Passport Canada’s Addendum to Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC) (Service Canada)

Overarching Privacy Impact Assessment regarding Passport Receiving Agent Services

Passport Canada has developed an addendum to HRSDC (Service Canada) overarching Privacy Impact Assessment regarding Passport Receiving Agent Services.

More specifically, the addendum provides in a clear and concise document all pertinent modifications pertaining to the Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) that was approved on June 7, 2005 by HRSDC.

Thus, please find below the Executive Summary of the subject addendum along with the risks identified.

Executive Summary

In 2004, three Service Canada centres (SCCs) were initially selected to participate in the pilot project of the Passport Receiving Agent (RA) service: Brandon in Manitoba, Drummondville in Québec, and Kamloops in British Columbia. An additional 30 locations were established in 2005. A third expansion took place in 2007 that saw the total number of locations increase to 101 by October of that same year. An Order in Council (OIC) amending the Canadian Passport Order was obtained by Passport Canada (PPTC), which included authorities to expand the number of sites for Passport RA. As a result of coming into effect of the OIC, the total number of locations can increase up to a maximum of 200 Receiving Agent sites. These authorities have been provided on a temporary basis unless further amendments to the Canadian Passport Order are made to extend the authorities.

Furthermore, the OIC significantly changes the nature of Human Resources and Skills Development Canada’s (Service Canada) authority to conduct passport activities since the original 2005 PIA was finalized and approved. As of May 28, 2008, HRSDC (Service Canada) is no longer legally acting as an “agent” of PPTC but is providing passport services under the direct authority of the Canadian Passport Order, the agreement between the Minister of the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada (DFAIT) and the Minister of HRSDC (Service Canada) and a proposed administrative Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) to be signed between the same two organizations.

Since the original PIA was approved on June 7th 2005, the structure of the department has also drastically changed: in 2005, both HRSDC and Social Development Canada (SDC) existed and hence are referenced in the original PIA. In 2006, the two departments were amalgamated under one department, HRSDC which contains the initiative Service Canada. Any references to the former SDC are now referring to the amalgamated HRSDC (Service Canada).

The protection of personal information is paramount to HRSDC (Service Canada). The obligation to protect clients’ information is established through a strong culture of service excellence and is also governed by the Privacy Act, Department of Human Resources and Skills Development (DHRSD) Act and Department of Social Development (DSD) Act. HRSDC (Service Canada) is committed to ensuring that information is protected according to the legislation. To accomplish this, internal assessments were conducted on the Passport RA service to identify and address all privacy and security risks.

The proposed administrative MOU to be signed between HRSDC (Service Canada) and PPTC supports the conduct of a threat and risk assessment (TRA) as a prerequisite to the launch of this service in SCCs selected for the RA service as well as clearly outlining the responsibilities of HRSDC (Service Canada) and PPTC regarding the protection of personal information. As the expansion of the RA service follows a seamless phased approach, TRAs have been conducted for existing RA locations with more TRAs to be conducted as confirmation is received of future RA locations.

There are two instances where personal information is collected by HRSDC (Service Canada) as part of the RA services:

  • The passport application and supporting documents are collected by HRSDC (Service Canada) using a reviewing process developed by PPTC. HRSDC (Service Canada) retains custody of these documents for no more than one business day.

  • As per the Receipt and Deposit of Public Money Regulations 1997, HRSDC (Service Canada) is required to collect information with respect to the receipt and deposit of public money including, the date of receipt and deposit, the amount received, deposited or withheld, and all other information required for identification and audit purposes. The contact information, which was not previously collected, will be part of the information collected in the Local Web Receipt System for all passport application payments received at a SCC and will be transmitted to PPTC on a ”on request basis”.

Potential Privacy Risks:

Potential privacy issues have been linked with the RA functions:

  1. Inappropriate use of clients’ information
    • Risk: Possibility that SCC’s employees might inappropriately use clients’ information.
    • Mitigation: The risk of receiving agents inappropriately using clients’ information will be substantially mitigated by the impending implementation of a quality management program. This program will contain comprehensive audit capabilities such as random review and monitoring of RA applications/activities and the possible creation of an on-site Program Identity Officer who will have the necessary authority to ensure the integrity of the program. Should the position of an on-site Program Identity Officer be created, the PIA will be amended if deemed necessary.
  2. Threat of lost/stolen clients’ information while in transit from HRSDC (Service Canada) to PPTC
    • Risk: The threat of lost/stolen clients’ information while in transit from HRSDC (Service Canada) to PPTC.
    • Mitigation: The risk of information being lost or stolen while in transit is greatly reduced by the implementation of a robust tracking system that utilizes tools/services provided by the Canada Post Corporation.
  3. Lack of Privacy Notice
    • Risk: The lack of information provided to clients as to the personal information collected and its use by HRSDC (Service Canada) have also been identified as potential privacy issues.
    • Mitigation: The risk of lack of information provided to inform clients of the collection, protection and use of their personal information will be mitigated by a privacy notice that will assist Citizen Service Agent (CSA) in effectively communicating to the applicants the nature of the information that is collected, the purpose of collecting that personal information and safety measures in place to protect it. The privacy notice will be given to the client while the CSA reviews the application. The new information collected will be the telephone number of applicants.
  4. Lack of authority for HRSDC (Service Canada) to collect passport applications The 2005 PIA presented a specific risk that has since been mitigated. The risk previously identified as a lack of authority for HRSDC (Service Canada) to collect personal information with respect to passport applications has been resolved through the issuance of an OIC amending the Canadian Passport Order which came into force on May 28, 2008 and the accompanying ministerial agreement under which the Minister of Foreign Affairs authorizes the Minister of HRSD to exercise the administrative powers set out therein with respect to passport applications. These authorities are now effective.

Addenda de Passeport Canada à l’évaluation globale des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée de Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC) (Service Canada)

Concernant les services d’agents réceptionnaires des demandes de passeport

Passeport Canada a rédigé un addenda à l’évaluation globale des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée de RHDCC (Service Canada) concernant les services d’agents réceptionnaires des demandes de passeport.

Plus précisément, l’addenda présente, sous la forme d’un document clair et concis, toutes les modifications pertinentes concernant l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (ÉFVP) qui a été approuvée le 7 juin 2005 par RHDCC.

Veuillez donc trouver ci–dessous le sommaire exécutif de l’addenda en question ainsi que les risques identifiés.

Sommaire exécutif

En 2004, trois centres de Service Canada (SC) avaient été sélectionnés pour participer au projet pilote des services d’agents réceptionnaires (AR) des demandes de passeport : Brandon au Manitoba, Drummondville au Québec et Kamloops en Colombie–Britannique. En 2005, on a ajouté trente autres emplacements. Une troisième expansion a suivi en 2007 qui a vu le nombre total d’emplacements passer à 101 en octobre de la même année. Passeport Canada (PPTC) a obtenu un décret en conseil modifiant le Décret sur les passeports canadiens pour inclure les pouvoirs nécessaires pour augmenter le nombre de sites qui deviennent agents réceptionnaires (AR) des demandes de passeport. À la suite de l’entrée en vigueur du Décret en conseil, le nombre total d’emplacements peut augmenter jusqu’à un maximum de 200 sites offrant un service d’accueil des demandes de passeport. Ces pouvoirs ont été octroyés sur une base temporaire sauf si d’autres modifications au Décret sur les passeports canadiens sont apportées pour les prolonger.

En outre, le Décret en conseil modifie considérablement la nature des pouvoirs de Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (Service Canada) d’exercer des activités liées aux passeports depuis que l’ÉFVP originale de 2005 a été rédigée et approuvée. Depuis le 28 mai 2008, RHDCC (Service Canada) n’est plus légalement autorisé à agir comme « agent » de Passeport Canada, mais assure la prestation de services de passeports sous l’autorité directe du Décret sur les passeports canadiens, de l’entente entre le ministre des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) et le ministre de RHDCC (Service Canada) et d’un protocole d’entente administratif (PE) proposé, à être signé entre les deux mêmes organisations.

En outre, depuis l’approbation de l’ÉFVP d’origine, le 7 juin 2005, la structure du Ministère a été considérablement modifiée : en 2005, RHDCC et Développement social Canada (DSC) existaient et sont donc mentionnés dans l’ÉFVP d’origine. En 2006, les deux ministères ont été fusionnés en un seul ministère, RHDCC, qui comprend l’initiative de Service Canada. Toute référence à l’ancien DSC renvoie maintenant à RHDCC (Service Canada).

La protection des renseignements personnels est primordiale à RHDCC (Service Canada). L’obligation de protéger les renseignements des clients est établie par une solide culture d’excellence de service et est aussi régie par la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, la Loi sur le ministère des Ressources humaines et du Développement des compétences et la Loi sur le ministère du Développement social. RHDCC (Service Canada) s’engage à garantir la protection des renseignements conformément à la législation. Pour ce faire, des évaluations internes ont été menées sur les services d’agents réceptionnaires des demandes de passeport pour identifier et traiter tous les risques liés à la vie privée et à la sécurité.

Le protocole d’entente administratif proposé et à être signé entre RHDCC (Service Canada) et PPTC appuie la tenue d’une évaluation de la menace et des risques (EMR) en tant que condition préalable au lancement de ce service dans les centres de Service Canada sélectionnés pour les services des agents réceptionnaires, et définit clairement les responsabilités de RHDCC (Service Canada) et de PPTC concernant la protection des renseignements personnels. Comme l’expansion des services des agents réceptionnaires suit une approche progressive sans heurts, des EMR ont été effectuées pour les emplacements actuels des agents réceptionnaires et d’autres EMR seront effectuées lorsque la confirmation des futurs établissements d’agents réceptionnaires sera reçue.

Il existe deux cas où les renseignements personnels sont recueillis par RHDCC (Service Canada) dans le cadre des services des agents réceptionnaires :

  • La demande de passeport et les documents à l’appui sont recueillis par RHDCC (Service Canada) au moyen d’un processus d’examen élaboré par PPTC. RHDCC (Service Canada) conserve la garde de ces documents pour une durée maximale d’un jour ouvrable.
  • Conformément au Règlement de 1997 sur la réception et le dépôt des fonds publics, RHDCC (Service Canada) est tenu de recueillir les renseignements à l’égard de la réception et du dépôt des fonds publics, dont la date de réception et de dépôt, le montant reçu, déposé ou retenu, et tout autre renseignement requis à des fins d’identification et de vérification. Les coordonnées, qui n’étaient pas recueillies auparavant, feront partie des renseignements recueillis dans le système de réception Web local pour tous les paiements des demandes de passeport reçus à un centre de Service Canada et seront transmises « sur demande » à PPTC.

Risques potentiels relatifs à la vie privée :

Les questions potentielles relatives à la vie privée ont été liées aux fonctions des agents réceptionnaires :

  1. Usage inapproprié des renseignements des clients
    • Risque : Possibilité que les employés des centres de Service Canada puissent faire un usage inapproprié des renseignements des clients.
    • Atténuation : Le risque que les agents réceptionnaires fassent un usage inapproprié des renseignements des clients sera considérablement atténué par la mise en œuvre imminente d’un programme de gestion de la qualité. Ce programme comprendra des capacités de vérification exhaustives comme l’examen aléatoire et la vérification au hasard des demandes reçues par les agents réceptionnaires et de leurs activités, et la création possible d’un poste d’agent d’identification du programme sur place qui aura l’autorité nécessaire d’assurer l’intégrité du programme. Si le poste d’agent d’identification du programme était créé, l’ÉFVP sera modifiée si cela est jugé nécessaire.
  2. Risque que les renseignements des clients se perdent ou se fassent voler lors de déplacements de RHDCC (Service Canada) à PPTC
    • Risque : Le risque que les renseignements des clients se perdent ou se fassent voler lors de déplacements de RHDCC (Service Canada) à PPTC.
    • Atténuation : Le risque que des renseignements se perdent ou se fassent voler lors de déplacements est considérablement réduit par la mise en œuvre d’un système robuste de suivi qui utilise les outils/services fournis par la Société canadienne des postes.
  3. Absence d’un énoncé de confidentialité
    • Risque : Le manque d’information fournie aux clients concernant les renseignements personnels recueillis et leur utilisation par RHDCC (Service Canada) a aussi été identifié comme un problème potentiel relatif au respect de la vie privée.
    • Atténuation : Le risque relatif au manque d’information fournie pour informer les clients de la collecte, de la protection et de l’utilisation de leurs renseignements personnels sera atténué par un énoncé de confidentialité qui aidera les agents de service au citoyen (ASC) à informer efficacement les requérants de la nature des renseignements recueillis, de l’objectif visé par la collecte de ces renseignements personnels et des mesures de sécurité en place pour les protéger. L’énoncé de confidentialité sera donné au client lors de l’examen de la demande par l’ASC. La nouvelle information recueillie sera le numéro de téléphone des requérants.
  4. Absence d’autorité pour RHDCC (Service Canada) à recueillir les demandes de passeport
    • L’ÉFVP de 2005 présentait un risque précis qui a depuis été atténué. Le risque identifié précédemment comme une absence d’autorité pour RHDCC (Service Canada) à recueillir des renseignements personnels concernant les demandes de passeport a été résolu par l’entrée en vigueur, le 28 mai 2008, d’un décret en conseil modifiant le Décret sur les passeports canadiens et l’accord ministériel s’y rattachant en vertu duquel le ministre des Affaires étrangères autorise le ministre de RHDCC à exercer les pouvoirs administratifs qui y sont établis à l’égard des demandes de passeport. Cette autorisation est maintenant en vigueur.