Privacy Impact Assessment for Trade Agreements and NAFTA Secretariat

Executive Summary

The Trade Agreements and NAFTA Secretariat (TAS) administers the dispute settlement provisions of Canada’s Free Trade Agreements (FTAs), including the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), agreements with Israel, Chile, Costa Rica, EFTA, Peru, Jordan, Colombia, Panama[1], as well as potential future agreements such as with the European Union, etc.  The Secretariat also provides general administrative support for the implementation and functioning of those agreements, and for the management of their governance committees which includes the administrative organization of Ministerial, Deputy Ministerial and senior official meetings and the coordination of Branch processes for the preparation of briefing materials. In addition, the Secretariat has the responsibility for the coordination of environmental assessments of trade agreements and general research related to negotiation and implementation of FTAs. 

The NAFTA Secretariat, Canadian Section, was previously a stand-alone portfolio partner until the 2010 Budget Implementation Act and relevant Order-in-Council integrated the Secretariat into the Department.  The Secretariat became part of the Trade Policy and Negotiations Branch as of August 27, 2010, at which time its mandate was extended to further trade agreements as described above.

The North American Free Trade Agreement is a formal, comprehensive trade agreement that establishes clear rules for commercial activity between Canada, the United States and Mexico. Since the agreement entered into force on January 1, 1994, NAFTA has systematically eliminated most tariff and non-tariff barriers to free trade and investment between the three NAFTA countries.  NAFTA is overseen by a number of institutions that ensure the proper interpretation and smooth implementation of the Agreement’s provisions.

TAS required the undertaking of a Privacy Impact Assessment for the operation of the Secretariat. The assessment includes the Secretariat’s business practices as well as personal information holdings.

The Scope of this Privacy Impact Assessment is the personal information collected, managed, disclosed, and retained by the Trade Agreement and NAFTA Secretariat only and does not extend to operations of the Privy Council Office, the Department’s Legal Bureau or the office of the Minister.

This assessment did not encounter significant risks to TAS however, the following recommendations mitigate the few risks encountered.

  • Recommendation 1: It is recommended that TAS review and integrate appropriate Privacy Notice Statements into its operations and business processes. 
  • Recommendation 2: It is recommended that TAS develop / update its existing Personal Information Bank (PIB).
  • Recommendation 3: It is recommended that TAS develop and maintain logging information for non-electronic information and audit trails for its electronic database.

While these mitigating strategies do not eliminate the risk entirely, they do reduce it to a manageable level for the Department and its senior management.  Monitoring processes are expected to detect any residual risk before any harm is experienced.  Residual risks will need to be managed in accordance with the executive duties, powers and prerogatives and accountability bestowed upon the Deputy Head.

[1] EFTA, Peru, Jordan, Colombia, Panama require Royal Assent for approval, and are not approved at present.

Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée concernant le Secrétariat des ententes et de l’ALENA

Sommaire exécutif

Le Secrétariat des ententes et de l’ALENA (TAS) gère les dispositions en matière de règlement des différends des accords de libre-échange (ALE) du Canada, y compris l’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain (ALENA), les accords conclus avec Israël, le Chili, le Costa Rica, l’AELE, le Pérou, la Jordanie, la Colombie et le Panama[1] ainsi que des futurs accords potentiels tels que celui avec l’Union européenne. Le Secrétariat fournit aussi un soutien administratif général pour la mise en œuvre et le fonctionnement de ces accords et la gestion de leurs comités de gouvernance, y compris l’organisation administrative des réunions des ministres, des sous-ministres et des hauts fonctionnaires et la coordination des processus sectoriels de préparation des documents d’information. De plus, le Secrétariat est chargé de coordonner les évaluations environnementales des accords commerciaux et la recherche générale liée aux négociations et à la mise en œuvre des ALE.

Le Secrétariat de l’ALENA, Section canadienne, était un partenaire du portefeuille autonome quand la Loi d’exécution du budget de 2010 et le décret pertinent ont intégré le Secrétariat au Ministère. Le Secrétariat a été intégré au Secteur de la politique et des négociations commerciales le 27 août 2010. À ce moment, son mandat a été élargi pour comprendre d’autres accords, tel qu’il est mentionné ci-dessus.

L’Accord de libre-échange nord-américain est un accord commercial officiel de large portée, qui établit des règles claires régissant l’activité commerciale entre le Canada, les États-Unis et le Mexique. Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de l’ALENA le 1er janvier 1994, l’Accord a systématiquement éliminé la plupart des obstacles, tarifaires ou non, au libre-échange et à l’investissement entre les trois pays de l’ALENA. Un certain nombre d’institutions sont chargées de surveiller la mise en œuvre de l’Accord, afin d’assurer que ses dispositions sont correctement interprétées et bien appliquées.

TAS exige la réalisation d’une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée pour le fonctionnement du Secrétariat. L’évaluation comprend les pratiques opérationnelles du Secrétariat ainsi que ses fonds de renseignements personnels.

La portée de cette évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée se limite aux renseignements personnels recueillis, gérés, divulgués et conservés par le Secrétariat des ententes et de l’ALENA, et ne comprend pas les activités du Bureau du conseil privé, du service juridique du Ministère ou du cabinet du Ministre.

Cette évaluation n’a pas révélé des risques importants pour le Secrétariat des ententes et de l’ALENA; toutefois, les recommandations suivantes permettront d’atténuer les quelques risques cernés.

  • Recommandation 1 : Il est recommandé que le Secrétariat des ententes et de l’ALENA examine et intègre les énoncés d’avis de confidentialité appropriés à ses activités et processus opérationnels.
  • Recommandation 2 : Il est recommandé que le Secrétariat des ententes et de l’ALENA tienne à jour son fichier de renseignements personnels (FRP) actuel.
  • Recommandation 3 : Il est recommandé que le Secrétariat des ententes et de l’ALENA tienne à jour ses renseignements sur la connexion pour l’information non électronique et ses pistes de vérification pour sa base de données électronique.

Même si ces stratégies d’atténuation ne suppriment pas entièrement les risques, elles les réduisent à un niveau permettant au Ministère et aux membres de sa haute direction de les gérer. Des processus de surveillance sont censés détecter les risques résiduels avant que des effets dommageables ne se fassent sentir. Les risques résiduels devront être gérés conformément aux tâches, pouvoirs, prérogatives et responsabilités exécutives conférés à l’administrateur général. 

[1] l’AELE, le Pérou, la Jordanie, la Colombie et le Panama doivent recevoir la sanction royale, et ces accords ne l'ont pas encore reçue à ce jour.