Dialogue Application

Executive Summary

Dialogue is a web based application that allows the Centre of Learning for International Affairs and Management (CFSD) to produce customized online 360 and 180 degree feedback questionnaires and reports. Dialogue is designed to support CFSD’s pedagogical approach. It is being developed using the latest technology (XSL, XSLT, XML and SOAP in a dot NET and SQL 2000 environment). The environment is divided into two different components: the evaluation system and the management system.

The evaluation component is a secure website inside Dialogue where personalized online questionnaires are generated based upon participants’ credentials. Participants and respondents access this site to answer and submit the questionnaire. The purpose of the questionnaires is to provide feedback to participants on their behaviour.

The management component is the core system of Dialogue. This component is accessible only by CFSD and the participant’s coordinator.

The following privacy issues or risk are identified:

  • Some personal information is gathered about participants’ behaviours but once the reports are produced, analyzed and sent to the participants, the evaluation process is ended and all responses are archived for statistical purposes. Only the responses are stored without any association to participants’ or respondents’ credentials. All personal information is destroyed at this point.
  • The Information is temporarily recorded on back-up tapes stored in a secure combination locked cabinet. The back-up tapes are over-written every 17 weeks.
  • The level of classification for most of the information on the network Signet “D” is up to Protected A but some portions are considered PROTECTED B. The Information and Technical Security Division and the Information Technology Security Systems Division are exploring options for a solution.

Privacy Risk Mitigation

Personal information collection, disclosure, and consent by Participant

Participant’s personal information is collected directly from individuals. Coordinators and Respondents names are offered by the Participants. Proper consent is collected by the program prior to full involvement of the respondents and coordinators.

Private information is gathered about participants’ behaviours

Participants need to go through an evaluation process. The participants are required to submit their self-evaluation and the respondents are invited to take part of the evaluation process by answering the same questions about the participants’ behaviours. There could be three different types of respondents for a participant: subordinate, peer or superior.

The evaluation component is a secure website inside dialogue with one single SQL database. Feedbacks on participants are stored into the database but there are no association between the responses submitted and the respondent’s name. Participants’ credentials and evaluations submitted are kept into the database. Once the reports are produced, analyzed and sent to the participants, the evaluation process is ended and all responses are archived for statistical purposes only. Note that ONLY the responses are stored without any association to participants’ or respondents’ credentials.

Information is temporarily recorded on back-up tapes

Back-ups are automatically performed on a daily basis by the Applications Solution Division and/or the Desktop Applications Configuration Division on the servers located in the secure Ministerial Correspondence Division. The backup tapes record copies of data submitted to the database (participants’ I respondents’ credentials’ and participants’ evaluations).

The back-up tapes are stored in a secure combination locked cabinet and are over-written every 17 weeks.

Participants’ and respondents’ credentials are temporarily recorded

The participants’ and the respondents’ credentials are temporarily recorded in the database. The credentials temporarily recorded are: first and last names associated with the e-mail addresses, positions, departments and classifications.

Once the reports are produced, analyzed and sent to the participants, the evaluation process is ended and all responses are archived for statistical purposes only. Note that ONLY the responses are stored without any association to participants’ or respondents’ credentials.

Level of classification of information on Signet D is up to Protected A

The level of classification for most of the information on the network Signet “D” is up to Protected A but some portions are considered PROTECTED B. The Information and Technical Security Division and the Information Technology Security Systems Division are exploring options for a solution.

Application Dialogue

Sommaire exécutif

Dialogue est une application Internet permettant au Centre d’apprentissage en affaires internationales et en gestion (CFSD) de préparer des questionnaires et des rapports en ligne personnalisés de rétroaction partielle et tous azimuts. Dialogue est conçu pour appuyer la démarche pédagogique de CFSD. Sa mise au point repose sur la technologie la plus récente (XSL, XSLT, XML et SOAP, dans un environnement «.NET» et SQL2000). L’environnement comporte deuxvolets distincts: le système d’évaluation et le système de gestion.

Le volet d’évaluation est un site Web sécurisé, à l’intérieur de Dialogue, où sont générés des questionnaires personnalisés en direct fondés sur les références des participants. Les participants et les répondants utilisent ce site pour fournir leurs réponses et présenter le questionnaire. L’objet des questionnaires est de fournir aux participants une rétroaction sur leur comportement.

Le volet de gestion est au cœur même de Dialogue. L’accès à cet élément est réservé à CFSD et au coordonnateur du participant.

Voici les problèmes ou risques identifiés en matière de protection des renseignements personnels :

  • On recueille certains renseignements personnels sur les comportements des participants, mais une fois que les rapports ont été produits, analysés et envoyés aux participants, le processus d’évaluation prend fin et toutes les réponses sont archivées à des fins statistiques. On ne stocke que les réponses, sans la moindre association aux références des répondants ou des participants. Tous les renseignements personnels sont éliminés à ce stade.
  • L’information est enregistrée temporairement sur des bandes magnétiques de sauvegarde entreposées dans une armoire sécuritaire à combinaison verrouillée. L’information enregistrée sur les bandes de sauvegarde est écrasée toutes les 17 semaines.
  • Le niveau de classification de la plus grande partie de l’information présente sur le réseau Signet «pro D» va jusqu’à Protégé A, mais certaines parties sont considérées comme étant de niveau Protégé B. La Direction de la sécurité technique et de la sécurité de l’information et la Direction des systèmes de sécurité de la technologie de l’information étudient les diverses possibilités de régler cette question.

Atténuation des risques d’entrave à la vie privée

Collecte et communication des renseignements personnels et consentement du participant

Les renseignements personnels sur les participants sont recueillis directement de ceux-ci. Les noms des coordinateurs et des répondants sont donnés par les participants. Le programme recueille le consentement en bonne et due forme avant la pleine participation des répondants et des coordonnateurs.

On recueille des renseignements personnels sur les comportements des participants.

Les participants doivent passer par un processus d’évaluation. Ils doivent présenter leur auto-évaluation et les répondants sont invités à participer au processus d’évaluation en répondant aux mêmes questions à propos des comportements des participants. Il peut y avoir trois types différents de répondants pour un participant donné: subalterne, pair ou supérieur.

Le volet d’évaluation est un site Web sécurisé, à l’intérieur de Dialogue, comportant une seule base de données en SQL. Les rétroactions sur les participants sont conservées dans une base de données, mais il n’y a aucune association entre les réponses présentées et le nom du répondant. Les références des participants et les évaluations présentées sont conservées dans la base de données. Lorsque les rapports ont été produits, analysés et envoyés aux participants, le processus d’évaluation se termine et toutes les réponses sont archivées, à des fins uniquement statistiques. À remarquer que Seules les réponses sont stockées, sans la moindre association avec les références des participants ou des répondants.

L’information est enregistrée temporairement sur des bandes magnétiques de sauvegarde.

Les sauvegardes sont effectuées tous les jours automatiquement par la Direction des solutions en matière d’applications ou la Direction de la configuration des applications de bureautique, sur les serveurs situés dans des locaux sécurisés à la Direction de la correspondance ministérielle. Les bandes de sauvegarde contiennent copie des données acheminées à la base de données (références des « participants/répondants » et évaluations des « participants »).

Les bandes de sauvegarde sont entreposées dans une armoire sécuritaire verrouillée à combinaison et l’information qu’elles contiennent est écrasée toutes les 17semaines.

Les références des participants et des répondants sont enregistrées temporairement.

Les références des participants et des répondants sont enregistrées temporairement dans la base de données. Voici les références enregistrées temporairement: prénoms et noms associés aux adresses de courriel, postes, ministères ou services et classifications.

Une fois que les rapports ont été produits, analysés et envoyés aux participants, le processus d’évaluation prend fin et toutes les réponses sont archivées à des fins statistiques uniquement. À remarquer que SEULES les réponses sont stockées, sans la moindre association avec les références des participants ou des répondants.

Le niveau de classification de l’information sur Signet D va jusqu’à Protégé A.

Le niveau de classification de la majorité des renseignements sur le réseau Signet «D» va jusqu’à Protégé A, mais certaines parties sont considérées comme étant de niveau PROTÉGÉ B. La Direction de la sécurité technique et de la sécurité de l’information et la Direction des systèmes de sécurité de la technologie de l’information étudient différentes options en vue d’une solution.