Export and Import Controls System (EICS)

Executive Summary

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) has the primary responsibility for the promotion and protection of Canada's interests abroad and the conduct of Canada's relations with other countries. The Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) empowers the Department to issue permits and assist Canadian exporters and importers.

The Export Import Control System (EICS) is a mission critical system that enables licensed Canadian Customs Brokers to apply on-line for the necessary permits for the importation and exportation of certain goods to and from Canada. During the course of issuing permits and conducting Export Import Control through the usage of the EICS system, the Department collects, accumulates, and manages personal information. The EICS offers a secure WEB interface and an Electronic Data Interchange interface to support the application, approval, and processing of import/export permits. The system also features import/export quota management functionality.

The Department’s primary objective is to ensure that the EICS and all of the business functions currently included in the existing system are available to DFAIT’s client on every business day and that DFAIT can satisfy its Operations Pledge to Canadian businesses. The EICS availability is critical to Canadian businesses involved in the import or export of goods to the Canadian economy.

While the economic benefits of free-flowing trade are one of Canada's greatest assets, control of importing/exporting of goods have been judged essential. The EIPA provides that the Governor-in-Council may establish lists known as: the Import Control List (ICL), the Export Control List (ECL), and the Area Control List (ACL). The Act sets out the purposes for including goods or countries on these lists. Most controlled goods require an Individual Permit for import or export, although some goods may enjoy facilitated treatment under a General Permit. Import Permit Regulations (IPR) and Export Permit Regulations (EPR) establish procedures for obtaining permits. Copies are available upon request.

A Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) was conducted on the Import Export Control Systems (EICS) in order to identify and assess possible privacy risks and mitigation measures, and ensuring compliance with the government’s privacy protection legislation and principles. While EICS is a large and complex operation, the assessment found no significant privacy risk, however, the assessment found low-level risks in areas of consent and collection that need to be mitigated. Proper mitigation strategies have been devised and planned to protect personal information in accordance with the Government’s policies and departmental guidelines.

Risk Analysis Segment

The following is a risk analysis and mitigations offered to remedy these risks.

  1. Accountability

    Identified Risk: No risk found.

  2. Purpose

    Identified Risk: No risk found.

  3. Consent

    Identified Risk: Consignee’s personal information

    Risk Level: Low

    Mitigation Strategy: The Government of Canada, which includes DFAIT, does not have access to internationally based consignees outside Canada; consequently, it is impossible to inform the consignees of their privacy rights directly.

    To this end, the Department will take steps to inform Brokers and exporters of the privacy rights of the consignees, where the exporter is required to have adequate consent from the consignee for disclosure. This will be achieved through a Privacy Notice Statement (PNS) that would be present as part of the export permits process.

    The Department intends to develop communication material targeted at Brokers, informing them of the privacy protection requirements. These will include the review of PNS by the exporter and confirmation that the exporter has understood his/her rights as well as obligations.

  4. Collection

    Identified Risk: Privacy Notice Statement

    Risk Level: Low

    Mitigation Strategy: The departmental Administration and Technology Services Division will be developing a Privacy Notice Statement in accordance with the departmental guidelines and with the assistance of the Access to Information and Privacy Protection Division at DFAIT to be posted on all applications where personal information is collected. The Privacy Notice Statement will be shared with Brokers to be communicated to the Importers / Exporters.

  5. Use, Disclosure and Retention

    Identified Risk: No risk found.

  6. Accuracy

    Identified Risk: No risk found.

  7. Safeguarding

    Identified Risk: No risk found.

  8. Openness

    Identified Risk: No risk found.

  9. Individual Access

    Identified Risk: No risk found.

  10. Compliance

    Identified Risk: No risk found.

Système des contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation (SCEI)

Sommaire exécutif

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international(MAECI) a la responsabilité première de promouvoir et de défendre les intérêts du Canada à l’étranger ainsi que de diriger les relations du Canada avec les autres pays. La Loi sur les licences d’exportation et d’importation(LLEI) habilite le Ministère à délivrer des licences et à aider les exportateurs et importateurs canadiens.

Le système des contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation(SCEI) est un système crucial pour les missions qui permet aux courtiers en douanes canadiens agréés de présenter une demande en ligne en vue d’obtenir les licences nécessaires pour l’importation et l’exportation de certaines marchandises à destination et en provenance du Canada. Dans le cadre de la délivrance des licences et de la conduite des contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation par l’utilisation du SCEI, le Ministère recueille, accumule et gère les renseignements personnels. Le SCEI offre une interface Web sécurisée et une interface d’échange de données informatisée pour gérer les demandes, l’approbation et le traitement des licences d’importation et d’exportation. Il comporte également des fonctions de gestion des contingents d’importation et d’exportation.

Le principal objectif du Ministère consiste à faire en sorte que le SCEI et l’ensemble des fonctions opérationnelles intégrées actuellement dans le système existant soient disponibles pour sa clientèle et que le MAECI soit en mesure de respecter ses engagements opérationnels à l’égard des entreprises canadiennes tous les jours ouvrables. La disponibilité du SCEI est essentielle aux entreprises canadiennes participant à des activités d’importation ou d’exportation et pour l’économie canadienne.

Alors que l’absence d’entraves au commerce constitue l’un des plus grands atouts économiques du Canada, des contrôles sur les importations et les exportations de marchandises sont considérés essentiels. En vertu de la LLEI, le Gouverneur en conseil peut établir les listes suivantes: Liste des marchandises d’importation contrôlée(LMIC), Liste des marchandises d’exportation contrôlée(LMEC) et la Liste des pays visés(LPV). La Loi indique les raisons pour lesquelles des marchandises ou des pays sont portés sur ces listes. La plupart des marchandises contrôlées exigent une licence individuelle d’importation ou d’exportation, bien que certaines puissent bénéficier d’un traitement simplifié dans une licence générale. Le Règlement sur les licences d’importation(RLI) et le Règlement sur les licences d’exportation(RLE) établissent des procédures pour l’obtention des licences. Des copies sont disponibles sur demande.

Une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée(ÉFVP) a été effectuée sur les systèmes des contrôles à l’exportation et à l’importation(SCEI) afin de cerner et d’évaluer les risques potentiels relatifs à la vie privée et les mesures d’atténuation, et assurer la conformité avec la législation et les principes du gouvernement en matière de protection de la vie privée. Bien que le SCEI constitue une opération vaste et complexe, l’évaluation n’a identifié aucun risque important relatif à la vie privée. Elle a toutefois décelé des risques faibles en matière de consentement et de collecte qui doivent être atténués. Les stratégies d’atténuation adéquates ont été conçues et planifiées en vue de protéger les renseignements personnels conformément avec les politiques et lignes directrices ministérielles du gouvernement.

Section de l’analyse des risques

Veuillez trouver ci-dessous une analyse des risques et les mesures d’atténuation offertes pour remédier à ces risques.

  1. Responsabilisation

    Risque identifié : Aucun risque trouvé.

  2. Objectif

    Risque identifié : Aucun risque trouvé.

  3. Consentement

    Risque identifié : Renseignements personnels du destinataire

    Niveau de risque : faible

    Stratégie d’atténuation : Le gouvernement du Canada, qui comprend le MAECI, n’a pas accès aux destinataires situés à l’extérieur du Canada; par conséquent, il est impossible de les informer directement de leurs droits en matière de vie privée.

    À cette fin, le Ministère prendra des mesures pour informer les courtiers et les exportateurs des droits des destinataires en matière de protection des renseignements personnels, où l’exportateur doit obtenir le consentement adéquat du destinataire aux fins de divulgation. Cela sera effectué grâce à un Énoncé de confidentialité qui serait présent dans le cadre du processus relatif aux licences d’exportation.

    Le Ministère a l’intention d’élaborer du matériel de communication à l’intention des courtiers, en vue de les informer des exigences relatives à la protection de la vie privée. Cela comprendra l’examen de l’Énoncé de confidentialité par l’exportateur et la confirmation que l’exportateur a compris ses droits ainsi que ses obligations.

  4. Collecte

    Risque identifié : Énoncé de confidentialité

    Niveau de risque: Faible

    Stratégie d’atténuation : La Direction des services d’administration et de technologie du Ministère élaborera, en conformité avec les lignes directrices du Ministère et avec l’aide de la Direction de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels au MAECI, un Énoncé de confidentialité qui sera affiché sur toutes les demandes où des renseignements personnels sont recueillis. L’Énoncé de confidentialité sera communiqué aux courtiers, pour être communiqué aux importateurs / exportateurs.

  5. Utilisation, divulgation et conservation

    Risque identifié : Aucun risque trouvé.

  6. Exactitude

    Risque identifié : Aucun risque trouvé.

  7. Sauvegarde

    Risque identifié : Aucun risque trouvé.

  8. Transparence

    Risque identifié : Aucun risque trouvé.

  9. Accès individuel

    Risque identifié : Aucun risque trouvé.

  10. Conformité

    Risque identifié : Aucun risque trouvé.