Key Guiding Principles

We have established the Key Guiding Principles for the Office, in alphabetical order: Accessibility, Effectiveness, Independence, Predictability, Responsiveness, Transparency.

The Office recognizes that these principles must not be static. The Office therefore commits to seeing its principles as a work in progress and will seek to improve their functionality over time.

Accessibility

The process must keep “users” squarely in mind, and must aim to be as clear and straight forward as possible to allow accessibility for community members regardless of level of education, social standing, etc. Affected communities should not be expected to have familiarity with global standards, specific corporate policies and procedures, or equivalent technical know-how.

Effectiveness

An effective mechanism fosters the conditions for solutions, builds trust between the users (company, local communities) and creates lasting, fair outcomes. It makes choices about resource allocations. It must also make explicit the distinction between effectiveness (the achievement of the desired outcome) and efficacy (the resources needed to get us to that outcome). Not in every case would the Office’s involvement be an efficient use of its resources.

Independence

The issues surrounding extractive industries are often controversial and deeply polarizing. Positions harden and become entrenched. In this environment, the Office must stake out a balanced approach, being open to different perspectives on the problem without taking sides or pushing particular agendas. The Office and its staff must not be perceived as favouring any interest over another, or be influenced by any key stakeholder groups. Its independence and impartiality will build its credibility and legitimacy. The Office staff must avoid relationships that may be or may be seen to be compromising the Office’s ability to bring a balanced view to the situation.

Predictability

The process must have clear timelines, predictable stages and milestones, while flexibility is also critical. The process is clearly articulated in the rules of procedure and in the accompanying information brochure. A web registry keeps the public informed of new requests for review and progress on existing requests.

Responsiveness

Under the mandate governed by the Order in Council, the Counsellor is directly accountable to the Minister of International Trade. The Counsellor must however, be responsive to the many other stakeholders with an interest in these issues, and to changing needs, circumstances and the evolution of the external environment.

Transparency

There is a distinction between transparency of process, which is to be encouraged and is deemed critical for the Office, and transparency of information, some of which may well need to be kept confidential in order to have the work proceed in practical terms.

Les Principes clés dirigeants

Nous avons établi les principes directeurs clés pour le Bureau, soit, en ordre alphabétique : Accessibilité, efficacité, indépendance, prévisibilité, souplesse et transparence.

L'Office reconnaît que ces principes ne doit pas être statique. Pour ces raisons, le Bureau s’engage à veiller à ce que ses principes fassent l’objet d’une mise à jour constante, et à chercher à améliorer leur efficacité avec le temps.

Accessibilité

Le processus doit être centré sur  « l’utilisateur », et doit viser à être aussi clair et précis que possible afin que les membres de la communauté puissent y accéder sans égard à leur niveau d’éducation. On ne doit pas s’attendre à ce que les collectivités touchées connaissent bien les normes mondiales et les politiques et les procédures de gestion particulières, ou qu’elles possèdent le savoir-faire technique équivalent.

Efficacité

Pour être efficace, tout mécanisme doit favoriser les conditions permettant de trouver des solutions, établir la confiance entre les utilisateurs (entreprise, collectivités locales) et donner des résultats durables et équitables. Il fait des choix quant aux allocations des ressources. Il doit également expliquer clairement la différence entre efficacité (l’atteinte d’un résultat souhaité) et rendement (les ressources nécessaires pour atteindre ce résultat). Il y aura des cas où la participation du Bureau signifiera une utilisation inefficace de ses ressources.

Indépendance

Les questions qui entourent l’industrie extractive amènent souvent la controverse et le clivage. Les opinions se durcissent et s’enracinent. Dans un tel environnement, le Bureau doit prendre une approche équilibrée et rester ouvert aux différents points de vue sur la question sans prendre parti ni imposer un échéancier précis. Le Bureau et son personnel ne doivent pas être perçus comme favorisant certains intérêts plutôt que d’autres, ni être influencés par quelque groupe que ce soit. L’indépendance du Bureau ainsi que son impartialité constituent le fondement de sa crédibilité et de sa légitimité. Le personnel du Bureau doit éviter toute relation qui pourrait compromettre – ou sembler compromettre – la capacité du Bureau à apporter un point de vue équitable de la situation.

Prévisibilité

Le processus doit avoir des échéanciers précis, des étapes prévisibles et des jalons. En même temps, la flexibilité est aussi cruciale. Le processus est décrit clairement dans les règles de procédure et dans la brochure d’information qui l’accompagne. Un registre créé sur Internet afin permet au public de se tenir informé des nouvelles demandes d’examen et du progrès des demandes existantes.

Souplesse

En vertu du mandat confié par le décret en conseil, la conseillère relève directement du ministre du Commerce international. Elle doit toutefois être à l’écoute de tous les autres intervenants qui s’intéressent à ces questions, des besoins évolutifs, des circonstances et de l’évolution de l’environnement externe.

Transparence

Il y a une distinction entre la transparence du processus, laquelle doit être favorisée étant donné son importance pour le Bureau, et la transparence de l’information dont certains éléments doivent demeurer confidentiels pour que le processus puisse suivre son cours.