Emergency Management Portal

Executive Summary

The Emergency Management Portal is a web-based reporting tool that will provide senior management and operational teams at Headquarters (HQ) and missions with a centralized view of international emergencies affecting our missions around the world.  It will consolidate all emergency management activities and information for the purpose of monitoring, managing and reporting on international emergencies; humanitarian, consular, global health, security, environmental, technological, political and economic crises.  The portal will provide real-time situational awareness, analysis and lessons learned to improve emergency and crisis management.

The Emergency Management Portal is expected to have a very wide audience within DFAIT - HQ and also missions abroad (accessible via SIGNET and to Departmental Intranet users).  Any sectoral, geographic or mission officer may access the Emergency Management Portal for awareness of events related to their sphere of responsibilities.  However, in order for the Emergency Management Portal to remain an authoritative source of emergency management information, the portal will have user access restrictions for certain information management tasks.

It is these authorized users, along with the staff of the Emergency Operations Centre, who will have the authority to update the portal with updated information, including the latest situation reports.

The Consular Services and Emergency Management Branch at DFAIT is responsible for the provision of consular services to Canadian citizens travelling abroad.  The services provided vary in response to the nature of the event, or request, and range from answering calls from concerned relatives to evacuations in the event of conflicts or natural disasters.

Key Business Success Factors

Timely communication of information during a crisis is critical to the management of the crisis and its outcome.  The Portal will be the focal point to house all information pertinent to a crisis.  Access to this information needs to be timely, and the information concise and clear. 

The key business success factors to be achieved with the Emergency Management Portal are:

  • Ease of usability providing timely and accurate information regarding emerging situations and associated facts. 
  • Enabling rapid responses during times of crisis while fostering increased confidence levels in the information being disseminated.
  • Reducing speculative interpretations of information and improving the overall awareness of the crisis situation;
  • Centralized repository providing a focal point for maintaining key information leading to consistent messaging across the organization while reducing time invested entering or searching for similar / like information into silo programs; and
  • Reducing the need to manage dissemination of information using e-mail distribution lists.

WorldReach, the vendor which supplies the Consular Case Management System (COSMOS) used by the Consular branch, has subsequently been contracted by DFAIT to augment the COSMOS suite of tools in order to provide the functionality requirements of the Emergency Management Portal.

Close attention will be paid throughout the development lifecycle of the Emergency Management Portal to a series of Critical Success Factors (CSFs) that have been established for the portal.  These CSFs have been derived from client workshops and also from lessons learned about the management of the H1N1 virus emergency.  The CSFs are:

  • Less email.  Users will be directed to the portal for the latest information.
  • Less “recipients list” management.  Users will be able to self-subscribe to information.
  • Less confusion over versions and “what’s new?”  The latest information will be posted on the portal and time stamped.
  • Provides overall view for DFAIT senior managers. A cartographic application will provide rapid understanding of situations.
  • Not making assumptions about the mission’s working conditions. A mission’s infrastructure may be down and (for example) BlackBerry may provide a partial solution.
  • Not using the Crisis Portal is OK.  Missions may phone in and dictate a situation report to the Emergency Management Operations Centre.
  • Stability.  The portal software must be stable right from the start for effective use in emergencies.
  • Integration with other systems (no data entry).  Systems integration and information sharing will provide an improved user experience.
  • Information management (info-management team).  Good IM practices will ensure the portal remains the authoritative source of emergency-related information.
  • Good response time (COSMOS is the benchmark).  The portal will be accessed from around the world and must be responsive in times of crises.

The Emergency Management Portal is designed to automatically access and present select emergency related information from other Departmental systems such as COSMOS, and the Register of Canadians Abroad (ROCA). No personal information is exchanged between the above systems and the Emergency Management Portal.

  • COSMOS is DFAIT’s Consular case management system. The Emergency Management Portal will only be provided with a list of statistics associated with the emergency.
  • ROCA is the Register of Canadians Abroad. The Emergency Management Portal will only be provided with the number of Canadians who may be affected by the emergency in a certain region.

In general, information from COSMOS and ROCA is displayed dynamically by the portal. Most statistical information received by the portal will not be stored or managed by the Emergency Management Portal. However, certain statistical information from either system is stored and managed on the Emergency Management portal. Furthermore, select information captured from COSMOS or ROCA may be edited and modified by the Emergency Watch and Response Center personnel, and/or the information manager, as needed. The Emergency Watch and Response Center is responsible for uploading all information, including the briefings and Qs &As. Missions will be responsible for uploading region-specific information.  Select experts from various DFAIT Branches will be given permission to upload information and data related to each specific emergency and region. 

The Emergency Management Portal will reside on the SIGNET-D network (DFAIT’s encrypted wide-area-network) and will only contain information up to the Protected ‘A’ level that is currently being stored or distributed by other means on the SIGNET-D network (e.g. email or shared drives). The update to the website is logged, and updates are performed by the system administrators. All notifications are sent through the Departmental email and Blackberry.

It is anticipated that future phases of the Emergency Management Portal will exchange crisis-related information with other Government departments (OGDs) as part of the Multi-Agency Situational Awareness System (MASAS) project.  As such, the portal’s architecture will be structured to ensure that it can adapt to Public Safety Canada’s MASAS architecture.  The MASAS project charter is to “establish an operational capability to enable the sharing and accessing of geospatial data and information between public safety and security community members in order to improve situational awareness.”  More information is available in the Multi-Agency Situational Awareness System Version 1.0 Architecture Model (November 5, 2008) and here: http://www.geoconnections.org/en/communities/publicsafety/index.html.

This information is provided to give the reader an understanding of the direction of the project but it should be noted that the first phases of the Emergency Management Portal will not be exchanging any information outside of the SIGNET network.

Privacy Risks

The Preliminary Privacy Impact Assessment (PPIA) that was completed provides insight into possible risks to personal information and recommends appropriate courses of action. The assessment was part of the Department’s commitment to protection of personal information.  It also meets the Management of Information Technology and Security Policy MITS requirements. The PPIA assessed the risks in accordance with the ten privacy principles listed below.

  • Accountability: An organization is responsible for personal information under its control and shall designate an individual or individuals who are accountable for the organization’s compliance with the following principles.
  • Collection: The purposes for which personal information is collected shall be identified by the organization at or before the time the information is collected.
  • Consent: The knowledge and consent of the individual are required for the collection, use, or disclosure of personal information, except where inappropriate.
  • Use: The collection of personal information shall be limited to that which is necessary for the purposes identified by the organization. Information shall be collected by fair and lawful means.
  • Disclosure, Retention, & Disposition: Personal information shall not be used or disclosed for purposes other than those for which it was collected, except with the consent of the individual or as required by law. Personal information shall be retained only as long as necessary for the fulfilment of those purposes.
  • Accuracy: Personal information shall be as accurate, complete, and up-to-date as is necessary for the purposes for which it is to be used.
  • Safeguarding: Personal information shall be protected by security safeguards appropriate to the sensitivity of the information by the Department.
  • Openness: An organization shall make readily available to individuals specific information about its policies and practices relating to the management of personal information.
  • Access: Upon request, an individual shall be informed of the existence, use, and disclosure of his or her personal information and shall be given access to that information. An individual shall be able to challenge the accuracy and completeness of the information and have it amended as appropriate.
  • Challenging Compliance: An individual shall be able to address a challenge concerning compliance with the above principles to the designated individual or individuals accountable for the organization’s compliance.

The PPIA concludes that there is no additional requirement for a more comprehensive privacy assessment. However, it is recommended that DFAIT should undertake a Privacy Impact Assessment when this tool progresses into the next phases of its development, in which the Emergency Management website will be made available to other government departments such as the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, Department of National Defence, Canadian Food Inspection Agency, Treasury Board Secretariat, etc.

Portail de gestion des urgences

Sommaire exécutif

Le Portail de gestion des urgences est un outil Web de compte rendu qui offrira à la haute direction et aux équipes opérationnelles de l’Administration centrale (AC) et des missions un aperçu centralisé des urgences internationales touchant nos missions dans le monde entier. Il permettra d’unir toutes les activités et tous les renseignements liés à la gestion des urgences pour la surveillance, la gestion et l’établissement de rapports en matière d’urgences internationales et de crises humanitaires, consulaires, sanitaires mondiales, environnementales, technologiques, politiques et économiques, ainsi que de crises liées à la sécurité. Grâce au Portail, les utilisateurs pourront connaître et analyser les situations en temps réel, ainsi qu’intégrer les leçons retenues en vue d’améliorer la gestion des urgences et des crises.

Le Portail de gestion des urgences devrait compter un très grand nombre d’utilisateurs au sein de l’Administration centrale du MAECI ainsi que dans les missions à l’étranger (accessible par SIGNET et pour les utilisateurs de l’intranet du Ministère). Tout agent sectoriel, géographique ou d’une mission peut accéder au Portail de gestion des urgences pour connaître les événements liés à sa sphère de responsabilités. Toutefois, afin que le Portail de gestion des urgences demeure une source faisant autorité en matière de renseignements sur la gestion des urgences, il comportera des restrictions en ce qui concerne l’accès des utilisateurs pour certaines tâches de gestion des renseignements.

Ce sont ces utilisateurs autorisés, ainsi que le personnel du Centre des opérations d’urgence, qui auront l’autorité d’actualiser le Portail avec de l’information à jour, y compris les derniers rapports de situation.

Le Secteur des services consulaires et de la gestion des urgences du MAECI est responsable de la fourniture des services consulaires aux citoyens canadiens qui voyagent à l’étranger. Les services offerts varient en fonction de la nature de l’événement ou de la demande, et vont des services de réponse aux appels des membres de la famille préoccupés, aux évacuations dans le cas de conflits ou de catastrophes naturelles.

Principaux facteurs opérationnels de succès

La communication en temps utile de l’information pendant une crise est essentielle à la gestion de la crise et du résultat. Le Portail sera le point focal qui renferme tous les renseignements pertinents sur une crise. L’accès à ces renseignements doit se faire en temps utile, et l’information doit être concise et claire. 

Les principaux facteurs opérationnels de succès à réaliser avec le Portail de gestion des urgences sont :

  • Facilité d’utilisation pour la fourniture à temps de renseignements exacts concernant les situations émergentes et les faits connexes. 
  • Permettre des réponses rapides lors des crises tout en favorisant des niveaux de confiance accrus à l’égard de l’information communiquée.
  • Réduire les interprétations spéculatives de l’information et améliorer la connaissance générale de la situation de crise;
  • Référentiel centralisé constituant un point central pour la conservation de renseignements clé permettant l’uniformisation des messages dans l’ensemble de l’organisation tout en réduisant le temps investi à entrer et à chercher de l’information similaire dans des programmes « silo »;
  • Réduire la nécessité de gérer la communication de l’information au moyen de listes de distribution par courriel.

Le MAECI a, par la suite, retenu les services de WorldReach, le fournisseur qui offre le Système de gestion des cas consulaires (COSMOS) utilisé par le secteur consulaire, pour compléter la série d’outils de COSMOS afin de satisfaire aux exigences relatives à la fonctionnalité du Portail de gestion des urgences.

On portera une attention particulière tout au long de développement du Portail de gestion des urgences à une série de facteurs critiques de succès (FCS) qui ont été établis pour le Portail. Ces facteurs découlent des ateliers des clients et aussi des leçons retenues sur la gestion de l’urgence posée par le virus H1N1. Ces FSC sont :

  • Moins de courriels. Les utilisateurs seront dirigés vers le Portail pour les dernières informations.
  • Moins de gestion de la « liste des bénéficiaires ». Les utilisateurs pourront s’abonner pour recevoir l’information.
  • Moins de confusion par rapport aux versions et « quoi de neuf? » Les derniers renseignements seront horodatés et affichés sur le Portail.
  • Fournir un aperçu général pour les cadres supérieurs du MAECI. Une application cartographique permettra de comprendre rapidement les situations.
  • Ne pas faire de suppositions sur les conditions de travail de la mission. Une infrastructure de mission pourrait ne pas fonctionner et (par exemple) l’utilisation du BlackBerry pourrait offrir une solution partielle.
  • La non utilisation du Portail des crises est acceptable. Les missions pourraient téléphoner et faire un rapport de la situation au Centre des opérations de gestion des urgences.
  • Stabilité. Le logiciel du Portail doit être stable dès le début pour une utilisation efficace dans les cas d’urgences.
  • Intégration avec d’autres systèmes (aucune entrée de données). L’intégration des systèmes et l’échange des renseignements permettront d’améliorer l’expérience de l’utilisateur.
  • Gestion de l’information (équipe de gestion de l’information). De bonnes pratiques en GI feront en sorte que le Portail demeure l’autorité en matière d’information liée aux urgences.
  • Bon temps de réponse (COSMOS est la référence). Le Portail pourra être accédé partout dans le monde et doit être axé sur les besoins lors des crises.

Le Portail de gestion des urgences est conçu pour accéder automatiquement à certains renseignements relatifs aux urgences provenant des autres systèmes ministériels comme COSMOS et le Registre consulaire des Canadiens à l’étranger (ROCA), et les présenter. Aucun renseignement personnel n’est échangé entre les systèmes susmentionnés et le Portail de gestion des urgences.

  • COSMOS est le système de gestion des cas consulaires du MAECI. Le Portail de gestion des urgences aura seulement une liste de statistiques relatives à l’urgence.
  • ROCA est le Registre consulaire des Canadiens à l’étranger. Le Portail de gestion des urgences aura seulement la liste des Canadiens qui pourraient être affectés par l’urgence dans une région précise.

En général, l’information du COSMOS et de ROCA est affichée dynamiquement par le Portail. La plupart des renseignements statistiques reçus par le Portail ne seront pas conservés ou gérés par le Portail de gestion des urgences. Toutefois, certains renseignements statistiques de l’un ou l’autre des systèmes sont conservés et gérés sur le Portail de gestion des urgences. En outre, certains renseignements saisis sur COSMOS ou ROCA peuvent être modifiés par le personnel du Centre de surveillance et d’intervention d’urgence, et/ou le gestionnaire de l’information, au besoin. Le Centre de surveillance et d’intervention d’urgence est chargé du téléchargement de toute l’information, y compris les breffages et les questions-réponses. Les missions seront responsables du téléchargement de l’information propre aux régions. Certains experts des divers secteurs du MAECI recevront la permission de télécharger de l’information et des données concernant les urgences et régions précises. 

Le Portail de gestion des urgences se situera sur le réseau SIGNET-D (le réseau chiffré à couverture étendue du MAECI) et contiendra seulement de l’information allant jusqu’au niveau Protégé « A » qui est actuellement archivée ou distribuée par d’autres moyens sur le réseau SIGNET-D (p. ex. courriel ou disques partagés). La mise à jour du site Web a été réalisée, et les mises à jour sont effectuées par les administrateurs du système. Toutes les notifications sont envoyées au moyen des courriels et du Blackberry du Ministère.

On prévoit que les phases ultérieures du Portail de gestion des urgences permettront d’échanger de l’information liée aux crises avec d’autres ministères du gouvernement dans le cadre du projet du Système interorganisationnel de connaissance de la situation (SICS). À ce titre, l’architecture du Portail sera structurée de façon à faire en sorte qu’il puisse s’adapter à l’architecture du SICS de Sécurité publique Canada. L’objectif de l’arrêté du projet du SICS est de « créer une capacité opérationnelle permettant aux membres de la communauté de la sécurité publique d’obtenir et d’échanger des données et de l’information géospatiales afin d’améliorer la connaissance de la situation. » De plus amples renseignements se trouvent dans le modèle d’architecture du Système interorganisationnel de connaissance de la situation (Version 1.0, 5 novembre 2008) et ici : http://www.geoconnections.org/fr/communities/publicsafety/index.html;jsessionid=EBEB0DF5997AD5DFE7DE0C42E9925A95.app2.

Cette information est présentée pour permettre au lecteur de comprendre la direction du projet, mais on devrait noter que les premières phases du Portail de gestion des urgences ne permettront pas l’échange d’information à l’extérieur du réseau SIGNET.

Risques d’atteinte à la vie privée

L’Évaluation préliminaire des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (ÉPFRVP) qui a été achevée fournit des indications sur les risques possibles concernant l’information personnelle et recommande des mesures appropriées. Cette évaluation faisait partie de l’engagement du Ministère en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Elle répond aussi aux exigences de la politique sur la gestion de la sécurité des technologies de l’information (GSTI). L’ÉPFRVP a évalué les risques selon les dix principes relatifs à la protection de la vie privée indiqués ci-dessous.

  • Responsabilisation : Une organisation est responsable des renseignements personnels qu’elle détient et elle doit désigner une personne ou un groupe de personnes qui devront veiller au respect des principes suivants par l’organisation.
  • Collecte des renseignements : Les fins pour lesquelles des renseignements personnels sont recueillis doivent être déterminées par l’organisation avant la collecte ou au moment de celle-ci.
  • Consentement : Toute personne doit être informée de toute collecte, utilisation ou communication de renseignements personnels qui la concernent et y consentir, à moins qu'il ne soit pas approprié de le faire.
  • Utilisation : L’organisation ne peut recueillir que les renseignements personnels nécessaires aux fins qu’elle a déterminées et doit procéder de façon honnête et licite.
  • Communication, conservation et retrait : Les renseignements personnels ne doivent pas être utilisés ni communiqués à des fins autres que celles auxquelles ils ont été recueillis à moins que la personne concernée n’y consente ou que la loi ne l’exige. Les renseignements personnels doivent être conservés uniquement pendant la période requise pour accomplir ces fins.
  • Exactitude : Les renseignements personnels doivent être aussi exacts, complets et à jour que l’exigent les fins auxquelles ils sont destinés.
  • Sauvegarde : Les renseignements personnels doivent être protégés par le Ministère au moyen de mesures de sécurité correspondant à leur degré de sensibilité.
  • Transparence : Une organisation doit mettre à la disposition de toute personne des renseignements précis sur ses politiques et pratiques concernant la gestion des renseignements personnels.
  • Accès : Une organisation doit informer toute personne qui en fait la demande de l’existence de renseignements personnels qui la concernent, de l’usage qui en est fait et du fait qu’ils ont été communiqués à des tiers, et lui permettre de les consulter. Il sera aussi possible de contester l’exactitude et l’intégralité des renseignements et d’y faire apporter les corrections appropriées.
  • Possibilité de porter plainte contre le non-respect des principes : Toute personne doit être en mesure de se plaindre du non-respect des principes énoncés ci-dessus en communiquant avec le ou les personnes responsables de les faire respecter au sein de l’organisation concernée.

L’ÉPFRVP conclut qu’il n’existe aucune autre exigence pour une évaluation plus exhaustive des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée. Il est toutefois recommandé que le MAECI entreprenne une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée lorsque cet outil franchira les prochaines phases de son développement, au cours desquelles le site Web de la gestion des urgences sera offert aux autres ministères comme la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, le Ministère de la défense nationale, l’Agence canadienne de l’inspection des aliments, le Secrétariat du Conseil Trésor, etc.