Privacy Impact Assessment for Extractive Sector Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Counsellor

Executive Summary

The Office of the Extractive Sector Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) Counsellor was established in 2009 as part of the Government of Canada’sCSR Strategy for the International Extractive Sector. Broadly speaking, the Strategy is designed to help Canadian mining, oil and gas companies meet their social and environmental responsibilities when operating abroad.The Office of theCSR Counsellor has a mandate to reviewCSR practices of Canadian companies operating outside of Canada and to advise stakeholders on recognized best practices and endorsed performance standards.

The Office has built itself on the principles of transparency, completing extensive national and international stakeholder consultations and establishing (and communicating) the rights and obligations of both parties. However, once the Office determined the need for the collection of personal information (the contact information of panel members, requesters and responding parties as well as their personal opinions and life experiences), they became subject to the additional compliance obligations of the Privacy Act, Privacy Regulations and surrounding governance. Consequently, a Privacy Impact Assessment (PIA) was developed to assess the privacy implications involved, identify any privacy risks and develop mitigating measures for these risks as required.

While the principles of transparency and the obligation to safeguard confidential information remain intact, there are some administration issues that need to be addressed to be compliant to requirements of the legislation and supporting governance. All of the issues that have been identified are administrative in nature – there are no compliance issues that would prevent the Office from moving forward on its intended path.

In summary, the Office of the CSRCounsellor is collecting limited personal information from the general Canadian public. The PIA identified a few mandatory items that needed to be addressed with the program in order to be compliant to the Privacy Act. However, none of the risks identified (listed below) prevent the program from moving forward. Once these risks are mitigated, the personal information will be collected, used and disclosed in accordance with the federal Privacy Act. At the time the PIA was completed,

  1. the notice provided to individuals at the point of collection did not meet the mandatory requirements for the provision of notice and required updates to reflect the purpose of the collection and the intended disclosures.
  2. the particular Personal Information Bank registered with Treasury Board Secretariat did not reflect the intended uses and disclosures of the personal information that is collected. It also required updates to more accurately reflect the class of individuals to whom the personal information relates.
  3. the personal information submitted by participants could potentially be taken with the Counsellor or her staff across borders into countries that do not have the same privacy protections as Canada. This would be a serious risk – the program required that a formal policy be established to either NOT take the information across borders or inform individuals about this risk prior to the collection of the personal information.
  4. DFAIT had an extensive processing manual but required to update its governance in the form of a Privacy Protocol, Privacy Breach Protocol and Privacy Impact Assessment Guidelines. All three of these items are a requirement of the TBS Directives from April 2010. This was not a consideration for the Office of the Counsellor but is something that should be considered by the Coordinator for Access to Information and Privacy at DFAIT. This is currently underway.
  5. Program officers for the Office of the CSR Counsellor should work with Information Management staff and the ATIP Secretariat to identify preferred retention and destruction standards and to apply to the Chief Archivist for a Records Destruction Authority.
  6. DFAIT should update its training modules to reflect the information that is a requirement in the TBS Directives from April 2010. While it is understandable that the department is currently focussed on communicating responsibilities under the Access to Information Act, there should be priority given to train individuals that handle personal information regarding their role and responsibility in safeguarding the information.
  7. DFAIT should work with the department’s webmasters to have the link to the Access to Information and Privacy Secretariat corrected. Currently, the landing page comes up with an error statement.
  8. DFAIT should consider dating the summaries for the Privacy Impact Assessments so that individuals can gather a sense of when the programs were last assessed. This is not a mandatory requirement, but is considered an industry best practice. As a result of the PIA, please find below a list of risks and their mitigating measures for the Office of the Counsellor for CSR, and in some cases, for DFAIT on a general level.
ElementNature of riskLevel of riskMitigating Mechanisms
LowModerateHigh
1
  • Notice
  • Use
  • Disclosure
The notice that is provided at the point of collection does not accurately reflect the uses and disclosures intended for the personal information.  XThe notice statement must be updated, prior to the collection of personal information. A draft notice is being provided by way of this PIA.
2
  • Notice
  • Use
  • Disclosure
The particular personal information bank for the program does not accurately reflect all of the uses and disclosures intended for the personal information.  XProgram officers for the Office of the Counsellor should work with ATIP officials to have the PIB entry updated and published in InfoSource.
3
  • Disclosure
  • Safeguarding
There is the potential that staff from the Office of the Counsellor will carry personal information with them into countries that do not have the same privacy provisions as Canada.  XThe Counsellor is currently considering options and will choose to either 1) not take personal information with them when they are travelling to other countries or 2) provide notice of the risks associated with cross border travelling to the participants at the point of collection, allowing them to make an informed choice about participation.
4
  • Accountability
  • Safeguarding
Governance within DFAIT requires updating to meet the requirements of the new TBS Directives and the federal Privacy Act. X DFAIT should consider developing their own internal Privacy Protocol, based on the TBS model as well as creating a Privacy Breach Protocol and Privacy Impact Assessment Guidelines.
5
  • Retention
Currently, there are no defined retention standards or destruction authorities for the program, allowing the possibility that the personal information will be destroyed before authorized or held longer than is appropriate. X The Office of theCSRCounsellor should work with DFAIT Information Management and the ATIP Secretariat to define preferred retention standards and to apply to the National Archivist for a Records Destruction Authority.
6
  • Accountability
  • Use
  • Disclosure
  • Safeguarding
Currently, the training materials at DFAIT do not meet the requirements of the DFAIT Directives from April 2010. There is the risk that program officers are not aware of their responsibility to safeguard personal information.X  DFAIT should update their privacy training materials to meet the requirements of the April 2010 Directives. A formalized training plan for privacy training is recommended to ensure those handling personal information are aware of their obligations.
7
  • Openess
The link to ATIP information on the DFAIT website is not functioning, preventing individuals from researching how they can access their personal information.X  DFAIT should update the link to the Access to Information and Privacy landing page available to the public on their website as it is not currently functioning.
8
  • Openess
DFAIT does not currently date their PIA summaries on the web, so individuals would not be aware of when programs were last assessed.X  While not a requirement, dating PIA summaries is considered to be a best practice and should be considered by DFAIT.

Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée à l'intention du Conseiller en responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) de l'industrie extractive

Sommaire exécutif

Le Bureau du conseiller en responsabilité sociale des entreprises (RSE) de l’industrie extractive a été fondé en 2009 dans le cadre de la Stratégie de RSE du gouvernement du Canada pour les sociétés extractives présentes à l’étranger.Dans l’ensemble, cette stratégie est conçue pour aider les entreprises minières, pétrolières et gazières canadiennes à s’acquitter de leurs responsabilités sociales et environnementales dans le cadre de leurs activités à l’étranger.Le Bureau du conseiller en RSE a le mandat d’examiner les pratiques de RSE des entreprises canadiennes qui œuvrent à l’étranger et de conseiller les intervenants au sujet des pratiques exemplaires reconnues et des normes de rendement approuvées.

Le Bureau a bâti sa réputation sur les principes de transparence, menant à terme de vastes consultations nationales et internationales auprès des intervenants et établissant (et communiquant) les droits et obligations des deux parties. Cependant, une fois que le Bureau a déterminé la nécessité de la collecte de renseignements personnels (les coordonnées des membres des panels, des demandeurs et des parties répondantes ainsi que leurs opinions personnelles et expériences de vie), il a été soumis aux obligations de conformité supplémentaires de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, du Règlement sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de la gouvernance connexe. Par conséquent, une évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée(ÉFVP) a été élaborée en vue d’évaluer les répercussions sur la vie privée en cause, de cerner les risques d’entrave à la vie privée et d’élaborer des mesures d’atténuation de ces risques selon les nécessités.

Bien que les principes de transparence et l’obligation de protéger les informations confidentielles demeurent intacts, certains problèmes d’administration doivent être réglés afin d’être conforme aux exigences de la législation et de la gouvernance à l’appui. Tous les problèmes qui ont été cernés sont de nature administrative – il n’y a pas de problèmes de conformité qui pourraient empêcher le Bureau d’avancer sur la voie prévue.

En résumé, le Bureau du conseiller en RSE effectue la collecte des renseignements personnels limités provenant de la population canadienne en général. L’ÉFVP a permis d’identifier quelques éléments obligatoires qui devaient être traités dans le cadre du programme afin de se conformer à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Cependant, aucun des risques cernés (énumérés ci-dessous) n’empêche le programme d’aller de l’avant. Dès que ces risques seront atténués, les renseignements personnels seront recueillis, utilisés et divulgués conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels du gouvernement fédéral. Au moment où l’ÉFVP a été achevée,

  1. L’avis fourni aux personnes au moment de la collecte ne répondait pas aux exigences obligatoires régissant la fourniture d’avis et nécessitait des mises à jour pour tenir compte de l’objectif de la collecte et des divulgations prévues.
  2. Le fichier de renseignements personnels particulier enregistré auprès du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor ne reflétait pas les utilisations et divulgations prévues des renseignements personnels qui sont recueillis. Il exigeait aussi des mises à jour pour refléter plus fidèlement la catégorie de personnes que les renseignements personnels concernent.
  3. Les renseignements personnels soumis par les participants pourraient être pris par la conseillère ou ses employés au-delà des frontières dans des pays qui ne disposent pas des mêmes protections de la vie privée que le Canada. Il s’agirait d’un risque important – le programme exigeait qu’une politique officielle soit établie pour soit NE PAS transporter l’information au-delà des frontières soit informer les particuliers de ce risque avant la collecte des renseignements personnels.
  4. Le MAECI disposait d’un manuel de traitement détaillé, mais devait mettre à jour sa gouvernance sous la forme d’un Protocole de protection des renseignements personnels, d’un Protocole en cas d’atteinte à la vie privée et de lignes directrices relatives à l’Évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée. Chacun de ces trois éléments constitue une exigence des directives du SCT d’avril2010. Il ne s’agissait pas là d’un facteur pour le Bureau du conseiller, mais d’une chose qui devrait être examinée par le Coordonnateur de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels du MAECI. Ce processus est actuellement en cours.
  5. Les agents responsables des programmes du Bureau du conseiller en RSE devraient collaborer avec le personnel de gestion de l’information et le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP afin de déterminer les normes privilégiées de conservation et de destruction et de solliciter, auprès de l’archiviste en chef, l’autorisation de détruire les documents.
  6. Le MAECI devrait mettre à jour ses modules de formation afin de refléter l’information qui est exigée dans les directives du SCT d’avril 2010. Même si l’on peut comprendre que le ministère se concentre actuellement sur la communication des responsabilités en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, la priorité devrait être accordée à la formation des personnes qui traitent les renseignements personnels concernant leurs rôles et responsabilités dans la protection de ces renseignements.
  7. Le MAECI devrait collaborer avec les webmestres du Ministère afin que le lien vers le Secrétariat de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels soit corrigé. Actuellement, la page de destination indique une déclaration d’erreur.
  8. Le MAECI devrait envisager de dater les sommaires des évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée afin que les personnes puissent savoir quand les programmes ont été évalués pour la dernière fois. Il ne s’agit pas d’une exigence obligatoire, mais cette procédure est considérée comme une pratique exemplaire de l’industrie.À la suite de l’ÉFVP, veuillez trouver ci-dessous une liste des risques et de leurs mesures d’atténuation pour le Bureau du conseiller en RSE et, dans certains cas, pour le MAECI à un niveau général.
ÉlémentNature du risqueNiveau du risqueMécanismes d’atténuation
FaibleModéréÉlevé
1
  • Avis
  • Utilisation
  • Divulgation
L’avis qui est fourni au moment de la collecte ne reflète pas fidèlement les utilisations et divulgations prévues pour l’information personnelle.  XL’énoncé d’avis doit être mis à jour avant la collecte des renseignements personnels. Un projet d’avis est présenté par l’entremise de la présenteÉFVP.
2
  • Avis
  • Utilisation
  • Divulgation
Le fichier de renseignements personnels particulier pour le programme ne reflète pas fidèlement toutes les utilisations et divulgations prévues pour l’information personnelle.  XLes agents responsables du programme du Bureau du conseiller devraient collaborer avec les responsables de l’AIPRP afin que l’entrée du FRP soit mise à jour et publiée dans Info Source.
3
  • Divulgation
  • Protection
Il est possible que les employés du Bureau du conseiller transportent des renseignements personnels avec eux dans les pays qui n’ont pas les mêmes dispositions que le Canada en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.  XLe conseiller est en train d’examiner les options et choisira soit 1) de ne pas transporter des renseignements personnels avec eux quand ils voyagent dans d’autres pays ou 2) de fournir un avis aux participants sur les risques associés aux voyages transfrontières au moment de la collecte, leur permettant de faire un choix éclairé quant à la participation.
4
  • Responsabilité
  • Sauvegarde
La gouvernance au sein du MAECI nécessite une mise à jour pour répondre aux exigences des nouvelles directives du SCT et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels du gouvernement fédéral. X Le MAECI devrait envisager d’élaborer son propre protocole interne de protection des renseignements personnels, fondé sur le modèle du SCT ainsi que de créer un protocole en cas d’atteinte à la vie privée et des lignes directrices sur l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée.
5
  • Conservation
Actuellement, il n’existe aucune norme de conservation ou autorisation de destruction définie pour le programme. Les renseignements personnels risquent donc d’être détruits avant d’avoir obtenu l’autorisation nécessaire ou d’être conservés plus longtemps qu’il ne le convient. X Le Bureau du conseiller en RSE devrait collaborer avec la Direction de l’information du MAECI et le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP afin de définir les normes de conservation privilégiées et de solliciter, auprès de l’archiviste national, l’autorisation de détruire les documents.
6
  • Responsabilité
  • Utilisation
  • Divulgation
  • Protection
Actuellement, le matériel de formation du MAECI ne répond pas aux exigences des directives du MAECI d’avril2010. Les agents responsables du programme risquent de ne pas être conscients de leur responsabilité de protéger les renseignements personnels.X  Le MAECI devrait mettre à jour le matériel de formation en matière de protection des renseignements personnels pour répondre aux exigences des directives d’avril 2010. Un plan officiel de formation en matière de protection des renseignements personnels est recommandé afin de faire en sorte que ceux qui traitent les renseignements personnels connaissent leurs obligations.
7
  • Ouverture
Le lien vers l’information concernant l’AIPRP sur le site Web du MAECI ne fonctionne pas, empêchant les personnes de faire des recherches sur la façon dont ils peuvent accéder à leurs renseignements personnels.X  Le MAECI devrait mettre à jour le lien vers la page de destination de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels à la disposition du public sur leur site Web car il ne fonctionne pas actuellement.
8
  • Ouverture
À l’heure actuelle, le MAECI ne date pas ses sommaires des ÉFVP sur le Web. Les personnes ne seraient donc pas au courant de la date où les programmes ont été évalués pour la dernière fois.X  Bien qu’il ne s’agisse pas d’une exigence, la datation des sommaires des ÉFVP est considérée comme une pratique exemplaire et devrait être envisagée par le MAECI.