Export Control On-Line System (EXCOL)

Executive Summary

Canada is a partner to international agreements where most of Canada’s export controls exist in order to limit the movement of strategic goods. These regulations are designed to prevent the movement of certain goods that may not be in the strategic interest of Canada or its allies or that may be contrary to Canada’s bilateral or multilateral commitments.

Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) Canada’s Export Controls Division (TIE) of the Export Import Controls Bureau (EICB) is responsible for evaluating and approving applications for permits to export controlled and strategic goods and technology. TIE is also responsible for issuing export permits for controlled goods, tracking goods exported against authorized permits and supporting other import/export processes such as delivery verification. Export permit issuance and management process is designed to ensure that Canadian exports do not contribute to the production or use of nuclear, chemical or biological weapons.

In early 2006 the Bureau introduced the Export Controls Online System (EXCOL) to replace the legacy paper- based permit system that has been in operation since 1988. EXCOL is an interactive and computerized application that allows clients to submit export applications and certificates on-line using Secure Channel. A Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) was required because the legacy paper-based Export Controls System was substantially redesigned as an electronic service, and the delivery mechanisms have changed accordingly. The PIA has been completed.

An enrolment procedure is necessary to gain access to EXCOL. All users must be identified and authorized by the Bureau, and acquire a secure e-Pass from Secure Channel.

The enrolment information is collected initially on paper, and the procedure is finalized electronically at the first login to EXCOL. The individual must read a Privacy Notice Statement and acknowledge he/she has read and understood the notice. This information is used to establish the person’s secure on-line account for EXCOL.

The Export and Import Permits Act (R.S. 1985, c. E-1 9) and the Export Permit Regulations (SOR/97-204) mandate the collection of a minimum amount of personal information on the permit applications. This consists of an individual’s name and business contact information.

Depending on the nature and destination of the export commodities, permit applications pending approval may be disclosed to other Government departments (OGDs) for consultation. The export permit that is presented to the Canadian Border Services Agency (CBSA) at the border at the time of export includes the personal information.

The EXCOL automated system was designed, developed and implemented by a local System Integrator - CGI Group Inc. under a long term system operations, support and development contract with the Bureau’s Administration & Technology Division (TIC). EXCOL was developed to be fully contained and operated within the CGI Data Centre located on Blair Road in Ottawa.

All EXCOL Information is stored in an RDIMS database and an EXCOL account database at the CGI Data Centre, Ottawa. The information is retained for a minimum of two years and a maximum of 7 years. Access to these databases is highly controlled, both physically and electronically.

Inherent in any electronic data system, threats such as deliberate destruction and deliberate or accidental disclosure are always a possible risk. The EXCOL Threat and Risk Assessment document illustrates this topic and details the risk mitigation strategies in place.

The control of the export and import of designated goods under the Export and Import Permits Act (EIPA) is an essential instrument for the achievement of several of the Government’s domestic and foreign policy priorities, inter alia: to protect national security, to implement international non-proliferation agreements (conventional arms and weapons of mass destruction), to protect vulnerable Canadian industries (e.g. textiles), to realize benefits of International Trade Agreements, to support Canada’s supply management programs and to implement United Nations sanctions.

Clients who enrol with EXCOL (Recognized Clients) are able to perform the following:

  • apply for export permits
  • apply for certificates (DVC, AC, 1(C)
  • search, view and manage their applications, permits and certificates

Clients who do not enrol with EXCOL (Unrecognized Clients) are only able to apply for export permits by one of two means:

  • completing an on-line form under SSL web security, which submits directly into the EXCOL system
  • printing an on-line form, completing the fields and mailing in their application

Users of EXCOL - Internal:

  • TIE staff and management
  • Administration and Technology Division (TIA), Technical and administration staff
  • CBSA resources that have completed the Enrolment Process. CBSA is noted as “internal” as they are the Federal Government end-users of the permit process. They will have “read-only” permissions for on-line verification of issued permits only, as deemed necessary.
  • Users of EXCOL — External (Client):
  • External Recognized Clients ( EXCOL User-IDs) are known to TIE and entrusted with limited access to internal functionality within EXCOL
  • External Un-recognized Clients (without EXCOL User-IDs) may or may not already be known to TIE, are not enrolled in EXCOL and not entrusted with access to any internal functionality within EXCOL. These clients may electronically submit a web application form, or print the form and mail or fax it to the Export Controls Division

A Note Regarding Databases

Two separate databases are used during the EXCOL enrolment process: (1) the Export and Import Control System (EICS) database for business registration, and (2) the EXCOL database for the secure on-line accounts.

The Export Import Controls Bureau (EICB) allocates EICB Business Numbers, a file number used only internally to identify a business. The EICB numbers are created and maintained within the EICS database. All businesses interacting with the Bureau are assigned a business number, whichever method of interaction is used (electronic or paper).

The business information collected (paper) during the application for an EICB number is:

  • Name of Company in full
  • Address, Postal/Zip Code
  • Telephone, Fax Number
  • OST Business Number
  • Name of Contact person

When TIA receives a completed EICB number application form as part of an EXCOL enrolment, they assign an EICB number to the client, add the company contact information in EICS and tag the client as ‘EXCOL Registered”.

A data migration (“push”) is immediately performed which copies all new “EXCOL Registered” data to the EXCOL database, which then becomes the user data for the client. The information in the EXCOL on-line account is derived from the EXCOL Enrolment Application Forms and the EICB Number Application Form.

Mitigation Strategies

This section summarizes specific mitigation strategies to address privacy risks identified through the PIA process.

Privacy Risk Management Summary Tables

Privacy risks identified through the PIA process
ElementOutsourcing of data storage and handling to CGI
Nature of RisksDisclosure — Inappropriate access to data by personnel (including support personnel); User profiling, data matching
Likelihood/ThreatLow
Risk LevelLow – Medium
CommentsNone
Mitigating StrategyAlthough the 2001 Contract with CGI does not contain any reference to the Privacy Act or to the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act, the security clauses are deemed sufficient. The next contract (March 2006) rectified this lack by including specific Privacy Act references, as well as any required clauses to address any possible implications regarding the USA Patriot Act.

Users and personnel have been identified and authenticated. Access is limited to the minimum required for individuals to perform their duties.

Access to the application is controlled. Accesses and updates to all information are all logged. Personnel performing these duties are all trained and screened.

User awareness training and procedures to processing sensitive information include vulnerabilities linked with user-id and password authorization.

Acceptable Use Policy to read and signed by all employees.

Access privileges are withdrawn from individuals who leave the organization, and revised when individuals move to jobs that don’t require the same level of access.

Privacy risks identified through the PIA process
ElementPlain email transmission of permit application data to OGDs for consultations.
Nature of Risks“Eavesdropping” on email transmissions is a high risk
Likelihood/ThreatHigh
Risk LevelHigh
CommentsA “Consultation Email” generated by EXCOL is a two-step process, wherein:
  1. EXCOL emails the text to the user who requested it, then
  2. The user sends the email to the addressee.
Secure measures are required at each step.
Mitigating Strategy
  1. A VPN is established between EXCOL at CGI and the SIGNET desktops, to negate any risk of clear transmissions.
  2. EXCOL includes read-only access to the consulted parties, so that they can view the required information and provide feedback within the system, eliminating the need for email containing personal data.
Where this is not technically feasible, PKI Certificates is being used to encrypt attachments to email.
Privacy risks identified through the PIA process
ElementData Collecting — personal information for Consignees is provided by the Exporter
Nature of RisksThis is contrary to principles of fair information practices.

This could lead to Departmental liability should personal information be disclosed in an unauthorized manner.

Likelihood/ThreatLow
Risk LevelLow
CommentsNone
Mitigating StrategyConsignees must be made aware that their information is being collected and retained in a Canadian Government database. The collection of this information is dependent on the Exporter, as the Bureau has no dealings with the Consignee.

A new “End-Use Statement” including a Privacy Notice, for the consignee’s signature now exists.

Privacy risks identified through the PIA process
ElementLack of Memoranda of Understanding (MOU) with Consultees - Other Government Departments (OGDs)
Nature of RisksLack of a formal agreement means no assurances to avoid inappropriate use of ITCAN data by OGDs.
Likelihood/ThreatLow
Risk LevelLow
CommentsThese consultations have been occurring for many years without formal MOUs.

The consultations are considered to be consistent use of the original purpose of the collection of information

Mitigating StrategyMemorandums of Understanding will be arranged with the consulted parties..
Privacy risks identified through the PIA process
ElementDisclosure or Destruction of Data -Virus
Nature of RisksLoss or exposure of personal information
Likelihood/ThreatMedium
Risk LevelMedium
CommentsNote that frequent backups of the data are available for restoration
Mitigating StrategyVirus protection software, regularly updated, is an integral part of the EXCOL Solution Architecture.

Discussions are underway to implement an Intrusion Detection System.

Privacy risks identified through the PIA process
ElementDisclosure or Destruction of Data - Hacker
Nature of RisksLoss or exposure of personal information
Likelihood/ThreatLow
Risk LevelMedium
CommentsNote that frequent backups of the data are available for restoration
Mitigating StrategyUse of SSL v2 28 bit encryption key used to encrypt all information is end to end on the network.

Discussions are underway to implement an Intrusion Detection System.

Privacy risks identified through the PIA process
ElementDisclosure or Destruction of Data - Technical Means
Nature of RisksLoss or exposure of personal information
Likelihood/ThreatLow
Risk LevelMedium
CommentsNote that frequent backups of the data are available for restoration
Mitigating StrategyEXCOL is physically located in the CGI Building that houses the Data Centre. This facility is considered secure, is under camera surveillance 24/7 into the system/network operations centre. Redundant UPS Units are installed to minimize disruption. UPS Units clean and stabilize power supply for the complete Data Centre. Very restricted access to process centre. All personnel security cleared.

The EXCOL Technical Architecture includes a direct communication link between the SC environment and the EXCOL Web server. This is the only component where electronic eavesdropping equipment could be installed that would negatively impact the EXCOL application. This link is completely housed within the CGI Data Centre and monitored by an intrusion detection system.

Privacy risks identified through the PIA process
ElementQuestionnaire A - 7.09 “Are there contingency plans and documented procedures in place to identify and respond to security breaches or disclosures of personal information in error?”
Nature of RisksInefficient response and delays if these problems arise,
Likelihood/ThreatLow
Risk LevelLow
CommentsNormal departmental procedures would be followed, if such an occasion were to arise,
Mitigating StrategyTIE must maintain operational records that show how incidents were handled, documenting the chain of events during the incident, noting the time when the incident was detected; the actions taken; the rationale for decisions; details of communications; management approvals or direction; and external and internal reports.

A post-incident analysis is required summarizing the impact of the incident, identifying security deficiencies and prevention measures.

NOTE THAT the nature of any breach or disclosure would determine which Division within the Bureau (TIE or TIA) bears responsibility

Privacy risks identified through the PIA process
ElementQuestionnaire A - 7.10 “Are there documented procedures in place to communicate security violations to the data subject, law enforcement authorities and relevant program managers?” Inefficient response and delays if these
Nature of RisksInefficient response and delays if these problems arise
Likelihood/ThreatLow
Risk LevelLow
CommentsNormal departmental procedures would be followed, if such an occasion were to arise.
Mitigating StrategyTIE must establish a procedure for notifying the appropriate operational personnel, managers and all affected parties, keeping contact lists up to date. EXCOL must notify the appropriate law enforcement agency if the incident appears to be criminal.

Note thatthe nature of any breach or disclosure would determine which Division within the Bureau (TIE or TIA) bears responsibility

Privacy risks identified through the PIA process
ElementQuestionnaire A - 7.11 “Is there a plan for quality assurance and audit programs to assess the ongoing state of the safeguards applicable to the system?”
Nature of RisksInadvertent misuse of or exposure of data to additional or increasing risk elements.
Likelihood/ThreatLow
Risk LevelLow
CommentsNone
Mitigating StrategyTIE must establish a plan for quality assurance and audit programs to assess the ongoing state of the safeguards applicable to EXCOL.

Note that the nature of any breach or disclosure would determine which Division within the Bureau (TIE or TIA) bears responsibility

Système des contrôles des exportations en direct (CEED)

Sommaire exécutif

Le Canada est signataire d'ententes internationales qui établissent des contrôles des exportations canadiennes en vue de limiter la circulation des marchandises stratégiques. Cette réglementation est conçue pour empêcher la circulation de certains biens qui ne serait pas dans l’intérêt stratégique du Canada ni de ses alliés ou qui irait à l'encontre des engagement bilatéraux et multilatéraux du Canada.

La Direction des contrôles à l'exportation (TIE) de la Direction générale des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation (DGCEI) d'Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI) est chargée d'évaluer et d'approuver les demandes de licences visant l'exportation de marchandises et de technologies stratégiques contrôlées. Il incombe également à TIE de délivrer des licences d'exportation pour les marchandises contrôlées, de faire le suivi des marchandises exportées selon les licences autorisées, et d'appuyer les autres processus d'importation et d'exportation comme la vérification des livraisons. Le processus de délivrance et de gestion des licences d'exportation est conçu de façon à ce que les exportations canadiennes ne contribuent pas à la production ni à l'utilisation d'armes nucléaires, chimiques ou biologiques.

Au début de 2006, le Direction générale a lancé le Système des contrôles des exportations en direct (CEED) pour remplacer l'ancien système de licences manuel, qui était utilisé depuis 1988. Le CEED est une application informatisée interactive qui permet aux clients de soumettre en ligne leur demande de licence et leur certificat d'exportation à l'aide d'une voie de communication protégée. Une Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) était nécessaire à la grande transformation de l'ancien système de contrôles des exportations manuel en service électronique, dont les mécanismes d'exécution ont évolué en conséquence. On a réalisé l'EFVP.

Il faut suivre un processus d'inscription pour obtenir l’accès au CEED. Tous les utilisateurs doivent être identifiés et autorisés par la Direction générale et obtenir un ePass protégé administré par la Voie de communication protégée.

Les renseignements relatifs à l'inscription sont d'abord recueillis sur papier et lela processus est finalisé par voie électronique au moment de l'ouverture de la première session du CEED. Le particulier doit prendre connaissance d'un énoncé de confidentialité et reconnaître avoir lu et compris l'énoncé. Ces renseignements sont utilisés pour créer un compte d’utilisateur électronique protégé du CEED.

En vertu de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (L.R.C. (1985), ch. E–1 9) et du Règlement sur les licences d'exportation (DORS/97–204), on recueille un minimum de renseignements personnels dans le cadre des demandes de licences. Il s’agit du nom du particulier et des coordonnées d’affaires.

Selon la nature et la destination des marchandises exportées, les demandes de licence peuvent être communiquées, sous réserve d’approbation, à d’autres ministères aux fins de consultation. La licence d’exportation présentée à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) à la frontière au moment de l’exportation comprend ces renseignements personnels.

Le système automatisé CEED a été conçu, perfectionné et mis en œuvre par un intégrateur de systèmes local, CGI Group Inc., dans le cadre d’un marché visant l’exploitation, le soutien et le développement de systèmes à long terme conclu avec la Direction des services administratifs et technologiques (TIC) de la Direction générale. Le CEED a été conçu pour être logé et fonctionner intégralement au centre informatique de CGI, situé sur le chemin Blair, à Ottawa.

Tous les renseignements du CEED sont classés dans une base de données du SGDDI et dans la base de données des comptes CEED au centre informatique de CGI, à Ottawa. Les renseignements sont conservés pendant un minimum de deux ans et un maximum de sept ans. L’accès à ces bases de données est hautement contrôlé, tant physiquement qu’électroniquement.

Les menaces propres à tout système de données électronique, telles la destruction délibérée ou la divulgation volontaire ou accidentelle sont toujours des risques possibles. L’évaluation de la menace et des risques du CEED illustre cette question et explique en détail les stratégies d’atténuation des risques en place.

Les contrôles de l’exportation et de l’importation des marchandises désignées en vertu de la Loi sur les licences d'exportation et d'importation (LLEI) sont des outils essentiels à la réalisation des priorités de politiques nationale ou étrangère, entre autres, aux fins suivantes : assurer la sécurité nationale, mettre en œuvre les accords internationaux en matière de non–prolifération (armes conventionnelles et armes de destruction massive), protéger les industries canadiennes vulnérables (p. ex. les textiles), tirer parti des accords commerciaux internationaux, appuyer les programmes canadiens de régulation de l'offre et appliquer les sanctions des Nations Unies.

Les clients qui s’inscrivent au CEED (clients reconnus) sont en mesure de :

  • déposer une demande de licence d’exportation;
  • déposer une demande de certification (CVL, AC, CII);
  • rechercher, visualiser et gérer leurs demandes, licences et certificats.

Les clients non inscrits au CEED (clients non reconnus) peuvent uniquement demander une licence d’exportation selon l’une des deux métdodes suivantes :

  • remplir le formulaire en ligne, avec protection Web SSL, ce qui verse la demande directement au CEED;
  • imprimer un formulaire de demande en ligne, le remplir et le poster.

Utilisateurs internes du CEED

  • Le personnel et les gestionnaires de TIE;
  • Le personnel technique et administratif des Services d'administration et de technologie (TIA);
  • Les ressources de l’ASFC qui se sont inscrites. L’ASFC est considérée comme « interne » car elle est l’utilisatrice finale du processus de délivrance des licences au sein du gouvernement fédéral. Elle aura la permission d’effectuer « en lecture seule » des vérifications en ligne des licences délivrées, s’il y a lieu.
  • Utilisateurs externes du CEED (clients) :
  • TIE connaît les clients externes reconnus (nom d’utilisateur du CEED) et leur accorde un accès limité aux fonctions internes du CEED;
  • Les clients externes non reconnus (sans nom d’utilisateur du CEED) qui sont peut–être connus de TIE et non inscrits au CEED n’ont pas accès aux fonctions internes du CEED. Ces clients peuvent remplir et soumettre électroniquement un formulaire en ligne ou l’imprimer et le faire parvenir par la poste ou par télécopieur à la Direction des contrôles à l’exportation.

Remarque concernant les bases de données

Deux bases de données distinctes sont utilisées dans le cadre du processus d’inscription au CEED : 1) la base de données d’enregistrement des entreprises du Système des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation (SCEI) et 2) la base de données des comptes en ligne protégés du CEED.

La Direction générale des contrôles à l'exportation et à l'importation (DGCEI) attribue les numéros d’entreprise, qui sont utilisés aux fins d’identification interne des entreprises. Les numéros du DGCEI sont créés et gérés dans les bases de données du SCEI. Toutes les entreprises qui font affaire avec la Direction générale reçoivent un numéro d’entreprise, peu importe leur forme de communication (électronique ou écrite).

On recueille les renseignements d’entreprise suivants (sur papier) dans la demande d’un numéro du DGCEI :

Nom complet de l’entreprise Adresse, code postale/code de zoneNuméros de téléphone et de télécopieurNuméro d’entreprise TVONom d’une personne–ressource

Lorsque TIA reçoit un formulaire demandant un numéro de la DGCEI dans le cadre d’une inscription au CEED, il attribue le numéro au client, inscrit les coordonnées de l’entreprise au SCEI et confirme au système que le client est « inscrit au CEED ».

Une migration des données (« poussée ») est immédiatement effectuée et copie toutes les nouvelles données « inscrites au CEED » dans la base de données du CEED, et celles–ci deviennent ensuite les données d’utilisateur associées au client. Les renseignements du compte du CEED en ligne proviennent des formulaires de demande d’inscription et du formulaire de demande d’un numéro de la DGCEI.

Stratégies d’atténuation

Cette partie résume les stratégies d’atténuation spécifiques pour répondre aux risques relevés durant le processus d’EFVP.

Tableau sommaire de gestion des risques d’entrave à la vie privée

Délocalisation du Stockage et du Traitement de Données aux Installations de CGI
Nature des risquesDivulgation : accès abusif du personnel (notamment le personnel de soutien) aux données; profils d’utilisateurs; couplage des données
Probabilité/menaceFaible
Niveau de risqueFaible à moyen
CommentairesRien
Stratégie d’atténuationBien que le marché conclu avec CGI ne contienne aucun renvoi à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ni à la Loi sur la protection des documents personnels et les documents électroniques, les dispositions de sécurité sont jugées suffisantes. Le marché suivant (en date de mars2006) a corrigé cette lacune en incluant des renvois spécifiques à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et des dispositions obligatoires relatives à la USA Patriot Act des États–Unis.

Les utilisateurs et le personnel ont été identifiés et autdentifiés. L’accès est limité au minimum requis pour que les particuliers s’acquittent de leurs tâches.

L’accès à l’application est contrôlé. L’accès et la mise à jour de tous les types de renseignements sont inscrits dans un registre. Le personnel chargé de ces tâches est bien formé et a fait l’objet d’une enquête de sécurité.

La formation et les procédures de traitement des renseignements délicats destinées à sensibiliser les utilisateurs abordent la vulnérabilité de la formule d’autorisation nom d’utilisateur/ mot de passe.

La Politique sur l’utilisation acceptable des réseaux électroniques est lue et signée par tous les employés.

Les privilèges d’accès sont retirés aux particuliers qui quittent l’organisation et mis à jour en cas de mutation à un poste n’exigeant pas le même niveau d’accès.

Transmission à D’autres Ministères par Courriel de Données issues des Demandes de Licences aux fins de Consultation
Nature des risques« L’interception illicite » des courriels est un risque élevé
Probabilité/menaceÉlevé
Niveau de risqueÉlevé
CommentairesUn « courriel aux fins de consulta–tion » transmispar le CEED fait partie d’un processus à deux étapes :
  1. le CEED transmet le texte à l’utilisateur qui le demande, puis
  2. l’utilisateur envoie le courriel au destinataire.

Des mesures protégées sont nécessaires à chaque étape.

Stratégie d’atténuation
  1. Un réseau privé virtuel (RPV) est établi entre le CEED à CGI et l’interface SIGNET afin d’éliminer le risque de transmissions vides.
  2. Le CEED comprend des accès en lecture seule aux parties consultées aux fins d’examen des renseignements nécessaires et de rétroaction à même le système, ce qui élimine le besoin de transmettre des renseignements personnels par courriel.

Lorsque cette solution n’est pas techniquement possible, on utilise des certificats de l’ICP pour crypter les pièces jointes au courriel.

Collecte de Données : Les Renseignements Personnels du Destinataire sont Fournis par L’exportateur
Nature des risquesCela va à l’encontre des pratiques équitables de traitement de l'information.

Le Ministère pourrait être tenu responsable dans un cas de divulgation de renseignements personnels selon un mode non autorisé.

Probabilité/menaceFaible
Niveau de risqueFaible
CommentairesRien
Stratégie d’atténuationLes destinataires doivent être avisés que leurs renseignements sont recueillis et classés dans une base de données du gouvernement du Canada. Cette collecte de renseignements dépend de l’exportateur car la Direction générale ne fait pas affaire avec le destinataire.

Une nouvelle « déclaration d’utilisation finale » qui comprend un énoncé de confidentialité aux fins de signature du destinataire est maintenant en vigueur.

Absence de Protocoles D’entente avec Ceux qui Consultent – (Autres Ministères)
Nature des risquesEn l’absence d’une entente formelle, il n’y a aucune garantie d’éviter l’utilisation abusive des données de CICan par d’autres ministères.
Probabilité/menaceFaible
Niveau de risqueFaible
CommentairesCes consultations durent depuis des années sans protocole d’entente à cet effet.

Les consultations sont considérées comme une utilisation cohérente fidèle au but premier de la collecte de renseignements.

Stratégie d’atténuationDes protocoles d’entente seront négociés avec les parties consultées.
Divulgation ou destruction des données – Par un virus
Nature des risquesRenseignements personnels perdus ou exposés
Probabilité/menaceMoyen
Niveau de risqueMoyen
CommentairesRemarque : les données sont fréquemment sauvegardées aux fins de restauration.
Stratégie d’atténuationLa mise à jour régulière du logiciel antivirus fait partie intégrante de l’architecture des solutions du CEED.

On discute actuellement de la mise en œuvre d’un système de détection d’intrusion.

Divulgation ou Destruction des Données – Par un Pirate de L’information
Nature des risquesRenseignements personnels perdus ou exposés
Probabilité/menaceFaible
Niveau de risqueMoyen
CommentairesRemarque : les données sont fréquemment sauvegardées aux fins de restauration.
Stratégie d’atténuationLe réseau utilise une clé de chiffrement SSL v2 28 bit de bout en bout pour crypter tous les renseignements.

On discute actuellement de la mise en œuvre d’un système de détection d’intrusion.

Divulgation ou Destruction des Données – Par Voie Technique
Nature des risquesRenseignements personnels perdus ou exposés
Probabilité/menaceFaible
Niveau de risqueMoyen
CommentairesRemarque : les données sont fréquemment sauvegardées aux fins de restauration.
Stratégie d’atténuationLe CEED est situé dans l’édifice de CGI qui abrite le centre informatique. Cette installation est jugée sûre et son centre d’exploitation de réseaux/systèmes est surveillé par des caméras 24heures sur 24. Des UPS redondantes sont installées pour éviter les perturbations. Les UPS nettoient et stabilisent l’alimentation en énergie dans tout le centre informatique. L’accès au centre de traitement est très restreint. Tous les membres du personnel ont fait l’objet d’une enquête de sécurité.

L’architecture technique du CEED comprend une ligne de communication directe entre le centre de services et le serveur Web du CEED. Il s’agit du seul élément où de l’équipement d’écoute électronique clandestine pourrait être installé et nuire à l’application CEED. Cette ligne est entièrement logée dans le centre informatique de CGI et surveillée par un système de détection d’intrusion.

Questionnaire A – 7.9 « Existe–t–il des plans d'intervention et des procédures documentées pour repérer les violations de sécurité ou les divulgations de renseignements personnels faites par erreur et pour y remédier? »
Nature des risquesIntervention inefficace et retards en cas de problèmes
Probabilité/menaceFaible
Niveau de risqueFaible
CommentairesOn suivra les procédures ministérielles habituelles si une telle situation se présente.
Stratégie d’atténuationTIE doit tenir des dossiers opérationnels qui montrent son intervention face aux incidents, qui documentent le déroulement de l’incident, qui mentionnent quand ce dernier a été décelé, les mesures prises, la justification des décisions, les communications, les approbations de la gestion ou de la direction et font état des rapports internes et externes.

On doit rédiger une analyse à la suite de l’incident qui résume ses conséquences et comprend les lacunes en matière de sécurité et les mesures de prévention.

REMARQUE : la nature de l’intrusion ou de la divulgation déterminera quelle direction au sein de la Direction générale (TIE ou TIA) en assumera la responsabilité.

Questionnaire A – 7.10 « Existe–t–il des procédures documentées pour communiquer les violations de sécurité à la personne concernée, aux autorités chargées de l’application de la loi et aux directeurs de programme concernés? »
Nature des risquesIntervention inefficace et retards en cas de problèmes
Probabilité/menaceFaible
Niveau de risqueFaible
CommentairesOn suivra les procédures ministérielles habituelles si une telle situation se présente.
Stratégie d’atténuationTIE doit établir un processus afin d’aviser le personnel et les gestionnaires des opérations concernés ainsi que les parties touchées au moyen d’une liste de personnes–ressources à jour. Le CEED doit aviser l’organisme d’application de la loi compétent si la nature de l’incident semble être criminelle.

REMARQUE : la nature de l’intrusion ou de la divulgation déterminera quelle direction au sein de la Direction générale (TIE ou TIA) en assumera la responsabilité.

Questionnaire A – 7.11 « Existe–t–il un plan d'assurance de la qualité et de vérification des programmes pour évaluer l'état actuel des protections applicables au système? »
Nature des risquesUtilisation illicite ou divulgation de données par inadvertance, contribuant aux éléments de risques.
Probabilité/menaceFaible
Niveau de risqueFaible
CommentairesRien
Stratégie d’atténuationTIE doit établir un plan d’assurance de la qualité et des programmes de vérification afin d’évaluer l’état permanent des sauvegardes applicables au CEED.

REMARQUE : la nature de l’intrusion ou de la divulgation déterminera quelle direction au sein de la Direction générale (TIE ou TIA) en assumera la responsabilité.