendre en considération, les observations de la personne condamnée, des victimes, des autres personnes intéressées ou des États intéressés, et les observations formulées au nom de ces personnes ou de ces États.
  4. Lorsqu'elle exerce le pouvoir que lui confère le présent article et après qu'une personne a été reconnue coupable d'un crime relevant de sa compétence, la Cour peut déterminer s'il est nécessaire, pour donner effet aux ordonnances qu'elle rend en vertu du présent article, de demander des mesures au titre de l'article 93, paragraphe 1.
  5. Les États Parties font appliquer les décisions prises en vertu du présent article comme si les dispositions de l'article 109 étaient applicables au présent article.
  6. Les dispositions du présent article s'entendent sans préjudice des droits que le droit interne ou le droit international reconnaissent aux victimes.

La Cour a établi au sein du Greffe une Division d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins. Cette Division est chargée de protéger et de conseiller les victimes et les témoins. Son personnel comprend des spécialistes de l'aide aux victimes de traumatismes, y compris de traumatismes reliés à des violences sexuelles.

Article 43(6)
Le Greffe

Le Greffier crée, au sein du Greffe, une Division d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins. Cette division est chargée, en consultation avec le Bureau du Procureur, de conseiller et d'aider de toute manière appropriée les témoins, les victimes qui comparaissent devant la Cour et les autres personnes auxquelles les dépositions de ces témoins peuvent faire courir un risque, ainsi que de prévoir les mesures et les dispositions à prendre pour assurer leur protection et leur sécurité. Le personnel de la Division comprend des spécialistes de l'aide aux victimes de traumatismes, y compris de traumatismes consécutifs à des violences sexuelles.

Dotation de la Cour et choix des juges

Tous les articles portant sur les crimes, la participation des victimes et leur protection seraient pratiquement sans utilité si la Cour ne comptait pas dans son personnel des personnes sensibles à la problématique hommes-femmes. Le Statut exige donc expressément que le Procureur et le Greffier veillent à la représentation équitable des femmes et des hommes au sein de leurs effectifs et tiennent compte de la nécessité d'y inclure des spécialistes du droit sur des sujets particuliers, comme la violence faite aux femmes.

  • L'article 42 dit : « Le Procureur nomme des conseillers qui sont des spécialistes du droit relatif à certaines questions, y compris, mais sans s'y limiter, celles des violences sexuelles, des violences à motivation sexiste et des violences contre les enfants. »
  • L'article 43(6) dit : « La Division d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins, au sein du Greffe, comprend des spécialistes de l'aide aux victimes de traumatismes, y compris de traumatismes consécutifs à des violences sexuelles ».
  • L'article 36(8) stipule que lorsque les États choisissent les juges, ils tiennent compte de la nécessité de prévoir, dans la composition de la Cour, une représentation équitable des hommes et des femmes, comme de celle d'assurer la présence de juges spécialisés dans les questions liées à la violence contre les femmes.

Conclusion

Le Statut de Rome reflète toute la gamme des enjeux de la problématique hommes-femmes qui seront de la compétence de la Cour. Parmi les dispositions assurant que les droits des individus sont protégés pour les hommes comme pour les femmes, le Statut de Rome :

  • ajoute à la liste des crimes relevant de la Cour, les crimes sexistes et les actes de violence sexuelle;
  • codifie les droits des victimes dans les poursuites pénales internationales ;
  • veille à ce que la Cour emploie des juges et effectifs sensibles à la problématique hommes-femmes ;
  • veille à ce que la Cour emploie une représentation équitable d'hommes et de femmes au sein de ses effectifs.

Ces dispositions représentent un progrès considérable en droit international.