MITNET / SIGNET–D Infrastructure

Executive Summary

SIGNET Engineering and Maintenance, Infrastructure Operations, Internetworking, Secure Systems Development and Electronic Messaging

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade has a secure computer network known as SIGNET–D. This network is used primarily for unsecured information processing, storage, and management as well as unsecured messaging. The network is nearly 15 years old and has gone through several revisions. SIGNET–D is the network operating environment and related protocols that runs on top of MITNET, which provides a single departmental network infrastructure to support data and voice applications. Where SIGNET–D is a higher–level network environment and provides operating connectivity for users, the MITNET provides the low–level network connectivity protocols and the physical infrastructure. It connects the Local Area Networks (LANs) at Canada's 160 missions in 111 countries, and directly serves more than 10,000 people, of whom more than 6,000 work outside Canada.

A Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) was developed as part of the Department’s commitment to protection of personal information. It also meets the requirements of the Management of Information Technology Security directive obligating departmental major services to undergo a security and privacy assessment at this point. The PIA provided an insight into possible risks to personal information and recommended appropriate courses of action.

The scope of the PIA was limited to the MITNET, SIGNET–D, and Email Infrastructure and focussed on the network’s operational processes. It is important to note that this privacy assessment assessed personal information collected from the employees of the Department to provide access to the employees to the Departmental network infrastructure and its associated tools and programs. The DFAIT Network Infrastructure consists of MITNET, which is the physical layer as well as low level networking protocols; SIGNET–D, which is the operating layer of the network including higher level networking protocols; and finally the Email system.

While SIGNET–D and the Email system provide the opportunity for departmental programs and services to use this infrastructure to operate their programs, each program is responsible for the management of information collected, including any personal information which may be collected. The infrastructure is the backbone of the Department which allows all programs and services to use the infrastructure to operate their own electronic tools and systems. Each program or service has been given a mandate by the department, and in accordance with its own mandate and through the conduct of day–to–day operations, they may collect and store personal information. Each program is responsible to undertake a privacy assessment and address any potential risks.

DFAIT uses the MITNET/SIGNET–D network for non–classified departmental activities. Examples of the specific types of information transmitted, stored and processed include, but are not limited to, issues regarding political, economic, trade, and social situations in other countries and the sharing of this information with partner departments and allies under specific memoranda of understanding; information pertaining to Canadians living abroad, international crisis and other information in Canada’s national interest.

DFAIT has a requirement to ensure that the MITNET/SIGNET–D’s operation has taken all measures to protect personal information and its possible disclosure. In the course of conducting the programs and activities of the Department, MITNET/SIGNET–D may accumulate personal information. This information often exists in a fragmented manner throughout the system. Selected personal information is stored in directory systems that serve the network supporting DFAIT employees conducting departmental business as well as limited personal business.

Risk Analysis Segment

The PIA for the MITNET/SIGNET–D network including the Email system found the following risks during the assessment which can be addressed while the network is in operation.

The Department has developed adequate mitigation strategies addressing these risks. Risks are measured based on their severity from low, to medium, to high. Also, risks that have no immediate or direct impact on protection of personal information in association with the system are categorized as “Advisory” level.

Principle 1: Accountability for Personal Information

Identified Risk: Shared Drives

Risk Level: Advisory

Mitigation Strategy: Personal information on SIGNET–D and the Email system is of three types:

  1. Employee’s personal information collected for the purpose of network access and authentication, which provides access to corporate network and applications. This information is managed by the network infrastructure in highly secure and regulated manor.
  2. Programs and services collect personal information as part of their operations and mandates. Personal information collected as part of programs each have a specific purpose and management criterion.
  3. Personal information stored by employees, as a result of personal activities. This information is stored on shared drives, personal email folders, or public–folders of email system by employees, for personal purposes and maintained and managed individually.

Generally, shared drives and (email) public–folders represent a low level of risk that require additional protection and structured management. These may be achieved by the following elements:

  • Defining roles and responsibilities
  • Establishing policies and procedures
    • Regularly scheduled privacy risk assessment by various stakeholders
  • Protection of personal information on shared drives
  • Protection of personal information on public and personal folders – email system
  • Management of personal information on shared drives and email system
    • Program related personal information
    • InfoBank related information
    • Employees personal information generated by individual use, non–related or generated by departmental
  • Training and awareness
  • Audit and compliance

While the network SIGNET–D is designated for Protected “A” information, it has been difficult to enforce the policy in the past. The Information Protection Center (IPC) at DFAIT has developed plans to continually scan the shared drives using special software tools and identify information such as Social Insurance Numbers, and other highly important personal information.

The plan is to issue “cyber infractions” to those users who store high–risk personal information on the shared drives. All information of protected nature “C” must reside on a separate network designated as SIGNET C–5. IPC has consulted with the Departmental legal advisors at Justice, and has received a blessing to proceed with the planned initiative/mitigation.

While there are existing policies which reflect on acceptable use, i.e., Policy on Acceptable Use of E–Mail Facilities by DFAIT Staff, etc., additional steps and enhancements of these current policies may be required to make the employees aware of privacy risks.

The above recommended mitigations approach will ensure that the personal information is collected, stored and managed with significantly lower levels of risks.

Principle 2: Collection of Personal Information

Identified Risk: Adequate Privacy Notice Statement

Risk Level: Low

Mitigation Strategy: The department will develop a process by which employees are provided an opportunity to review a Privacy Notice Statement (PNS) prior to providing their personal information to receive proper privileges and accounts on the network.

DFAIT employees using the shared drives to store their own personal information must be advised regarding the nature of the shared drives and potential risks.

The Concept of Operations and the operation manuals are short on details, however, it must be noted that the topic of accountability is not for operational manuals to discuss. Application of privacy policy and protection of personal information has taken shape within the department as the Information Protection Center conducts security and privacy scans over the network. Additional measures need to be developed as part of the management of personal information on SIGNET to reflect existing roles and responsibilities of programs utilizing the network infrastructure. The existing Departmental policy, the Network Acceptable Use Policy (NAUP), requires enhancement as a result of the Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) and selected others (e.g. Voice Messaging) that recognize that the existing policy has a security focus only. The users of the network need additional information regarding management of their own personal information as well as comprehensive PNS that inform the users of their roles and responsibilities, and accountability. Development of the NAUP is a complex process involving a number of stakeholders and beneficiaries. While the PIA could offer some of the basic building blocks of the PNS, the NAUP is much more than that. The content of the NAUP requires refreshing to reflect the role of the user and the program in the management of personal information over the network infrastructure.

Infrastructure MITNET/SIGNET–D

Sommaire exécutif

Ingénierie et maintenance du SIGNET, opérations d'infrastructure, interconnexion de réseaux, développement de systèmes sécurisés et messagerie électronique

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) s’est doté d’un réseau informatique sécurisé appelé SIGNET–D. Ce réseau est principalement utilisé pour traiter, stocker et gérer des informations non sécurisées ainsi que pour la transmission de messagerie non sécurisée. Le réseau a près de 15ans d’âge et il a subi plusieurs révisions. SIGNET–D est le réseau opérant les protocoles d'exploitation et protocoles connexes qui se greffe par–dessus le système MITNET, lequel constitue une infrastructure de réseau unique pour l’ensemble du Ministère pour la prise en charge des applications de transmission des données et de la voix. Tandis que SIGNET–D est un environnement réseau de haut niveau et offre une connectivité opérationnelle aux utilisateurs, MITNET procure des protocoles de connectivité réseau de bas niveau et l’infrastructure physique. Il relie les réseaux locaux aux 160missions canadiennes établies dans 111pays, et il dessert directement plus de 10000personnes, dont plus de 6000 travaillent à l'extérieur du Canada.

Une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) a été mise au point dans le cadre de l’engagement ministériel en matière de protection des renseignements personnels. Elle satisfait également aux exigences de la directive sur la Gestion de la sécurité des technologies de l’information qui fait obligation pour les principaux services ministériels de mener une évaluation sur la sécurité et les renseignements personnels à ce stade. L’EFVP a fourni un aperçu sur les risques possibles relatifs aux renseignements personnels et a recommandé des actions appropriées.

L’étendue de l’EFPV s’est limitée à MITNET, à SIGNET–D et à l’infrastructure de courriel, et elle s’est focalisée sur les processus opérationnels du réseau. Il est important de noter que cette évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée a porté sur les données personnelles recueillies auprès d’employés du Ministère pour leur donner accès à l’infrastructure de réseau du Ministère et à ses outils et programmes connexes. L’infrastructure de réseau du MAECI est composée de MITNET, groupant le niveau physique et les protocoles de réseautage de bas niveau; de SIGNET–D, qui est le niveau fonctionnel du réseau y compris les protocoles de réseautage de haut niveau; et, finalement, du système de courriel.

Pendant que SIGNET–D et le système de courriel permettent aux programmes et services ministériels d’utiliser cette infrastructure pour mener leurs activités de programmes, chaque programme est responsable de la gestion des données qu’il recueille, y compris de tous renseignements personnels ayant pu être recueillis. L’infrastructure est l’épine dorsale du Ministère qui permet à tous les programmes et services d’utiliser l’infrastructure pour mettre en action leurs propres systèmes et outils électroniques. Chaque programme ou service s’est vu confier un mandat par le Ministère, et au titre de son propre mandat et dans la conduite de ses opérations quotidiennes, il peut recueillir et emmagasiner des renseignements personnels. Chaque programme a la responsabilité de mener une évaluation de l’impact sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de traiter convenablement tout risque potentiel que cela révélerait.

Le MAECI utilise le réseau MITNET/SIGNET–D pour les activités ministérielles non classifiées. Parmi les exemples de types spécifiques de renseignements transmis, stockés et traités, nous citons, sans donner ici une liste complète, les informations sur la situation politique, économique, commerciale et sociale existant dans d’autres pays et l’échange de ces informations avec des ministères partenaires et des alliés en vertu de protocoles d’entente spécifiques; les renseignements sur les Canadiens vivant à l’étranger, sur les crises internationales et sur les sujets d’intérêt national pour le Canada.

Le MAECI est tenu de faire en sorte que toutes les mesures raisonnables soient prises pour protéger et empêcher que ne soient révélés les renseignements personnels dans le cadre de l’utilisation de MITNET/SIGNET–D. Il se peut que des renseignements personnels soient stockés dans les réseaux MITNET/SIGNET–D au cours de l’exécution des programmes et des activités du Ministère. Cette information existe souvent sous une forme fragmentée dans le système. Des renseignements personnels sélectionnés sont stockés dans les systèmes de répertoires qui desservent le réseau mis à la disposition des employés du MAECI pour leur permettre de remplir leurs fonctions comme employés du Ministère et de mener un degré limité d’activités personnelles.

Section de l’analyse des risques

L’EFVP du réseau MITNET/SIGNET–D, y compris le système de courriel, a ciblé les risques suivants durant l’évaluation, lesquels peuvent être traités pendant que le réseau est en fonctionnement.

Le Ministère a élaboré des stratégies adéquates d’atténuation des risques décelés. Les risques sont mesurés selon leur degré de gravité, à savoir faible, moyen ou élevé. De plus, les risques en lien avec le système qui n’ont aucun impact immédiat ou direct sur la protection des renseignements personnels sont catégorisés comme étant du niveau « consultatif ».

Principe 1 : Responsabilité à l’égard des renseignements personnels

Risque identifié : Disques partagés

Niveau de risque : Consultatif

Stratégie d’atténuation : Les renseignements personnels contenus dans SIGNET–D et dans le système de courriel sont de trois types :

  1. Les renseignements personnels des employés recueillis aux fins de l’accès au réseau et de l’authentification, ce qui permet d’accéder au réseau et aux applications du Ministère. Ces renseignements sont gérés par l’infrastructure du réseau d’une manière très sécuritaire et contrôlée.
  2. Les programmes et services recueillent des renseignements personnels dans le cadre de leurs activités et de leurs mandats. Les renseignements personnels recueillis dans le cadre de programmes le sont tous à des fins déterminées ou à des fins de gestion.
  3. Les renseignements personnels stockés par les employés à la suite d’activités personnelles. Cette information est stockée sur des disques partagés, dans des dossiers de courriels personnels ou dans des dossiers publics du système de courriel par des employés, à des fins personnelles et conservés et gérés individuellement.

De manière générale, les disques partagés et les dossiers publics (courriel) représentent un niveau de risque faible qui nécessite une protection accrue et une gestion structurée. On peut y parvenir par les moyens suivants :

  • Définition des rôles et responsabilités
  • Établissement de politiques et de procédures
    • Tenue d’évaluations périodiques des risques d’atteinte à la vie privée menées par les diverses parties prenantes
  • Protection des renseignements personnels sur des disques partagés
  • Protection des renseignements personnels dans des dossiers publics et personnels – système de courriel
  • Gestion des renseignements personnels enregistrés sur des disques partagés et dans le système de courriel
    • Renseignements personnels liés à des programmes
    • Renseignements liés à l’InfoBanque
    • Renseignements personnels des employés générés par une utilisation personnelle, non liés au Ministère ou non générés par ce dernier
  • Formation et sensibilisation
  • Vérification et conformité

Bien que le réseau SIGNET–D soit désigné pour les renseignements protégés « A », il a été difficile, par le passé, d’appliquer la politique. Le Centre de protection de l’information (CPI) du MAECI a élaboré des plans pour survoler continuellement les disques partagés à l’aide d’outils logiciels spéciaux et identifier des renseignements comme les numéros d’assurance sociale et autres renseignements personnels de haute importance.

Le plan consiste à émettre des « cyber–contraventions » aux usagers qui stockent des renseignements personnels à haut risque sur les disques partagés. Tous les renseignements protégés « C » doivent être conservés sur un réseau distinct dénommé SIGNET C–5. Le CPI a consulté les conseillers juridiques du Ministère auprès de Justice Canada et il a reçu le feu vert pour l’initiative projetée d’atténuation du risque.

Bien qu’il existe des politiques qui indiquent une utilisation acceptable, à savoir la politique relative à l’utilisation acceptable de l’infrastructure de courriel par les employés du MAECI, etc., des étapes et des améliorations supplémentaires de ces politiques pourraient être nécessaires afin d’informer les employés des risques relatifs à la protection des renseignements personnels.

L’approche d’atténuation recommandée, susmentionnée, garantira que les renseignements personnels seront recueillis, stockés et gérés avec des niveaux de risques notablement plus faibles.

Principe 2 : Collecte de renseignements personnels

Risque identifié : Formulation adéquate de l’énoncé de confidentialité

Niveau de risque : Faible

Stratégie d’atténuation : Le Ministère établira un processus permettant aux employés de lire un énoncé de confidentialité avant de transmettre leurs renseignements personnels pour ouvrir un compte sur le réseau et obtenir des privilèges adéquats.

Les membres du personnel du MAECI qui utilisent les disques partagés pour stocker leurs renseignements personnels doivent connaître la nature de ces disques et les risques potentiels qui y sont associés.

Le concept d’opération et les manuels des opérations donnent peu de détails, mais il convient cependant de noter que le sujet de la responsabilisation n’a pas à être développé dans les manuels des opérations. L’application de la politique de confidentialité et de la protection des renseignements personnels a pris forme au sein du Ministère depuis que le Centre de protection de l’information effectue des survols de sécurité et de confidentialité sur le réseau. Des mesures supplémentaires doivent être élaborées dans le cadre de la gestion des renseignements personnels sur SIGNET pour refléter les rôles et responsabilités existants des programmes qui utilisent l’infrastructure du réseau. La politique ministérielle actuelle relative à l'utilisation acceptable du réseau par les employés du Ministère doit être améliorée comme résultat de cette EFVP, et certaines autres aussi (par exemple, la messagerie vocale) qui reconnaissent que la politique en vigueur est axée uniquement sur la sécurité. Les usagers de ce réseau doivent être mieux informés sur la gestion de leurs renseignements personnels et disposer d’un énoncé de confidentialité exhaustif qui les informe de leurs rôles et responsabilités, et de leur obligation de rendre compte. L’élaboration de la politique relative à l’utilisation acceptable du réseau par les employés du Ministère est un processus complexe mettant en jeu un certain nombre d’intervenants et de bénéficiaires. Même s’il se peut que l’EFVP fasse ressortir certains éléments de base de l’énoncé de confidentialité, la politique relative à l’utilisation acceptable du réseau par les employés du Ministère est beaucoup plus que cela. Le contenu de la politique relative à l’utilisation acceptable du réseau par les employés du Ministère a besoin d’être modernisée pour refléter le rôle de l’utilisateur et du programme dans la gestion des renseignements personnels sur l’infrastructure du réseau.