Signet D Network

Executive Summary

A Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) was developed for the Departmental computer network known as SIGNET–D. This network is used primarily for unsecured information processing, storage, and management as well as unsecured messaging. The SIGNET D network is nearly 15 years old and has gone through several revisions. A revised PIA has been developed and is currently being reviewed. The revised PIA does not only address the SIGNET D Network, but it also addresses the messaging and email systems which were not part of the originally developed PIA. Its Executive Summary will be posted on this website as soon as possible.

The privacy assessment report that was initially developed for the SIGNET D network provided an insight into possible risks to personal information and recommended appropriate courses of action.

The assessment was part of the Department’s commitment to protection of personal information. It also met the Management of Information Technology Security (MITS) requirements obligating departmental major services to undergo a security and privacy assessment at this point.

The overall assessment of the SIGNET–D network was that there were limited low risks found during the assessment and that these can be addressed while the network is in operation.

  1. Accountability for Personal Information

    Shared Drives:

    Personal information on SIGNET is of three types:

    • Employee’s personal information collected for the purpose of network access and authentication, which provides access to corporate network and applications.
    • Programs and services collect personal information as part of their operations and mandates. Personal information collected as part of programs each have a specific purpose and management criterion.
    • Personal information stored by employees, as a result of personal activities. This personal information is stored on shared drives by employees, for personal purposes and maintained and managed individually.

    In general, shared drives represent a medium level of risk that requires additional protection and structured management. These may be achieved by the following elements:

    • Defining roles and responsibilities
    • Establishing policies and procedures
      • Regularly scheduled privacy risk assessment by various stakeholders
    • Protection of personal information on shared drives
    • Management of personal information on shared drives
      • Program related personal information
      • InfoBank related information
      • Employees personal information generated by individual use, non–related or generated by departmental
    • Training and awareness
    • Audit and compliance

    The network (SIGNET–D) is currently designated for Protected “A” information and as such, the Information Protection Center (IPC) at DFAIT has developed plans to continually scan the shared drives using special software tools and identify information such as SIN numbers, and other highly important personal information. The plan is to issue “cyber infractions” to those users who store high–risk personal information on the shared drives. All information of protected “B” and “C” nature must reside on a separate network designated as SIGNET C–5. IPC has consulted with the Departmental legal advisors at JUS, and has received a blessing to proceed with the planned initiative / mitigation.

    The above recommended mitigations approach will ensure that the personal information will be collected, stored and managed with significantly lower levels of risks.

  2. Collection of Personal Information

    Adequate Privacy Notice Statement:

    Department will develop a process by which employees are provided an opportunity to review a Privacy Notice Statement (PNS) prior to providing their personal information to receive proper privileges and accounts on the network.

    DFAIT employees using the shared drives to store their own personal information must be advised regarding the nature of the shared drives and potential risks.

  3. Challenging Compliance

    Oversight, Review, and Documented Accountability:

    Proper policies need to be developed as part of management of personal information on SIGNET to reflect existing roles and responsibilities, as well as accountability in alignment with TBS Management Accountability Framework (MAF). The existing Departmental policy on The Network Acceptable Use Policy (NAUP) requires enhancement as a result of this PIA and select others (e.g. Voice Messaging) that recognize that the existing policy has a security focus only. The users of the network need additional information regarding management of their own personal information as well as comprehensive privacy notice statements that inform the users of their roles and responsibilities and accountability.

Réseau SIGNET–D

Sommaire exécutif

Une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) a été élaborée pour le réseau informatique ministériel connu sous le nom de SIGNET–D. Ce réseau sert principalement à traiter, stocker et gérer de l’information non sécurisée ainsi que des messages non sécurisés. Le réseau SIGNET–D, créé il y a presque quinze ans, a fait l’objet de plusieurs révisions. Une EFVP a été effectuée et est actuellement en cours d’examen. L’EFVP révisée englobe le réseau SIGNET–D, mais également les systèmes de messagerie et de courriels qui ne faisaient pas partie de l’EFVP initiale. Le sommaire de l’EFVP sera affiché sur ce site Internet aussitôt que possible.

Le rapport d’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée qui a été élaboré initialement pour le réseau SIGNET–D fournissait un aperçu des risques potentiels pour les renseignements personnels et recommandait des plans d’action adéquats.

Cette évaluation faisait partie de l’engagement du Ministère en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Elle satisfaisait également aux exigences de la Gestion de la sécurité des technologies de l'information (GSTI) qui fait obligation aux principaux services ministériels de mener une évaluation sur la sécurité et les renseignements personnels à cette étape–ci.

L’évaluation globale du réseau SIGNET–D a révélé que celui–ci présentait de faibles risques et qu’il était possible d’y remédier pendant que le réseau fonctionne.

  1. Responsabilité à l’égard des renseignements personnels

    Disques partagés

    Il existe trois types de renseignements personnels sur SIGNET :

    • Les renseignements personnels des employés recueillis aux fins de l’accès au réseau et de l’authentification, ce qui permet d’accéder au réseau et aux applications ministériels.
    • Les programmes et services recueillent des renseignements personnels dans le cadre de leurs activités et de leurs mandats. Les renseignements personnels recueillis dans le cadre de programmes le sont tous à des fins déterminées ou à des fins de gestion.
    • Les renseignements personnels stockés par les employés à la suite d’activités personnelles. Cette information personnelle est stockée sur des disques partagés par des employés, à des fins personnelles et conservés et gérés individuellement.

    De manière générale, les disques partagés représentent un niveau moyen de risque qui nécessite une protection accrue et une gestion structurée. On peut y parvenir par les moyens suivants :

    • Définition des rôles et responsabilités
    • Établissement de politiques et de procédures
      • Évaluation périodique des risques d’atteinte à la vie privée menée par diverses intervenants
    • Protection des renseignements personnels enregistrés sur des disques partagés
    • Gestion des renseignements personnels enregistrés sur des disques partagés
      • Renseignements personnels liés à un programme
      • Renseignements liés à la Banque d’information interne
      • Renseignements personnels des employés générés par une utilisation personnelle, non liés au Ministère ou non générés par ce dernier
    • Formation et sensibilisation
    • Vérification et conformité

    Le réseau (SIGNET–D) est actuellement désigné pour les renseignements protégés «A» et par conséquent, le Centre de protection de l’information (CPI) du MAECI a élaboré des plans pour effectuer un balayage continu des disques partagés au moyen d’outils logiciels spécialisés et repérer les renseignements tels que les NAS et autres renseignements personnels délicats. Le plan vise à émettre des «cyber–infractions» aux usagers qui stockent des renseignements personnels à haut risque sur les disques partagés. Tous les renseignements protégés «B» et «C» doivent être conservés sur un réseau distinct désigné comme SIGNETC–5. Le CPI a mené des consultations auprès des conseillers juridiques de la Direction générale des Services juridiques et a reçu l’autorisation d’aller de l’avant en ce qui concerne l’initiative ou les mesures d’atténuation prévues.

    L’approche d’atténuation recommandée, mentionnée plus haut, garantira que les renseignements personnels seront recueillis, stockés et gérés avec des niveaux de risques sensiblement plus bas.

  2. Collecte de renseignements personnels

    Énoncé de confidentialité adéquat

    Le Ministère établira un processus permettant aux employés de passer en revue un énoncé de confidentialité avant de transmettre leurs renseignements personnels pour ouvrir un compte sur le réseau et obtenir des privilèges adéquats.

    Les membres du personnel du MAECI qui utilisent les disques partagés pour stocker leurs propres renseignements personnels doivent connaître la nature de ces disques et les risques potentiels qui y sont associés.

  3. Non–respect de la conformité

    Aperçu, examen et responsabilité documentée

    Des politiques adéquates doivent être élaborées dans le cadre de l’exercice de gestion des renseignements personnels sur SIGNET afin de refléter les rôles et responsabilités actuels, de même que la responsabilité de la conformité au Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion du SCT (CRG). La politique ministérielle actuelle relative à l'utilisation acceptable du réseau par les employés du Ministère doit être améliorée, dans la foulée de la présente EFVP et de certaines autres (messagerie vocale), qui reconnaissent que la politique en vigueur est axée uniquement sur la sécurité. Les usagers de ce réseau doivent être mieux informés en ce qui concerne la gestion de leurs propres renseignements et disposer d’énoncés de confidentialité exhaustifs qui les renseignent sur leurs rôles et responsabilités ainsi que sur leur obligation de rendre compte.