Privacy Impact Assessment for the Foreign Service Directives Portal

Executive Summary

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) administers the Foreign Service Directives (FSD) for over 1,800 employees and dependents who work in Canada’s missions abroad.  These include DFAIT employees as well as employees from other government departments that have signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) for DFAIT to administer the FSDs on their behalf.  FSD expenditures during the 2009-2010 fiscal year represented $131.7 million.

The FSDs describe the terms and conditions of the benefits provided to Government of Canada employees and their dependents when they are posted abroad and form a part of the employee’s collective agreement.

The departmental Foreign Service Directives (FSD) Services and Policy Bureau has initiated the FSD Portal Project to automate the management of FSDs through the delivery of modified business processes and a new application solution. The FSD Portal is an application that will be used to manage Mission Clients (Employees) outside of Canada and their FSDs. The FSD Portal will receive data from the Human Resources Management System (tombstone information) for all DFAIT clients. Other Government Department (OGD) client information will be captured manually within the FSD Portal web application. This application will be linked to LiveCycle, which processes the Travel forms (FSD 50.01, 50.02 &70).  The FSD Portal will also feed the departmental Integrated Management System with the information necessary to assure that the clients get paid in a timely fashion.

The FSD Portal will automate the processing of FSDs for clients at Missions outside of Canada. These clients can be members of this department or members of a number of other departments but they have access to the SIGNET D environment.

A Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) was completed as part of the Department’s commitment to safeguarding the confidentiality of the personal information under its control. The completion of the PIA also met the Management of Information Technology and Security (MITS) requirements obligating departmental enterprise applications to undergo a security and privacy assessment. 

There are inherent risks associated with information capture, collection, retention, and flow in the context of the operational features of the FSD Portal, an Intranet based system/tool.  The PIA resulted in identification of risks and the following recommendations mitigate the risks encountered and reduce the levels of risks found with the initiative.

  • Recommendation 1: It is recommended that all information, including personal information communicated by the FSD portal to the Adobe LiveCycle environment, be disposed of after each request is completed.
  • Recommendation 2: The departmental FSD Policy and Monitoring Division and the FSD Client Centre need to develop Information Sharing Agreements with their internal partners such as the departmental Assignment and Pool Management Division who are responsible for human resources and financial system.
  • Recommendation 3: While it is outside the scope of the completed PIA to examine the initial “Purpose of collection”, it is recommended that HRMS and Human Resources operations include data sharing with the FSD Portal as part of its Privacy Notice Statement, as well as all related Personal Information Banks.

While these mitigating strategies do not eliminate the risk entirely, they reduce it to a level for which the Department and its senior management could assume the remaining risk with a reasonable expectation that risks in the process of being realized would be caught by monitoring processes before they became untenable. These residual risks will need to be managed in accordance with the executive duties, powers and prerogatives and accountability bestowed upon the Deputy Head.

Facteurs relatifs à la vie privée touchant le portail sur les directives sur le service extérieur

Résumé

Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada (MAECI) gère les Directives sur le service extérieur (DSE) qui touchent plus de 1 800 employés qui travaillent dans des missions du Canada à l’étranger et leurs personnes à charge. Ces employés relèvent du MAECI ou d’autres ministères ayant signé un protocole d’entente (PE) avec le MAECI afin que ce dernier gère les DSE en leur nom. Les dépenses engagées dans le cadre des DSE au cours de l’exercice 2009-2010 ont atteint 131,7 millions de dollars.

Les DSE décrivent les conditions générales qui régissent les avantages auxquels ont droit les employés du gouvernement du Canada affectés à l’étranger et leurs personnes à charge et font partie de la convention collective des employés.

La Direction générale de la politique et des services relatifs aux Directives sur le service extérieur du Ministère a mis en place le projet de Portail des DSE en vue d’automatiser la gestion des DSE grâce à de nouveaux processus opérationnels et à une nouvelle application. Le Portail des DSE est une application qui sera utilisée pour gérer la clientèle des missions (employés) à l’extérieur du Canada et les DES qui les concernent. Des données provenant du Système de gestion des ressources humaines (données personnelles) et concernant tous les clients du MAECI y seront versées. Les renseignements des autres ministères clients seront saisis manuellement dans l’application Web du Portail des DSE. Cette application sera liée à LiveCycle, un outil qui sert à traiter les formulaires de voyage (DSE 50.01, 50.02 et 70). Le Portail des DSE fournira également au Système de gestion intégrée du MAECI les renseignements nécessaires pour faire en sorte que les clients soient payés en temps opportun.

Le Portail des DSE permettra d’automatiser le traitement des DSE visant les clients dans les missions à l’étranger. Ces clients peuvent relever du Ministère ou d’autres ministères, mais ils doivent avoir accès à l’environnement SIGNET D.

Une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) a été réalisée dans le cadre de l’engagement du Ministère à protéger la confidentialité des renseignements personnels auxquels il a accès. L’EFVP répond également aux exigences de la Gestion de la sécurité des technologies de l'information (GSTI), selon lesquelles les applications commerciales qu’utilise le Ministère doivent être soumises à une évaluation de la sécurité et de la protection de la vie privée.

Des risques inhérents sont associés à la saisie, la collecte, la conservation et la circulation de renseignements dans le cadre des caractéristiques opérationnelles du Portail des DSE, un système/outil accessible par l’intranet. La réalisation de l’EFVP a permis de mettre en évidence des risques associés à cette initiative, que les recommandations suivantes permettront d’atténuer.

  • Recommandation 1 : Il est recommandé de supprimer tous les renseignements après le traitement de chaque demande, notamment les renseignements personnels communiqués au moyen du Portail des DSE à l’environnement Adobe LiveCycle.
  • Recommandation 2 : La Direction de la politique et de l'administration des DSE et le Centre de ressources sur les DES doivent conclure des ententes d'échange de renseignements avec leurs partenaires internes, comme la Direction des affectations et de la gestion des bassins communs, qui sont responsables des ressources humaines et du système financier.
  • Recommandation 3 : Bien que la question de l’objet de la collecte initiale ne fasse pas partie de l’EFVP, il est recommandé que le SGRH et la Direction des opérations des ressources humaines ajoutent l’échange de données avec le Portail des DSE dans leur Avis de confidentialité, ainsi que toutes les banques de renseignements personnels connexes.

Bien que ces stratégies d’atténuation ne suppriment pas entièrement les risques, elles les réduisent suffisamment pour que le Ministère et sa haute direction puissent les assumer et s’attendre raisonnablement à ce que leur concrétisation soit détectée grâce aux processus de surveillance avant que ces risques ne viennent insoutenables. Les risques qui persistent devront être gérés conformément aux tâches, pouvoirs, privilèges et responsabilités conférés à l’administrateur général.