Victim Rights

One of the International Criminal Court's primary goals is to deliver justice to the victims of the world's most horrific crimes. Indeed, the plight of the victims of conflict around the world was a major source of motivation for the delegates who drafted the Rome Statute. As a result, the Rome Statute is sensitive to the needs and rights of victims both as individuals who have suffered traumatic experiences and witnesses who play a crucial role in bringing criminals to justice.


Background

One of the exceptional features of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court is its focus on and sensitivity to the rights and interests of victims.

Prior to the 1990s, international human rights and humanitarian law often overlooked the perspectives and needs of the victims of the world's worst crimes. Over the years, courts have rarely succeeded in prosecuting the perpetrators of these crimes a failure that has caused their victims unimaginable pain, sadness and frustration.

The International Criminal Tribunals for Rwanda (ICTR) and the former Yugoslavia (ICTY) represented important steps forward in terms of the status of victims within the international criminal process. The Rome Statute advances the interests of victims under international criminal law even farther, not only by protecting victims, but by acknowledging their rights and interests and encouraging them to participate in the judicial process.

Redress for Individuals Against Individuals

International law has traditionally been regarded as the "law between States." The Rome Statute reorients this long-standing notion by acting as an international legal instrument that provides victims with redress against the individuals who perpetrated crimes against them.

The Preamble of the Rome Statute declares that States Parties are "determined to put an end to impunity for the perpetrators of ... crimes" under the ICC's jurisdiction. More specifically, Article 25 of the Rome Statute clearly states which individuals are under the jurisdiction of the ICC:

Article 25
Individual criminal responsibility

  1. The Court shall have jurisdiction over natural persons pursuant to this Statute.
  2. A person who commits a crime within the jurisdiction of the Court shall be individually responsible and liable for punishment in accordance with this Statute ...
  3. No provision in this Statute relating to individual criminal responsibility shall affect the responsibility of States under international law.

This represents a new orientation towards individual criminal responsibility. In addition, Article 13(a) and Article 13(c) of the Rome Statute permit states and the ICC Prosecutor to initiate prosecutions based upon requests and information brought forward by individual victims. Both these advances provide victims with a potential source of empowerment.

Lack of Immunity

Another landmark provision of the Rome Statute specifically states that alleged perpetrators cannot claim immunity from prosecution for crimes under the ICC's jurisdiction:

Article 27
Irrelevance of Official Capacity

  1. This Statute shall apply equally to all persons without any distinction based on official capacity. In particular, official capacity as Head of State or Government, a member of a Government or parliament, an elected representative or a government official shall in no case exempt a person from criminal responsibility under this Statute, nor shall it, in and of itself, constitute a ground for reduction of sentence.

This means the victims of human rights abuses and violations of humanitarian law will no longer see the perpetrators avoid prosecution because of their status as government officials.

Back to Top

The Victims and Witnesses Unit

Understanding the importance of witnesses and the potentially unique needs of victims as witnesses, the ICC features a Victims and Witnesses Unit that protects victims and witnesses and provides them with counselling services as required. In accordance with the Statute, the Victims and Witnesses Unit is staffed by personnel who are experienced in counselling those who have suffered the trauma of sexual violence:

Article 43
The Registry

  1. The Registrar shall set up a Victims and Witnesses Unit within the Registry. The Unit shall provide, in consultation with the Office of the Prosecutor, protective measures and security arrangements, counselling and other appropriate assistance for witnesses, victims who appear before the Court, and others who are at risk on account of testimony given by such witnesses. The Unit shall include staff with expertise in trauma, including trauma related to crimes of sexual violence.

Back to Top

Investigations

The Rome Statute is also sensitive to the needs of victims during ICC investigations. The Statute bestows a specific duty on the Prosecutor to "respect the interests and personal circumstances of victims and witnesses" throughout the investigation process:

Article 54
Duties and powers of the Prosecutor with respect to investigations

  1. The Prosecutor shall ...
    1. Take appropriate measures to ensure the effective investigation and prosecution of crimes within the jurisdiction of the Court, and in doing so, respect the interests and personal circumstances of victims and witnesses, including age, gender as defined in article 7, paragraph 3, and health, and take into account the nature of the crime, in particular where it involves sexual violence, gender violence or violence against children; and
    2. Fully respect the rights of persons arising under this Statute.

Back to Top

Protection at Trial

Not only does the Rome Statute provide for victim-sensitive investigations of alleged ICC crimes; it also addresses the safety of victims at the trial phase in the enumerated functions and powers of the Trial Chamber:

Article 64
Functions and Powers of the Trial Chamber

  1. The Trial Chamber shall ensure that a trial is fair and expeditious and is conducted with full respect for the rights of the accused and due regard for the protection of victims and witnesses.

More specifically, the Rome Statute requires the ICC to safeguard the well-being of victims and witnesses in a manner that respects the individual needs of each victim:

Article 68
Protection of the victims and witnesses and their participation in the proceedings

  1. The Court shall take appropriate measures to protect the safety, physical and psychological well-being, dignity and privacy of victims and witnesses. In so doing, the Court shall have regard to all relevant factors, including age, gender as defined in article 7, paragraph 3, and health, and the nature of the crime, in particular, but not limited to, where the crime involves sexual or gender violence or violence against children. The Prosecutor shall take such measures particularly during the investigation and prosecution of such crimes. These measures shall not be prejudicial to or inconsistent with the rights of the accused and a fair and impartial trial.

The Rome Statute also allows the ICC to conduct private hearings in order to protect victims:

Article 68
Protection of the victims and witnesses and their participation in the proceedings

  1. As an exception to the principle of public hearings provided for in article 67, the Chambers of the Court may, to protect victims and witnesses or an accused, conduct any part of the proceedings in camera or allow the presentation of evidence by electronic or other special means. In particular, such measures shall be implemented in the case of a victim of sexual violence or a child who is a victim or a witness, unless otherwise ordered by the Court, having regard to all the circumstances, particularly the views of the victim or witness ...
  2. The Victims and Witnesses Unit may advise the Prosecutor and the Court on appropriate protective measures, security arrangements, counselling and assistance as referred to in article 43, paragraph 6.
  3. Where the disclosure of evidence or information pursuant to this Statute may lead to the grave endangerment of the security of a witness or his or her family, the Prosecutor may, for the purposes of any proceedings conducted prior to the commencement of the trial, withhold such evidence or information and instead submit a summary thereof. Such measures shall be exercised in a manner which is not prejudicial to or inconsistent with the rights of the accused and a fair and impartial trial.
  4. A State may make an application for necessary measures to be taken in respect of the protection of its servants or agents and the protection of confidential or sensitive information.

Victim Participation

A notable quality of the Rome Statute is that it gives victims a voice and the opportunity to be heard at all stages of the proceedings before the Court. They may also file submissions on all matters relating to the competence of the Court or the admissibility of cases.

On January 17, 2006, the Pre-Trial Chamber decided that victims have the right to participate in the proceedings at the investigation stage pursuant to the provisions of article 68(3) of the Rome Statute.

Article 68
Protection of the victims and witnesses and their participation in the proceedings

  1. Where the personal interests of the victims are affected, the Court shall permit their views and concerns to be presented and considered at stages of the proceedings determined to be appropriate by the Court and in a manner which is not prejudicial to or inconsistent with the rights of the accused and a fair and impartial trial. Such views and concerns may be presented by the legal representatives of the victims where the Court considers it appropriate, in accordance with the Rules of Procedure and Evidence.

Back to Top

Reparations

The Rome Statute allows judges to include reparations to victims in the sentences of convicted persons in the form of restitution, compensation and rehabilitation. This means that ICC judges can order convicted criminals to pay reparations to victims based on the amount of damage, loss and injury the victims sustained:

Article 75
Reparations to victims

  1. The Court shall establish principles relating to reparations to, or in respect of, victims, including restitution, compensation and rehabilitation. On this basis, in its decision the Court may, either upon request or on its own motion in exceptional circumstances, determine the scope and extent of any damage, loss and injury to, or in respect of, victims and will state the principles on which it is acting.
  2. The Court may make an order directly against a convicted person specifying appropriate reparations to, or in respect of, victims, including restitution, compensation and rehabilitation.
    Where appropriate, the Court may order reparations to be made through the ICC Trust Fund described in article 79 of the Rome Statute.
  3. Before making an order under this article, the Court may invite and shall take account of representations from or on behalf of the convicted person, victims, other interested persons or interested States.
  4. In exercising its power under this article, the Court may, after a person is convicted of a crime within the jurisdiction of the Court, determine whether, in order to give effect to an order which it may make under this article, it is necessary to seek measures under article 93, paragraph 1.
  5. A State Party shall give effect to a decision under this article as if the provisions of article 109 were applicable to this article.
  6. Nothing in this article shall be interpreted as prejudicing the rights of victims under national or international law.

Back to Top

Trust Fund

As part of its mandate, the ICC manages a trust fund for the benefit of victims and their families. While no monetary value can be placed on the human suffering the victims may have endured, the Trust Fund provides a measure of monetary relief to victims and their families:

Article 79
Trust Fund

  1. A Trust Fund shall be established by decision of the Assembly of States Parties for the benefit of victims of crimes within the jurisdiction of the Court, and of the families of such victims.
  2. The Court may order money and other property collected through fines or forfeiture to be transferred, by order of the Court, to the Trust Fund.
  3. The Trust Fund shall be managed according to criteria to be determined by the Assembly of States Parties.

Back to Top

Conclusion

The ICC has made significant advances in protecting and recognizing the rights and interests of the victims of the world's worst crimes. The Rome Statute is sensitive to issues that relate to the role of victims as witnesses and as individuals who have experienced extremely traumatic events. In this way, the Rome Statute strengthens the position of the victim under international law and provides victims with much-needed opportunities for empowerment and agency. This represents a crucial step forward for victims of heinous crimes all over the world, who have historically been under-represented, if not forgotten by judicial systems.

Droits des victimes

Fournir des moyens d'obtenir justice pour les victimes des crimes les plus horribles du monde est un objectif primordial de la Cour pénale internationale. À vrai dire, l'horreur de la situation et des souffrances des victimes de conflits qui se produisent un peu partout dans le monde aura été une grande source d'inspiration pour les rédacteurs du Statut de Rome. Par conséquent le Statut de Rome est particulièrement axé sur les besoins et les droits des victimes - tant sur le plan des individus qui ont vécu des expériences traumatiques que des témoins qui jouent un rôle crucial pour ce qui est de traduire les criminels devant les tribunaux.


Contexte

Contexte

La place prépondérante accordée aux droits et aux intérêts des victimes constitue, en effet, une des caractéristiques exceptionnelles du Statut de Rome de la Cour pénale internationale.

Avant les années 1990, on n'avait prêté qu'une attention limitée aux perspectives et aux besoins des victimes de crimes les plus atroces connus de l’humanité. Au fil des années, les tribunaux ont rarement réussi à traduire les criminels en justice - une violation qui a causé à leurs victimes des douleurs, de la tristesse et des frustrations qui défient l’imagination.

La création des Tribunaux pénaux internationaux pour le Rwanda (TPIR) et l'ex-Yougoslavie (TPIY) aura été décisive pour l'avancement de la situation des victimes dans le processus pénal international. Le Statut de Rome vise non seulement à protéger les victimes, mais reconnaît également leurs droits et intérêts et encourage leur participation au processus judiciaire.

Recours personnels contre des individus

Le droit international a traditionnellement été considéré comme le " droit entre États ". Dans une variation sur ce concept établi de longue date, le Statut de Rome est un instrument juridique international qui offre des recours aux victimes contre les individus ayant commis des crimes contre eux.

Dans le Préambule du Statut de Rome, il est déclaré que les États Parties sont « déterminés à mettre un terme à l'impunité des auteurs de […] crimes » relevant de la compétence de la CPI. L'article 25 du Statut de Rome établit plus précisément, et en termes clairs, la compétence de la CPI à l'égard des individus

Article 25
Responsabilité pénale individuelle

  1. La Cour est compétente à l’égard des personnes physiques en vertu du présent Statut.
  2. Quiconque commet un crime relevant de la compétence de la Cour est individuellement responsable et peut être puni conformément au présent Statut …
  3. Aucune disposition du présent Statut relative à la responsabilité pénale des individus n'affecte la responsabilité des États en droit international.

Ces critères représentent une nouvelle orientation quant à la responsabilité individuelle. En outre, les paragraphes 13(a) et 13(c) du Statut de Rome permettent aux États et au Procureur de déférer des situations à la Cour aux fins de poursuites sur la base des renseignements reçus et des dépositions des victimes. Ces deux percées contribuent à favoriser la participation des victimes.

Absence d'immunité

Le Statut de Rome renferme une autre disposition novatrice qui fera date : il y est expressément prévu que les criminels présumés ne peuvent invoquer l'immunité pour échapper aux poursuites exercées contre eux à l'égard de crimes relevant de la compétence de la CPI.

Article 27
Défaut de pertinence de la qualité officielle

  1. Le présent Statut s'applique à tous de manière égale, sans aucune distinction fondée sur la qualité officielle. En particulier, la qualité officielle de chef d'État ou de gouvernement, de membre d'un gouvernement ou d'un parlement, de représentant élu ou d'agent d'un État, n'exonère en aucun cas de la responsabilité pénale au regard du présent Statut, pas plus qu'elle ne constitue en tant que telle un motif de réduction de la peine.

Les victimes de violations des droits de la personne et de violations du droit humanitaire ne verront plus les auteurs de ces crimes échapper aux poursuites en raison de leur simple qualité de représentant officiel d'un gouvernement.

Haut de la page

La Division d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins

Compte tenu de l'importance des témoins et du fait que les victimes pourraient bien avoir des besoins exceptionnels en tant que témoins, la CPI dispose d'une Division d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins chargée de protéger les victimes et les témoins et de leur fournir, s'il y a lieu, des services de conseillers professionnels. Conformément au Statut, la division d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins est dotée de spécialistes de la consultation auprès des victimes de violences sexuelles.

Article 43
Le Greffe

  1. Le Greffier crée, au sein du Greffe, une Division d'aide aux victimes et aux témoins. Cette division est chargée, en consultation avec le Bureau du Procureur, de conseiller et d'aider de toute manière appropriée les témoins, les victimes qui comparaissent devant la Cour et les autres personnes auxquelles les dépositions de ces témoins peuvent faire courir un risque, ainsi que de prévoir les mesures et les dispositions à prendre pour assurer leur protection et leur sécurité. Le personnel de la Division comprend des spécialistes de l'aide aux victimes de traumatismes, y compris de traumatismes consécutifs à des violences sexuelles.

Haut de la page

Enquêtes

Le Statut de Rome exige également qu'il soit tenu compte de besoins de la victime dans les enquêtes sur les crimes présumés relevant de la compétence de la CPI, en imposant formellement au Procureur des obligations envers les victimes et les témoins.

Article 54
Devoirs et pouvoirs du Procureur en matière d'enquêtes

  1. Le Procureur …
    1. prend les mesures appropriées pour assurer l'efficacité des enquêtes et des poursuites visant des crimes relevant de la compétence de la Cour. Ce faisant, il a égard aux intérêts et à la situation personnelle des victimes et des témoins, y compris leur âge, leur sexe, tel que défini à l'article 7, paragraphe 3, et leur état de santé; il tient également compte de la nature du crime, en particulier lorsque celui-ci comporte des violences sexuelles, des violences à caractère sexiste ou des violences contre des enfants;
    2. respecte pleinement les droits des personnes énoncés dans le présent Statut.

Haut de la page

Protection au cours du procès

Dans l'énumération des fonctions et des pouvoirs de la Chambre de première instance, le Statut de Rome exige qu'on tienne compte des intérêts des victimes non seulement dans les enquêtes sur des crimes relevant de la CPI, mais également pendant les procès.

Article 64
Fonctions et pouvoirs de la Chambre de première instance

  1. La Chambre de première instance veille à ce que le procès soit conduit de façon équitable et avec diligence, dans le plein respect des droits de l'accusé et en ayant pleinement égard à la nécessité d'assurer la protection des victimes et des témoins.

Plus précisément, le Statut de Rome oblige la CPI à protéger le bien-être des victimes et des témoins d'une manière qui soit adaptée aux besoins particuliers de chaque victime.

Article 68
Protection et participation au procès des victimes et des témoins

  1. La Cour prend les mesures propres à protéger la sécurité, le bien-être physique et psychologique, la dignité et le respect de la vie privée des victimes et des témoins. Ce faisant, elle tient compte de tous les facteurs pertinents, notamment l'âge, le sexe tel que défini à l'article 7, paragraphe 3, et l'état de santé, ainsi que la nature du crime, en particulier, mais sans s'y limiter, lorsque celui-ci s'accompagne de violences à caractère sexuel, de violences à caractère sexiste ou de violences contre des enfants. Le Procureur prend ces mesures en particulier au stade de l'enquête et des poursuites. Ces mesures ne doivent être ni préjudiciables ni contraires aux droits de la défense et aux exigences d'un procès équitable et impartial.

Le Statut de Rome prévoit également la tenue d'audiences en privé, lorsque nécessaire pour la protection des victimes :

Article 68
Protection et participation au procès des victimes et des témoins

  1. Par exception au principe de la publicité des débats énoncé à l'article 67, les Chambres de la Cour peuvent, pour protéger les victimes et les témoins ou un accusé, ordonner le huis clos pour une partie quelconque de la procédure ou permettre que les dépositions soient recueillies par des moyens électroniques ou autres moyens spéciaux. Ces mesures sont appliquées en particulier à l'égard d'une victime de violences sexuelles ou d'un enfant qui est victime ou témoin, à moins que la Cour n'en décide autrement compte tenu de toutes les circonstances, en particulier des vues de la victime ou du témoin…
  2. La Division d’aide aux victimes et aux témoins peut conseiller le Procureur de la Cour sur les mesures de protection, les dispositions de sécurité et les activités de conseil et d’aide visées à l’article 43, paragraphe 6.
  3. Lorsque la divulgation d'éléments de preuve et de renseignements en vertu du présent Statut risque de mettre gravement en danger un témoin ou les membres de sa famille, le Procureur peut, dans toute procédure engagée avant l'ouverture du procès, s'abstenir de divulguer ces éléments de preuve ou de renseignements et en présenter le résumé. De telles mesures doivent être appliquées d'une manière qui n'est ni préjudiciable ni contraire aux droits de la défense et aux exigences d'un procès équitable et impartial.
  4. Un État peut demander que soient prises les mesures nécessaires pour assurer la protection de ses fonctionnaires ou agents et la protection d'informations confidentielles ou sensibles.

Haut de la page

Participation des victimes

Un des avantages remarquables du Statut de Rome est qu'il permet aux victimes de se faire entendre à toutes les étapes de la procédure devant la Cour. Les victimes peuvent aussi présenter des observations sur toute question ayant trait à la compétence de la Cour ou à l'admissibilité d'une affaire.

Le 17 janvier 2006, la Chambre préliminaire a décidé que les victimes avaient le droit de participer à la procédure à l'étape de l'enquête, conformément aux dispositions de l'Article 68(3) du Statut de Rome. Lire la décision ici (PDF 324 ko).

Article 68
Protection et participation au procès des victimes et des témoins

  1. Lorsque les intérêts personnels des victimes sont concernés, la Cour permet que leurs vues et préoccupations soient exposées et examinées, à des stades de la procédure qu'elle estime appropriés et d'une manière qui n'est ni préjudiciable ni contraire aux droits de la défense et aux exigences d'un procès équitable et impartial. Ces vues et préoccupations peuvent être exposées par les représentants légaux des victimes lorsque la Cour l'estime approprié, conformément au Règlement de procédure et de preuve.

Haut de la page

Réparation

Le Statut de Rome permet aux juges de prévoir des réparations en faveur des victimes, sous forme de restitution, d'indemnisation ou de réhabilitation, dans les peines qu'il prononce contre les personnes déclarées coupables. En d’autres mots, le Statut de Rome permet aux juges d'évaluer les préjudices subis par les victimes et d'ordonner que l'accusé verse directement la réparation correspondante aux victimes.

Article 75
Réparation en faveur des victimes

  1. La Cour établit des principes applicables aux formes de réparation, telles que la restitution, l’indemnisation ou la réhabilitation, à accorder aux victimes. Sur cette base, la Cour peut, sur demande, ou de son propre chef dans des circonstances exceptionnelles, déterminer dans sa décision l'ampleur du dommage, de la perte ou du préjudice causé aux victimes, en indiquant les principes sur lesquels elle fonde sa décision.
  2. La Cour peut rendre contre une personne condamnée une ordonnance indiquant la réparation qu'il convient d'accorder aux victimes. Cette réparation peut prendre la forme de la restitution, de l'indemnisation ou de la réhabilitation.
    Le cas échéant, la Cour peut décider que l'indemnité accordée à titre de réparation soit versée par l'intermédiaire du Fonds visé à l'article 79 du Statut de Rome.
  3. Avant de rendre une ordonnance en vertu du présent article, la Cour peut solliciter, et prendre en considération, les observations de la personne condamnée, des victimes, des autres personnes intéressées et des États intéressés, et les observations formulées au nom de ces personnes ou de ces États.
  4. Lorsqu’elle exerce le pouvoir que lui confère le présent article et après qu'une personne a été reconnue coupable d'un crime relevant de sa compétence, la Cour peut déterminer s'il est nécessaire, pour donner effet aux ordonnances qu'elle rend en vertu du présent article, de demander des mesures au titre de l'article 93, paragraphe 1.
  5. Les États Parties font appliquer les décisions prises en vertu du présent article comme si les dispositions de l'article 109 étaient applicables au présent article.
  6. Les dispositions du présent article s'entendent sans préjudice des droits que le droit interne ou le droit international reconnaissent aux victimes.

Haut de la page

Fonds au profit des victimes

Dans le cadre de son mandat, la CPI administre un fonds au profit des victimes et de leurs familles. Bien qu'il soit impossible de chiffrer les souffrances que pourraient avoir endurées les victimes, le fonds permet dans une certaine mesure de verser une compensation pécuniaire aux victimes et à leurs familles.

Article 79
Fonds au profit des victimes

  1. Un fonds est créé, sur décision de l'Assemblée des États Parties, au profit des victimes de crimes relevant de la compétence de la Cour et de leurs familles.
  2. La Cour peut ordonner que le produit des amendes et tout autre bien confisqué soient versés au fonds.
  3. Le fonds est géré selon les principes déterminés par l'Assemblée des États Parties.

Haut de la page

Conclusion

La CPI représente un grand pas en avant aux chapitres de la protection et de la reconnaissance des droits et des intérêts des victimes des pires crimes du monde. Le Statut de Rome traite des questions relatives au rôle des victimes en tant que témoins aussi bien qu'à titre d'individus qui ont vécu des événements extrêmement traumatiques. Ainsi, le Statut de Rome renforce la position des victimes en droit international, en leur fournissant des moyens d'action et un arbitre. Ces mesures constituent une percée importante pour les victimes de crimes haineux partout dans le monde, qui ont été sous-représentés à travers l’histoire, sinon oubliés par les systèmes judiciaires.