Privacy Impact Assessment for Summits

Executive Summary

As the federal government’s center of expertise on foreign affairs and international trade, DFAIT provides ongoing benefits to Canadians by leading a government wide approach to formulating and implementing policies on foreign affairs and international trade, as well as related programs; concentrating on the department’s core business in order to advance Canada’s global agenda as it relates to the key issues of peace and security, trade and investment, and international law and human rights, while making full use of the department’s geographic expertise worldwide; promoting international trade and commerce through initiatives such as negotiation of agreements to open and/or expand markets, facilitation of two way trade and investment, and encouragement of innovation by means of international partnerships for science and technology commercialization; offering passport, consular and international commercial services, as well as timely and practical information on international issues and managing Canada’s missions worldwide (i.e. the Government of Canada’s international platform).

More specifically, one of DFAIT’s program activities is to engage Canadian stakeholders and partners as well as foreign governments and international players; raise awareness and understanding of Canada’s policies, interests and deliver international programs onCanada’s behalf to address specific international issues. Officers from the political/economic and trade commissioner streams of the Foreign Service and non-rotational officers at headquarters perform these duties.

When hosted byCanada, DFAIT is the lead department for all types of summits:

  • Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)Summit
  • Economic Summits (G6, G7, G8, G20)
  • Arab League Summits
  • Earth Summits
  • Youth Summits
  • CommonwealthSummit
  • La Francophonie Summit
  • European Summits
  • North American Leaders’Summit
  • Summitof theAmericas
  • South American Summits
  • Inter-Korean Summits

DFAIT is, and has been for many years, responsible for organizing and/or participating in approximately 3 to 4 summits per year.

To meet this responsibility the Summits Management Office (SMO) was set up by the Government of Canada to coordinate and organize summits.  The SMO is responsible for coordinating the activities required for the planning and executing of summits, such as: liaison with various DFAIT bureaus and divisions, protocol, accommodation, overall logistics, communication, and accreditation and transportation.  The SMO works in parallel with the relevant DFAIT bureaus and divisions involved in the architecture of the summit; as well as other government departments (OGDs) such as the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and the Department of National Defense for other aspects such as security, and accreditation. Most of these activities involve the collection, use and disclosure of personal information.

Given that there are common aspects in the organization of summits such as logistics, communications, guest arrangements etc., DFAIT, in consultation with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner, agreed to the development of a general Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) for all types of summits in lieu of developing a PIA each time a summit must be organized.

As such the completed PIA only examined the common aspects of the program delivery that involved the collection, use, retention or sharing of the personal information collected to administer any and all summits hosted by the Prime Minister of Canada. Further, since the planning of summits tends to involve both Canadians and the international public, various governmental departments here in Canada and abroad, the scope of the PIA covered only what DFAIT collects, uses and stores (with mention of others for clarity and perspective).

Through the PIA process, it was confirmed that the requirements of the Privacy Act were adequately met.  However, two (2) privacy risks were identified as a result of the PIA, all of which can be reasonably mitigated.  The table below summarizes the privacy risks identified in the PIA, and categorizes the level of risk as low, moderate or high.  Risk is defined by a factor of both impact and likelihood of occurrence.  The goal of risk management is to maintain privacy risks within acceptable bounds.  The higher ratings provide an indication of priority areas for implementing suggested risk mitigation mechanisms.

ElementNature of riskLevel of riskMitigating Mechanisms
Individuals must be informed about how their personal information is collected, used and disclosed.The SMO provides for an Application Declaration that is completed by an individual prior to providing personal information.  While the Applicant Declaration informs the individual about how their personal information is collected, used and disclosed, it does not provide information about the Personal Information Bank that the information is described in.  This presents a risk that the individual is unaware of where they might look for their information should they wish to request it.LowIt is recommended that the SMO amend its Application Declaration notices at all points of collection to include the current PIB number (DFAIT PPU 904).
Retention and disposition authorities are under developmentTo date the retention and disposition for correspondence and communications relative to the SMO and its mandate is 2 years and then destroyed.  Accreditation information is retained during the period of the summit and then it is destroyed or purged from the third party contractor’s accreditation system upon completion of the summit final report and the authorization from the SMO.

Although the SMO is looking to update its current retention and disposal practices, some SMO staff is unsure/unaware of the retention and disposal standards that should be applied to the personal information within their custody and control.

LowIt is to be noted that DFAIT Information Management Services provides their expertise and support to SMO staff that are unsure of the correct procedure for the retention and disposal of SMO records, however, it is recommended that retention and disposal schedules be formalized and staff be trained in the proper handling and disposal of summit records.

Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée pour les sommets

Résumé

En tant que centre d’expertise du gouvernement fédéral pour les affaires étrangères et le commerce international, le MAECI offre des services continus aux Canadiens. Pour ce faire, il applique une approche pangouvernementale dans l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des politiques en matière d’affaires étrangères et de commerce international et des programmes connexes; il se concentre sur les activités de base du Ministère afin de promouvoir le programme mondial du Canada en ce qui a trait aux enjeux principaux de la paix et de la sécurité, du commerce et de l’investissement, ainsi que du droit international et des droits de la personne tout en mettant à profit l’expertise géographique du Ministère partout dans le monde; il fait la promotion du commerce international au moyen d’initiatives telles que la négociation d’accords visant à ouvrir et/ou à élargir des marchés, la facilitation du commerce et de l’investissement bilatéraux et l’incitation à l’innovation grâce à des partenariats internationaux visant la commercialisation dans le domaine de la science et de la technologie; il offre des services de passeport, des services consulaires et des services commerciaux internationaux; il communique en temps opportun de l’information d’ordre pratique sur les enjeux internationaux; il gère les missions canadiennes partout dans le monde (soit la plateforme internationale du gouvernement du Canada).

Plus précisément, au nombre de ses activités de programme, le MAECI est chargé de susciter la participation des intervenants et des partenaires canadiens, des gouvernements étrangers et des acteurs internationaux; de faire connaître et comprendre les politiques et les intérêts du Canada; d’exécuter au nom du Canada des programmes internationaux portant sur des enjeux internationaux particuliers. Ces responsabilités sont exercées par les agents des filières politique/économique et des délégués commerciaux du Service extérieur et par des agents non permutants de l’Administration centrale.

Le MAECI est le ministère responsable de tous les types de sommets qui se tiennent au Canada :

  • Sommet de la Coopération économique de la zone Asie-Pacifique (APEC)
  • Les sommets économiques (G6, G7, G8, G20)
  • Les sommets de la Ligue arabe
  • Les sommets de la Terre
  • Les sommets de la jeunesse
  • Le Sommet du Commonwealth
  • Le Sommet de la Francophonie
  • Les sommets de l’Europe
  • Le Sommet des leaders nord-américains
  • Le Sommet des Amériques
  • Les sommets de l’Amérique du Sud
  • Les sommets intercoréens

Depuis de nombreuses années, le MAECI est responsable d’organiser de trois à quatre sommets par année, ou d’y participer.

À cette fin, le gouvernement du Canada a établi le Bureau de gestion des Sommets (BGS) chargé de coordonner et d’organiser les sommets. Il a la responsabilité de coordonner les activités requises pour la planification et la tenue des sommets, telles que la liaison avec les diverses directions générales et directions du MAECI, le protocole, les communications, les questions d’accréditation et de transport. Le BGS collabore avec les directions générales et les directions concernées qui participent à l’architecture du sommet, ainsi qu’avec d’autres ministères tels que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, le ministère de la Défense nationale, en ce qui concerne notamment les questions de sécurité et d’accréditation. La plupart de ces activités impliquent la collecte, l’utilisation et la communication de renseignements personnels.

Étant donné qu’il existe des aspects communs dans l’organisation des sommets, comme la logistique, les communications, les préparatifs pour les invités, etc., le MAECI après avoir consulté le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée, a convenu d’élaborer un document général d’Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée (EFVP) pour tous les types de sommets plutôt que d’élaborer une EFVP à chaque fois que l’on doit organiser un sommet.

Les EFVP effectuées n’ont donc porté que sur les aspects communs de la prestation du programme qui impliquaient la collecte, l’utilisation, la consignation ou la communication des renseignements personnels recueillis aux fins d’administration de tous les sommets accueillis par le premier ministre du Canada. De plus, comme la planification des sommets implique souvent tant des Canadiens que des participants de partout dans le monde, ainsi que divers ministères canadiens et étrangers, l’EFVP a porté uniquement sur les renseignements que le MAECI recueille, utilise et met en mémoire (avec mention des autres aux fins de clarté et de perspective).

Au cours du processus d’EFVP, il a été confirmé que le Ministère a répondu de manière satisfaisante aux exigences de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Cependant, à la suite de l’EFVP, deux (2) risques ont été cernés relativement à la protection des renseignements personnels et ceux-ci peuvent être atténués de manière raisonnable. Le tableau ci-dessous résume les risques cernés dans l’EFVP, et précise le niveau de risque comme faible, modéré ou élevé. Le risque est défini par un facteur relatif à la fois à son incidence et à la probabilité qu’il se concrétise. L’objectif de la gestion du risque est de maintenir les risques liés à la protection des renseignements personnels à l’intérieur de limites acceptables. Les niveaux établis indiquent les secteurs prioritaires de mise en œuvre des mécanismes d’atténuation suggérés.

ÉlémentNature du risqueNiveau de risqueMécanismes d’atténuation
Les personnes concernées doivent être informées de la façon dont leurs renseignements personnels sont recueillis, utilisés et communiqués.Le BGS fournit une déclaration du demandeur que chaque personne remplit avant de transmettre des renseignements personnels. Bien que la déclaration informe la personne de la façon dont ses renseignements personnels seront recueillis, utilisés et communiqués, elle ne fait pas mention du fichier de renseignements personnels dans lequel seront consignés ces renseignements. La personne risque donc de ne pas savoir où elle pourrait rechercher ces renseignements si elle souhaitait le faire.FaibleIl est recommandé au BGS de modifier les avis inscrits à tous les points de cueillette dans la déclaration du demandeur pour y inclure le numéro du FRP actuel (MAECI PPU 904)
Les autorisations relatives à la conservation et à l’élimination sont en voie d’élaboration

Jusqu’à maintenant, la correspondance et les communications liées au BGS et à son mandat sont conservées pour une période de deux ans, puis détruites. L’information liée à l’accréditation est conservée pendant la durée du sommet, puis détruite ou éliminée du système d’accréditation de l’entrepreneur tiers une fois que le rapport définitif sur le sommet est terminé et que le BGS l’a autorisé.

Même si le BGS envisage de mettre à jour ses pratiques actuelles concernant la conservation et l’élimination, certains membres du personnel du BGS ne connaissent que peu ou pas les normes de conservation et d’élimination qui doivent être appliquées aux renseignements personnels dont ils ont la garde et le contrôle.

FaibleIl convient de noter que les Services de gestion de l’information du MAECI offrent leur expertise et leur soutien aux employés du BGS qui ne sont pas certains de la procédure à suivre pour la conservation et l’élimination des documents du BGS. Il est toutefois recommandé que des calendriers de conservation et d’élimination officiels soient établis et que le personnel reçoive la formation appropriée à cet égard.