Passport Canada’s MOU with Correctional Services Canada

Executive Summary

A Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) report was developed for the Passport Canada (PPTC) Information Interchange with Correctional Services Canada (CSC) Project. The objectives of the PIA were to determine if there were privacy risks associated with the project, and, if so, to provide recommendations on mitigation measures.

The project addressed the sharing of personal information of offenders under the jurisdiction of CSC with PPTC so as to allow PPTC to more effectively administer its mandate of passport issuance and revocation.

The exchange of information contemplated under a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) supports PPTC’s authority to enforce certain provisions of sections 9 and 10 of the Canadian Passport Order (CPO).

The objective of the project was to establish a protected electronic sharing of personal information of offenders under the jurisdiction of CSC with PPTC. This provides PPTC with an awareness of individuals who are current offenders under federal responsibility and thus facilitate their discretionary capacity in the issuance, refusal, or revocation of a passport.

Under the terms of the MOU, CSC provides PPTC with current information relating to individuals (both incarcerated and paroled) within its federal jurisdiction. Where such an individual applies for a passport or holds an existing passport, PPTC informs CSC of the situation and communicates its decision relating to passport issuance, refusal, maintenance or revocation.

The approach to the planned information sharing involves the daily exchange of information between CSC and PPTC through a secure, on-demand, private connection between the two organizations.

From a single, designated workstation, authorized personnel within the PPTC Security Bureau establishes a secure connection to a secure CSC file transfer facility and initiates the information exchange.

Data relating to the personal information of offenders under the jurisdiction of CSC is transferred to PPTC. Data relating to requests for offender profile refreshes and decisions pertaining to passport issuance, refusal, and revocation are transferred to CSC.

Upon receipt of CSC offender data, a PPTC process updates its System Lookout facility with a subset of each offender profile (for passport issuance & entitlement purposes) and places each full profile in a secondary offender repository accessed exclusively by PPTC security analysts and investigators during the course of a detailed applicant investigation.

The data exchange takes place on a daily basis. Directives within the incoming CSC data causes the addition, replacement, or removal of offender profiles at the PPTC location, thus ensuring data is current and reliable.

Offender personal information is safeguarded at PPTC through a number of security measures that include data encryption, data access restriction, as well as access and activity logging.

Privacy Risk Assessment and Mitigation

This report identified the following privacy risks, and included recommendations to mitigate the risks. Revisions of the MOU are currently underway.

  1. Inappropriate Access

    PPTC’s passport issuance system, IRIS, currently does not maintain an audit trail of users who read the System Lookout list. The privacy risk is that it would not be possible to determine who has viewed an offender’s personal information. This same risk exists today in regard to other personal information maintained within the System Lookout list.

    • Recommendation 1: IRIS should be enhanced to provide a read-audit capability. The secondary offender repository described in the PIA, which contains the full set of offender information, including the offender photographs, will provide read auditing capability.
    • Recommendation 2: Promote awareness to passport examiners and security analysts around the sensitivity of personal information.
      Access to personal information by support personnel should be limited to a “need to know” basis. The privacy risk is that some support personnel could unnecessarily have access to personal information.
    • Recommendation 3: Access profiles of support personnel should be established to limit access to a need-to-know basis. Logging and auditing of activities will also further reduce such risk, as well as an on-going, periodic awareness program for support personnel on the sensitivity of personal information.
  2. Personal Information Regarding PPTC Employees

    PPTC provides a numeric identifier relating to an employee to CSC in two instances. Initially when a refresh of an offender’s information is requested and also once a decision has been made regarding an offender’s application for a passport.

    Under both of these instances, a numeric identifier of the employee making the ‘refresh request’ or the employee who made the decision related to the passport application, is sent to CSC. This is a requirement of CSC so that they are able to satisfy their Access to Information requirements by identifying who has seen an offender’s personal information.

    The safety risks are that an offender or former offender could obtain, under the Access to Information Act, the identity of the PPTC employee, potentially placing the employee at risk of harm.

    • Recommendation 4: To mitigate this risk, procedures relating to responding to requests for information under the Access to Information Act should consider the employee’s personal safety and apply discretion in the disclosure of their identity.
  3. Access to Authentication Credentials

    The system described in the PIA exchanges encrypted data files containing personal information using a secure VPN connection between PPTC and CSC. The PPTC Security Bureau maintains the set of accounts and passwords that can access the VPN connection.

    The risk of inappropriate access is that an unauthorized individual may obtain access to the account and password credentials and therefore be in a position to access data files that contain personal information.

    • Recommendation 5: The custodian of the set of account and passwords should be clearly identified and the credentials should be maintained in a secure, well controlled location.
  4. Responding to security breaches and wrongful disclosure of information

    PPTC IT Security has developed and implemented IT security incident response procedures (ITSIRP) as part of Management of Information Technology Security (MITS) compliance.

Conclusion

The PIA report identified a number of privacy risks that can easily be mitigated by taking appropriate measures. The issues related to data access limitation, data access auditing, and PPTC personnel identification protection. The majority of the identified issues constituted a low level of risk materialization and no issues were assessed as providing high levels of risk materialization.

Protocole d’entente entre Passeport Canada et le Service correctionnel du Canada

Sommaire exécutif

Un rapport d’Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) a été effectué pour le projet d’échange d’information entre Passeport Canada et le Service correctionnel du Canada. Les objectifs de l’EFVP consistaient à déterminer s’il existait, associés à ce projet, des risques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels, et, le cas échéant, à formuler des recommandations relatives à des mesures d’atténuation de ces risques.

Ce projet portait sur le partage des renseignements personnels des délinquants relevant de la compétence du SCC avec Passeport Canada, afin que Passeport Canada puisse honorer plus efficacement son mandat de délivrance et de révocation de passeports.

L’échange d’information envisagé dans le cadre du protocole d’entente confère à Passeport Canada la capacité d’appliquer certaines dispositions des sections 9 et 10 du Décret sur les passeports canadiens (DPC).

L’objectif du projet était d’établir un partage électronique protégé des renseignements personnels des délinquants relevant de la compétence du SCC, avec Passeport Canada, afin que ce dernier soit tenu au courant de l’identité des individus considérés à l’heure actuelle comme délinquants sous responsabilité fédérale, facilitant ainsi son pouvoir discrétionnaire en matière de délivrance, de refus ou de révocation d’un passeport.

En vertu des modalités du protocole d’entente, le SCC fournit à Passeport Canada l'information actuelle relative aux individus (incarcérés et libérés sous conditions) relevant de sa compétence fédérale. Dans le cas où l’individu en question fait une demande de passeport ou en détient un, Passeport Canada informe le SCC de la situation et communique sa décision en matière d’émission, de refus, de maintien ou de révocation du passeport.

La démarche relative au partage d’information envisagé fait appel à des échanges quotidiens entre les deux entités, par le biais d’une connexion sécurisée, privée et sur demande.

À partir d’un poste de travail désigné unique, le personnel autorisé de la Direction générale de la sécurité établit une connexion vers un dispositif sécurisé de transfert de fichiers du SCC, et amorce l’échange d’information.

Les données relatives aux renseignements personnels des délinquants qui relèvent de la compétence du SCC sont transmises à PPTC. Les données relatives aux demandes de profil du délinquant sont rafraîchies et les décisions concernant la délivrance, le refus et la révocation de passeports sont transmises au SCC.

Après réception des données du SCC sur les délinquants, PPTC met à jour sa Liste des signalements, en y ajoutant une liste annexe de profils de délinquants (aux fins de la délivrance et de la vérification de l’admissibilité), et place chaque profil complet dans ses archives secondaires de données sur les contrevenants, dont l’accès est exclusivement réservé aux analystes de la sécurité et aux enquêteurs de PPTC qui prennent part à une enquête détaillée sur un requérant.

L’échange de données est un processus quotidien. Les directives contenues dans les données entrantes du SCC génèrent l’ajout, le remplacement ou le retrait de profils de délinquants dans les dossiers de Passeport Canada, et en assurent ainsi l’actualisation et la fiabilité.

Les renseignements personnels des délinquants sont sauvegardés au moyen de mesures de sécurité diverses, telles que le cryptage des données, la limitation d’accès aux données et la journalisation des accès et des activités.

Évaluation et atténuation des risques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels

Sont identifiés, dans le présent rapport, les risques ci–après en matière de protection des renseignements personnels ainsi que les recommandations visant à atténuer ces risques. Des révisions du protocole d’entente sont en cours.

  1. Accès non autorisé

    IRIS, le système de délivrance des passeports utilisé par PPTC, ne prévoit pas une analyse rétrospective des utilisateurs qui accèdent à la Liste des signalements. Il devient alors impossible de déterminer qui a effectivement eu accès aux renseignements personnels d’un délinquant. Ce même risque existe aujourd’hui par rapport à d’autres renseignements personnels conservés au sein de la Liste de signalements.

    • Recommandation 1 : IRIS doit être amélioré de sorte à permettre une analyse rétrospective des accès à la Liste. Les archives secondaires de renseignements sur les délinquants décrites dans l’EFVP, qui contiennent l’intégralité des renseignements sur un délinquant donné, notamment sa photographie, seront assorties d’une capacité d’analyse rétrospective des accès ou des utilisateurs.
    • Recommandation 2 : Sensibiliser les examinateurs et les analystes de la sécurité à la sensibilité des renseignements personnels.
      L’accès par le personnel de soutien aux renseignements personnels doit se limiter au strict «besoin de savoir». Le risque en matière de protection des renseignements personnels fait référence au fait que certains employés peuvent accéder à des renseignements dont ils n’ont pas nécessairement besoin dans le cadre de leurs activités.
    • Recommandation 3 : Il conviendrait d’établir des profils d'accès du personnel de soutien de sorte à limiter l’accès aux renseignements personnels au strict «besoin de savoir». La journalisation et la vérification des activités permettront également de réduire ce risque, au même titre qu’un programme de sensibilisation continu et régulier, destiné au personnel de soutien et portant sur la sensibilité des renseignements personnels.
  2. Renseignements personnels concernant les employés de PPTC

    Passeport Canada fournit au SCC un identifiant numérique correspondant à un employé, dans deux cas de figure: lors d’une demande de rafraîchissement des renseignements sur un délinquant et lorsqu’une décision a été prise relativement à une demande de passeport présentée par un délinquant.

    Dans ces deux cas de figure, un identifiant numérique de l’employé qui fait la demande de rafraîchissement ou de celui qui prend la décision relative à la demande de passeport est envoyé au SCC. C’est une mesure imposée par le SCC, lui permettant de satisfaire à ses propres exigences en matière d’accès à l’information, grâce à l’identification des personnes qui ont visualisé les renseignements personnels d’un délinquant.

    Les risques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels ont trait à la possibilité qu'un délinquant ou ancien délinquant obtienne, en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, l'identité de l’employé de PPTC, ce qui exposerait ce dernier à un danger potentiel.

    • Recommandation 4 : Afin d’atténuer ce risque, des procédures relatives à la réponse aux demandes d’information en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information doivent tenir compte de la sécurité personnelle de l’employé et faire preuve de discrétion quant au dévoilement de son identité.
  3. Accès aux justificatifs d’identification

    Le système décrit dans l’EFVP l’échange des données cryptées contenant des renseignements personnels, au moyen d’une connexion VPN sécurisée entre Passeport Canada et le SCC. La Direction générale de la sécurité de Passeport Canada tient à jour un ensemble de comptes et de mots de passe permettant l’accès au réseau VPN.
    Le risque d’accès non autorisé réside dans la possibilité qu’un individu non autorisé parvienne à obtenir un accès aux justificatifs de compte et de mot de passe et ainsi se trouver en position d’accès aux fichiers de données qui contiennent des renseignements personnels.

    • Recommandation 5 : Le gardien du registre de comptes et de mots de passe doit être clairement identifié et les justificatifs d’identité doivent être conservés en un lieu sécurisé et bien contrôlé.
  4. Répondre aux atteintes à la sécurité et à la divulgation illicite de renseignements

    Le service de sécurité des TI de Passeport Canada a mis au point et instauré des procédures d’intervention en cas d’incident de sécurité en matière de TI afin de se conformer aux exigences de Gestion de la sécurité des technologies de l'information (GSTI).

Conclusion

Le rapport d’EFVP a identifié un certain nombre de risques en matière de protection des renseignements personnels, qui pourraient être aisément atténués grâce à la mise en place de mesures appropriées. Les problèmes portaient sur la restriction d’accès aux données, la vérification des accès à ces données et la protection des données d’identification du personnel de PPTC. La majorité des problèmes identifiés représentaient un faible niveau de matérialisation du risque; aucun ne présentait un niveau élevé de matérialisation du risque.